Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Dickerty wrote: »
    Dempsey is the same age, yet that seems to be firm interest...

True, I would have hoped Dempsey would be a bargain signing though, I've always been a fan of his, but with it being the last year of his contract and the fact he wants to leave I thought we'd have got him long ago for the 6-8mill mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

This worked last time so I'll try it again:

Huntelaar would be a great signing. I think we would have a decent chance of top 4 with him leading the attack but lets be realistic lads, he's not coming.

Edit: Same goes for Affelay. Might as well get 2 for 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,552 ✭✭✭kingshankly

No thanks to affelay was never a fan of his and he was embarrassingly poor at the euros probably why he hasn't moved anywhere yet
    Sturbridge isn't worth more than 8/10 million he is so raw and is incredibly greedy
    Sad to see spearing go but he's realistically not good enough but saying that never let us down and tried for his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

CL7 wrote: »
    This worked last time so I'll try it again:

Huntelaar would be a great signing. I think we would have a decent chance of top 4 with him leading the attack but lets be realistic lads, he's not coming.

Edit: Same goes for Affelay. Might as well get 2 for 1.

Just waiting for a reply from Germany on that issue. but I have some strong doubts myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Anyone here rate Martin Harnik actually? Over 25 goals in last two seasons for Stuttgart, double figures in the assists too and can play on the wing and up front if needed? Eye for a goal and would fit in with Rodgers high work rate ethos also.

Coming into his prime at 25 also. No idea on his contract situation or whether or not he'd be willing to leave admittedly.

But if people are put off spending the 15m on Huntelaar or Walcott then maybe Harnik might be a viable option?

I've only seen him a handful of times if being honest, but things I've read about him over the while seems to paint him in a good light. He's kinda someone I'm playing catchup on as he only came to attention recently enough so have had to backtrack to get an anyway decent look at him. Was voted in the top 10 players of the Bundesliga last season in a number of different places for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

-Ade- wrote: »
    Huntelaar's game is based on his movement and getting into scoring positions while taking those chances, he was never blessed with blistering pace and talk of needing raw pace to succeed in the EPL is purely a myth. RVN is a similar type of player and he wasn't blessed with pace.
    Huntelaar was flattered by atrocious defending last year. I only watched a couple of games, but the amount of times that he scored from uncontested headers was a joke. Also, from what I saw of Schalke last season, they were a counter attacking team who could actually cross a football (cough cough, Stewart Downing). That system lent itself very well to supplying Huntelaar great chances.

If Andy Carroll played with that Schalke team last year, I believe he would have been top scorer in the Bundesliga too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

We failed to score against the following sides last year:

Stoke x2
    Spurs x2
    Swansea x2
    Fulham x2
    Wigan
    Man City
    Sunderland
    Newcastle
    West Brom

Is Huntelaar not good enough to score against those defences?

Huntelaar was flattered by atrocious defending last year. I only watched a couple of games, but the amount of times that he scored from uncontested headers was a joke. Also, from what I saw of Schalke last season, they were a counter attacking team who could actually cross a football (cough cough, Stewart Downing). That system lent itself very well to supplying Huntelaar great chances.

If Andy Carroll played with that Schalke team last year, I believe he would have been top scorer in the Bundesliga too.

Ye say Huntelaar profited from dodgy defending yet ye would be fawning over yerselves if we signed Lewandowski or Gomez no doubt, and rightly so.

If your gonna rate goal scorers in a league you might as well rate them on equal grounds, especially when you consider Huntelaar goal scoring ratio throughout his career.

And Carroll would need to learn to actually stay near the bloody box if was to have a chance to put away even a few of the opportunites Huntelaar capitalises on.

Also, balls on the Harnik idea, recently signed contract to 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHA!!!!!

That is all.

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHA!!!!!

That is all.
    How many times did you watch Schalke last season?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

How many times did RVN find himself in unmarked space before tapping in? How many times would Fowler, Rush, Owen and Torres do similar for us? All of which was in the mighty, all superior, pinnacle of football that is the super duper EPL.

Again, I've been critical of Huntelaar in the past. But his movement is something you cannot fault him for.

As for the bit in bold :) If you genuinely believe that, there's probably little point in continuing discussion any further tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Well the teams Schalke played in Europe must have all been just as flattering to him, as he managed 14 goals from 12 games.

How many times did you watch Schalke last season?

Not many, to be honest, but I've watched the goals and I've watched him over the years, and you wil never convince me that he scored 40-odd goals cause all the defenses were rubbish...
    Be the judge for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭tok9

No doubt some dodgy defending there, in particular the first game but Huntelaar's finishing is great in a lot of it.

He'd be a great signing for us I think and I'd be be quietly confident of top 4.

