Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭bren2001

Put a bet on with a user on this forum on wether Conor Wickham is eligible to play for Ireland or not. A thread was started asking and it is clear that he is eligible. He refuses to pay the 50c until Conor Wickham tweets him back to confirm this.....stingy fcuk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

snubbleste wrote: »
    Was in Aldi today with loads of coins and a twenty note. All the coins when counted came to 3c short of the amount due. The cashier blankly refused to take my twenty note.
    I expect him to post here shortly.

Eh?

Do you mean he refused to take the coins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

bren2001 wrote: »
    Put a bet on with a user on this forum on wether Conor Wickham is eligible to play for Ireland or not. A thread was started asking and it is clear that he is eligible. He refuses to pay the 50c until Conor Wickham tweets him back to confirm this.....stingy fcuk.

Tbh neither of ye come out of that looking great considering the bet was for 50 cent.....unless the wager was the rapper 50 Cent? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

kfallon wrote: »
    Tbh neither of ye come out of that looking great considering the bet was for 50 cent.....unless the wager was the rapper 50 Cent? :eek:

What an awful joke

nbar12 wrote: »
    What an awful joke

I see you are the stingebag who made the 'whopping' 50c bet.....last of the big spenders eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭bren2001

I see you are the stingebag who made the 'whopping' 50c bet.....last of the big spenders eh!

He paid up in the end.

We put a 50c bet on for the sake of it, it was a joke bet. Not every bet has to be 50e....

bren2001 wrote: »
    He paid up in the end.

We put a 50c bet on for the sake of it, it was a joke bet. Not every bet has to be 50e....

You can say that again :pac:

it was a joke bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

My sister is the scabbiest ever, I asked her for a lift once and she asked me for the bus fare (she had to drive past my house to get home anyway) never asked again.!

JJJJNR wrote: »
    My sister is the scabbiest ever, I asked her for a lift once and she asked me for the bus fare (she had to drive past my house to get home anyway) never asked again.!

I hope you paid her all in 1 cents, that'll teach the stingy b1tch to ask you for bus fare again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 bighorsebiceps

I've been called stingy alot. I disagree !

I always look at the ground when i'm walking for syringers, nails and other crapp.finding money is a bonus.
    I bring a packed lunch to college, i do not intend on spalish 4.50 on a roll in Spar.
    I'm 21 babyface cannot growa beard so usually get cheaper tickets in cinemas + trains/buses. Downside of that is repeatedly having to carry my ID for cigarettes and beer.

There is a lad I know who is quite strange, known him since I was a kid.
    Works full time, comes from a wealthy family.
    Rings me up every once in a while to tell me, his fish has died/theres a new movie out/new xbox game out/new petshop opened up on the opposited side of Dublin.

If i was to say to this lad right cmon we go the petshop on the bus....he says "ahh its grand" but once i offer a lift in my car..hes game..doesnt offer for petrol or nothing user+stinge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clondalphian

Mate of mine is a real tight@rse.We were on a stag and had just finished a meal when he suggested we all leave a 2 euro tip.everyone agreed to pay up.comes round to him to give his 2 euro and he says 'I've no change on me so you'll have to throw in my two quid'

Another guy I know deliberaty goes out of his way while walking through town to check if there was any change left in the parking machines.he will also sit in a pub on a night out with one bottle of cider lasting gin the whole night.he's not short of a few quid either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

Mate of mine is a real tight@rse.We were on a stag and had just finished a meal when he suggested we all leave a 2 euro tip.everyone agreed to pay up.comes round to him to give his 2 euro and he says 'I've no change on me so you'll have to throw in my two quid'

Another guy I know deliberaty goes out of his way while walking through town to check if there was any change left in the parking machines.he will also sit in a pub on a night out with one bottle of cider lasting gin the whole night.he's not short of a few quid either

I almost sent an email to tight@rse.we :D what a great email address.

fairplay to the lad for suggesting to leave a tip, I'm sure he paid whoever spotted him back.

What's wrong with checking parking meters for change? Some people foolishly forget to take their change, you know what they say "one mans rubbish is another mans treasure!"
    Also, maybe this same guy is not a heavy drinker? Nothing wrong with sipping from the same bottle for the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Mate of mine is a real tight@rse.We

Sounds like a right w@ank.er

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

Sounds like a right w@ank.er

Wow, you ripped off his joke, and then got it wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Wow, you ripped off his joke, and then got it wrong...

