Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what you playing at the mo? Retro Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Retr0gamer wrote: »

You see back in the day Nintendo gave that one away in the TV advert! But yeah I got totally stuck there for about 3 weeks :)

Heh, that's a pretty interesting piece of trivia. Never heard it before.

I got stuck there for ages too. Think I only discovered how to get passed by accident.

Also got stuck for ages as the noob bridge :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

My personal fav is earthbound.

See, another smug fecker!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

o1s1n wrote: »
    I got stuck there for ages too. Think I only discovered how to get passed by accident.

Pretty much every Metroidvania has a mandatory bit where you get stuck and just sort of stare at the map looking for gaps or doors for hours on end. Particularly cheeky in this case!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,364 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

o1s1n wrote: »
    Heh, that's a pretty interesting piece of trivia. Never heard it before.

I was stuck on that bit and was searching for old nintendo adverts and saw one for the super nintendo. Then my eyes lit up when I seen Samus Super Bomb the bridge and I immediately fired up the emulator and finally finished the game!

Found it!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    See, another smug fecker!

I'd be smug if I actually owned a copy :(

I got his name wrong it's David Sirlin! You should check out his SSFT2 tutorial videos, they thought me how to play an awful lot better.

Have them all. I was seriously into street fighter back when i had more time to play. Around the time HD remix was released i had gotten back into it and was in the top couple of hundred or so worldwide on XBox live and playing regularly with a lot of guys on SRK and in the EU scene. His blogs and vids gave me lots of good info, and it didn't hurt that we both play the same character, Dictator.

This is me playing in an online room. I was rusty and making lots of mistakes. Not one of my better days, but this is the only set i can find a recording of...typical.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhMBBznR3V8&feature=player_detailpage#t=96s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YCvC9eBvbE&feature=player_detailpage#t=259s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

I think it's a bit funny that SSFIITHDR's current legacy is that it pretty much only served to get people back into the original Super Turbo, as evidenced by the Super Turbo Revival Tournament at this year's Evo. Mixed among the likes of Umehara and Valle were a smattering of lads coming in off HDR.

As for DKC, I played through the series in the last year and a half for the first time, and I really enjoyed it, though I'm sometimes a fan of unfair difficulty spikes. DKC3 being a particular favorite, for reasons only half-related to the gameplay. Soundtrack on that thing is just fermenting quality. Mind, I'd stake DKCR on the Wii as a valid contender for the top-spot, as I've rarely come across a game that I loved so near-entirely.

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    I think it's a bit funny that SSFIITHDR's current legacy is that it pretty much only served to get people back into the original Super Turbo, as evidenced by the Super Turbo Revival Tournament at this year's Evo. Mixed among the likes of Umehara and Valle were a smattering of lads coming in off HDR.

HDR is still popular online, 3 years after it was released. You can still get a game easily enough 24/7, and it has it's own solid following. That's quite an achievement for a €15 game in an era of big budget 3D fighters.

I always get hassle for saying this, but i really liked, what they tried to do with it. The only real problem i think it had was that it had been too long since the original, and everybody had gotten used to the bugs and wierd glitches in ST and built them into their gameplay style over years. If the original had been updated and rebalanced with the same remix changes 6-12 months after it's release, it would have been hailed as a positive thing (like the rebalances that are currently happening with SFIV) but as it is now HDR will be remembered as a b*stard love child of a classic retro fighting game that messed with things people loved about the original.

By the way, I thought that ST revival tourney was the most hype thing at Evo this year! I really hope it's an annual fixture.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,364 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I like the re-balance as well it's just it looks horrendous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

Steve SI wrote: »
    ehh, emmm,
    I've never played Super Metroid :o:o:o
    EnterNow wrote: »
    I have to hold my hands up here too, never played it :o

Will have to rectify that soon. Steve, your in the land of the rising sun...pick three copies of Super Metroid while your there {two for you one for me :pac:}

Yep, never played it either.

Or any Metroid game, or Castlevania game for that matter.

I'll go one further and say that claiming a 1994 game is objectively the high water mark for platformers (never mind even higher praise) and has never been improved upon is just a cocktail of nostalgia and fanboy favouritism.

Not as silly as that outspoken JRPG fanboy madness (this isn't a troll post), but the same kind of logical fallacy. Too much has happened in the intervening 18 years to take any such "objective" claim seriously.

a5y wrote: »
    I'll go one further and say that claiming a 1994 game is objectively the high water mark for platformers (never mind even higher praise) and has never been improved upon is just a cocktail of nostalgia and fanboy favouritism.