You genuinely believe a man who scored 48 goals, did so only because the majority of the defences he played against pretty much let him score?

Europa League teams, Bundesliga teams who the likes of Lewandowski and Gomez, who are highly rated here, also faced? And Huntelaar outscored them both.

Come on man. He'd be a far superior option for putting the ball in the net than anyone we currently have.

Thanks, saved me looking it up again.

Aside from the few penalties and some horrid defending, they were about 30 goals that were either smart finishes, good headers or great finishes.

Do you know what that video tells me?
    He. Finishes. Chances.

Do you know what we need?
    Someone. Who. Finishes. Chances.

Cheers!

Huntalaars stats, he's a goal machine, pure class. Francie, stop embarressing yourself.

Holland - 172 goals in 245 apps
    Spain - 8 goals in 20 apps
    Italy - 7 goals in 30 apps
    Germany - 62 goals in 83 apps

Total career 249 goals in 378 apps.

Thanks, saved me looking it up again.

Aside from the few penalties and some horrid defending, they were about 30 goals that were either smart finishes, good headers or great finishes.

Do you know what that video tells me?
    He. Finishes. Chances.

Do you know what we need?
    Someone. Who. Finishes. Chances.

Cheers!
    The video shows a man running riot over poor teams and poor defences. No goals against the decent teams in Germany like Bayern Munch, Dortmund or Monchengladbach and that fact that he flopped in La Liga and Serie A suggest to me that the likelihood of him being a success in the Premier League is low.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Huntalaars stats, he's a goal machine, pure class. Francie, stop embarressing yourself.
    The only people embarrassing themselves are people who quote wikipedia without having watched the player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

The video shows a man running riot over poor teams and poor defences. No goals against the decent teams in Germany like Bayern Munch, Dortmund or Monchengladbach and that fact that he flopped in La Liga and Serie A suggest to me that the likelihood of him being a success in the Premier League is low.

Liverpool aren't playing against Dortmund or Gladbach every week -- and historically we've had little trouble against the big teams in the league. It's at the likes of West Brom where we need Huntelaar to put away the chances we create.

Ok, thanks. If he moves (unlikely), we'll see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,349 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

The video shows a man running riot over poor teams and poor defences.

and you don't want this for Liverpool? :confused:

The only people embarrassing themselves are people who quote wikipedia without having watched the player.

I think below sums it up!
    SlickRic wrote: »
    and you don't want this for Liverpool? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

He was only in Spain for five months. He still managed 8 goals from 20 games in that time. Hardly the goal scoring rate of a flop.

He was not great in Italy. He just did not seem to settle at all on the pitch, and was the third choice striker for his time there.

In Holland and Germany he has been excellent though, and at International level he has been very good.

To say a man with the track record that Huntelaar has would have a low chance of succeeding in the Premier league seems a bit pessimistic to be honest, even moreso when you seem to think that Andy Carroll is a better striker than Huntelaar given that you think that Carroll would have been the top scorer in Germany last season had he played in Huntelaar's place.

As for him running riot over weaker teams, I wish we had a number 9 last season that had even a third of Hunterlaar's finishing ability against so called weaker teams.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Ugh. We need a player who will score against the weaker teams! How is this not obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,682 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Hey! Is Downing on his way out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

OwaynOTT wrote: »

He's been on the way out since he moved to Anfield.

Whether or not he's leaving, no-one knows. It's hard to see just who'd pay money for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Pheewww.

I hope this has some substance...

Richard Buxton ‏@Richard_Buxton_ #LFC academy & Rodolfo Borrell update http://sulia.com/my_thoughts/97fef5b7-bfdc-4fcc-bdf0-ad8fbae03337/?source=twitter
    #LFC academy & Rodolfo Borrell update
    There have been concerns about the uncertainty of Liverpool's youth academy structure following the departure of technical manager Pep Segura on the eve of the new season, some 12 days ago.

Segura's decision to quit the operations centre in Kirkby was motivated partially by being overlooked for a senior role within the club during the summer, which led to doubts over the future of reserve team manager Rodolfo Borrell, who last summer graduated from under-18's coach.

The former Barcelona youth coach spurned a return to La Masia to become John McMahon's successor for the Reds' second string and it had been suggested that he had wanted to make a second successful graduation to the first team ranks - a position Brendan Rodgers awarded to U16's coach Mike Marsh.

Borrell, however, remains happy with his current role overseeing many of the players he guided through the U18's and has not entertained the prospect of walking away from the club as both he and his family are incredibly settled in the Merseyside area.

OwaynOTT wrote: »

Some rumours that Villa are trying to bring him back. Him and Carroll looking at very similar journeys...