Banksy - fair comment or kinda ironic, considering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Banksy...........Kind of ironic, just like the Roger Waters/pink Floyd concert that was a while back.........yeah really socking it to the man guys, when ye finish up the promotion its back to your marble palaces with ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

gara wrote: »
    Where did I mention anything about the masses?

Unless you are the only person on the planet viewing the advertisements, there are masses involved.
    You're not in a position to know what stimulates people's thoughts so your point is redundant

That is why God invented psychology.
    Just because he isn't reeling in profits right now doesn't mean he hasn't very cleverly and carefully constructed a brand and image that he may well profit from in the future

I agree that he has created a brand, but he can't profit from his work by it's very nature. You have any idea how many counts of vandalism he would be brought up on? Basically every company that's set up shop in England would tear him to shreds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    But I think Banksy's stuff provokes thought.

Only to idiots. His art says fuck all.

He also uses the same spaces & mediums as advertisers do to promote himself, so either he's trying to be ironic about his slating of advertisements or he is too stupid to realise that he's being ironic.

I'd suspect it's the latter.

He's not an artist. At least not one of any depth. Sure, he can paint, but his work does nothing, says nothing and only appeals to the likes of students who think that having a Che Guevara poster on your bedroom wall makes you seem meaningful & cool.

Only to idiots. His art says fuck all.

He also uses the same spaces & mediums as advertisers do to promote himself, so either he's trying to be ironic about his slating of advertisements or he is too stupid to realise that he's being ironic.

I'd suspect it's the latter.

He's not an artist. At least not one of any depth. Sure, he can paint, but his work does nothing, says nothing and only appeals to the likes of students who think that having a Che Guevara poster on your bedroom wall makes you seem meaningful & cool.

He's an artist, he's just not very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

Wait now.... There's cheesecake??!!

cassi wrote: »

The cake is a lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Unless you are the only person on the planet viewing the advertisements, there are masses involved.

That is why God invented psychology.

I agree that he has created a brand, but he can't profit from his work by it's very nature. You have any idea how many counts of vandalism he would be brought up on? Basically every company that's set up shop in England would tear him to shreds.

He can, and does sell his stuff. To rich people.

As for the vandalism, in Bristol it is considered vandalism to attack a Banksy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

cassi wrote: »

The cake is a lie.

Seriously!!?? God damn it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I don't see the irony, it's basically been the whole point behind his art from day one. He's not forcing you to look at his art, his popularity and success is only a by-product of the fact that people think it's good.

As well as that he isn't trying to sell you anything. If he paints on a wall or billboard, he doesn't own the property, thus he couldn't sell it even if he wanted to. If he could there would be irony. If he opens a sweatshop in India to make Banksy hoodies it would be ironic.

Otherwise it isn't.

He can, and does sell his stuff. To rich people.

As for the vandalism, in Bristol it is considered vandalism to attack a Banksy.

I already stated he's a hypocrite, and to be honest I don't keep up to date with the inner workings of his bank account. My point is the same as his statement, culture jamming and brandalism are forms of protest.

I like his stuff. Might as well paint stuff on walls. But then there is a building in New York - 10 stories - where they paint adds, mostly advertising movies. I like that too.

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I don't see the irony, it's basically been the whole point behind his art from day one. He's not forcing you to look at his art, his popularity and success is only a by-product of the fact that people think it's good.

As well as that he isn't trying to sell you anything. If he paints on a wall or billboard, he doesn't own the property, thus he couldn't sell it even if he wanted to. If he could there would be irony. If he opens a sweatshop in India to make Banksy hoodies it would be ironic.

Otherwise it isn't.

For the third time. He sells his art. See the wall paintings as billboards for his sold art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Quorum

Banksy is involved in the advertising business himself, advertising brand Banksy. It's a good marketing model.

That's what I was thinking. A lot of people tend to be anti-advertising... until they themselves have something to advertise. Even then, they sometimes keep up the charade. Ironic indeed.

Quorum wrote: »
    That's what I was thinking. A lot of people tend to be anti-advertising... until they themselves have something to advertise. Even then, they sometimes keep up the charade. Ironic indeed.

The biggest difference is the tactics used. I could go on for hours about semiotics. Small fry, like say Bolt Fish Recordings, aren't using exploitative methods to sell their music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

If your stupid enough to let a marketing company dictate how you feel, wear, think, follow etc then you deserve all you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭gara

Unless you are the only person on the planet viewing the advertisements, there are masses involved

Thanks for clarifying Professor Obvious but find where I mentioned anything about my thoughts on these masses and their ability to perceive advertising.
    That is why God invented psychology

And your extensive psychological credentials allow you to read people's minds? Or are you telepathic?
    I agree that he has created a brand, but he can't profit from his work by it's very nature.

Why not? Banksy could collaborate with MNC's and place his motifs on innumerable products that could sell-out in seconds, he could open a gallery and profit from that, paint on canvas and sell to mueseums -the possibilities are endless

This quote isn't exactly new or news, its the forward of his book......

I like Banksy for what he's worth, really enjoyed the movie aswell.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

old hippy wrote: »

You owe the companies nothing. Less than nothing, you especially don’t owe them any courtesy. They owe you. They have re-arranged the world to put themselves in front of you. They never asked for your permission, don’t even start asking for theirs.
    - Banksy

The last paragraph confuses me somewhat. Is this a response to something? Why would anyone feel that they do owe "the companies" anything? Why does Banksy think that anyone does feel this way?

