2 Irish Attacked By Hammer In Aus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

leeomurchu wrote: »
    Koshea wrote: »
    I'm the only one that read the title thinking there was an "N" left out in Aus?

What would an "N" have achieved?

A throbbing hole I'd say....

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

mauzo wrote: »
    A throbbing hole I'd say....

Ah the pennies dropped :D. Jaysus some folks minds really do spin on a different cog :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Has this been posted? I deserve a ban either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I really liked St Kilda, thought it was a real melting pot. Sure, the place was full of back packers and more than its fair share of junkies, and the working girls on Grey St, also the working Trannies at Luna park but it also had a lot of average joe's, a lot of yuppies and a general good cross section.
    Some of my happiest memories from my 20's were sitting outside the Espie, every time I did so I would always end up talking to an old hippy/aboriginie/backpacker/part time model/musician etc etc, anyone at all

Then the Prince of Wales, you sit outside there and it's a biker bar with a lot of don't **** with me Hells Angels and Bandito's, then you go inside and it's a gay bar!

I loved the mix and the contrasts

You're sure that wasn't the Blue Oyster?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

A hammer-headed shark was detained by police in St Kilda last night.

In a statement issued via his solicitor this morning, he said his actions were a demonstration of solidarity with his great white shark cousins and a protest against the proposed shark cull.

"I didn't know them blokes was Irish mate, youse humans all look the same to us sharkies and I was out of me depth anyway. I still can't fathom the need for the cull, it's not like youse will miss the odd snack-box or two."

Locals praised the police for their actions as if the shark had been free for longer, they could have been looking into the depths of a disaster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

This OP has a real vendetta against Australia and its people it seems just by seeing his posting history.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Digitalism

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Irishman goes to Australia in the hope of getting job/having a bit of craic.

Fails.

Slinks back home and slates the whole country and it's people at every opportunity on the Internet.

Fucking lol, tbh.
    Was thinking the exact same thing. I know of a few people with that ignorant attitude who also came back.

Go over looking for work, cant get it/has too much craic/doesn't impress in interviews, forgets to look for work, funds dry up, back to ireland within a month.

Slates Oz at any chance they can get from then on, because they "didnt give me work in Oz because I was FOREIGN!!! RACISTS!!!" etc.

I swear this guy scans the internet for articles of incidents in Aus, and keeps posting them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

Digitalism wrote: »
    Was thinking the exact same thing. I know of a few people with that ignorant attitude who also came back.

Go over looking for work, cant get it/has too much craic/doesn't impress in interviews, forgets to look for work, funds dry up, back to ireland within a month.

Slates Oz at any chance they can get from then on, because they "didnt give me work in Oz because I was FOREIGN!!! RACISTS!!!" etc.

I swear this guy scans the internet for articles of incidents in Aus, and keeps posting them.

maybe he had a bad experience of Australian racism?
    i must admit the Australians i have met were extremely racist in their attitudes. now before you all get uppity i'm sure there are many well rounded, fair-minded, forgiving Aussie types.
    Sadly i've never met them ..........:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭whatever73

maybe he had a bad experience of Australian racism?
    i must admit the Australians i have met were extremely racist in their attitudes. now before you all get uppity i'm sure there are many well rounded, fair-minded, forgiving Aussie types.
    Sadly i've never met them ..........:(

Same as, met lots of racists over the last 3 years over here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Irishman goes to Australia in the hope of getting job/having a bit of craic.

Fails.

Slinks back home and slates the whole country and it's people at every opportunity on the Internet.

Fucking lol, tbh.

A superb summation, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

This. Of course. I'll go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

i heard the two lads stopped the aussie lad from attacking a girl in the hostel, hope the irish lads condition improves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

i heard the two lads stopped the aussie lad from attacking a girl in the hostel, hope the irish lads condition improves

Heard it where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

2 Irish Attacked By Hammer In Aus

Read this in a Schwarzenegger voice................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

FYP for future use.
    Irishman goes to Australia Canada in the hope of getting job/having a bit of craic.

