Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I am pie wrote: »
    I would hope that that decision won't be made without the club taking a look at him in several reserve games, which they clearly have with Morgan, who has been successful.

Due process. Ridiculous to expect he'll play much 1st team stuff this season. It won't happen, and rightly so.

If he plays in the U21's and NextGen and scores a lot of goals id fully expect him to move into the first team squad ahead of Adam Morgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I am pie wrote: »
    murpho999 wrote: »
    If he's better than Morgan then he should be in ahead of him. Fairness has nothing to do with it.

I would hope that that decision won't be made without the club taking a look at him in several reserve games, which they clearly have with Morgan, who has been successful.

Due process. Ridiculous to expect he'll play much 1st team stuff this season. It won't happen, and rightly so.

Morgan hasn't done much at reserve level. Ngoo has looked better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Morgan hasn't done much at reserve level.

Seems to be a swot in training, though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Grayditch wrote: »
    Morgan hasn't done much at reserve level.

Seems to be a swot in training, though :p
    Was it Morgan that got singled out in that Fox clip for rest of the young lads to follow? Say he felt like an awful eejit! Good to see he's improving though in BR mind

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Was it Morgan that got singled out in that Fox clip for rest of the young lads to follow? Say he felt like an awful eejit! Good to see he's improving though in BR mind

Yeah, poor lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

i don't think Morgan is anywhere near good enough for the 1st team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

being-liverpool-poster-600x868.jpg

Promo poster for the show. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Promo poster for the show. :pac:

Where's Kenny? :(

MD1990 wrote: »
    i don't think Morgan is anywhere near good enough for the 1st team

His all around play could definitely do with some work and he will improve with more competitive games this season with the U21's and NextGen but he is a deadly finisher, if he can improve his overall game then he could be a fixture in the first team for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Oouu
    @philmcnulty: West Ham thought it would be "a miracle" if they could sign Carroll before the deadline - it is a miracle they still think they can perform.

Melion wrote: »
    His all around play could definitely do with some work and he will improve with more competitive games this season with the U21's and NextGen but he is a deadly finisher, if he can improve his overall game then he could be a fixture in the first team for years.
    not a chance atm imo
    we need to stop overhyping some youngsters eg Flanagan & Robinson
    he hasn't even done it at reserve level
    Morgan will do well to make it in the championship in a few years
    he hasn't got the pace,strength or any sort of linkup play for the top level atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Melion wrote: »
    not a chance atm imo
    he hasn't got the pace,strength or any sort of linkup play for the top level atm
    Perhaps Flanagan and Morgan need fair bit of improvement and experience but Robinson looks a real talent. Definitely has a future with the club. Even at this stage he should be back up to Enrique imho especially for smaller Prem games

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Perhaps Flanagan and Morgan need fair improvement and experience but Robinson looks a real talent. Defintely has a future with the club. Even at this stage he should be back to Enrique imho especially for smaller Prem games
    yeah Robinson is the best out of them
    he has a chance to make it

not a chance atm imo

I just said he needs work but he is an absolutely clinical finisher, things like that cannot be taught.

Gathering pace ...
    @BenSmithBBC: #WHUFC trying to revive move for Carroll. Now down to whether player will soften desire to stay at Anfield http://t.co/h0cacqKM

Rodgers will keep nudging if you ask me .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

Leiva wrote: »
    Oouu

http://twitter.com/BenSmithBBC

Apparently it's down to him now if he wants to stay or cop on to what Rodgers is telling him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Carroll will go in last minute . Pool will take best offer on table.
    I cant see anyone paying over ten mil for him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

It's really hard to judge Morgan from watching underage games on TV imo. It's not like watching a winger or midfielder or even a striker who likes to run with the ball. The likes of Suso, Coady, Sterling see loads of the ball on camera in attacking positions so you can see to a good degree the kind of attributes they have as players.

Often a striker like Morgan is doing plenty of unglamorous things like receiving/holding up the ball passing it out wide and spinning into the box on camera. You don't get to see how hard he is working off the ball, the kind of movement he is constantly making trying to lose his marker or his clever runs. You generally just end up seeing him putting the finishing touch but to be constantly in the right place at the right time is nothing to do with luck. Hard to know when he jumps up to the level of the first team how all that will translate, it's just such a massive jump.

Opr

cloptrop wrote: »
    Carroll will go in last minute . Pool will take best offer on table.
    I cant see anyone paying over ten mil for him .

Rodgers wont let him go for under 10m

opr wrote: »
    It's really hard to judge Morgan from watching underage games on TV imo. It's not like watching a winger or midfielder or even a striker who likes to run with the ball. The likes of Suso, Coady, Sterling see loads of the ball on camera in attacking positions so you can see to a good degree the kind of attributes they have as players.

Often a striker like Morgan is doing plenty of unglamorous things like receiving/holding up the ball passing it out wide and spinning into the box on camera. You don't get to see how hard he is working off the ball, the kind of movement he is constantly making trying to lose his marker or his clever runs. You generally just end up seeing him putting the finishing touch but to be constantly in the right place at the right time is nothing to do with luck. Hard to know when he jumps up to the level of the first team how all that will translate, it's just such a massive jump.

Opr

Thats why i think the more competitive nature of the U21 league and the NextGen will tell us a lot about how he is going to improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

Leiva wrote: »
    Gathering pace ...

Rodgers will keep nudging if you ask me .

Good. The man knows what he wants and he's determined to get it. His comments yesterday make a lot more sense to me now. Hopefully Carroll will listen and try and revive his career at West Ham.

Sky Sports News ‏@SkySportsNews
    Sky Sources: West Ham close to agreeing season-long-loan deal with Andy Carroll

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

It's stupid if it's just a straight up loan. There could easily come a time where we'll need him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

Rodgers will already have lined up a replacement if he goes to West Ham so we won't need him.

It's stupid if it's just a straight up loan. There could easily come a time where we'll need him.

It won't be, the deal that has been offered is supposedly the same as before. £3m loan fee plus wages and a further £17m enforced purchase option if they stay up this season.

Opr

Nah I would say its back to the original offer £2mil now plus full wage, and £17mil on survival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Good deal if it goes through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Whippersnapper

opr wrote: »
    It won't be, the deal that has been offered is supposedly the same as before. £3m loan fee plus wages and a further £17m enforced purchase option if they stay up this season.

Opr

I have to want West Ham to stay up this season?! Aw, man. :mad:

Good deal if it goes through

I disagree, we have been burned enough on loan deals in the past. If West Ham dont stay up, we get Andy back next summer and he is worth a lot less than 17m.

id say we are buying Dempsey
    but who will be replacing Carroll?
    Aubameyang?