Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

The Dyno-Rod bill should be funny!
    Pa Dee wrote: »
    I know someone who trys to dispose of as much rubbish as possible down the toilet to avoid the weight in the green or brown bins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Pa Dee wrote: »
    I know someone who trys to dispose of as much rubbish as possible down the toilet to avoid the weight in the green or brown bins

that's just stingy and dumb.

reminds me of my neighbours who used put all their rubbish in the bin attached to the bus stop outside.....eventually the bin was removed as it was always overflowing with the cheapskate's rubbish.

The same neighbours treated the rest of the area to a smoke filled evening last week by burning their rubbish at the end of their garden. Have not noticed them put a bin out for collection in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

bren2001 wrote: »
    Once you put it back on the gas it stews itself.

Fixed your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

one teabag could last me up to 3 - 4 days. Times are tough people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Fuinseog wrote: »
    does anyone reuse tea bags?

Hang them out on the line to dry after using and bob's your uncle

does anyone reuse tea bags?
    I saw a programme on the TV where they stated that if you dunked a teabag in hot water for a few seconds, most of the caffeine would leech out.

You could then reuse the teabag and have a "decaffeinated" cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Long time lurker here..

Anyways 2 weeks ago I was in Spain and on the way back myself and the missus went to have a few drinks in the Malaga airport bar.

Next table arrives: A family of scum from the Northern UK (Extras from Shameless :p), himself in a wifebeater vest and straw hat along with the children and wife with circus hoop earrings.

My mrs went off to grab a few bits from duty free and I was sat there drinking my pint listening to the entertainment. Heard them giving out to another couple over the price of the drinks :rolleyes:

So he sends his mrs over to get a few of the small bottles she arrives back with about 5 or 6 bottles of some random whiskey...she goes "the Jame-son costs too much" so I got these, they were all giving out about how ****e they tasted, but still proceeded to drink them...now to the stingey part...

His missus takes out a large bottle of Jameson bought at duty free and starts to fill the couple of small empty bottles with the Jameson, I thought they were going to use them on the plane or something...then the ape in the wifebeater turns to his missus and tells her to get a refund on the bottle of opened Jameson...I though not a chance but 5 minutes later shes back with a refund in her hand:eek:

Couldn't believe it...pure scum they were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I think a lot of foreigners don't 'get' the round system. They see the pint you buy them as an obligation free gift.

Usually idiotic Italians/Spanish who share one drink with six straws, while taking up space in busy pubs.

Get them tae f*ck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Gooner111

hmmm stingiest thing.... my ex!! She was always less than generous.

My ex's birthday and mine are 4 days apart. A month before her 30th birthday she broke her phone so asked me to pick one up as her birthday gift and let her have it straight away. I agreed. Bought her a phone for €100.... she then informs me that for my gift I no longer owe her €100 for my share of the room etc for the weekend of HER cousins wedding later that year.

Anyway the day of her birthday comes and I give her a card and a laptop (30th meant to be big occasion!). A day later we head off on a holiday that was bought for us as a birthday present (her family were generous that year!!). Were on holiday and the day of my birthday arrives and nothing... not even a happy birthday! The day rolls on and then she remembers that night. Says happy birthday and that she didn't have time to get me a gift. So opens her purse and counts out $100 and hands it to me. Next morning she asks can she have it back so that she will have enough money for the rest of the holiday...... and that she will give me the euro equilivant when we get home.

lol She never gave it to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

His missus takes out a large bottle of Jameson bought at duty free and starts to fill the couple of small empty bottles with the Jameson, I thought they were going to use them on the plane or something...then the ape in the wifebeater turns to his missus and tells her to get a refund on the bottle of opened Jameson...I though not a chance but 5 minutes later shes back with a refund in her hand:eek:

Couldn't believe it...pure scum they were

Wonder how she managed to get a refund on an open and half empty bottle of Jameson ??? :confused:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Gooner111 wrote: »
    hmmm stingiest thing.... my ex!! She was always less than generous.

My ex's birthday and mine are 4 days apart. A month before her 30th birthday she broke her phone so asked me to pick one up as her birthday gift and let her have it straight away. I agreed. Bought her a phone for €100.... she then informs me that for my gift I no longer owe her €100 for my share of the room etc for the weekend of HER cousins wedding later that year.

