Have you ever bought drink for a minor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

According to the rules for the US navy personal in Dublin this weekend a 18 year old could buy a 20 year old a drink and be be guilty of supplying a minor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

MaxSteele wrote: »
    The miserable, nosey aul cuunt was actually going around performing entrapment on local businesses with his son.

That is not entrapment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Yes, I bought drink for some guys I new when I was 15, I looked over 18 at the time and was served in the local off licence all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

mikemac1 wrote: »
    That is not entrapment

Ah here. The lad looked well over age, just so happened to be under 18 and the son of the guard who came in outraged a minute later.

You're telling me he wasn't out to pull a fast one on the staff in Centra ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Ah here. The lad looked well over age, just so happened to be under 18 and the son of the guard who came in outraged a minute later.

You're telling me he wasn't out to pull a fast one on the staff in Centra ?

It's not entrapment.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    It's not entrapment.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Entrapment

"In criminal law, entrapment is conduct by a law enforcement agent inducing a person to commit an offense that the person would otherwise have been unlikely to commit.[1]"

Now if the son didn't look so mature for his age, I'd say it would be unlikely the staff wouldn't have asked for I.D. I think it's obvious the garda was exploiting that.

Why? Spend a little less time setting up speed traps a little more on this. Generate more revenue for the Gardai.

First off, a minor is caught in possession with alcohol. The Gardai signs the minor up for the "sting operation" at the weekend? How does it work? The Guard says "Now young man, make sure you are on the alcohol sting bus at 9am on Saturday morning, or there'll be consequences"?

Thats just the start of the problems with the idea.

No offence meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭Shane732

If there's grass on the pitch and all that!

Generally don't bother but have bother some minors drink.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Entrapment

"In criminal law, entrapment is conduct by a law enforcement agent inducing a person to commit an offense that the person would otherwise have been unlikely to commit.[1]"

Now if the son didn't look so mature for his age, I'd say it would be unlikely the staff wouldn't have asked for I.D. I think it's obvious the garda was exploiting that.

You would say isn't a very strong argument. The kid was 16 years old. How do you know for sure the cop even got his kid to do it? What if he caught his son after buying the booze?
    First off, a minor is caught in possession with alcohol. The Gardai signs the minor up for the "sting operation" at the weekend? How does it work? The Guard says "Now young man, make sure you are on the alcohol sting bus at 9am on Saturday morning, or there'll be consequences"?

Thats just the start of the problems with the idea.

No offence meant.

None taken. You are right. The punishments would need to be addressed. Fine Gael has proposed a boot camp type punishment for minors, that would be a good starting point.

My neighbour in Galway was 23 and had 51 previous convictions. Bringing kids home and dropping them off to their parents who think it's just kids having fun isn't a punishment.

You would say isn't a very strong argument. The kid was 16 years old. How do you know for sure the cop even got his kid to do it? What if he caught his son after buying the booze?

The fact the son looked more than old enough to fool any cashier and the guard coming in literally straight away is way too much a coincidence. I doubt the son of a guard would buy a big bottle of wine under age while his father was right outside the door.

You would need to prove that to make the case it's entrapment. Also did the shop ever sell to minors before? Could they find some other minor they had sold to before?

Well yeah but the circumstances would suggest it anyway. No I wouldn't say so. All they have is wine.

You sure he didn't do it because he had been told that a minor got served there before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

No, and I never would.

My neighbour in Galway was 23 and had 51 previous convictions. Bringing kids home and dropping them off to their parents who think it's just kids having fun isn't a punishment.

We might have had the same neighbour. Ours was also about 23 and had convictions in the 40s or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Nope, been asked a good few times too, just usually laugh it off.

No way in hell I'm gonna be some way responsible for some kid getting killed or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I bought some Australian kids a few cans of JD and Coke or some other muck when I was over there. Even though there were signs every where saying you'd be fined $3,000.00 for doing so.

I wouldn't do it for an Irish youth but wanted to **** up Australia a little/add to their social woes. hahaha f*ck you, Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

I bought drink before for friends who were under 18, because I'm a good few months older than most of my friends.I would never buy any for randomers because it could cause serious problems.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I did. They were 16 and I was 15. Nice bit of pocket money made that day... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yes, but in my defense I was trying to get her drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

I did at a concert once for my sister, her boyfriend and a male friend of hers, F**k it we were at a gig. Gotta have a beer at a concert they were all 17 so practically legal. Wouldn't buy beer for a stranger hanging around an off license though, some underagers cant hold their drink even if they drink a little, wouldn't want to be responsible if they did anything stupid thanks to the drink I got them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭BOF666

I was in the Point at a gig when I was 20, and walked up to the bar to get a pint. Got told they couldn't serve me if I was under 21, even though I had ID. So I walked up to some bloke who was in his 40's, there with his son, explained what had happened, showed him my ID and asked would he go up and get me a pint.

Felt about 16 asking, but he was sound and got it for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

BOF666 wrote: »
    I was in the Point at a gig when I was 20, and walked up to the bar to get a pint. Got told they couldn't serve me if I was under 21, even though I had ID. So I walked up to some bloke who was in his 40's, there with his son, explained what had happened, showed him my ID and asked would he go up and get me a pint.

Felt about 16 asking, but he was sound and got it for me!

Happened me to at a Judas Priest concert in the o2 and I was 20 then too, was my first time in the o2, went up to the bar and my tongue was hanging out for a pint, I ask the barwoman for a pint of carlsberg I think it was because they had f**k all else there, barwoman says "how old are you?", I reach for the I.D and just say to her "I'm 20" she says "Its over 21s" and my face dropped and I walked off disgusted. Gave the money to my 28 year old friend and got my pint, felt the same way asking him but was happy out for the gig then. Just had 2 pints as I didn't want him going back and forth getting pints as my mate wasn't much of a drinker. Pain in the arse this over 21's business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭BOF666

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Happened me to at a Judas Priest concert in the o2 and I was 20 then too, was my first time in the o2, went up to the bar and my tongue was hanging out for a pint, I ask the barwoman for a pint of carlsberg I think it was because they had f**k all else there, barwoman says "how old are you?", I reach for the I.D and just say to her "I'm 20" she says "Its over 21s" and my face dropped and I walked off disgusted. Gave the money to my 28 year old friend and got my pint, felt the same way asking him but was happy out for the gig then. Just had 2 pints as I didn't want him going back and forth getting pints as my mate wasn't much of a drinker. Pain in the arse this over 21's business.

I just went back up to a different barman when I got down to the last quarter of my pint, once he saw I already had a pint he didn't ask my age, just gave me another one! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

When I was in my early 20's I went to the offy for teenagers who asked me, to repay society for the trips to the offy that lads made for me back in my day. But my debt to society has been repaid and I would not any more. It is a right of passage though, and we all have a responsability to make sure our children can get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I did for minor me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Felexicon

My mates younger sister asked me to get her and her friends some drink one day when I was walking through the town.
    I said yeah no bother. They wanted 12 cans of Fosters and a bottle of Linden Village.
    I then refused on the grounds I'd be too embarresed to buy such piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭positron

e_e wrote: »
    No, and I never would.

Same here. I've been asked a few times, and said No straight out, and been called names for not buying beer or cigarettes for them.

PS: I am disappointed by the casual attitude a lot of posters have here about minors drinking. However, I don't care enough to go on about it or to try and convince anyone how they are wrong. I am disappointed, and I hope some day the country will mature enough to look at the alcoholism just like how smoking and smokers are being treated now - some day soon, I hope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Sometimes for a niece or nephew at a wedding or something but I wouldn't go into a shop and get it for a stranger.