Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,904 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

opr wrote: »
    Does the article really say we offered a Henderson + cash deal for Dempsey?

Opr

I refuse to believe we're that dumb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

A replacement for Carroll?

Get soto on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Oscorp

Wow what went on there? Released after paying 7 million a year ago:confused:

Scored 6 times in 51 games. Apparently he only signed a two-and-a-half year deal with Hoffenheim. So he now has 12 months left and won't sign a new contract. Was ordered to train with the reserves during the pre-season.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

Opr

I refuse to believe we're that dumb.

Did you miss the last few windows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

Opr

Barret said we tried to use Henderson as a makeweight.

Bascombe said it was cash + Henderson for Dempsey.

I can't get my head around it. It can't be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

What is Henderson actually worth? Forget what we paid but what is he worth as a footballer right now? 12 mil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

What is Henderson actually worth? Forget what we paid but what is he worth as a footballer right now? 12 mil?

I would say all things considered, Henderson's market value would be just under 15m, regardless of whether there is cheaper options on the continent.

Him plus cash for Dempsey is outrageous imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Henderson is worth about £10m. Even then I'd think we'd struggle to get people to buy him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Dont see why we'd get rid of hendo, he is a decent player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

It's good at least to see Rodgers offload the mistakes of Kenny!! Get Adam off the books and we're laughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,644 ✭✭✭✭cson

I would have valued Henderson at ~£8m but with the likes of Jarvis [£10m], Fletcher [£12m] and more pertinently; Rodwell [£15m] going for what they went for then you can see the impact of the English tax, so I'd say you'd get circa £12m for him.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I said it last year - we should have given Doni a run of games. Reina has needed a solid root up the rear end for a while now.

Without doubt. I'm not saying we should replace Reina, but we should be giving him something to think about. He's becoming too comfortable at this stage.

I know we're in for this Wolves keeper, but that's bollix! He won't be placing beads of sweat upon Reina's forehead.

Obviously, we're not going to be paying millions to bring in Buffon and his ilk, but for me, a perfect signing would be Jack Butland. He's not someone you'd put straight into the team, but someone who's highly rated enough to stand his own ground and if needed, will do a job.

Pepe's going through the motions right now. It's time he gets a taste of the old Bishop Brennans!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,644 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jack Butland would cost you a fortune.

Rene Adler would have been absolutely ideal imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I always get a good lol out of these going through the motions posts or the reason he's crap because he doesn't have competition. I can just imagine him thinking after he let the goal in tonight "lol, they can't drop so I don't care".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

How did Downing do at LB? Couldnt really watch the match properly but he seemed to be getting forward well. Hopefully it'll spur on Enrique to get his act together although itd probably take a lot more than that to get the wheels turning in his head.

I still think drenthe would be a good signing. He's versatile, available on a free and a decent player. He may be a bit of a head case, but on a free he'd be worth a risk if his wages were reasonable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,682 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Letting Hendersom go will be a massive mistake.
    I thought he ayed well tonight as well, tackled, more physical and some great forward passes. I think everyone will have a different opinion of him by May.
    Make no sense getting rid of him.

I always get a good lol out of these going through the motions posts or the reason he's crap because he doesn't have competition. I can just imagine him thinking after he let the goal in tonight "lol, they can't drop so I don't care".

Of course he cares. But you can 'lol' all you want, Reina needs some motivation. If a striker stops scoring, after a while he comes under pressure to be replaced by someone who scores goals.

I'm not saying drop Reina or anthing like that. If you wanna laugh your little head off, good for you. But i want Reina to stop being sh!t. So it's either give him some competition or sell him.

He can't keep going on the way he has been doing the last year or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Downing played fine at LB, but he didn't really have to do much defending. Made some very nice runs from deep (which Shelvey picked out) and hit some good crosses. But it'd be a test to put him up against decent wingers.

This Downing at left back nonsense is ..wait for it...nonsense. Sell him now. He is like Steven Warnock,.Not good enough to be a winger, so put him at left back. Just get a proper left back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭EchoO

Barrett is a numpty he doesn't have a remote clue on what is going on at the club now . A few years ago he would have had a good bit of insider knowlegde but that has all dried up .

Even John W. Henry follows Barrett on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

If Liverpool football club cannot afford 7m for a player and have to scurry around for further loan deals (from other EPL teams) it is humiliating as far as im concerned. If people cant see that the actions we are taking over trying to use Henderson as a make weight in a Dempsey deal are anything but actions of a second rate ownership, not only are the owners deluded but so are the fans who soak this up and try to explain it.

For all i know (or anyone else does) it is as much down to other footballers/managers at other clubs that have coaxed players into joining the club.

Thats my outlook as of tonight. Lets see what the last day of the window is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'm awful sad to see Andy go for the season. I wanted to see how he'd do for us, but even us Carroll hopefulls have to admit, there's a fairly huge chance he'd do feck all for us.

Part of me admires Rodgers' cut throat approach to telling players they won't be needed, but I just hope he gets it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

daithijjj wrote: »
    If Liverpool football club cannot afford 7m for a player and have to scurry around for further loan deals (from other EPL teams) it is humiliating as far as im concerned. If people cant see that the actions we are taking over trying to use Henderson as a make weight in a Dempsey deal are anything but actions of a second rate ownership, not only are the owners deluded but so are the fans who soak this up and try to explain it.

FSG are moneyball owners. They're always gonna be looking for value. Especially after having their fingers burned by last year's spend. I understand what you're saying about them not being able/willing to spend. But that's the FSG philosophy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

A1k21FfCYAAKkcO.jpg

20+ this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

ush wrote: »
    20+ this season.

He'll probably have a stunning season!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

For all i know (or anyone else does) it is as much down to other footballers/managers at other clubs that have coaxed players into joining the club.

Thats my outlook as of tonight. Lets see what the last day of the window is all about.

I am in the exact frame of mind .

Hopefully over the next few hours we are proved wrong .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

ush wrote: »
    FSG are moneyball owners. They're always gonna be looking for value. Especially after having their fingers burned by last year's spend. I understand what you're saying about them not being able/willing to spend. But that's the FSG philosophy.

Football is not baseball. Im going to leave it until the window closes. Moneyball is grand, hold that philosophy if thats your position. Its in full flight at Arsenal. The difference being, they have a genius of a manager and many years behind him. And even he is struggling, i think he will finally succumb this season without a quality goalscorer. If LFC's future is one where your best players routinely move on because some number cruncher decides its best to do that then it will be a paltry future imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

If LFC's future is one where your best players routinely move on because some number cruncher decides its best to do that then it will be a paltry future imo.

That hasn't happened so far so what makes you think it will happen?

It's very worrying if some of these deals are true.