Anyway the day of her birthday comes and I give her a card and a laptop (30th meant to be big occasion!). A day later we head off on a holiday that was bought for us as a birthday present (her family were generous that year!!). Were on holiday and the day of my birthday arrives and nothing... not even a happy birthday! The day rolls on and then she remembers that night. Says happy birthday and that she didn't have time to get me a gift. So opens her purse and counts out $100 and hands it to me. Next morning she asks can she have it back so that she will have enough money for the rest of the holiday...... and that she will give me the euro equilivant when we get home.

lol She never gave it to me.

Holy moly - I hope you weren't going out with her for very long!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Gooner111

miamee wrote: »
    Holy moly - I hope you weren't going out with her for very long!! :eek:

Eh 8 years... broke up last year, year after that incident. Love is blind an all that

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Eh 8 years... broke up last year, year after that incident. Love is blind an all that

Oh wow, I hope she was a bit more generous than that when you started seeing her at least. Love is most definitely blind - sure we've all been there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Love is in a fukken coma by the looks of it.

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    Wonder how she managed to get a refund on an open and half empty bottle of Jameson ??? :confused:

Who knows...it wasn't half empty it was half full :p they probably went to the jacks and filled it with water or something...you couldn't make this shit up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,010 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

you couldn't make this shit up

backread and you'll find quite a few people who have tried...

Usually idiotic Italians/Spanish who share one drink with six straws, while taking up space in busy pubs.

Get them tae f*ck!

Your drinking with the wrong Italians, I am good friends with two Italians and they will go drink for drink with most Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I know someone that when she receives a Letter/christmas card she cuts out the stamp, so that se can Sellotape them to letters she sends in the future

Hardly stingey just smart, I've used some unfranked stamps on envelopes before...more acase I hadnt a stamp to hand but still...the shame of it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Get them tae f*ck!
    Your drinking with the wrong Italians, I am good friends with two Italians and they will go drink for drink with most Irish people.
    If Italians are so tight then how is their country so bloody expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Get them tae f*ck!
    If Italians are so tight then how is their country so bloody expensive.
    That's why they only buy one drink, the Italian and Spanish youth are well known in the bar trade for large groups that lounge around with their feet up with 2 pints between 6, being incredibly loud. Many pubs won't serve them for this reason.

I'm aware this isn't an accurate profile of those nations people but it's just what happens when their here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

How does that work??
    Everyone knows, you cut out the paper surrounding the stamp, soak it in lukewarm water to seperate the two, dry, then glue it to the new envelope.
    Only works for unfranked stamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

anyone interested in being stingy should check out Superscrimpers on channel 4. its now I think.

shows you how to save money. you have to laugh at some of the things.
    a young family could rent out a room to a student.
    charge 5 euro for tourist to camp in your front garden
    rent out your attic for storage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

There's a difference between being stingy and being thrifty/frugal.

L0ui5e wrote: »
    Cheasus! Does that really happen?
    Is it not an urban myth!

sadly its not. it requires a special type of person to do it.

I know a guy who is going to a farewell party for a guy he hates just for the free food.

if some organisation is giving away free pens you often see adults going up and trying to get as many pens as they can. very often these are well heeled people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

anyone interested in being stingy should check out Superscrimpers on channel 4. its now I think.

shows you how to save money. you have to laugh at some of the things.
    a young family could rent out a room to a student.
    charge 5 euro for tourist to camp in your front garden
    rent out your attic for storage
    What's wrong with any of those options if you need the money? Better than running to the Community Welfare Officer expecting a handout.

who is going to let complete strangers store stuff in their house. if its hot you go down for it.

what student would want to live in a house with young kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

CWO dont give "handouts" the give you your entitlements under the Supplementry Welfare Allowance Schemes!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

who is going to let complete strangers store stuff in their house. if its hot you go down for it.

what student would want to live in a house with young kids?

They are called digs were quite common not too long ago.

Also some stinge. friend of mine was with this girl in the nightclub, she needed to go to the bathroom so she gave him her bag to mind. What does he do? opens up the bag takes out a tenner and buys them both a drink, her none the wiser.
    Cheeky git