Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

If it's ground duels and tackles we need to win, Henderson is better placed to replace him than Shelvey. But suspect it will be Stevie, Allen and Sahin more often than not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭klose

Still a helluva lot better to have Allen filling in for Lucas then jay, in saying that I wouldn't be surprised to see jay stick about a bit longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Yeah it was noted in a tactical breakdown of the game I read that Gerrard dropped in often beside Allen to help provide some of the defensive steel and cover lost by Lucas. Whether he will show that discipline over the coming months I don't know and I'm not sure I would even want him to.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

opr wrote: »
    Yeah it was noted in a tactical breakdown of the game I read that Gerrard dropped in often beside Allen to help provide some of the defensive steel and cover lost by Lucas. Whether he will show that discipline over the coming months I don't know and I'm not sure I would even want him to.

Opr

I'm glad you finished your post on that note cause I'm not so sure I want Gerrard back in there trying to control things.
    I find we get very one dimensional and congested with Gerrard playing in that role.
    Much prefer him further up linking in the final phase .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

opr wrote: »

Opr

He had to drop in because we were getting dominated in the first 20 means and because Gerrard tends not to do much tracking back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

If we were shafted it was when we bought him.

No need to compound that shafting by getting shafted again in getting rid, taking a bigger loss than we should & leaving ourselves short up front.

He had to drop in because we were getting dominated in the first 20 means and because Gerrard tends not to do much tracking back.

It was also his job to do it, as Shelvey is more effective pushing up, and with Borini out wide, he needed to stay central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Dickerty wrote: »
    If it's ground duels and tackles we need to win, Henderson is better placed to replace him than Shelvey. But suspect it will be Stevie, Allen and Sahin more often than not...

Henderson was one of the worst at the club in terms of ground duels last season, and I think he had one of the worst tackles attempted per game stats as well. Not a player to replace Lucas in any way or form as he just has no real influence on the pitch whereas Lucas has that in spades.

Allen will take the Lucas role and will be backed by Sahin on that front imho, with Gerrard taking the more advanced spot.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    No need to compound that shafting by getting shafted again in getting rid, taking a bigger loss than we should & leaving ourselves short up front.

Interesting comparison I saw earlier - Fergie signed Berbatov for £30M and is selling for £4M. No one has anything to say about that.

Just shows, some managers are allowed to fail big occasionaly (Bebe? Tosic?) as long as they succeed overall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,340 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Leiva wrote: »
    I find we get very one dimensional and congested with Gerrard playing in that role.

i would take encouragement from the fact that Gerrard has been vocal about his admiration for Allen though.

Gerrard has suffered, IMO, from trying to do it all himself. he takes that role onto himself, and maybe with Allen, Suarez, Borini, et al, he might actually trust his teammates to control the game...like he did when we had Masch, Alonso, Kuyt and Torres.

i'd be hopeful he wouldn't go all Hollywood if he was asked to do that. he didn't do it Saturday. if anyone was ill-disciplined even though he played well, it was Shelvey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Liverpool's style under Rodgers obviously seems to focus on ball retention, accurate passing, not being pressured when on the ball. Jay Spearing, for the life of him, cannot work in that system. He's a liability and in over his head, which isn't his fault, of course. I hope he does well where he goes, but I do hope he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Interesting comparison I saw earlier - Fergie signed Berbatov for £30M and is selling for £4M. No one has anything to say about that.

Just shows, some managers are allowed to fail big occasionaly (Bebe? Tosic?) as long as they succeed overall...

And rightfully so I would think. Give out about Berbatov and Man United fans will point to the League Title where he finished Top Scorer.

Being potentially the greatest manager the English game has ever seen allows him such discrepancies.

and rightly so.

it's why Rafa was forgiven by most for the likes of Pennant and Nunez.

SlickRic wrote: »
    ...like he did when we had Masch, Alonso, Kuyt and Torres.

and before it gets brought up...i'm not trying to say the current crop are of this standard yet, or ever will be...i'm just saying Gerrard might trust them enough to not go Hollywood.

Arseblog wrote:
    My understanding of events is that at the beginning of last season, when Walcott had two years left on his deal, we made attempts to discuss a new contract but were rebuffed as they wanted to wait until the end of the season to see where Arsenal finished and whether or not the club had Champions League football. I have to say I found this understandable, to an extent, but somewhat presumptuous from Walcott whose standing in the game is as much based on his clean-cut English marketability than his footballing ability.

And this, for me, is the crux of the matter. Walcott would certainly improve the squad, we are in no position to turn up our noses at someone like him, but for 12m plus his wages I would be confident of better value being found in the European market.

I posted yesterday about the value that's been found there this season, and last year was even better for it imo, so it's definitely an avenue I'd rather the club went down.

Thankfully, under Rodgers and the new scouting personnel, it seems that this is exactly what the club intend on doing at the moment.

Kess73 wrote: »
    Henderson was one of the worst at the club in terms of ground duels last season, and I think he had one of the worst tackles attempted per game stats as well. Not a player to replace Lucas in any way or form as he just has no real influence on the pitch whereas Lucas has that in spades.

Not true, he was out most successful tackler in midfield according to here - http://www.eplindex.com/15811/liverpool-opta-stats-season-review-1112-part-midfield.html

But yes, not on ground duels. Hard to see how you can be top on one count and bottom on the other, should think they are complimentary...

I disagree that he has no influence, he so often get pushed out to the right. For England U21, he certainly looks more commanding, usually in the middle. I would still play Shelvey for his goal threat and quicker movement of the ball, but I don't discount what Hendo can do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

lol "ground duels" sounds like a ridiculous, american football/wrestling style stat!!

Lucas is fast become the modern Darren Anderton. Harsh perhaps but it's starting to look like an injury ravaged career.

Ahh Brillant .
    @LFC: We were saddened to learn of the passing of young Red Graham O’Connell. The thoughts of everyone at LFC are with his friends and family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Lucas is fast become the modern Darren Anderton. Harsh perhaps but it's starting to look like an injury ravaged career.

Jaysus. I'm hoping he was just rushed back this time and that it'll all be better soon.

Hardly injury ravaged. Prior to his cruciate, I can't remember him having any major injury...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Mr Alan wrote: »
    If we were shafted it was when we bought him.

If we aren't going to use him enough or the manager doesn't want him then we should sell to the highest bidder and replace him imo. Doing otherwise would be silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭budgemook

Darren Anderton? He had one bad injury and, like a lot of players coming back from a big injury, picked up another one. He won't be rushed back next time and should be grand.

Not true, he was out most successful tackler in midfield according to here - http://www.eplindex.com/15811/liverpool-opta-stats-season-review-1112-part-midfield.html

But yes, not on ground duels. Hard to see how you can be top on one count and bottom on the other, should think they are complimentary...

I disagree that he has no influence, he so often get pushed out to the right. For England U21, he certainly looks more commanding, usually in the middle. I would still play Shelvey for his goal threat and quicker movement of the ball, but I don't discount what Hendo can do...

They are misleading facts, Kess himself posted in detail in the past, I'm sure, about this highlighting where Henderson was actually quite poor in terms of tackling duels.

I don't quite have the same knowledge as he does on it, so maybe find the post or hopefully Kess will throw out the stats again.

What he seems decent on is nicking the ball away at times but I certainly wouldn't be relying on him to provide any sort of grit or steel to the team. He'd be bullied out of it all day long if he was our ball winning midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,911 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

G.K. wrote: »
    Gives us teenagers a bad name...

Hmm, I'm not sure. I'd suggest he actually did a very skillful job of highlighting the utter absurdity of a ridiculous phenomenon that has grown expotentially the past few transfer windows. 43 thousand followers? Really? What the **** is wrong with people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I said he was one of the worst in terms of the amount of tackles he attempted not in the % of tackles won.

In terms of tackles attempted per game he is one of the worst at the club.

Using the same link that you put up it is very clear that Henderson does not eneter into many tackles over the course of a game and likewise with ground duels. Lucas attempts three to four times more tackles per game than Henderson and he attempts ground duels twice as often. Henderson is just not up to doing such a physical role.

As for his influence, I am talking about Henderson playing for Liverpool and not the England under 21s. In a Liverpool shirt he has shown very little by way of influence on a game and he has certainly not shown the ability to try and take a game or even other players by the scruff of the neck on even a semi regular basis from any of the positions he has played in.

I would say that Allen in his short Liverpool career has shown more drive, aggression and influence on games than the same aged Henderson did for Liverpool in all of last season.

Allen is far superior than him. Sahin is a far superior player than him. Gerrard is far superior than him. Shelvel is better than him imho in terms of ability and light years ahead of him in terms of confidence.

I see no need for Henderson in the first team, even with Lucas out, save for league cup games and Europa league games against weaker teams. When it comes to the CM and AM slots there are at least four players available for those roles that are better than Henderson and less likely to hide, and when Lucas returms then there will be five players better than him available for the three slots. All Henderson is now is squad cover and given that Allen is the same age as him and Shelvey is younger, Henderson may never make it into the full team as a regular for big games and be a regular for league games like he was last season .

Just had a chuckle at the thought of Llyod pulling off a similar ITK ruse and the closing message he would leave when he pulls a plug on it.

My God, the man would cause tears :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I'd rather see gerrard used further forward than defensively as for me he is the best finisher in the club

Another sneak peak at the LFC documentary .

http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/another-new-sneak-peak-being-liverpool-fox-sports/

Seems it going to be shown over a number of weeks .

sorry, but fúck me, that promo is cringetastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

SlickRic wrote: »
    sorry, but fúck me, that promo is cringetastic.

That's Americans for ya.