Says the guy that's not played it. Also there's no nostalgia clouding my judgement, I played it in 2005, over 10 years since it was released and no platformer I've played has come close. It really is that good. I don't think 2D gaming has improved at all since the 16-bit period, it reached it's peak there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,772 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Castlevania SOTC, only game that approaches it and only then because it copied Super Metroids homework.
    And it is 32bit gaming!!!
    The GBA Castlevania games kept it lit into the 21st century as well, reusing the Super Metroid template to good effect, definitely better though on a AGS-101 screen or even, dare I say it, a Gameboy Micro!!! ;)
    I played it on release and nothing up to Metroid Prime came close for a gameplay experience.
    Tbh in my opinion, and we all know how poor that tends to be, the Metroid Prime series went on to be to the FPS what Super Metroid was to the platformer.
    The Prime was breathtaking, Echoes was breathtakingly hard and Corruption, the Wii debut, was a little too easy.
    The Wii re-release of these is the definition of a must have, the motion controls and widescreen support improving a superlative series.

I love the Prime games but the first one will always be the best for me. Got me through a bad time for gaming. I had finished Legend of Dragoon which got me thinking about giving up gaming forever since I hated this supposedly excellent RPG. It was Metroid Prime that showed me how good things could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,630 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I never played Super Metroid either, nor Chrono Trigger and only recently played Earthbound.

But wait there's more!!!

I haven't played Zelda LttP either!

Love Castlevania games though but haven't played any of the nes ones or the first of the metroidvanias either.

I'm a shocking lazy gamer because of the Snes titles I'm only missing Chrono Trigger. My defence is, I never had any of them when younger and I find it hard to find the time for some of the more intensive, time consuming titles.
    Think I might go on dole and catch up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Jaysus OwaynOTT I thought you were a snes fanatic :pac:

a5y you should play the game then comment about it, the game is so good it deserves a playthrough to form an opinion of

I don't think 2D gaming has improved at all since the 16-bit period, it reached it's peak there.

I agree with you on that. Games like little big planet have done some clever things with the available technology since, but the core platforming experience has never been better than it was on the SNES. I think that back in the 8-bit days of the NES, gameplay and clever design was all that sold a game, there were no graphics or fancy sound effects to fall back on, so if you hadn't got gameplay you were dead. Then the SNES came along and improved the graphics and sound, and added more depth and scope because of the increased storage capabilities on the carts, but kept the fantastic 2D gameplay.

Case in point would be my all time fave platformer, super mario bros 3. It was amazing on the NES, then the SNES version on mario allstars just added a lick of paint and improved sound, and made it even better.

That really was a golden age for platform gaming. After that, the N64 got into the first forays of 3D gaming, but the tech just wasn't mature enough yet. As a result i felt that the N64 gave up on the great SNES gameplay in favour of graphics that it couldn't really pull off properly yet, and switched to trying to design games for a new type of gaming which was only in it's infancy. That whole genre of gaming just didn't appeal to me until it was more mature. It wasn't until i played tomb raider 2 that i saw what kind of experience 3D was capable of giving the player.

It's the same reason why i thought starfox on the SNES was rubbish when every game mag you read back then was wetting itself over how amazing it was. I still stand by that today. I played it again recently, and it's still a load of trousers.

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    But wait there's more!!!

I haven't played Zelda LttP either!

What? Ah here, that's shocking. It's probably the best game of that generation, and arguably one of the best games ever made, full stop.

You really should play it. It genuinely is something special. Just give it an hour to get going, then be prepared not to be able to put it down.
    OwaynOTT wrote: »
    I'm a shocking lazy gamer because of the Snes titles I'm only missing Chrono Trigger. My defence is, I never had any of them when younger and I find it hard to find the time for some of the more intensive, time consuming titles.
    Think I might go on dole and catch up.

Lol. I haven't spent a lot of time on the dole, thankfully, but when i did my video game prowess skyrocketed in direct inverse proportion to my available funds. I was poor back then, but feck it, i was HAPPY!!

Now that i've got a family and a job to hold down, I actually find that i've more time for classic 8 bit,16 bit, and arcade games than i do current gen sprawling epics. Many retro games were designed for pick up and play gameplay, and with any that weren't, i can just use save states to pick up exactly where i left off, and chip away at them patiently.

I've been pottering away at Zelda LTTP in dribs and drabs this week on the laptop whenever i had a few minutes to spare. I have the place to myself tonight and i swear I'm positively giddy about being able to get a good 3 or 4 hour run at it for a change.:p

I agree with you on that. Games like little big planet have done some clever things with the available technology since, but the core platforming experience has never been better than it was on the SNES.

