The Gardai - Accomplishments to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

My argument went something like this:
    • They havent arrested most of the bankers/politicians who have acted improperly or corruptly
    • They dont overly mind baton-charging protesters
    • They took a long time to respond to a call when our house was broken in, and then didnt take prints. (The "There's very little chance of catching him." attitude)
    • A girl was attacked recently at my local train station (the 3rd in 4 years), yet they havent notified the community or made requests for information. This one really annoyed me, as I thought it would be common sense to do that, and could be preventative.
    • That guard who got a slap on the wrist for making the rape joke. I hate that "closed ranks" mentality
    • The whole Catholic church thing
    1. They can't arrest people who haven't broken the law. The idiots running the banks may have acted corruptly, but it's hard to prove. Most of the problem was caused by stupidity.
    2. Baton charges are sometimes necessary.
    3. Yeah, sometimes they don't seem to care very much. I've experienced similar.
    4. That's perhaps more of a community issue.
    5. The 'rape joke' wasn't a joke about rape, or a threat to rape - it was a private conversation where they were making fun of a protester who made the ridiculous claim that the guards might rape someone they were trying to detain, which is plainly ridiculous. The whole 'it was a joke about rape' was just disinformation from the S2S people who want the Gardaí to look bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmumHQM7vmA :pac:

I live in quite a rough area and have to say the garda are fine and dandy as long they don't have to deal with you on a regular basis.

I went to school with some of the worst scum and useless tossers. I wouldn't blame the guards for returning the favour of treating the c**ts like dirt.

Some people think they're untouchable because of where and who they grew up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Dean0088 wrote: »
    They were members of the IRA.

I suppose special branch should have ignored them :confused:

you cant go detain everyone who disagrees with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭bill buchanan

If you give them attitude you'll get it back.

I've heard this a lot, and disagree. I grew up in one of the "rougher" parts of Dublin and they were always rude to us. My parents always told us to respect people like teacher and the gardai etc, so I was never a person to give them any grief and have no criminal record. But I got stopped and searched "randomly" as a teenager twice and they were incredibly rude to me. Friends have had the same experience. I know some of the scum where I grew up hated them because of the job they did, but there were a lot of good people there who were just treated badly by the gardai because of where they were from. And crime always seem less of a priority when we were in trouble. Therefore, we, as a community, didn't really like them.

I guess the argument is all about perception. But i'd guess that's the perception a lot of people in working class areas would have of the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

You don't get respect, you earn it.

There are very few Gardaí who I'd respect and the ones that I do are all approaching retirement. IMHO a lot of the younger Gardaí don't give a toss.

Funnily enough I would put money on the new recruits having slightly different training to the old recruits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

But I got stopped and searched "randomly" as a teenager twice and they were incredibly rude to me.

How about as an adult?

I wouldn't expect them to be polite to teenagers, putting a bit of fear of the law into teenagers isn't a bad thing.
    Especially if ye were part of a group hanging around somewhere where anti-social behavior was reported/complained about by the residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭JRant

If you give them attitude you'll get it back.

I've heard this a lot, and disagree. I grew up in one of the "rougher" parts of Dublin and they were always rude to us. My parents always told us to respect people like teacher and the gardai etc, so I was never a person to give them any grief and have no criminal record. But I got stopped and searched "randomly" as a teenager twice and they were incredibly rude to me. Friends have had the same experience. I know some of the scum where I grew up hated them because of the job they did, but there were a lot of good people there who were just treated badly by the gardai because of where they were from. And crime always seem less of a priority when we were in trouble. Therefore, we, as a community, didn't really like them.

I guess the argument is all about perception. But i'd guess that's the perception a lot of people in working class areas would have of the gardai.

Couldn't agree more, it would seem to be a common theme in certain areas.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

How about as an adult?

I wouldn't expect them to be polite to teenagers, putting a bit of fear of the law into teenagers isn't a bad thing.
    Especially if ye were part of a group hanging around somewhere where anti-social behavior was reported/complained about by the residents.

As an adult tehy've been rude to me, too. But in a less aggressive way.

But it's madness, IMHO, to suggest it's OK for gardai to be rude to teenagers.

