Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Melion wrote: »

That photo was taken as Sahin was being brought off :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭conor93a

Just wondering with Koscielny back fully fit, who will be the preferred central defensive partnership? I like Koscielny a lot, but I've been so impressed with the Mertesacker-Vermaelen partnership so far this season. Think I'd stick with that for now.

conor93a wrote: »
    Just wondering with Koscielny back fully fit, who will be the preferred central defensive partnership? I like Koscielny a lot, but I've been so impressed with the Mertesacker-Vermaelen partnership so far this season. Think I'd stick with that for now.

I'd play Kosc against teams with pacy strikers, and Mert against your Stoke/Norwich/West ham type teams

Wenger always leaves the man with form in those positions.
    I'm not worried either way, I think the difference this season over previous ones, is most of the players will be fighting to stay in the starting lineup.
    In previous seasons players got sloppy and comfortable with little contention for a place in the first team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

Few of the lads playing sitting volleyball :pac:

http://paralympics.channel4.com/video/key-moments/videoid=1235499/

I'm glad Diaby came through unscathed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

AdamD wrote: »
    I'd play Kosc against teams with pacy strikers, and Mert against your Stoke/Norwich/West ham type teams

I love Kos the problem is this side is tiping along nicely and no one every likes rocking the boat. We've conceded ten goals less so far this season compared to this point last season so it's hard call to change Mert out and Kos in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Wonder which bottle of wine Wenger is opening tonight.

White,fruity,13 years old etc etc.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

Two super serious FF questions :p;

1: What's wrong with Szezesny and when's he likely to be back?

2: Has Jenkinson nailed your RB slot for the season or will he be out on his ear when Sagna is back?

Good result today btw. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

The defense seems much calmer with Mert playing. No panicking at set pieces and when teams run at them.

The tracking back of the Ox and Podolski is also a big bonus for the defense. Some difference compared to when Wally and Arshavin were on the wings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

2: Has Jenkinson nailed your RB slot for the season or will he be out on his ear when Sanga is back?

1: soon

2: defo out, think maybe 2-3 weeks time

Gibbs ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,784 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

2: Has Jenkinson nailed your RB slot for the season or will he be out on his ear when Sanga is back?

1. Rib injury, back next game.

2. No. Sagna back in 3 weeks and straight back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

gosplan wrote: »
    1: soon

2: defo out, think maybe 2-3 weeks time

Gibbs ftw.

Jenkinson is doing very well, but he's not going to keep out one of best full backs in World football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Has a rib injury. He was to have a test yesterday so he obviously failed so I assume he'll rest up during the international break and be back for Southampton.

While he's doing great right now he wont keep his place once Sagna is back. A fit Sagna is one of our best defenders and always gonna be first choice.

Speaking of FF I wish I had the confidence to have brought Mannone in for Szezesny these last two weeks! I wonder will Fabianski move down the pecking order now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Anyone have a list of players who will be involved in internationals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

wonga77 wrote: »
    Bould has already put a huge stamp on the team. The whole defensive unit look more solid and clued in, though there will be far tougher tests ahead

I watched the game and he looked so serious, always making gestures and screaming- you can sense the intense desire to win and lack of satisfaction. At one point even we were 2-0 up, he got so irated when we lost the ball. He comes across a disciplinarian (I heard himself and Song didnt see eye to eye-anecdotal story though) which I feel most football players need these days to help focus more on the end result.

On another note, I know much has been said about RVP and his performance today, yes we should forget him and move on; I cant just help but imagine the impact if he had stayed. Right now we have a sound defense, a solid midfield and he would just be banging in goals with reckless abandon with passes from Carzola. I know it is early days but I think he might end up regreting his decision because the ManU I have seen so far are not winning the EPL league or CL this year- very messy defense and a midfield that has to largely depend on a 38 year old -not happening.

It feels like he has found himself in the Arsenal of last season to be honest- essentially scoring to make up for deficits.

KINGVictor wrote: »

I watched the game and he looked so serious, always making gestures and screaming- you can sense the intense desire to win and lack of satisfaction. At one point even we were 2-0 up, he got so irated when we lost the ball. He comes across a disciplinarian (I heard himself and Song didnt see eye to eye-anecdotal story though) which I feel most football players need these days to help focus more on the end result.

On another note, I know much has been said about RVP and his performance today, yes we should forget him and move on; I cant just help but imagine the impact if he had stayed. Right now we have a sound defense, a solid midfield and he would just be banging in goals with reckless abandon with passes from Carzola. I know it is early days but I think he might end up regreting his decision because the ManU I have seen so far are not winning the EPL league or CL this year- very messy defense and a midfield that has to largely depend on a 38 year old -not happening.

