Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Well he has mentioned we will only get DM of quality if one turns up, maybe he is suggesting he doesn't think MVila is good enough, based on our overall squad of midfielders.

Well thats understandable but with wilshere out till probably November and considering he will not be fully match ready till next year, we desperately need Arteta to play offensive at the moment.

And out of curiosity, with just a few days to end of the transfer period, which players do you think would be of better quality DMs compared to M'Vila?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Thimk we will def sign two but im hoping for three players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Hopefully there won't be any need for final minute pen to paper deals this Friday like the Arteta deal last summer.

KINGVictor wrote: »
    Well thats understandable but with wilshere out till probably November and considering he will not be fully match ready till next year, we desperately need Arteta to play offensive at the moment.

And out of curiosity, with just a few days to end of the transfer period, which players do you think would be of better quality DMs compared to M'Vila?

None that are available or will come at the type of price Arsenal want to spend.
    Ive said many time Arteta should be playing more offensively, but he has done himself no favours in that regard playing so well as the holding midfielder, he practised it a lot when Song was playing alongside him :)
    This maybe what Wenger has planned for Arteta, and it's disappointing if it is because he would bring a lot going forward, hopefully when Wilshere comes back Arteta may get forward a lot more.

Possibly and I sincerely hope so. I pray those signings if they do happen would be well thought out and proactive rather than scraps due to the nature of the timing.

I dont want to be accused of whinging but I just feel that somehow the Board and managers are confident that the 3 new players are sufficient for the season. They could be right and tbf I see huge huge potentials in Giroud and Carzola but I am just worried about the lack of enough creativity which in fact should not be a problem with Arteta and Carzola.

I trust Arsene but I really hope it will be his call at the end of the day.

Possibly and I sincerely hope so. I pray those signings if they do happen would be well thought out and proactive rather than scraps due to the nature of the timing.

I dont want to be accused of whinging but I just feel that somehow the Board and managers are confident that the 3 new players are sufficient for the season. They could be right and tbf I see huge huge potentials in Giroud and Carzola but I am just worried about the lack of enough creativity which in fact should not be a problem with Arteta and Carzola.

I think we all hope there will be at least one more signing, but I'm not really confident we will sign another quailty player, based on Wengers press conferences, that could be a smoking mirror, I hope so anyway.

I think we're all gonna be surprised and he will buy an attack minded player weather it be striker/winger/midfielder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,782 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I am really interested in understanding why Arsene has been reluctant in signing M'Vila. The guy has virtually begged to be signed by Arsenal and I think he would be a great addition to the team and help free Arteta to play a more offensive role; so far the explanations have been:

1. He has a history- so? just like most footballers!

2. He is expensive- if I am right, he is on offer for circa €16m, about the same amount we got paid for Song.

There must be reasons why Arsene is not keen on him. This is not a Sahin where we had issues with signing fees and the lack of opportunity to buy at the end of the season- this guy could be bought outright tommorow.

Wenger always seemed keen on M'vila until this summers antics in Poland which I don't feel were too bad. He is a great DM by all accounts and would be delighted to join Arsenal if reports are true. I would love to see him play for us. As you say the price is right too. Maybe there is more to it than we are being told. Time is running out so I would rather him here than at Spurs, although if he is trouble I wonder how he'll get on with Adebayer.

None that are available or will come at the type of price Arsenal want to spend.
    Ive said many time Arteta should be playing more offensively, but he has done himself no favours in that regard playing so well as the holding midfielder, he practised it a lot when Song was playing alongside him :)
    This maybe what Wenger has planned for Arteta, and it's disappointing if it is because he would bring a lot going forward, hopefully when Wilshere comes back Arteta may get forward a lot more.

Well with regards to the bolded above, it would be case of penny wise- pound foolish. We have no choice at the moment, Wilshere coming back is still all up in the air- dont get me wrong, he is coming back but when?

We are doing very well defensively at the moment BUT we need to score goals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

I think we're all gonna be surprised and he will buy an attack minded player weather it be striker/winger/midfielder.
    Or maybe he'll really surprise us all and buy a steely box-to-box midfielder who can boss the midfield... ;)

dvemail wrote: »
    Hopefully there won't be any need for final minute pen to paper deals this Friday like the Arteta deal last summer.

