Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Kess73 wrote: »
    So is that your new squeal point? :pac:

Guess you will be fine with it if we get Sturridge today then. I would be gutted as I don't rate the guy and think he is hyped a lot because he is English, but you will be grand because you will be doing your best not to be judging any players until they turn 25 from here in. ;)

Or Walcott, what was his opinion when we were linked to him during the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Transfer deadline day just isn't the same without Harry Redknapp.

Jaysus lads, you're like a crowd of bitches!

Time of the month season :D

Villas interest in Dempsey is over as quick as it started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,904 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Melion wrote: »
    25?? Really?
    Age limits on when to judge a player. Can we bring back Adam Hamill and Paul Anderson?
    you never even wanted us to sign Henderson. :confused:

lol, the urge to pounce on everything is comical.

By and large, athletes are what they are around the 25 mark.

If you've signed someone under 25 and they have a bad season, it's not unreasonable to give them more time, particularly if they were considered a long term project as Carroll and Henderson were (pointed out by daithijjj earlier).

Athletes over 25 in any sport are less likely to make giant strides of improvement.

I didn't want Henderson, but he showed flashes and is young. I think dumping him now would be really short sighted. We can't recoup what we spent, he has technical ability that could thrive in this style of play, and if Adam and Spearing are gone he could get game time. It isn't difficult to see how swapping him straight up for Dempsey would be pretty silly.

Hate on though folks, hate on.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, you're like a crowd of bitches!

Time of the month season :D

Nope, just love calling people up when they think they can get away with spouting absolute rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Grayditch wrote: »
    Transfer deadline day just isn't the same without Harry Redknapp.

Transfer deadline day for Harry means one thing. Assume the position:

58402725_harry_redknapp_in_car.jpg

Hours he'd sit there for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

If you've signed someone under 25 and they have a bad season, it's not unreasonable to give them more time, particularly if they were considered a long term project as Carroll and Henderson were (pointed out by daithijjj earlier).

Athletes over 25 in any sport are less likely to make giant strides of improvement.

I didn't want Henderson, but he showed flashes and is young. I think dumping him now would be really short sighted. We can't recoup what we spent, he has technical ability that could thrive in this style of play, and if Adam and Spearing are gone he could get game time. It isn't difficult to see how swapping him straight up for Dempsey would be pretty silly.

They were project pieces under Kenny, Carroll doesn't suit Rodgers so why would he keep him?

Should we bring back any other players we've sold/released under 25?

What about Dani Pacheco? Keep him around for another 4 years and then release him?

You're talking rubbish as usual

darced wrote: »

Lucas 100% did not hide in matches when he was getting booed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭opti76

harry redknapp has been spotted at his local mcdonalds drive thru.. he'l do anything for a conversation through a car window today..

Starting to think Fulham are digging their heels in and not trying to sell him to us.

Hope not

So is that your new squeal point? :pac:

Guess you will be fine with it if we get Sturridge today then. I would be gutted as I don't rate the guy and think he is hyped a lot because he is English, but you will be grand because you will be doing your best not to be judging any players until they turn 25 from here in. ;)

That isn't what I said. If you have made a commitment and signed someone and have a sunk cost and the player is at an age where great improvement is still possible - you might want to stick.

Also, any loan signing won't be a fix to our problems and I won't be happy barring a quality center forward signing on a permenant basis being made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

I fall prey to this like anyone else at times, and if I think about it for two seconds I realise how silly it is when the player in question is under 25!

Seems alot of people have no patience. They all would have sold Alonso to anyone in summer 08 and would have lost the player who was player of the season for us in 09 imo. A player like him can have a bad season but if a young player has one he is sh1te and thats where it ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

darced wrote: »

Not seen too many suggesting that he should be sold today.

As for his potential, well he does have that and may well improve, but if I wanted an example of what serious potential looks like in a 22 year old British midfield player, then I would look at Allen as a prime example rather than Henderson.

Have no problem with Henderson staying, but I doubt if he will be much more than squad cover this season. Spearing leaving on loan and the possibility of Adam leaving will do Henderson a lot of good though as he will not have either taking game time from him during the season.

They were project pieces under Kenny, Carroll doesn't suit Rodgers so why would he keep him?