Of course people don't owe "the companies" anything, "the companies" are trying to sell us their wares. Is Banksy trying to say that we don't even owe them the courtesy of noticing their advertisements? Again, who the Hell does feel this? And why?

This annoyed me also:
    Banksy wrote:
    They are on TV making your girlfriend feel inadequate.

Why are only our girlfriends, not just feeling inadequate, but being made to feel inadequate? Because women are silly airheaded bimbos subject to manipulation by the big bad advertisers? So far out of control of their emotions that they don't necessarily feel, more they are made to feel, in the way puppets are made to "talk"?

And on a side note there should be as as much cheese in cake as there should be raisins in chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭KeithTS

I have very little opinion on Banksy, he can paint a nice picture on a wall I'll give him that but rants like this make him seem like a 15 year old trying to make themselves apper deep and meaningful by ****eing on about a very generic sentiment....advertisng bad....very thought provoking indeed.

Do you reckon Banksy sits at home in front of his paint covered TV screen wishing he just flicked channels at the ad break instead of giving in to the urge to stick it to the man?

1) (Because I'm too lazy to separate the quote again) Other people surround you. The fact that you don't recognise that advertising can effect everyone makes you seem kind of narcissistic. YOU can ignore it, go on you, that's genuinely great, but it seeps into the minds of children and the less aware. You didn't mention the masses, and in denying that they are influenced is depressing.

2) No, Captain Insulto, but I understand the media and the elements of control.

3) Like I said, he's a hypocrite. It might help if you didn't selectively quote that last part, though.

For the third time. He sells his art. See the wall paintings as billboards for his sold art.

He may sell his art now, as in installation pieces like the pickaxe phonebox thingy, but I'd imagine the most valuable ones would be the oldest, which are all plastered on walls around Bristol and London, so if you were in it for the money it would be pretty retarded to leave yourself unable to sell your most valuable pieces.

Compare it to the work of Shepherd Fairey, plastering the same image in as many places may be a more relevant form of protesting against advertising or culture jamming, but it has the flipside of immediately making "brand Fairey", which is why we've got 15 year old skaterboys going around wearing OBEY baseball caps here in Dublin, 6000 miles from Southern California.

The nature of the work is always going to have that effect, which in itself is a direct product of the fact that people are already so brainwashed by advertising that they see something cool and immediately think, "I want one, where can I get that?"

It's a bizarre form of protest if you think about it, if it's any good it's going to become that which it was protesting in the first place. Unless your cynical enough to think that was the plan all along. I don't believe that's the case.

Why are only our girlfriends, not just feeling inadequate, but being made to feel inadequate? Because women are silly airheaded bimbos subject to manipulation by the big bad advertisers? So far out of control of their emotions that they don't necessarily feel, more they are made to feel, in the way puppets are made to "talk"?

Look up the phrase "Two Cunts in a Kitchen."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Who the fook is banksy? Am I alone in not knowing who it is?

billybudd wrote: »
    If your stupid enough to let a marketing company dictate how you feel, wear, think, follow etc then you deserve all you get.

Yeah, those retarded kids are so dumb, we are so much better than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

looks like banksy is gonna start targetting the billboards more

1) (Because I'm too lazy to separate the quote again) Other people surround you. The fact that you don't recognise that advertising can effect everyone makes you seem kind of narcissistic. YOU can ignore it, go on you, that's genuinely great, but it seeps into the minds of children and the less aware. You didn't mention the masses, and in denying that they are influenced is depressing.

2) No, Captain Insulto, but I understand the media and the elements of control.

3) Like I said, he's a hypocrite. It might help if you didn't selectively quote that last part, though.

Since when is it narcisstic to understand advertising and its subliminal meanings? you have choices in life and you can choose to ignore contant stereotyping and selling and you can teach this to your kids.

I would like a new car, in fact a freelander 2 would be cool but hey dont really need it and there are better ways to spend €38,000 and in all reality after a few months driving it i wont really remember its something i wanted or needed only im short €38,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Thanks to Banksy, I drew a Hitler moustache and a c-section scar on a Wonderbra poster next to a bus stop. Take that, corporations. Then I ran off from the fuzz with ease in my Converse runners and Nike trackies.

Fuck Banksy.

Since when is it narcisstic to understand advertising and its subliminal meanings? you have choices in life and you can choose to ignore contant stereotyping and selling and you can teach this to your kids.

I would like a new car, in fact a freelander 2 would be cool but hey dont really need it and there are better ways to spend €38,000 and in all reality after a few months driving it i wont really remember its something i wanted or needed only im short €38,000.

Not everyone is immune. In a civilised society we care for those that can't care for themselves.

While your superiority in your ignorance of advertising is admirable, if you think a monstrosity on every level like a Freelander is a desirable machine, and know the price, it looks like that advertising worked on you pretty well....

2ndcoming wrote: »
    While your superiority in your ignorance of advertising is admirable, if you think a monstrosity on every level like a Freelander is a desirable machine, and know the price, it looks like that advertising worked on you pretty well....

Ha, i understand advertising and yes i dont ignore it i just am not blinded by it and that really means i can ignore it.

You should google Barbie and her effect on girls.