A self-rolleyes is called for here. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭bernardamaac.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Well you know what they say...brace your selves for Ye Olde Budweiser Joke.

Q Why is drinking Bud like having sex in a canoe?

A Because it's fcuking close to water !

Bah Dum Tish...

Lol if you said that to me in a pub and if id asked ya do you want a pint? i bet you would'nt say no..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭digitaldr

I used to work in Cavan and one of the local pubs had a great offer on draught Harp. Unfortunately none of my mates drank it but I used to make sure I was last in the round and always got them Harps anyway (this was in the days before branded glasses). None of them noticed - sure it all tastes the same after a few pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

what really?if i was out on a date with a girl
    and my mother heard that the girl was paying for the drink
    i would get a slap on the back on the head
    gentlemen always pay for the date,if not there a stingy fu**er
    and should be avoided

Fools like u get robbed in divorce settlements 50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Fools like u get robbed in divorce settlements 50/50

and strung along for no sex

a mate of mine pulled a bird and was too stingy to buy condoms, so he took a used one from the bin and used it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

My mate found a unicorn. Was too stingy to feed both it and the leprechaun so it died :(

nbar12 wrote: »
    a mate of mine pulled a bird and was too stingy to buy condoms, so he took a used one from the bin and used it!
    My mate found a unicorn. Was too stingy to feed both it and the leprechaun so it died :(

The unicorn story is more believable tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

sassa wrote: »
    Have a different take on the whole taking the barcode off magazines and papers. The supermarket I used to work in the owner would go into the staff room and rip the barcode off any magazines or papers the staff had paid for just to return them and make a few euro extra!
    Also if anything along the lines of the moypark chicken kievs went out of date rather than reduce them or bin them he have the butchers take them out of the packet and sell them for 1.99 each on the butcher counter!

He was actually doing himself out of business with the newspapers there. When he returns the papers they will reduce their allocation so he sells out early for the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Not stingy in the true sense but myself and my mate pulled up to a motorcycle show a year or two ago. We were on our bikes and I pulled up, took out my wallet and paid my €5. With the usual messing around with gloves and pockets that goes on with biking, I pulled slightly ahead, put away my wallet and waited for my mate behind.

I was looking in my mirror and watched my mate pull out his wallet, pull out a note and watched the guy hand my mate back some notes change. My mate paused with the notes above his wallet in a way that said there was something wrong with the change. At the same instant the other guy had already turned away and realised he'd given my mate too much change.

Yer man spun on the spot, lunged at my mate, snatched him by the arm, pulling it away from the wallet almost pulling him off the bike at the same time and plucked the notes out his hand. He pulled the single note change out of the bunch and slapped it down on my mates open wallet only for it to blow away. My buddy was dumbfounded and didn't know what had just gone on and yer man just toddled off as if nothing had happened. I was furious and ran after yer man and told him he'll be lucky if he doesn't get done for assault.

Feckin' savages Ted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

cantdecide wrote: »
    Not stingy in the true sense but myself and my mate pulled up to a motorcycle show a year or two ago. We were on our bikes and I pulled up, took out my wallet and paid my €5. With the usual messing around with gloves and pockets that goes on with biking, I pulled slightly ahead, put away my wallet and waited for my mate behind.

I was looking in my mirror and watched my mate pull out his wallet, pull out a note and watched the guy hand my mate back some notes change. My mate paused with the notes above his wallet in a way that said there was something wrong with the change. At the same instant the other guy had already turned away and realised he'd given my mate too much change.

Yer man spun on the spot, lunged at my mate, snatched him by the arm, pulling it away from the wallet almost pulling him off the bike at the same time and plucked the notes out his hand. He pulled the single note change out of the bunch and slapped it down on my mates open wallet only for it to blow away. My buddy was dumbfounded and didn't know what had just gone on and yer man just toddled off as if nothing had happened. I was furious and ran after yer man and told him he'll be lucky if he doesn't get done for assault.

Feckin' savages Ted!

Wow, there's a book in it I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Muckit wrote: »
    Wow, there's a book in it I'd say

No no. A single AH post should cover it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Light Switch

Yanoo those rides they've for kids in shopping centers?

Seen a child get into one earlier and instead of the father putting in a €1 or whatever it was, he lent against it and rocked it for a few mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Lol if you said that to me in a pub and if id asked ya do you want a pint? i bet you would'nt say no..:rolleyes:

I'd pay you to leave!