I can think of one occasion where there were a group of us sitting at a wall. A guy legged it past us and ran down street A. 1 min later the gardai ran around the corner asking where he went. My mate pointed them down street B because they treated him like crap when they searched him.

I'm still close to those friends, and all our opinion of the gardai would be low enough. A lot of that probably has to do with our formative years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭JRant

But I got stopped and searched "randomly" as a teenager twice and they were incredibly rude to me.

How about as an adult?

I expect them to be polite to everyone until they have a good reason not to be.
    If you had a child and they were spoken to or treated in such a way I'm sure you'd be happy! And before you mention it, if they are acting the goat then they should be dealt with but from my experience it's more a case of everyone from an area being tarred with the same brush.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    I expect them to be polite to everyone until they have a good reason not to be.
    If you had a child and they were spoken to or treated in such a way I'm sure you'd be happy! And before you mention it, if they are acting the goat then they should be dealt with but from my experience it's more a case of everyone from an area being tarred with the same brush.

Exactly, just like all the best teachers you remember were the ones who showed you some respect and treated yo liek an adult. I still have nbo respect for the oens who just roared and screamed, but fondly remembered the ones who actually earned respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

As an adult tehy've been rude to me, too. But in a less aggressive way.

But it's madness, IMHO, to suggest it's OK for gardai to be rude to teenagers.

I can think of one occasion where there were a group of us sitting at a wall. A guy legged it past us and ran down street A. 1 min later the gardai ran around the corner asking where he went. My mate pointed them down street B because they treated him like crap when they searched him.

I'm still close to those friends, and all our opinion of the gardai would be low enough. A lot of that probably has to do with our formative years.

So you were actually hanging out with criminals/scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

it's OK for gardai to be rude to teenagers.

yes yes it is:D

MagicSean wrote: »
    So you were actually hanging out with criminals/scumbags?

Absolutely not. Why would you say that??

Because you said your friend helped someone get away from the Gardaí because some Garda had been rude to him when he was being searched. Did ye even know why he was being chased?

Doesn't make him a scumbag. It makes him an angry young man. No idea why he was being chased.

You can't just expect grown ups to be nasty to kids and then for the kids to take the moral high ground. These things should work the other way around.

Doesn't make him a scumbag. It makes him an angry young man. No idea why he was being chased.

You can't just expect grown ups to be nasty to kids and then for the kids to take the moral high ground. These things should work the other way around.

To me it makes him a scumbag or just an idiot. Was it even the same Garda who had been rude to him? I doubt it. Would you still be supporting your friend if that fella he helped turned out to have hurt someone or went on to hurt someont?

Is he a kid or an angry young man? I suspect he was more than a kid. Someone who was old enough to have had a bit more sense.

To me it makes him a scumbag or just an idiot. Was it even the same Garda who had been rude to him? I doubt it. Would you still be supporting your friend if that fella he helped turned out to have hurt someone or went on to hurt someont?

Is he a kid or an angry young man? I suspect he was more than a kid. Someone who was old enough to have had a bit more sense.

We were doing the junior cert, so whatever age that made us.

I'm happy to take your simplistic view of adolescent psychology and run with that, though. Although I disagree strongly with it.

Can we, therefore, say that the garda who was rude to him was also a scumbag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Well they've done a lot to combat human trafficking after raiding several brothels over the last few years. That and the checkpoints.

We were doing the junior cert, so whatever age that made us.

I'm happy to take your simplistic view of adolescent psychology and run with that, though. Although I disagree strongly with it.

Can we, therefore, say that the garda who was rude to him was also a scumbag?

By all means go ahead if you want. I'm sure he never gave you or your friends a second thought. Whereas your friend decided to take his anger out by aiding a criminal. You can blame it on him being an adolescent all you want but there are plenty of us who went through our adolescence without being morons.

