An example of why this country is Screwed

• 31-08-2012 11:51PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 298 ✭✭

I was looking for a car part yesterday. I rang a few car breakers and got the usual response "Er, I'll have a look out back, and get back to you". Never heard anything (no surprise).

I then had a look on the net and came across a UK site. I filled in the request form (at 10:30pm). At 8:55am my mobile phone rang and it was a a guy from the UK, saying he had the part I wanted and to check my email. The price was also good (even with the crap exchange rate and posting).

You go to a breakers yard here and you will be greeted by a vicious Alsatian dog. :rolleyes:

I notice this all the time - far superior customer service from other EU countries, and especially the UK. The car part is just a small example.

I worked for an Irish plastics production company for 9 years, that made every possible building product available (PVC windows, land drainage, down-pipes). Probably the biggest in Munster. You wouldn't believe the quality control - absolutely shocking. Once a team of Germans visited, trying to sell us raw materials, and you could see the genuine shock in their faces of what was going on.

Okay, the major US companies here are well managed and profitable (and are here for the low corporation tax and nothing else), buts let's all pretend they're here for our education and skills.

The Irish can indeed be good workers when guided and trained probably. We just don't have the drive and know-how in this country. Something seriously missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

I notice this all the time - far superior customer service from other EU countries, and especially the UK.... The Irish can indeed be good workers when guided and trained probably.

hehe. How quaint, with the proper guidance and training the Irish could reach the jackpot and be as good as... the British, the very people whose state has lost around 1 billion tax-paying customers across the world since 1945. With customer service success like this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

He has a point. I work for a multinational but am shocked when I hear about the work ethic some Irish companies. It not par for the course but seems to effect certain industries here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Seanchai wrote: »
    hehe. How quaint, with the proper guidance and training the Irish could reach the jackpot and be as good as... the British, the very people whose state has lost around 1 billion tax-paying customers across the world since 1945. With customer service success like this....

Typical Nordie response ...the poster has got in a clean head shot in my opinion and is spot on in his observations.

In the case quoted the poster got on to a bored non motivated gimp who was not best pleased that his hole scratching exercise was interupted...or...heaven forbid that the poster rang at 4.35 and he was due to meet the lads in the pub at 5.

Happens all the time.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Typical Nordie response ...the poster has got in a clean head shot in my opinion and is spot on in his observations.

In the case quoted the poster got on to a bored non motivated gimp who was not best pleased that his hole scratching exercise was interupted...or...heaven forbid that the poster rang at 4.35 and he was due to meet the lads in the pub at 5.

Happens all the time.....

....not that you'd generalise or wildly speculate or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Yes, the Irish government wants to get small (and big) business moving again and they want business to become more export oriented.
    But, as you have rightly pointed out - there is a serious problem with the level of professionalism shown by some Irish businesses.

I am talking here about a general sense of laziness, apathy and promises not kept. I have been dealing with UK companies for years. Always spot-on, always reliable. Always helpful if there is a hiccup with an order. In Ireland, not so. For example, if I email an Irish company about an inexpensive machine part. You will be lucky to get a response back. Email a UK company - you always get a speedy response back with a price and shipping cost. This makes it much easier and quicker to do business. Even with the exchange rate- who I am I more likely to order the €20000 equipment from?

If we try to export to other countries with this ethos in place - we will be in serious trouble and the "ah sure we're great craic anyway" excuse won't wash.

Typical Nordie response... [blah, blah, blah]

?? Are you alright in the head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Plenty of professional car breakers in Ireland who do ring back and are very well run businesses. Gerlan in Cork, Whelans in Portlaoise are just two that spring to mind.
    I hate it when people make sweeping statements like this. I've dealt with plenty crooks in the UK who seem to think you're fair game when they hear you're Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Or when you stand at the "customer service" counter of almost every Irish company, get ignored for 10 minutes, then asked "You ok?". Being a cnunt, I always answer "yeah, I'm fine, you ok?" then say nothing. The usual responce is a curt "how can I help you?" to which I usually reply "well that's a bit better". It gets me loved everywhere, but in fairness, customer care and standards here are absolutely beyond brutal. I laugh when I hear "such and such has gone into recievership" - yeah, because they treat their customers like shit. Big surprise. Brooks Thomas springs to mind, or Paperlink, or Chadwicks, or pretty much anyone else you'd like to mention. Customer is king??? Yeah right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Nonsense, just nonsense.

AngeGal wrote: »
    Nonsense, just nonsense.
    What is?

jetsonx wrote: »
    But, as you have rightly pointed out - there is a serious problem with the level of professionalism shown by some Irish businesses.

True, very true, but these are usually ones which have very little competition in their industry or are dominant in a region. That's a different thing to saying the Irish people need to be trained and guided. The market is often not big enough to make it worthwhile for somebody to enter and challenge local dynasties and power structures.

The problem is the bad service which results from lack of competition, and British firms in Ireland are just as bad when it comes to screwing the public here - witness the prices charged by British firms like Argos in their stores in Dublin, compared to Newry. And so on. Competition, and not some innate national customer service ethic, shapes customer service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Sounds like a lot of companies need to hire me. I can kick people in the hole real good.

On topic OP. What did you do to change things in your job? Off topic, the local car parts place is very good up here. Never going to a breakers again. 90% of the time what you get is expensive crap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 298 ✭✭Tony Soprano.

Plenty of professional car breakers in Ireland who do ring back and are very well run businesses. Gerlan in Cork, Whelans in Portlaoise are just two that spring to mind.
    I hate it when people make sweeping statements like this. I've dealt with plenty crooks in the UK who seem to think you're fair game when they hear you're Irish.

Gerlans don't even answer the phone. They're also closed on Wednesday and Saturday (the busiest day for breakers).