Fails.

Fucking lol, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

mackg wrote: »
    Heard it where?

reporter said on radio nova this morning

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

St Kilda was lovely I thought. It's not in the least bit rough, there are a few "deros" alright but if you think it is boy you should get out more! Yes the OP hates Ozzy, used to complain about even the bread there if I remember correctly, ffs.

whatever73 wrote: »
    Same as, met lots of racists over the last 3 years over here

you'll meet narrow-minded bigots everywhere, but Australia does tend to have a large proportion from my experience.
    i know it's a bit of a national stereotype but personally i ones i have encountered have been loutish, uninteresting, and boorish.

that said i'm sure there are a few decent ones, but they do require seeking out i'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

As I orig suspected, there was nothing racist about this.

My mate, Irish, and a Copper there, just sent me this, verbatim..
    They were living in some kind of boarding house, of which there are quite a few in St Kilda. St Kilda is a trendy touristy spot but also has a bit of an underbelly, was a very big drugs/prostitution area in the past and there is still a lot of that. Don't have much inside information, appears they were battered by another tennant of the boarding house who used a hammer. Both pretty badly injured from what I hear. Don't know if it's the case with this one but you get a lot of released prisoners going into these places and a lot of people with psych issues.

end

marcsignal wrote: »
    As I orig suspected, there was nothing racist about this.

My mate, Irish, and a Copper there, just sent me this, verbatim..

end

apparently he also has an erectile dysfunction issue.
    just what you want to be living beside, a psycho who can't get it up yielding a hammer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

R.I.P. to David Greene who has died in hospital. I have to say I am curious to know why The Irish Independent (the website, at least) has chosen the picture they have of the victim. It seems to be a very Facebook/party night out photo. Maybe the family have suggested it, I don't know. I know lots of people like to remember those who have passed with a happy picture showing the person in their prime, or having a good time etc., but I find it a little odd when it is the press that uses those kind of pictures (again, maybe some are okayed by family).

I know where we are (AH) as I searched for this thread before I started another so I know where it may descend to. I don't intend it to go that way, the poor chap has died in horrible circumstances but I would like to hear others opinions on the style of picture used by the Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭abacus120

R.I.P Dave,you will be missed,never a quiet moment when you were around,such a waste of a life that was being lived to the max,sleep well my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

indo wrote:
    David Byas (30), also from Dublin, who was also seriously injured, was discharged from hospital earlier this week.
    I went to school with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

R.I.P.

RIP.

can't help but feel the anti-Irish racism that pervades Australia didn't play some part in this dreadful attack. very sad.

RIP.

can't help but feel the anti-Irish racism that pervades Australia didn't play some part in this dreadful attack. very sad.

Theres no evidence of that whatsoever.

Nodin wrote: »
    Theres no evidence of that whatsoever.

there is no evidence that it was not!

....dear jesus spare me.

To make an assertion, you have to have some evidence. Wheres yours?

idiots like this guy need very little encouragement. a febrile atmosphere of xenophobia, fueled by right-wing politicians and radio show hosts would more than provide him with enough.

lose words cost lives.

.............idiots like this guy need very little encouragement. a febrile atmosphere of xenophobia, fueled by right-wing politicians and radio show hosts would more than provide him with enough.
    lose words cost lives.

Really? Doesn't seem to have held you back at all.
    i'm not saying there are no Irish singing-on. of course there are, and many of them are scammers too.

but youl'd be hard pressed to hear them above all the foreign accents.

i asked the girl behind the counter was that day a special/designated day for foreigners to sign-on? she looked at me like i was mad and said no it was like this all the time.

sorry if the truth doesn't go down too well
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=80035673
    ..........take a walk down to your local Post Office any signing-on day, and you'll be lucky to hear an Irish accent.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80035279&postcount=79

Wheres your evidence that killing was linked to anti-irish xenophobia?