Aye, would prefer all our players to be available for Sunday. :pac:

Well with regards to the bolded above, it would be case of penny wise- pound foolish. We have no choice at the moment, Wilshere coming back is still all up in the air- dont get me wrong, he is coming back but when?

We are doing very well defensively at the moment BUT we need to score goals!

Mid October , and I can't see Arsene buying someone that will keep him out of the starting lineup, as he is too good to overlook.
    Spending so much money on a player that would only be guaranteed a start until October may be part of Wengers consideration.
    I'm only throwing out ideas here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Man I hate and love the transfer window in equal measures, Id love to be a Chelsea fan this summer seeing all them exciting players coming in :(,at the momment theres nothing concrete from Arsenal really everything is just pure speculation.

Personally id love to see us sign a proper DM, would hate to see Wilshere as a DM for us he has way to much passing capapbilities and vision to be playing that role, for me hes an AM or at least the CM roles Arteta was doing last year.

Would also love a versatile attacker and defender but god only knows what well get if anything at all roll on Friday I say I think my phone is even sick of me at this stage spending so much time in twitter.

Mid October , and I can't see Arsene buying someone that will keep him out of the starting lineup, as he is too good to overlook.
    Spending so much money on a player that would only be guaranteed a start until October may be part of Wengers consideration.

Excellent point! It will not make sense in the long-term.

But my arguement is Wilshere is a versatile midfield player so for instance buying Yann now would not necessarily be a duplication, rather it will be a good replacement for Song. Ok, the question will be where will Arteta play? In my opinion, that will be a good problem to have if it arises.

Just said id throw up the U21s victory of Blackburn over the weekend. Eisfield and Aneke really are the stand out players for me so far over their last two matches for me. Also with Gnarby and Chuba Akpom only being 17 and 16 years old, the future looks bright in the Arsenal ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,782 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Just said id throw up the U21s victory of Blackburn over the weekend. Eisfield and Aneke really are the stand out players for me so far over their last two matches for me. Also with Gnarby and Chuba Akpom only being 17 and 16 years old, the future looks bright in the Arsenal ranks.

Brilliant display from Aneke in that video.

Wenger obviously has relatively high hopes for him as well I'm assuming seeing as he brought him on the tour of Asia. He does look very composed and has an eye for the through ball also. Good prospect.

But my arguement is Wilshere is a versatile midfield player so for instance buying Yann now would not necessarily be a duplication, rather it will be a good replacement for Song. Ok, the question will be where will Arteta play? In my opinion, that will be a good problem to have if it arises.

Simple answer

DM. Arteta
    Wilshere
    Santi. Podolski

Think we will see gnarby getting first team action this season

I am really interested in understanding why Arsene has been reluctant in signing M'Vila. The guy has virtually begged to be signed by Arsenal and I think he would be a great addition to the team and help free Arteta to play a more offensive role; so far the explanations have been:

1. He has a history- so? just like most footballers!

2. He is expensive- if I am right, he is on offer for circa €16m, about the same amount we got paid for Song.

There must be reasons why Arsene is not keen on him.
    This is not a Sahin where we had issues with signing fees and the lack of opportunity to buy at the end of the season- this guy could be bought outright tommorow.

This is the part where we trust in Wenger as "Wenger knows".

Do we really need another player that sees Arsenal as a stepping stone to a big pay day?
    We should sign Berbatov, could prolly get him for 5 million or so. Be a grand player to bring on if we needed something different up front. He may have his problems but he scores goals.

If we gave them RVP and got Berbatov, I could never forgive The Arsenal. His problems are he's a lazy c*nt and I'd prefer to have B52 over him.
    Man I hate and love the transfer window in equal measures, Id love to be a Chelsea fan this summer seeing all them exciting players coming in :(,at the momment theres nothing concrete from Arsenal really everything is just pure speculation.

What?!