I didn't like little big planet. Sure it was fun building levels but the platformer being based on physics meant that it was sloppy.
    Case in point would be my all time fave platformer, super mario bros 3. It was amazing on the NES, then the SNES version on mario allstars just added a lick of paint and improved sound, and made it even better.

I actually prefer the NES version. All-Stars controls just seem a little off to me.
    It wasn't until i played tomb raider 2 that i saw what kind of experience 3D was capable of giving the player.

I'd actually say that Tomb Raider 2 was one of the bad examples of 3D gaming. It was acceptable for its time but it was really Mario 64 when 3D platforming actually started to become good.
    It's the same reason why i thought starfox on the SNES was rubbish when every game mag you read back then was wetting itself over how amazing it was. I still stand by that today. I played it again recently, and it's still a load of trousers.

I still like Starfox. The only thing really bad about it is the framerate which I can see putting people off it.

As for being on the dole. I find I've less time to play games since I'm spending most of my day looking for and applying to jobs. If you play games for the whole day you'll get sick of them and get depressed.

I didn't like little big planet. Sure it was fun building levels but the platformer being based on physics meant that it was sloppy.

I agree 100%. I loved the idea of building and sharing levels, and the different planes of 2D gameplay was a good twist, but the core platforming experience under it all just didn't compare to some of the 16 bit platforming gems.
    I actually prefer the NES version. All-Stars controls just seem a little off to me.

I never actually owned the NES and a SNES version at the same time to compare them. I sold one to pay for the other cos i was po as a ho back then. I must break out the emulators later on and take a look, but i really liked the new sheen they put on the graphics in All-Stars.
    I'd actually say that Tomb Raider 2 was one of the bad examples of 3D gaming. It was acceptable for its time but it was really Mario 64 when 3D platforming actually started to become good.

I loved it. I had just gotten back into gaming after a long break, and hadn't really played many 3D games since being less than impressed with the early ones, and that was one of the first ones that really grabbed me. I really liked the level of immersion the game could use the technology available to it to provide.

Ive actually never played Mario 64 for more than a few levels. I never owned it on the N64, and i don't have the original hardware anymore, and N64 games just aren't the same without the proper controller. Emulating them on a PC isn't nearly as enjoyable.
    I still like Starfox. The only thing really bad about it is the framerate which I can see putting people off it.

To each their own, but it just doesn't do it for me. It was a nice idea, but the technology just wasn't advanced enough at the time to pull it off. Things like framerates and the sacrifices that the game had to make in scope and scale to take account of the technology limitations just really pull you out of the experience and make you realize you're playing a badly implemented, early 3D game. I think it's reach exceeded it's grasp by a good few years.

Trousers i tells ya! ;)
    As for being on the dole. I find I've less time to play games since I'm spending most of my day looking for and applying to jobs. If you play games for the whole day you'll get sick of them and get depressed.

Same applies to applying for jobs though. I used to dedicate a half a day twice or three times a week to all the searching and paperwork and emailing and so on. I used to treat it like a part-time job, set strict hours for doing it. Outside that, I'd play games, go for walks, and basically do normal life stuff to keep the job searching from bogging me down.

Good luck with the hunt! Hopefully something will come up. Keep your head up.

I never actually owned the NES and a SNES version at the same time to compare them. I sold one to pay for the other cos i was po as a ho back then. I must break out the emulators later on and take a look, but i really liked the new sheen they put on the graphics in All-Stars.

It's just ever so slightly off, not enough to make it a bad game but enough for me to notice and prefer the NES game. Doesn't make it a bad game it's just that I prefer remakes to be as close to the originals as possible. Still it's probably the only version I'll ever beat since the original is brutal and has no save function! Mario 2 on the All-stars collection feels all wrong to me, I much prefer the NES version.
    I loved it. I had just gotten back into gaming after a long break, and hadn't really played many 3D games since being less than impressed with the early ones, and that was one of the first ones that really grabbed me. I really liked the level of immersion the game could use the technology available to it to provide.

Ive actually never played Mario 64 for more than a few levels. I never owned it on the N64, and i don't have the original hardware anymore, and N64 games just aren't the same without the proper controller. Emulating them on a PC isn't nearly as enjoyable.

