Worst summer ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

Weather is weather and there is no such thing as bad weather in Ireland, just bad clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

2007 was far worse than this year, there was something ridiculous like 58 consecutive days of rain back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

today would be classed as a cracker in comparison to how ****e the rest of the summer was, only about 20 degrees.

Where's this global warming we've all been promised?

All around us unfortunately and in the wrong places like the poles North America and Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Where's this global warming we've all been promised?
    They renamed it to climate change because global warming was a myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Sh1te weather is just a state of mind...

Greetings from sunny warm Madrid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Elvis_Presley

I had a cracking summer - 5 weeks of perfect weather in France and the rest in Scotland where it's been very decent. Suckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

I had great weather all summer, i cant wait for the cooler nights and bleaker days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

It's not the weather that makes a summer it's what you do during it that's important! This has been my favourite summer ever :D and its been warm, just not sunny at all really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

smash wrote: »
    They renamed it to climate change because global warming was a myth.

No, they renamed it climate change because people didn't get the 'global' part of global warming, instead questioning how there could be global warming if it was cold in Ireland today.

People
    As vast as the Irish empire is Ireland is not the globe. Get a passport and you will find this out.

Global warming is a real phenomena the controversy lies in what is causing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

September as usual looks like delivering the goods. No Atlantic weather for the next week by the looks of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

zerks wrote: »
    But we'd get sunburn:(

I didn't say you had to move to the Mediterranean... you could always go to the north of France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Lads its roasting outside, get off your keyboards and go out and enjoy it

I really wonder if people have ever been abroad and experienced anything over 28 degrees.

Today is pleasant is it's not raining but it is by no means 'roasting'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

No, they renamed it climate change because people didn't get the 'global' part of global warming, instead questioning how there could be global warming if it was cold in Ireland today.

Global warming relates to the average temperature of the planet and does not account for local weather.

Some would argue that wetter summers are caused by global warming.

Either way global warming is real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

murpho999 wrote: »
    I really wonder if people have ever been abroad and experienced anything over 28 degrees.

I'm abroad and it's fúcking great! :pac:

Sucks to live in Ireland.

Muahahahahaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

murpho999 wrote: »
    Global warming relates to the average temperature of the planet and does not account for local weather.

Some would argue that wetter summers are caused by global warming.

Either way global warming is real.

Yeah, that was my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Sappa wrote: »
    I can't for my 31 years remember a ****tier summer than we have just had.
    Depressing weather not 3 good days in a row and a major let down.

I remember the summer of 1981 was as bad. So bad in fact, that when a heatwave finally arrived on Thursday August 27th, and was predicted to last a fortnight, the Government allowed the schools to remain closed for an extra 2 weeks, extending the summer holidays.

School was supposed to resume on Tuesday Sept 1st, and did not resume until Tuesday Sept 15th.
    This is not a wind up, I remember it very well, I was going into 3rd year in secondary school at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

marcsignal wrote: »
    I remember the summer of 1981 was as bad. So bad in fact, that when a heatwave finally arrived on Thursday August 27th, and was predicted to last a fortnight, the Government allowed the schools to remain closed for an extra 2 weeks, extending the summer holidays.

School was supposed to resume on Tuesday Sept 1st, and did not resume until Tuesday Sept 15th.
    This is not a wind up, I remember it very well, I was going into 3rd year in secondary school at the time.

Wrong teachers went on strike, my mother shipped me off to my grand uncle in
    dublin to get rid of me

Wrong teachers went on strike, my mother shipped me off to my grand uncle in
    dublin to get rid of me

You sure that was 1981 ?

I remember a 2 week long teachers strike when I was in secondary, but don't think it was Sept 1981.
    If I'm not mistaken, I think I have an old newspaper from the time relating to this. It will be among a ton of similar newspapers and stuff, from significant and quirky events that I collect, but I'll see if I can dig it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

marcsignal wrote: »
    You sure that was 1981 ?

I remember a 2 week long teachers strike when I was in secondary, but don't think it was Sept 1981.
    If I'm not mistaken, I think I have an old newspaper from the time relating to this. It will be among a ton of similar newspapers and stuff, from significant and quirky events that I collect, but I'll see if I can dig it out.

I started secondary in 1980, in 2nd year we did not start back for two weeks because of a strike.

Which was great, because I got taken to the Botanical gardens, Natural History Museem, walked up the to the Three rock, and other parts of dublin, by this ex British army officer/IRA Man/Papal Knight

give kids a break in the eighties because of weather,you is having a giraffe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

kelle wrote: »
    TBH I can't remember one good Summer since 2006!

I started running this year, and I found it easy because I didn't have to endure high temperatures during races - it was always cool, windy or raining buckets much to my delight :D
    yep youre right there just as the recession had started, its all connected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

LizT wrote: »
    It's Ireland. Why are people always so surprised when we have a sh1te summer?

Growing up summer was generally sh1te, but once every few years we had a good solid one, and even the rest of the summers usually had one or two periods of really good weather lasting a few weeks. Put basically, most summers you had a long enough spell to leave yourself with a tan for a few weeks or months.

I think it was 2008 I remember we had maybe 2 or 3 sunny days. It was after that that I decided that mentally I could not stick another summer back home. Even if our economy was not tits up I still would not be living in Ireland, the weather is too awful. I would gladly live back home if we had the same weather as the rest of Northern and Central Europe- a bitter winter in exchange for 3 or 4 months of great weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Sh1te weather is just a state of mind...

Greetings from sunny warm Madrid.

Twas an awful 24 degrees there yesterday though! And it'll be an icy 27 degrees today. Brrrr. God love us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

df1985 wrote: »
    today would be classed as a cracker in comparison to how ****e the rest of the summer was, only about 20 degrees.

"Only"? How do people like temperatures that high...

I started secondary in 1980, in 2nd year we did not start back for two weeks because of a strike.

Which was great, because I got taken to the Botanical gardens, Natural History Museem, walked up the to the Three rock, and other parts of dublin, by this ex British army officer/IRA Man/Papal Knight

give kids a break in the eighties because of weather,you is having a giraffe

Actually, you're spot on who the fug, fair play to your memory. ;)

I have the clipping here from the Evening Press which reads..

'Indian Summer beckons as Teachers strike looms'

...with just a pic of a crowd on a beach somewhere. I've no scanner but will try to post later.

Can't imaging the kids are too happy about our half decent weather right now :D

Had to put thsi somewhere. It is adding to my miserable summer

FKUC DUBLIN

We are getting hammered, I am abandoning this match before I blow a gasket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Sappa wrote: »
    I can't for my 31 years remember a ****tier summer than we have just had.
    Depressing weather not 3 good days in a row and a major let down.

I'm sick of people giving out about the weather. There were so many days this year that I was stuck in work, schweatin' me head off, wishing I was outside in the sun. So many days. We had about 20 or 30 days with temperatures up around 18, 19, 20 degrees and higher. Plenty of nice days in April, May, June, July, August and September has been pretty good so far.

It was a grand summer.

Don't forget about the nice heat wave back in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Sometimes, I think, people prefer sunshine all the time, temperatures above 40 degrees all the time, forest fires...