Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Letting Carroll leave the club is retarded if they dont move for someone else this window, totally retarded. They have 26 hours to prove to me they arent complete tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Kelly didn't look too great tonight. The more I see him the more I think his future lies in the CB role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,369 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sturridge lol
    We agree to loan Carroll with nothing in place but a wish to sign Sturridge
    A hope with no grounds to back that hope up

Chelsea won't sell him,He's a good player to have,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Ardent

mav79 wrote: »
    After watching Spearing, Adam and Henderson chase players and give away fouls trying to get the ball back all last year its great to see a player like Allen who can read the game so well to be able to intercept a pass or harass a player without giving fouls away. He is calm spot in a hectic midfield, never seems rushed, just like a certain past player.

Very tidy player. Good signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Fairly abysmal game tbh though thought Gerrard/Allen played well; think downing was top notch at left back also.

Sums it up. If there was any confirmation needed about how badly we need a striker tonight's game was it, Suarez must be moved out to one of the non-central forward positions or we are all going to have strokes before Christmas. A quality striker in the middle with Suarez and Sterling/Borini/Assaidi on the flanks please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

mav79 wrote: »
    After watching Spearing, Adam and Henderson chase players and give away fouls trying to get the ball back all last year its great to see a player like Allen who can read the game so well to be able to intercept a pass or harass a player without giving fouls away. He is calm spot in a hectic midfield, never seems rushed, just like a certain past player.

Xabi gave away his fair share of sloppy frees in fairness. It was his quick thinking when he had possession that made him special IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,937 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I don't understand why people are saying that Carroll is a terrible deal whilst the last 18 months of this thread have seen plenty say what a disaster of a signing it has been and how he's not good enough.

I think getting £15-£20m for him is good value and if the manager doesn't rate him then he just has to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Ape X

It's been said numerous times by different posters for quite a while now, but now we need the club to acknowledge the fact that Reina is presently nowhere near good enough.

I was hoping we'd at least sign a young promising keeper who might put a bit of pressure on him for the number one spot. But I imagine it's quite easy to get sloppy when you've feck all competition for your place.

murpho999 wrote: »
    I don't understand why people are saying that Carroll is a terrible deal whilst the last 18 months of this thread have seen plenty say what a disaster of a signing it has been and how he's not good enough.

I think getting £15-£20m for him is good value and if the manager doesn't rate him then he just has to go.

If only :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Ape X

daithijjj wrote: »
    Letting Carroll leave the club is retarded if they dont move for someone else this window, totally retarded. They have 26 hours to prove to me they arent complete tools.
    25 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Milkers

Kess, talk to me about goalkeepers we should be looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭doc_17

Jeez lads if we don't get a goal scorer in the next 24 hours we could be in bother.

I'm sad to see big Andy go. Hopefully he does really well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭kingshankly

daithijjj wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more the chap got a raw deal.
    By god we need a striker badly Suarez needs 5 chances to score and against the good sides he won't get 5 chance.
    It's now looking like we have keeper trouble this Reina blip is now lasting 2 years I'd say it's a decline rather than a blip

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Bye Andy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

murpho999 wrote: »

Stop some hypocrites around.

Spent the last 18 months moaning about him and now crying that he's gone.

Rodgers isn't stupid. He will replace him before the window closes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

Makes no difference. Carroll was a back up that was never going to be used and even if he was, unlikely to get the goals. We are in no different a situation whether Carroll stayed or left.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    If only :o

Next year is fine too.;)

doc_17 wrote: »
    Jeez lads if we don't get a goal scorer in the next 24 hours we could be in bother.

Don't you think that Rodgers has thought of that too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,369 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We did sign a striker today
    1m loan deal for Carroll
    1m paid for Striker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

people on bbc freaking about reina. calling him a weak link.

imo hes anything but. One of the best in the prem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Was impressed by Shelvey tonight, some excellent passing. Very heartening to see he come on so much. Allen was good too but made one or two mental tackles (a worry if he's covering the Lucas role), one in particular I couldn't believe he got away with (not even a free, don't know what the ref was at).

Sterling did fine when he came on, a highlight being when he squeezed through 3 Hearts players and left them for dead. :cool:

There are very encouraging signs, we just need someone who is going to put it in the back of the net and give all the good play some end product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Kinda worrying that BR doesn't seem to have any intention of moving Suarez from the middle.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Really? He's been "out of form" for over 10 months now. Whatever has happened to knock his concentration, he's becoming a liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

listen to yerselves, whining about loosing our 'goalscorer' and we need to replace him ...

we need a finisher end of, carroll was not that player,he had enough time to proove that.

what we need to do is cut our losses quicky rather than wait 2 more seasons for him to maybe come good,try again with someone else,

fair play brendan imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

Skrtel makes a mistake last week and nobody freaked out at all. It was just an error. When a keeper does it though, he's lost it.

Disagree, he's making more mistakes in the last year then he used to!

I think he's too busy being a joker etc than his training/technique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

opr wrote: »
    Kinda worrying that BR doesn't seem to have any intention of moving Suarez from the middle.

Opr

Very much so, imo. As good as Suarez is, he's better for the team when someone else is there.

As for Reina, my way of solving the problem would be to find his long-term sucessor and buy the fella. So either Reina will get a kick up the backside and play better, or you have the new guy already in before Reina gets older and ready to get experience playing for 'pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭PRAF

Couldn't agree more the chap got a raw deal.
    By god we need a striker badly Suarez needs 5 chances to score and against the good sides he won't get 5 chance.
    It's now looking like we have keeper trouble this Reina blip is now lasting 2 years I'd say it's a decline rather than a blip

While Carroll may have got a raw deal, you've got to assume that BR knows what he's doing. He obviously doesn't see big Andy in his plans and so is better letting him go IMO. Same goes for Adam, better to let him go now.

We've been linked with Sturridge, Walcott, and Dempsey. So you've got to assume the club are hopeful / confident of bringing one of them in.

Bad mistake by Reina tonight and at a crucial moment too. A real confidence killer. Needs to cut that out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Skrtel makes a mistake last week and nobody freaked out at all. It was just an error. When a keeper does it though, he's lost it.

and Skrtel made two the week before as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Trouble is, its not one rare mistake anymore. Over the last 3/4 seasons, those mistakes have been adding up.