The club is bigger than Rodgers or Kenny, right? Henderson and Carroll were bought as long term investments, right? We can only make a huge loss if we move these players on now, right?

As such, allowing Rodgers to clear them out is short sighted and detrimental to the club overall.
    Should we bring back any other players we've sold/released under 25?

Hi strawman.
    What about Dani Pacheco? Keep him around for another 4 years and then release him?

Funny, I though Pacheo had been around the club for much longer than one season.
    You're talking rubbish as usual

In your opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Fair enough. Good to see you've changed your outlook I have to say
    Well the same dudes bought Jordan Henderson so, you know...maybe they are lacking...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77103627&postcount=5174
    Ah yeah, we're all just talking here. But to assume that the right decisions are made by the supposed experts all the time is to forget the Hodgson appointment or the Downing / Carroll / Henderson signings;

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78943310&postcount=2150

That isn't what I said. If you have made a commitment and signed someone and have a sunk cost and the player is at an age where great improvement is still possible - you might want to stick.

Also, any loan signing won't be a fix to our problems and I won't be happy barring a quality center forward signing on a permenant basis being made.

So sticking is the best option even if the player, Carroll in this case, is not in the manager's plans for the team? Seems a pretty stupid thing to do as the player only eats up resources whilst not getting gametime.

As for loan signings fixing problems. In the short to medium term they can, although I will agree that they are not a long term fix. But they are a better fix than a player the manager does not intend on using.

He was still a poor purchase - we way overspent and the money could have been better allocated elsewhere. I stand by the posts you quoted.

That said and understood, we can't exit the situation at a financial gain, and we can't bring in a better squad depth player with the money and time available to us right now, so - eventhough he was a poor purchase - it is still better to hold onto him now.

You're smart Chucky, you can grasp this if you really focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Times - A few of you asking about #Damiao. Pretty strong indication that they have been offered him " #LFC

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

This thread used to be a place you could go for good info and opinions. Lately its turning into a few people who just wanna row with each other.

The club is bigger than Rodgers or Kenny, right? Henderson and Carroll were bought as long term investments, right? We can only make a huge loss if we move these players on now, right?

As such, allowing Rodgers to clear them out is short sighted and detrimental to the club overall.

So youd rather Andy stayed getting wages while not getting games? Doesn't that go against what you were saying about money the other day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Anyone wrote: »

Couldn't question his work rate, but just too limited in terms of talent. Was used way too much for my liking last season but all the same, I wish him the best.

He was still a poor purchase - we way overspent and the money could have been better allocated elsewhere. I stand by the posts you quoted.

That said and understood, we can't exit the situation at a financial gain, and we can't bring in a better squad depth player with the money and time available to us right now, so - eventhough he was a poor purchase - it is still better to hold onto him now.

Who has said they want Henderson sold?

cloptrop wrote: »
    This thread used to be a place you could go for good info and opinions. Lately its turning into a few people who just wanna row with each other.

Did you spill my pint? :mad:

What did you call my mother :mad: :mad:

Couldn't question his work rate, but just too limited in terms of talent. Was used way too much for my liking last season but all the same, I wish him the best.

Not a good enough player, but came with loads of heart and effort. Glad he is not an option at Liverpool for at least six months, but I do hope he does well at Bolton.

What did you call my mother :mad: :mad:

And I called her it twice, what of it? :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I'm more referring to you and your under 25 give them time bollox. Never seemed to think that when you were constantly saying Henderson was nothing but average. I understand now your desperate to flip-flop on that opinion just so you can have another pop at the club and Rodgers though.

So sticking is the best option even if the player, Carroll in this case, is not in the manager's plans for the team? Seems a pretty stupid thing to do as the player only eats up resources whilst not getting gametime.

As for loan signings fixing problems. In the short to medium term they can, although I will agree that they are not a long term fix. But they are a better fix than a player the manager does not intend on using.

I am entitled to hold an opinion that the manager is wrong. Having Andy around as a potential option / change up seems a hell of a lot better to me than Sturridge on loan for example.

In any case, Carroll may yet have a part to play for this club under a new manager next summer. We'll see how it all pans out.