Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

On Google+?

Google are having a retro gaming night in Toners this evening... free booze if you actually use Google+ for them.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/events/cu9eti6e176dds40a4ge6pf1h8g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

DinoRex wrote: »
    On Google+?

Google are having a retro gaming night in Toners this evening... free booze if you actually use Google+ for them.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/events/cu9eti6e176dds40a4ge6pf1h8g
    Free Booze, Mario kart:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

A friend of mine asked me to clean and funk up a couple of retro unboxing vids he'd been going on about for a while now. He got himself a "sealed" NES, a "sealed" Saturn and a "sealed" N64.
    Now I was really looking forward to checking out the vids he sent me as its nice to see these still sealed retro consoles getting an unboxing years after they were released (I'm not a big fan of unboxings as it's usually a douchy thing to do but I do like opening still sealed retro gear and I open up a game or console myself every month or so as a treat) .

Anyway, So I downloaded the files from the share he had sent me and checked them out (4k resolution monsters so not a 2 min download by any means). Oh yes they were indeed boxed and sealed consoles. Boxed and sealed by the guy he bought them off in regular cardboard boxes and sealed with packing tape.

For some reason he thought this worthy of an unboxing video:confused: Him opening his post and looking at the contents with amazement as if they'd never seen the light of day, what a plonker and I had loads of media lined up to really make him something special for his youtube channel.
    I cleaned up the vid and did some colour grading and that was it, what a plonker and I am now only calling him Rodney.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

One thing to note about 'sealed' consoles is that consoles were never sold sealed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Steve SI wrote: »
    I'm not a big fan of unboxings as it's usually a douchy thing to do

With the highest respect to anyone who does these, how anyone watches unboxing videos is beyond me

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,615 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

For some reason he thought this worthy of an unboxing video:confused:

In fairness, there are only a very, very limited amount of things worthy of unboxing videos :pac: One of the more bizarre, generally worthless (with a handful of exceptions) trends of video sharing sites.

And what a ****ing waste of 4K footage :(

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    One thing to note about 'sealed' consoles is that consoles were never sold sealed.

Really, do you not count the stickers that seal the opening tabs on the boxes as sealed console?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Unless, of course, you bought that new, sealed, Atari 2600, the one on Adverts that, shock horror, happened to be neither new or sealed and had a deluded seller to boot.

In fairness, there are only a very, very limited amount of things worthy of unboxing videos :pac: One of the more bizarre, generally worthless (with a handful of exceptions) trends of video sharing sites.

You're telling me!
    As I said, his new name is Rodney the Plonker.

Really, do you not count the stickers that seal the opening tabs on the boxes as sealed console?

I'd consider those as sealed , yes.

EnterNow wrote: »
    I'd consider those as sealed , yes.

Perhaps Retr0 meant sealed as in shrink wrapped.

Edit:
    /heading off to check sealed consoles in house

Perhaps Retr0 meant sealed as in shrink wrapped.

Edit:
    /heading off to check sealed consoles in house

Yeah, I don't think consoles were ever shrink wrapped? Maybe some were, but either way an official seal where the box tab is closed certainly warrants 'sealed' status for me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Yep, a stripper jumping out of a cake would be one. The Ark of the Covenant another.

A retro console? Nope.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Yep, a stripper jumping out of a cake would be one. The Ark of the Covenant another.

A retro console? Nope.

Ah now, I did want to see the NES get opened up as I was wondering if it would have any yellowing.

I totally get that, but whats wrong with a picture? :o It seems every gimp under the sun just wants to make videos & harp on about useless stuff these days. Again, no offence to the unboxing crew those are just my own thoughts on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

EnterNow wrote: »
    With the highest respect to anyone who does these, how anyone watches unboxing videos is beyond me

Unboxing videos are a godsend as reference for anyone working in packaging design. Because really, I'd like to know how B&O package their expensive stuff without dropping that amount of money just to find out first hand. Same for all manner of stuff - even cheap stuff so I can spot signs of things that make very poor first impressions on peoples. How a ZiPad is packaged for example.

I can't find it now, but I had scanned a magazine article from years ago of an unopened Sony MiniDisc (a late top of the line model) and an early Apple iPod (Gen 2 or 3).

The difference in attention to detail was something else. Based on the amount of unlabelled bits & bobs and plastic bags you'd swear Sony subcontracted everything to Ikea.

And while I've little love for Apple despite using a Macbook for the better part of a decade, they did an excellent job of laying out how things are in a box sequentially - even a technophobe could realistically open it up and get it up and running within 15 mins without opening a manual or any head scratching because of the amount of thought that went into the packaging.

So, I kinda like that there's now this well documented historical record of packaging design happening; I think its great.

I can see why they're boring viewing for anyone who doesn't give a damn about compressed cardboard inlays versus packing peanuts. This isn't something I'd force my worst enemy to listen to me talk about (I swear, I'm actually kinda fun at parties! Promise! :p).