I'm from Cork and Gerlans are hardest to get in contact with.

No idea of Whelans. Doubt they'd phone me @ 8:55am (like the crowd in the UK) though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Pantsface

Nodin wrote: »
    ....not that you'd generalise or wildly speculate or anything.

A drinking session ending in rides and fights, followed by the next morning featuring massive guilt, fear, and hurried phone calls explaining heads on other peoples wives/husbands bosoms lap being just a drunken thing, bad form at the moment, won't happen a fourth time. Then rashers, eggs, coffee, quick shot of whiskey and orange juice and out the door for the first fag of the day and off to training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Agree with OP, too many big headed fukers who are still trying to live off the celtic tiger, thinking they have right to something or other, I think however we are starting to realise that value for money and a bit of manners are actually worth something and attitudes are starting to change

22/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 298 ✭✭Tony Soprano.

squod wrote: »
    On topic OP. What did you do to change things in your job?

Tried lots of things, but was too far down the ladder to make a difference or have a voice. No taking to them - a family run business and they thought they were the Ewing's from Dallas. The artificial property boom of ours had this effect on a lot of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Great, another moany arsed thread complaining about why the country is screwed and how we're all stupid and lazy.

Just what we need in AH on a Friday night... some more poxy misery and gloom.

Whoop-de-fucking-dooh.

Tried lots of things, but was too far down the ladder to make a difference or have a voice. No taking to them - a family run business and they thought they were the Ewing's from Dallas. The artificial property boom of ours had this effect on a lot of people.

Know how that feels.

uch wrote: »
    Agree with OP, too many big headed fukers who are still trying to live off the celtic tiger, thinking they have right to something or other, I think however we are starting to realise that value for money and a bit of manners are actually worth something and attitudes are starting to change
    Feckin slowly though. I still seeth every time I go into a builders merchant, and I spend a fortune - god help the average punter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

have to agree with op, many smallish irish companies set up a website but never update it, never answer an e-mail, and never ring back, any uk company i have ever e-mailed have always answered and in general are very keen for business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

IRELAND; The only country where customer service is sacrificed in the pursuit of profit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

I used source my computer parts from a large well known supplier in Germany with an Irish mirrored website (komplett)- complete farce as far as customer service was concerned, so then I switched to a well known French company with an Irish mirrored website (pixmania), again- a complete farce as far as customer service were concerned. Then through word of mouth I discovered a not so well known Irish supplier (elara) who have proven efficient, competitive, and their customer service is fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

thats good i would perfer to hear about positive stories than negative ones, but im sure you will agree they are the exception

Great, another moany arsed thread complaining about why the country is screwed and how we're all stupid and lazy.

Whoop-de-fucking-dooh.
    Start another uplifting one then. Jasus Star, you're getting to be a moaney drip lately tbf.

If this was a foreign country we were talking about someone would be on here pretending to be offended. I think Irish companies are better than the picture painted of them here so far.

Lots of people praise US companies that migrate here. I've yet to work in one of them that wasn't full of weirdos. That's my experience so far.

Support your local businesses please. Oh, and also please stop voting for quears, criminals and people who have never worked a day in their lives.

Good night.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I used to work as a Project Engineer and would have had to source various components (pipes, pipe fittings, valves, motors, etc.) in Ireland and if needed in Europe.

There are some big name Irish companies that I found appalling but equally there were others that I would rank as the best for customer service (looking for quotes, spec sheets, etc) I found in Europe.

I did find it a bit hit and miss in the U.K. with what type of customer service you'd receive and similar in Europe. Some companies wee pretty good and others I never went to again.

I personally never found a trend for anyone one company to be honest. You just have to shop around til you find a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭padser12345

Pottler wrote: »
    Or when you stand at the "customer service" counter of almost every Irish company, get ignored for 10 minutes, then asked "You ok?". Being a cnunt, I always answer "yeah, I'm fine, you ok?" then say nothing. The usual responce is a curt "how can I help you?" to which I usually reply "well that's a bit better". It gets me loved everywhere, but in fairness, customer care and standards here are absolutely beyond brutal. I laugh when I hear "such and such has gone into recievership" - yeah, because they treat their customers like shit. Big surprise. Brooks Thomas springs to mind, or Paperlink, or Chadwicks, or pretty much anyone else you'd like to mention. Customer is king??? Yeah right.

That reminds me of all the times I go to the Chemist and ask for Solpadiene....the same lady always asks me: Now'...you do Know how to take these don't you?....And proceeds to tell me the dangers of codeine Etc.,Etc. , in a jobs worth type of fashion - for all the other customers to hear.

Over the years, I got a little tired of the same almost patronising rendition...and one day while suffering a bad tooth ache and asking for the Solpadiene' the same question was asked of me - in front of a load of customers....before she finished the question - I blurted.....YEAH! With a glass of water! Chuckles all round! She wasn't offended I think she got it! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Pottler wrote: »
    Start another uplifting one then. Jasus Star, you're getting to be a moaney drip lately tbf.

And by some of your more recent posts you're starting to sound like Bill Cullen.

I know which one I'd prefer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

dharn wrote: »
    thats good i would perfer to hear about positive stories than negative ones, but im sure you will agree they are the exception

Well I know plenty of Irish entrepreneurs who are self employed and are able to provide fantastic customer service, I myself am one of them, but through various networking events and seminars I've met others that are just as determined to retain their customers and form long-lasting relationships through excellent customer service as opposed to many multi-nationals that couldn't give a fiddlers about their customers and only care about extracting as much as they can from their wallets. Take a stroll around PC World and you'll see what I mean. They have to pay for those big glass windows somehow so they can see you coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Whoop-de-fucking-dooh.

Don't like, Don't post

22/25