It feels like he has found himself in the Arsenal of last season to be honest- essentially scoring to make up for deficits.

Even if we dont win the League, just finishing above United this season would be epic :D It's always great to finish above them, but this season would be the best time yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Fcuk this talk of having rvp in this team and what he would do
    He didn't want us and left
    Rather have giroud who try's his best for the jersey
    Rvp don't deserve to wear the cannon on his chest, and he can be ****ed if he thinks I'm gonna sit here missing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Soups123

Rvp don't deserve to wear the cannon on his chest, and he can be ****ed if he thinks I'm gonna sit here missing him
    Seriously mate you could stick ur ex missus's name in there and it wud read spot on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Diaby looked immense today, or at least what was shown of him from MOTD.
    Easy to forget how good he could be because of all his injuries, but we have a serious midfield trio at the moment.
    Barring any injuries, i fail to see how Rosicky or Wilshere can get straight back into the team. Great position to be in at the moment.

dvemail wrote: »
    Diaby looked immense today, or at least what was shown of him from MOTD.
    Easy to forget how good he could be because of all his injuries, but we have a serious midfield trio at the moment.
    Barring any injuries, i fail to see how Rosicky or Wilshere can get straight back into the team. Great position to be in at the moment.

Gerard couldn't get near diaby today he was immense
    I reckon wilshere goes AM and Santi goes RW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Could be done but Santi probably plays his best stuff in the centre. Could even put Arteta bit more forward and throw Wilshere in Artetas role like he did 2 seasons ago. Great problem to have.

dvemail wrote: »

Could be done but Santi probably plays his best stuff in the centre. Could even put Arteta bit more forward and throw Wilshere in Artetas role like he did 2 seasons ago. Great problem to have.

Wilshere is too good to be on the bed when fully fit, and IF diaby keeps playing like that he can't be dropped and Arteta is the first name on the team sheet
    And we have played 3 different players RW in 3 games none of them outstanding makes sense that bringing in jack and moving Santi is the move

But alot of things can change during a season but we really are very string in midfield

Can't really understand why jenkinson gets so much stick here, he hasn't done anything wrong that I can see so far, nor in the last season for the most part.

He'll only get better in my opinion.

Great win today. Diaby and Podolski were class and i think Giroud will come good in the near future. As for little Santi, he's the gift that keeps on giving.

Bould has really put his marker on this team and with all due respect to Pat Rice i suppose we were overdue fresh ideas. Was very impressed with the way we tried to work a corner for a change as we normally waste them which is not good enough in any form of professional football. Mertesacker though looked in big trouble and could have cost us. He got Arteta booked. Very lucky to make the ball for one challenge but a decent shout for a penalty for the other. Sooner the Koc and Verm partnership is restored the better but to our dismay it seems Vermaelen hobbled off the 90th minute

3 games, 1 win and 2 draws with no goals conceded. What a difference 12 months make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Garth Crooks can be dodgy in his analysis sometimes but nice to see we have three of our players in the team of the week -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19460157

Fair play. RVP is an excellent footballer and one of the finest ive seen in an Arsenal shirt but he made his decision to go, we made our decision to sell and so be it. Best of luck to him but we must go forward. Arsenal will be ok in the future and will go from strength to strength on the evidence of what ive seen so far. we probably need to get in better centre backs and to clear out Toto and Mertesacker. Not up to the pace of the Premier league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

RVP 11 wrote: »
    He is, but it feels this year like we have a few captains on the pitch.
    Probably thanks to Bould

I would have thought the first thing Steve would have said was to be more vocal on the pitch.

This team seems very solid and if that means curbing our all out attacking instincts somewhat I'd only be delighted.

Got really sick of being seen as a soft touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

KINGVictor wrote: »
    Garth Crooks can be dodgy in his analysis sometimes but nice to see we have three of our players in the team of the week -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19460157

with 2 of the 3 being defenders no less!!

Sooner the Koc and Verm partnership is restored the better but to our dismay it seems Vermaelen hobbled off the 90th minute

We dont have a game next weekend so hopefully he'll be fine for Southampton.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    We dont have a game next weekend so hopefully he'll be fine for Southampton.

Oh its vital. Other then Koc and Verm we have no other centre half cut out for the premier league. Djourou is always struggling for match fitness and the other two i previously mentioned are just not up to it.

Wenger should let Steve Bould decide on the buying and selling of defenders in the future and we'll be ok