What gets me about unboxings is the pleb spending 10 mins looking at the cables or a bit of plastic. GET THAT FECKER OUT OF THE BOX DUDE!!
    Plus the fact that most people who do the unboxings are Doucious Maximus types annoys me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,615 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

If I believed that most unboxing videos were genuine celebrations of industrial design, than I'd respect it.

Most, however, are arrogant assholes boasting about crap that doesn't matter. Although I do like when Ashens rips the piss out of the dodgy Chinese knock-offs.

If I believed that most unboxing videos were genuine celebrations of industrial design, than I'd respect it.

Most, however, are arrogant assholes boasting about crap that doesn't matter.

+ 1

Most, however, are arrogant assholes boasting about crap that doesn't matter. Although I do like when Ashens rips the piss out of the dodgy Chinese knock-offs.

I could watch them all day :D

But don't get me wrong, I like video and sometimes I'll make an unnecessary video of something just for kicks and a bit of practice in After Effects (you cant have enough practice in that).
    Heck, I'm making one right at this very minute that is both unnecessary and the information it contains could very well be expressed with a selection of pictures.

But unboxings, man that shiz sucks and I hate that it's gotten so popular.

Perhaps we should try and find the most pointless unboxing video of all time and post it here tonight??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

But don't get me wrong, I like video and sometimes I'll make an unnecessary video of something just for kicks and a bit of practice in After Effects (you cant have enough practice in that).
    Heck, I'm making one right at this very minute that is both unnecessary and the information it contains could very well be expressed with a selection of pictures.

Perhaps we should try and find the most pointless unboxing video of all time and post it here tonight??

What about an unboxing of a cornflakes box? :pac:

Seriously though, what a waste of people's time unboxings are. Actually, bomb disposal might be worth videoing for training purposes, there's another worthwhile example.

Just a heads up for anyone using Parcel Motel collecting retro games. (Super srs post!) I signed up and was reading some of the T&Cs that concern retrogaming.
    • 8. HAZARDOUS WASTE, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, USED HYPODERMIC NEEDLES AND/OR SYRINGES OR MEDICAL WASTE;
    Rise of The Robots, Legend of Dragoon,
    • 11. DEAD ANIMALS OR ANIMALS THAT HAVE BEEN MOUNTED
    Ahem. No games starring Yoshi. GET YOUR MINDS OUT OF THE GUTTER :pac:
    • 12. ART Original works of art
    (Genuine warning but if you were buying art I doubt you'd want to use Parcel Motel over a service with online tracking sent straight to your door anyway)
    • 17. PORNOGRAPHY or obscene material of any kind
    Shmups. Oh, and dating games I guess too.
    • 21. DANGEROUS goods of any kind that may cause harm or damage if leaked or spilled
    Zero Tolerance beta carts of interest to Russia
    • 24. PERISHABLE items
    Tamagotchi :(

• 25. Items that have a pungent or strong odour or items that may cause contamination of any kind
    • 26. PARCELS THAT ARE WET, LEAKING OR EMIT AN ODOR OF ANY KIND;
    What happens in Japanese vending machines stays in Japanese vending machines.
    • 29. Living creatures of any kind
    Tamagotchi :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Yup I meant Shrinkwrap, although very few consoles came with stickers covering the flaps either.

Another one to watch out for are sealed GBA and Wonderswan games, or even SNES and MD games. Games only really came sealed during the PS2 era and even then most shops remove the seals.

Most, however, are arrogant assholes boasting about crap that doesn't matter.

Yeah, most of the time I don't even wait for the first sign of "look what I got!" bragging and mute the video from the start. And yeah, I don't for a minute think many of the people who upload unboxings are doing it for any kind of altruistic motive. Still, if they're the only people both spending the money on the nice toys and making the videos I can't exactly be choosy.

That said, when I buy something new and nice, I do take reference snaps of it myself. Don't bother with videos though. A few good photos of the details I want to check on later work better for me and are faster to reference.
    Although I do like when Ashens rips the piss out of the dodgy Chinese knock-offs.
    Who's Ashens? Do share.

a5y wrote: »
    Who's Ashens? Do share.

The perhaps unique soul who can make twenty minute plus videos boxes and electronics engaging. His latest:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Unboxing a cardboard box video? I'm on it...

Achilles wrote: »
    Unboxing a cardboard box video? I'm on it...

Was actually thinking of that, maybe those boxes the lads here ordered for storing pcb's? The unboxing of a box...unboxing at its finest.

Or why don't we start a new trend? Take an electronic device such as a media streamer, discuss it at lenght, talk about its manuals etc & then slowly start packing it into a box...talking about it as you go, finishing with a fully boxed item. We can call it Reboxing.

Then seal it with shrinkwrap and sell it on ebay, chronicling the whole ripping off process from start to finish.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Then seal it with shrinkwrap and sell it on ebay, chronicling the whole ripping off process from start to finish.

Nah, Adverts is where that'd belong. L00k - R@RE & S3AL3D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Gp3FQ.jpg