Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Aye, Jame Gumb turned out to be Sean Bateman, so he won't be coming back here. Can we avoid discussion if possible please, I'd rather the debacle is left behind us.

@Blatter: He used a new account to cirvumvent a ban, that's a ban according to sitewide policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Ah damn. Would love to discuss it a bit. Shocked I am. Great spot by a few posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

G.K. wrote: »
    Aye, Jame Gumb turned out to be Sean Bateman, so he won't be coming back here. Can we avoid discussion if possible please, I'd rather the debacle is left behind us.

@Blatter: He used a new account to cirvumvent a ban, that's a ban according to sitewide policy.

Almost sounds scary GK, an alter ego type spook. Thankfully you nailed him ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Why do you think we all want a CM????
    its not down to a cm at all
    none of the strikers or midfielders press up to the oposition
    they just sit back & let teams attack
    which makes it easy for them to get into the final third

GSPfan wrote: »
    Ah damn. Would love to discuss it a bit. Shocked I am. Great spot by a few posters.

I don't mind a little discussion, but I don't want anything drawn out, becoming an argument or getting people infracted is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Back on topic, can I just clarify that I think Nani's corner taking last week was brutal, as do most even-minded contributors. I was making a more general point, not specifically about Nani, (who is our best winger imo, and I would hate to see him leave), but corner takers in general.

Whipping in corners and not beating the first man, while not in the slightest bit acceptable when done repeatedly, can be understandable, though no less frustrating to us supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Probably has a few more accounts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Blatter wrote: »
    lol, it was obviously him. His posting style was so unique and it was the exact same.

Thing is, I'd prefer if he wasn't banned. He wasn't trolling this time around, he was a very good contributor.

Aye,same, I didn't like Sean Bateman at all, but Jame Gumb was a decent poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Who is this Sean Bateman chap?

lol, it was obviously him. His posting style was so unique and it was the exact same.

Thing is, I'd prefer if he wasn't banned. He wasn't trolling this time around, he was a very good contributor.

Ya, it was spotted by a few posters a while back. He (as Jame Gumb) started out very well and made a lot of sense. More lately however, he did go a bit 'Bateman'. I was reading a thread in the golf forum earlier, and well..... :rolleyes:

Come on, Who called it first??????? Who thought Jame Gumb was Sean? Fair play to anyone who spotted it. The sacred cow thing was spotted by someone?

Don't wanna go off topic but this is funny stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

titan18 wrote: »
    Aye,same, I didn't like Sean Bateman at all, but Jame Gumb was a decent poster

He was grand when there was nothing going on, flipped the lid when we were beaten by Everton. But overall he was far less trolly and more respectable for the first few weeks this time, maybe next time it will stick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Who is this Sean Bateman chap?

De geas number one fan is who he was. Unmitigated success he always thought of DDG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

MD1990 wrote: »
    its not down to a cm at all
    none of the strikers or midfielders press up to the oposition
    they just sit back & let teams attack
    which makes it easy for them to get into the final third
    I disagree,it's where we get overrun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

d22ontour wrote: »
    De geas number one fan is who he was. Unmitigated success he always thought of DDG.
    Oh yeah that guy, remember him saying he wanted a blowjob off him or something ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Come on, Who called it first??????? Who thought Jame Gumb was Sean? Fair play to anyone who spotted it. The sacred cow thing was spotted by someone?

Don't wanna go off topic but this is funny stuff.

A few other phrases like ''move heaven and earth'', ''It's not like I'm saying that the world is flat'', the layout of his posts, the manner in which he worded things - it was just so obvious to me anyway. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Referenced to Hernandez as "The mexican" and had ruled him a failure before he played a game for the club.

That was a good one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I saw it anyway but as there was no melt down this time calling everyone clowns etc found it less annoying and could pay attention to the more interesting posts

also re Nani's corners. They do suck and nobody is going to go mental defending him, agree with alproctors last post on the topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

G.K. wrote: »

@Blatter: He used a new account to cirvumvent a ban, that's a ban according to sitewide policy.[/B]

That's fair enough, but at the same time I thought I remembered reading before (from an Admin in a feedback thread) that a blind eye is often turned to users that returned under a new name and changed their ways, and that there's no problem with that.

It mightn't be a bad idea to let the admins know that he had improved significantly as a poster. Although it might be difficult to let him back in now that it's publicly known that he was Bateman...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I really hope this is true :pac:
    Fergie car ban! United boss puts his foot down on young players
    By IAN LADYMAN
    PUBLISHED: 21:51 GMT, 27 August 2012 | UPDATED: 21:51 GMT, 27 August 2012
    Comments (0)

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has banned the club's young stars from driving flashy sports cars from new sponsors Chevrolet.
    United recently signed a multi-million-pound deal with the American car giant, who will become the name on the club's shirts from the start of the 2014-15 season.

Ban: The Manchester Untied boss has put his foot down on young players

As a gesture of goodwill, Chevrolet immediately offered United's first-team stars a choice of luxury cars and understandably many of the club's big names plumped for iconic Corvettes.

Stalled: United's youngsters won't be driving one of these
    However, Sportsmail understands Ferguson immediately intervened and decreed that no player under the age of 23 - no matter their standing in the team - should be allowed to order a sporty model.
    This means players such as young striker Danny Welbeck, 21, and defenders Phil Jones, 20, Chris Smalling, 22, and Rafael, 22, will be banned from driving anything not approved by Ferguson.
    The move is a classic case of Ferguson - the master man-manager - ensuring his young stars don't get too big for their boots.
    Ferguson has always been hot on matters such as this.
    Two years ago, for example, it emerged he told players in the club's youth squads they were not allowed to wear coloured football boots.
    Last night a United spokesperson confirmed: 'As with most automotive partnerships, Chevrolet will be offering players a car. The model will be dependent on their time at the club and driving experience.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2194469/Manchester-United-ban-players-driving-Chevrolet-sports-cars.html#ixzz24mpSzAkH

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Referenced to Hernandez as "The mexican" and had ruled him a failure before he played a game for the club.

That was a good one.

that was conno16 I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Was he conno 16 as well?

Topic; surprised spurs haven't come in for berbatov considering their lack of strikers. I also think he would do well at arsenal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

A few other phrases like ''move heaven and earth'', ''It's not like I'm saying that the world is flat'', the layout of his posts, the manner in which he worded things - it was just so obvious to me anyway. :p

and im pretry sure theres another rereg about also ;-) have to laugh, when the trolls are called out on being frauds, people slag off the regular posters for doing so and backing up these lads as offering a different opinion, but normally people are able to get it spot on and see through the crap.

Also starting posts with '@', rather than quoting to reply....
    Couple posters had him nailed from very early on...

DM-ICE wrote: »
    that was conno16 I think.

Now there's a guy I actually miss. Thought he was great fun.

Almost sounds scary GK, an alter ego type spook. Thankfully you nailed him ;-)

If I'm honest it was Beasty, one of the Sports CMods who got him.

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    Was he conno 16 as well?

Topic; surprised spurs haven't come in for berbatov considering their lack of strikers. I also think he would do well at arsenal!

A number of clubs need a striker and I can't figure out why they are not looking for Berbatov. He would be available for a cheap fee I reckon and he would be fair enough about wages as i'd say he wants to play.

Jame is doing his best to be let back in. If we didn't lose any more games and he didn't go into meltdown then he'd be grand! ;)

UPDATE: Looks like Jame Gumb will be no more, but Sean Bateman will be allowed back in at some stage. The Drama of it all.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    A number of clubs need a striker and I can't figure out why they are not looking for Berbatov. He would be available for a cheap fee I reckon and he would be fair enough about wages as i'd say he wants to play.

I kinda figured it is Berbatov who is holding out for a good club. Doubt he will stay in England. I'd say he will be in the Champions League but with a foreign club. Would love him at Ac Milan.

Keep Berbatov and play him at CB is what I'd do. You'll need the cover and we know he can play there. :pac: