Traveller woman beaten to death in Louth.**Mod warning in post 1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

charlemont wrote: »
    ****.. So he is the small lad in the video ??? Himself and his brother were on the documentary ??? ****in scumbag, Hope he rots inside.

I can't remember if his brother was but his father was in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

MagicSean wrote: »
    Domestic abuse may be common but it is almost unheard of for a man to assault another mans wife within the traveller community.

Almost, I don't think the word "Traveller" is used in either article below, but all are members of the travelling community.

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/pair-accused-of-car-park-attack-on-family-2648071.html

http://www.herald.ie/news/feud-calms-as-thug-in-attack-on-car-is-jailed-3145003.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

Man is charged with murder of his wife in Dundalk, Co Louth

Gardaí were required to calm tensions in the court room as relatives of the victim shouted abuse at Mr McDonagh.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0901/man-appears-before-special-sitting-of-dundalk-ct.html

‘I didn’t mean to kill her, I’m sorry’ – the Words of Jacqueline McDonaghs Husband.

http://www.98fm.com/2012/category-news-sport/i-didnt-mean-to-kill-her-im-sorry-the-words-of-jacqueline-mcdonaghs-husband/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Duiske

Super-Rush wrote: »
    I can't remember if his brother was but his father was in it.

Don't remember the father, but his brother James was definitely in it. He was unbeaten for years, and I think he may have remained unbeaten up to today. The family had lived in Dundalk previously until James was shot in a bar one night. The group involved in the shooting were also rumored to be behind the burning down of Jame's house in Coolock Lane a couple of years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

The extent of domestic abuse in the travelling community is far higher than in the settled community.

Source

Pavee Point here is quite open about the higher level of domestic abuse in the Traveller community also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Duiske wrote: »
    Don't remember the father, but his brother James was definitely in it. He was unbeaten for years, and I think he may have remained unbeaten up to today. The family had lived in Dundalk previously until James was shot in a bar one night. The group involved in the shooting were also rumored to be behind the burning down of Jame's house in Coolock Lane a couple of years back.

You're right. I thought they were father and son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

"The Judge has recommended that he receive appropriate medical treatment."

I didn't think being a scumbag was an illness that could be cured by medical treatment. Unless they give him a lobotomy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

face1990 wrote: »
    People trying to work out what age the husband is to see if he might be the culprit, posting statistics on how common wife-beating is in the traveller community.
    And the husband is charged, and the culture of domestic abuse in the Travelling community appears to be highly relevant.

Not such ridiculous posting after all.

stuar wrote: »
    Man is charged with murder of his wife in Dundalk, Co Louth

Gardaí were required to calm tensions in the court room as relatives of the victim shouted abuse at Mr McDonagh.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0901/man-appears-before-special-sitting-of-dundalk-ct.html

‘I didn’t mean to kill her, I’m sorry’ – the Words of Jacqueline McDonaghs Husband.

http://www.98fm.com/2012/category-news-sport/i-didnt-mean-to-kill-her-im-sorry-the-words-of-jacqueline-mcdonaghs-husband/

They never do mean it, when they get caught. Then they cry like pussies. What a ****ing big pussie.

Scum bag to do that while his children were around ( not that it was right at anytime, but you know what I mean hopefully)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

ermahgerd wrote: »
    Guys, it's their culture and you have to respect it. Leave off.

You're havin a laugh, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

smash wrote: »

I didn't think being a scumbag was an illness that could be cured by medical treatment. Unless they give him a lobotomy.

That old innocent until proven guilty thing is proving difficult, eh smash?

Seanchai wrote: »

That old innocent until proven guilty thing is proving difficult, eh smash?
    He has been found guilty

Uh, he has been charged. That's not the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He has been found guilty

lol.. I hope you're never called for jury service :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

He has been found guilty

We must have some justice system so if he can be arrested interviewed charged and convicted in 48 hours..:rolleyes: Go Ireland Yeah..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

ermahgerd wrote: »
    Guys, it's their culture and you have to respect it. Leave off.

Is this supposed to be some satirical swipe at the 'Political Correctness gone mad' brigade who you imagine will rush to defend travellers' rights to beat each other up, even though no one is actually doing or saying that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Nulty

Look, some people have an aversion to travelers and seem to be happy to perpetuate a line of "don't bother us and we won't bother you". Those people are happy to accept anything that travelers might do to each other as long as they don't infringe on their own, settled lives.

That woman (Jacqueline) did not enter her self in a bare knuckle fight nor did any of the other assaulted traveler women who find them selves physically abused by their spouses. Just because they are travelers doesn't make it acceptable for it to happen. If two men want to go and punch the heads off each other because it makes them look tough then so be it but these women are non-combatants and should be afforded the same attention and protection as settled victims of domestic abuse.

I know it is culture/tradition to beat on your wife "when she deserves it" but that admission does not justify the act. I acknowledge that it is done but that doesn't mean I condone it. It is a disgraceful scenario where a culture has developed where victims of abuse are not even aware of their rights in a so called civilized country like ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 ermahgerd

You're havin a laugh, right?
    Haha yeah, I was saying it aloud as I was typing it and was chuckling all the way :)

Lads, he admitted it didn't he? So who cares if he's been charged considering he owned up.

Kooli wrote: »
    Is this supposed to be some satirical swipe at the 'Political Correctness gone mad' brigade who you imagine will rush to defend travellers' rights to beat each other up, even though no one is actually doing or saying that?
    They won't necessarily rush to defend their rights to beat each other up, but they will pretend that domestic violence isn't any more common in the Travelling Community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Lads, he admitted it didn't he? So who cares if he's been charged considering he owned up.
    Convicted you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Jaffusmaximus

I live in close proximity to what happened and to be honsest they kept pretty much to themselves, we all knew who he was but we all kept our council and gave the benefit of the doubt. But in hind sight it is hard to see how such a man could raise a family and lead the life he has without some adverse mental effect. At the end of it we will no longer see her kids playing in the streets which will make the area a lot quiter. Very tragic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

Absolute Bastard :( RIP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

Nulty wrote: »
    Look, some people have an aversion to travelers and seem to be happy to perpetuate a line of "don't bother us and we won't bother you". Those people are happy to accept anything that travelers might do to each other as long as they don't infringe on their own, settled lives. That woman (Jacqueline) did not enter her self in a bare knuckle fight nor did any of the other assaulted traveler women who find them selves physically abused by their spouses. Just because they are travelers doesn't make it acceptable for it to happen. If two men want to go and punch the heads off each other because it makes them look tough then so be it but these women are non-combatants and should be afforded the same attention and protection as settled victims of domestic abuse. I know it is culture/tradition to beat on your wife "when she deserves it" but that admission does not justify the act. I acknowledge that it is done but that doesn't mean I condone it. It is a disgraceful scenario where a culture has developed where victims of abuse are not even aware of their rights in a so called civilized country like ours.
    they have options.

not great, and they will be shunned seemingly, but if they want out they report the abuse and soon they and their kids will be housed by the government.

They choose to put up with it in the majority of cases.

they have to make the first move to change things for themselves.

the fact is the majority of female travellers are lovelx people, the majority of male travellers are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

As this man has now been charged I think we should let the law take it's course and end the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

As this man has now been charged I think we should let the law take it's course and end the thread.

I never knew the guards closed the threads on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Uh, he has been charged. That's not the same thing.

He admitted to the killing his wife yes?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I don't know what he has admitted.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

according to a news report earlier, he said he was sorry, and didnt mean to kill her, its somewhere on this thread i think.

yep, here it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

Rochelle wrote: »
    Like a lot of people my age, I'm 34.

and me, me too... makes you think.