They've spent €98.7 million on 6 players. I would expect that they should be exciting for that much. Hazard and Oscar are the standouts. Moses, T. Hazard (how much time will he honestly get? He'll be their Amaury Bischoff, P.I.) And then 2 others (Cesar Azpilicueta and Marko Marin) that I know next to nothing about.

You know who we signed. (Cazorla, Podolski and Giroud lest ye forget)

You'd love to be a chelsea fan? Off ya pop, no-one stopping ya :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭iainconlon12

What?!

They've spent €98.7 million on 6 players. I would expect that they should be exciting for that much. Hazard and Oscar are the standouts. Moses, T. Hazard (how much time will he honestly get? He'll be their Amaury Bischoff, P.I.) And then 2 others (Cesar Azpilicueta and Marko Marin) that I know next to nothing about.

I think he's just kiddin' by pointing out how exciting it is for Chelsea fans in the transfer market. :P To be honest though, I don't think they (chelsea fans) even find it that exciting anymore with the amount of signings they make and money they spend.

As for us, I'd be very happy with a defender (probably Rangel) and the 'top, top class midfielder' (whoever that might be). A third striker is a must as well with NB52 and Chamakh looking to be gone.

Yesterday fellani
    Today it's Dzeko and Dembele

I agree, it can only be a good thing to have cover.
    Trouble is I doubt Wenger sees it the same way.

This is the part where we trust in Wenger as "Wenger knows".

Do we really need another player that sees Arsenal as a stepping stone to a big pay day?

That's a very good point and one i hope Wenger is using when he considers another player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Feck Chelsea this season! They hit the ground running and pretty much so far it's been one player that's practically set up every goal. The team I'm most envious of so far has to be Swansea! Laudrup is a tactical genius and I can't wait to see how they shape up against Arsenal. They've been active with transfers, & so far it's coming up Milhouse for them.

Cheers for the U-21's link. Miquel looks like he's come on leaps and bounds with the experience from the first team. My biggest question about the current senior squad and the reserves/u-21 is, what's the story with Eastmond? 2/3 seasons ago he was a first teamer (albeit, we did have a shaky bench at the time) and he's not really getting much of a sniff in. Also, I'd like to see Arteta in a more offensive role, but with Wilshere coming back and Coquelin holding a spot, we're going to see a lot of positional rotation this year. In the past few seasons, rotation was normally used to cover injury, this season it looks like we can actually use it tactically for once. Each one of the midfield players can pretty much play each other's position. I'd love to see a DM at the club, I really wish we cloned Gilberto and kept his clone under some ice for a few seasons and then bring him back. He'd be perfect for the current squad.

RE Mvila, Wenger must either have some serious doubts about purchasing this guy or feels confident enough with what he has. Having looked at both Mvila's & Capoue's stats from last season, both are similar with Mvila winning more successful long balls & tackles. Mvila's stats are pretty strong, especially when compared to Song. I vaguely remember Arseblog showing some numbers at some stage early summer. So, there must be something up Wenger's sleeve regarding this, seeing as BBC reported yesterday that Spurs lodged a bid for Mvila. Although, they seem to be lodging bids left right and centre these past couple of days for numerous players, so it may just be smoke & mirrors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Like these stats are what we are pretty much looking for! Albeit, Ligue 1, but a league that does pride itself on strong defending.

mvila.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭redarmy

I know that Ian Wright can be erratic and talks a lot sh**e sometimes but he has taken it to a very funny level suggesting that Wenger buys Defoe as replacement for RVP :D

http://www.emirates247.com/sports/football/arsenal-legend-finds-wenger-van-persie-replacement-2012-08-28-1.473090

He's no replacement for RVP but he would probably help us get goals.
    11 goals from 25 appearances in the PL last season, of which 11 were starts.
    Not hugely impressive, but we could do with an impact player like him, if Giroud or Podolski aren't getting the job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

What?!

:pac: You would have to go and twist that wouldnt ya, as Conlon12 said I just meant in terms of how exciting its been for there fans to see there players coming in. As usual weve seen some our best players go while some exciting ones come in and now were left nervously waiting in the last few days to see what else may happen. Ive been an Arsenal fan all my life now feck off taking my words out of context :mad::P.