Ah I see you never played Mario 64. I really enjoyed the first Tomb Raider game but 2 felt like a massive step backwards to me. Enemies now had guns but the combat was worse, levels were more boring, the oil tanker levels being the biggest offenders there and none of the locations were anywhere near as interesting as in the first game. Also in the mean time I had played Mario 64 which really changed everything. Tomb Raider was really just the prince of persia controls brought into 3D with added clunkiness. Mario was just a joy to control and the sense of freedom is unmatched. Going back to both games now and Mario 64 is as good today as it always was while Tomb Raider feels so archaic and the visuals and terrible draw distance don't do it any favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Had a go of Darius Burst today while checking out some arcades.
    Pretty fun game with the screen and everything but when you strip it down, without the screens it's not all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

they_see_me_trollin_they_hatin-s604x403-128692.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Fun fact: Pyongyang's phone notifies him through a severe electric shock every time Darius Burst is mentioned on these forums. This ensures he replies within thirty seconds, even if the message is just completely blank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Fun fact: Pyongyang's phone notifies him through a severe electric shock every time Darius Burst is mentioned on these forums. This ensures he replies within thirty seconds, even if the message is just completely blank.

Ah I see. I thought either adblocker or noscript had blocked some bizarre type of gif depicting god knows what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Pyongyang wrote: »
    they_see_me_trollin_they_hatin-s604x403-128692.jpg

Not trolling at all (that pic takes ages to load by the way).
    You cant make any kind of serious judgement on the game Pyongy as you're obsessed with that genre and that series of games in particular. It would be like me talking about the 3DO as in my eyes it can do no wrong, even though others think I'm mental for loving the thing.
    Don't get me wrong, it was fun and looked and sounded great but I'd much prefer a game of Raiden 1 or 2 (maybe Raiden III but I've not spent much time on it as I don't own the PCB) or DoDonPachi on a candy.

Doesn't make it a bad game it's just that I prefer remakes to be as close to the originals as possible. Still it's probably the only version I'll ever beat since the original is brutal and has no save function! Mario 2 on the All-stars collection feels all wrong to me, I much prefer the NES version.

Oh yeah, i forgot all about that. I once got locked into a roches stores shop when i was a kid because i was so wrapped up in a game of SMB3 on one of those store display units they used to have. I was pottering away on that irritating vertical level in pipe world and all of a sudden the lights went out in the shop. I had to go shout at the security guy to get out, but i was way more annoyed about not getting to finish the game...
    Ah I see you never played Mario 64....

No, and I'd like to give it a go. What's the best way to play an emulation of it and still get the full effect? Do i really need the Z trigger button from the original controller?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

<SNIP!>

Well you could play it with an analogue pad like a 360 bad or PS2 pad with a converter. I've played and finished it on a keyboard and while it was fun it's not the same. Stay away from the DS remake. TBH I'd recommend against using an emulator since N64 emulation is far from being perfect. Games look totally wrong since they can't replicate the look of N64 games, from the anti aliasing blur to the fog being totally wrong.

You can get a N64 with Mario 64 for peanuts but then if you are starting a N64 collection you really should go with an NTSC machine which will cost less but shipping will be a bit more.

Well you could play it with an analogue pad like a 360 bad or PS2 pad with a converter.....You can get a N64 with Mario 64 for peanuts but then if you are starting a N64 collection you really should go with an NTSC machine which will cost less but shipping will be a bit more.

I use a madcatz fightpad for most of my emulation playing apart from when i'm using my arcade cab. It's the closest thing you can find nowadays to the original saturn 6 button pad, which was excellent.

I sold all my consoles a while back when the gameroom became a nursery. I couldn't bear the thought of them being kept in boxes and never being played, so i let them all go to good homes. As a result, emulation is pretty much the only game in town. I could borrow a PAL one though. Not as good as NTSC i know, especially with modern TVs, but beggars can't be choosers i suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

I use a madcatz fightpad for most of my emulation playing apart from when i'm using my arcade cab. It's the closest thing you can find nowadays to the original saturn 6 button pad, which was excellent.

I sold all my consoles a while back when the gameroom became a nursery. I couldn't bear the thought of them being kept in boxes and never being played, so i let them all go to good homes. As a result, emulation is pretty much the only game in town. I could borrow a PAL one though. Not as good as NTSC i know, especially with modern TVs, but beggars can't be choosers i suppose...

All my emulation is played off a ps1 pad, my new dog has chewed through 3 pads so far and i'm on the last one. One of my mates use's a gamecude controller :eek: tried it once and nearly through it and myself through the monitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

vangoz wrote: »
    All my emulation is played off a ps1 pad, my new dog has chewed through 3 pads so far and i'm on the last one. One of my mates use's a gamecude controller :eek: tried it once and nearly through it and myself through the monitor.

You prefer a PS1 pad to a Gamecube pad?? :eek: