Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Depends on how the next 3 days pan out. I'm still optimistic. Theo can be replaced.

Cazorla can take over RW now I guess, but it looks like we'll need another attacking player, be it a winger or AM

Cazorla should be left in the middle & i hope he will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

This could be his agent trying to get us to up our offer, I hope we don't an we sell the offer on the table is more than enough for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Out the door with him, hope it don't hit him on the way out

Agreed. But.... what does it say if we can't hold onto him. Makes a mockery of people sayin if we had bought English players they would stay their whole career. Is WIlshere next? Oxo?? guys who I thought were in for the long haul. Theo was one Of them. How much a week could he be possibly be looking for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

shano_88 wrote: »
    Seriously, we can't keep selling our best players. Its embarrassing.

Its feck all got to do with selling them. Wengers hands are tied .
    He is being shown fúck all respect by players he has help develop, and its quite disgusting the little loyalty he is getting shown over the past couple of years .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

In brighter news Benik Afobe has scored for Bolton against Preston.

jonny666 wrote: »
    Out the door with him, hope it don't hit him on the way out

Agreed. But.... what does it say if we can't hold onto him. Makes a mockery of people sayin if we had bought English players they would stay their whole career. Is WIlshere next? Oxo?? guys who I thought were in for the long haul. Theo was one Of them. How much a week could he be possibly be looking for

It tells it's on story that the club is not bending over backwards for him, take what's on the table or off with ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Thing with Theo is, young + English + man city = mega bucks in theory. Also he certainly is replaceable. It's just more hassle having to find a replacement and actually sign them up. Also I bet Theo will eventually kick on and start performing consistently so it would be best if it were to happen with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Fcuk Theo! He wasn't worthy enough to wear the number 14 shirt anyways... the little bollox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭shano_88

Leiva wrote: »
    He is being shown fúck all respect by players he has help develop, and its quite disgusting the little loyalty he is getting shown over the past couple of years .

I'm not blaming Wenger. I agree he's been shown very little respect by some players but at the same time we haven't won anything and at the moment we aren't showing much ambition.

It's admirable that they arent giving into Theo's wage demands but If he can get more money elsewhere and actually compete for titles, champions leagues, who can blame him for leaving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Fcuk Theo! He wasn't worthy enough to wear the number 14 shirt anyways... the little bollox!

Very true, Martin Keown and Thierry Henry > Theo.

He is a squad player at best. City could be offering up to €25m for him. Would be a great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Its all only speculation at the momment lets wait and see, but if it is true this best sums it up.

In one transfer window, Arsenal has lost its captain, top scorer, 2nd top scorer, top assist maker, second top assist maker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Just throwing this out there for ye- With Drogba's problems at his Chinese club, could he be a good addition to Arsenal?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2194562/Didier-Drogba-returns-Chelsea.html

I know a deal to get him will be very complex and considering he is 33, it might be a risky acquisition but he would surely bang in at least 15 goals this season and help convert some of our set pieces to goals. A somewhat ridiculous idea but could be quite practical in the short- medium term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

It's sickening tbh. The fact is football is not about loyalty to the cause anymore and much more business orientated to the point where you cannot trust what comes out of a players mouth with regards to their love of a club. Wherever the best deal can be made for a player in terms of wage and signing fee dictates what club a player has loyalty for.

There are exceptions to this breed of footballer of course but what we watch in the premier league the majority of the time are not players with massive pride to win for the club primarily but simply players that want to pick up the best 50,000 plus cheque deal at the end of each week.

HazDanz wrote: »
    It's sickening tbh. The fact is football is not about loyalty to the cause anymore and much more business orientated to the point where you cannot trust what comes out of a players mouth with regards to their love of a club. Wherever the best deal can be made for a player in terms of wage and signing fee dictates what club a player has loyalty for.

There are exceptions to this breed of footballer of course but what we watch in the premier league the majority of the time are not players with massive pride to win for the club primarily but simply players that want to pick up the best 50,000 plus cheque deal at the end of each week.

The Bosman ruling flipped the power from club to player (not all bad) but since the big money owners came into the game then it has just made a sensible ruling uber lopsided .

UFFP is the only solution that can balance things out again but I don't hold much hope for that ever being effective .

No matter what, players will move for money, full stop, even when it means moving to a club when they know straight up that they are so far down the pecking order that starting places will be at a minimum- but the bank balance will help comfort that .

Sad but true .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Pity Theo didn't offer to leave a week ago, I'd be more than happy with a straight swap for Adam Johnson. He's a neat, clever player and is too good for Sunderland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

I'd honestly be happy if we got rid of Walcott. He is never going to fulfill his so called potential, he's a headless chicken who runs himself into the corner flag or the opposing defender so the likelihood of him developing a tactical footballing brain overnight and suddenly become a prized asset is slim at best. Him and Gervinho are similar enough, and if City or whoever are willing to put £20m on the table then by all means I say go for it.

Honestly don't care bout any of tbplayers that left or might leave this summer
    But
    Next year better be the quietest summer we ever had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Soups123

Lads what am I missing here? Has there being something official on this or is every1 Theo bashing over a rumor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

But

Still 3 and a bit days left to turn this one round - hope springs eternal !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,783 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Bosman ruling flipped the power from club to player (not all bad) but since the big money owners came into the game then it has just made a sensible ruling uber lopsided .

UFFP is the only solution that can balance things out again but I don't hold much hope for that ever being effective .

No matter what, players will move for money, full stop, even when it means moving to a club when they know straight up that they are so far down the pecking order that starting places will be at a minimum- but the bank balance will help comfort that .

Sad but true .

You forgot about the agents. They are the cause of a lot of the transfers because they get a percentage. They should ban these fcuking agents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

But

I hope so! Unless it would become a shambolic trend that will keep repeating itself.

I know some folks are saying Theo can f**k off because he is not that good or that he is easily replaceable but my problem is the effect on the team spirit; surely it must be devastating for the players to loose three key players all in one season and in acrimonious circumstances. It puts enormous pressure on them as seen from our first 2 matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,783 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

KINGVictor wrote: »
    I hope so! Unless it would become a shambolic trend that will keep repeating itself.

I know some folks are saying Theo can f**k off because he is not that good or that he is easily replaceable but my problem is the effect on the team spirit; surely it must be devastating for the players to loose three key players all in one season and in acrimonious circumstances. It puts enormous pressure on them as seen from our first 2 matches.

The only way to counteract that is to buy better than what left. We really do need a big BIG signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Absolutely - with all the new forward players brought to the club we need to hang on to some players that can provide continuity to help bed in the new guys at the very least. With each long serving player who leaves, the season ahead gets tougher. Every new player brought in brings a risk that he won't settle

You forgot about the agents. They are the cause of a lot of the transfers because they get a percentage. They should ban these fcuking agents.

DARREN DEIN!!!

angry_cat.jpg

Maire2009 wrote: »
    DARREN DEIN!!!

Am I correct in saying now that he has no more players at the club ?

Not saying I'm right, but RvP, Song and Theo all seem up their own arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

You would be right but he has a close relationship with Kees Voss (i think that how you spell it) who is linked with Verm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭iainconlon12

Don't think so. I 'think' he's connected to TV in some way though

I believe Song was the last to go. Let's hope we don't bring in any more of them. Given his father was "Mr.Arsenal" for so long on the board they have really gone about making as much money as they can out of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

No wonder we haven't won anything the last few years with the amount of spineless fellas looking exiting. At least we look like a team of men this year.