OK so we're going to end this here by just saying that one of my closest friends is a scumbag and some random garda is a scumbag. I think that's a silly endpoint, but if that's what you want, then fine. He's now a very accomplished emergency department nurse. He helps people every day. I woudn't say he's a scumbag by any means, but I'll pass on your message :P

As for the old "well I was a kid once and I never did drugs/commited crime/made mistakes etc" that's a very old right wing argument to convince society that poor areas were just full of knackers. The reasons people, especially adolescents, make choices, is complex. They get more angry. They don't have huge life experience, they're naturally abit angry with the world. Just in the same way that people who end up taking drugs aren't just the stupid people.

Maybe you had great wisdom when you were 14. But in the real world most people would expect a qualified garda to have a LOT more cop on than a 14 year old boy.

It's a shame that supporters of the gardai can't seem to grasp that community policing is much more subtle than "that guy did something wrong, so he must be a scumbag or stupid".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Do you not accept that when Guards throw their weight around and bully young people for no good reason then they are going to loose all good will from these people for ever ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

like many professions, there are the hard working and dedicated, and then there are the pure toss pots.

RustyNut wrote: »
    Do you not accept that when Guards throw their weight around and bully young people for no good reason then they are going to loose all good will from these people for ever ?

No doubt. I just don't see it as an excuse to commit a crime or help someone to.

Are you suggesting that the gardai should just expect 14 year olds to act like they want them to? Or would it be just that bit easier to be nice to them and try to earn the community's respect?

I don't even know why this is a question, to be honest!

Are you suggesting that the gardai should just expect 14 year olds to act like they want them to? Or would it be just that bit easier to be nice to them and try to earn the community's respect?

I don't even know why this is a question, to be honest!

I'm saying that a Garda being rude to you is not an excuse for you to commit a crime or help someone to commit a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 george tobin

[QUOTE=Musiconomist;80632752[*]They havent arrested most of the bankers/politicians who have acted improperly or corruptly

They arrested Sean Quinn and his family on fraud charges.
    [*]They dont overly mind baton-charging protesters

As far as I know, they aren't equipped with pepper spray.
    [*]They took a long time to respond to a call when our house was broken in, and then didnt take prints. (The "There's very little chance of catching him." attitude)

Burglars use gloves.
    Plus they'd have to fingerprint everyone in your house and previous visitors to rule their fingerprints out.
    Too much work/cost.
    [*]A girl was attacked recently at my local train station (the 3rd in 4 years), yet they havent notified the community or made requests for information. This one really annoyed me, as I thought it would be common sense to do that, and could be preventative.

It's not their job to notify the community.
    Typically local newspapers do that.
    And if someone had information they should come forward, not expect a personal request for it.
    [*]That guard who got a slap on the wrist for making the rape joke. I hate that "closed ranks" mentality

You think they should be fired for bad humour?

[*]The whole Catholic church thing

What are you talking about, 20 years ago or today? :confused:
    If a claim of abuse is reported of course they're going to investigate it today.

I don't think you understand their role at all.
    They're just detain criminals, make a report and see if their station sergeant agrees they've enough proof to send it to the director of public prosecutions.
    It's up to the DPP to decide to proceed with a criminal case or not, and the Judges to sentence the guilty within the limits of the law for that particular crime.[/Quote]
    The prints are matched against prints of known offenders they are also supplied with spray amongst other self defence devices

I'm saying that a Garda being rude to you is not an excuse for you to commit a crime or help someone to commit a crime.

of course it's not an excuse. But who cares? What has that got to do with policing? It's an inevitability, and that's wht the gardai need to bear in mind.

The rights and wrongs of a kid's actions are not that relevant here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

People never stop whinging in this bloody country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭samk1

I completely disagree.

not getting into a d*ck measuring contest here but the experience Ive had have been bad and attitudes have been worse.

woke up to find a car on blocks alloys stolen , garda turn up at 9am they were rang at 7am and said "what do you want us to do about it"

motorbike stolen from outside my ex's house 3 years ago i gave a statement still havent heard anything back (altough the bike was found)

watch stolen from my jacket pocket where i foolishly put it and left it into the cloakroom of the local niteclub around 3 years ago aswell. still waiting to hear back,and sadly I can go on.

Everyones opinions and experiences are going to be differnt and i can accept that but mine all seem to be negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Another Guard bashing thread on AH.

Time for....