Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

noodler wrote: »
    Suarez's discipline is atrocious in fairness.

Another absolutely pointless yellow yesterday.

There was a shocking tackle against a team mate of his right in front of the ref who decided to give nothing. He was dead right to give out about it.

The only reason he got a yellow was because of who he is.

Same as last week when he threw his arm up in the air toward a lines man & had a little moan about a decision. Literally the type of thing we see hundreds of times every weekend. Yellow card.

5 minutes later, Long does identical thing toward an official (the only difference was, Suarez was about 20 yards from the linesman. Long was in the linesmans face). No punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Cyrus wrote: »
    up until the end of last year they were

correct

So over what period do you judge a side?

From what I can see your logic seems to be that Liverpool were slightly better in the first half of last season, Newcastle were then substantially better in the second half of the season hence Liverpool are the better side.

It doesn't add up particularly when Newcastle were clearly an improving side, while Liverpool were in sharp decline. You're using RAWK style logic here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Mr Alan wrote: »
    There was a shocking tackle against a team mate of his right in front of the ref who decided to give nothing. He was dead right to give out about it.

Same as last week when he threw his arm up in the air toward a lines man & had a little moan about a decision. Literally the type of thing we see hundreds of times every weekend. Yellow card.

5 minutes later, Long does identical thing toward an official (the only difference was, Suarez was about 20 yards from the linesman. Long was in the linesmans face). No punishment.

Ah here cut that victim crap out. Saurez is a moany fecker and complains about damned near every decision that goes against him....usually quite vociferously. Ref's play favourites for sure, but he wasn't booked because of the name on his shirt. He was booked for swearing at the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,155 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

LiamoSail wrote: »
    So over what period do you judge a side?

From what I can see your logic seems to be that Liverpool were slightly better in the first half of last season, Newcastle were then substantially better in the second half of the season hence Liverpool are the better side.

It doesn't add up particularly when Newcastle were clearly an improving side, while Liverpool were in sharp decline. You're using RAWK style logic here

you said newcastle were better over a year

you were wrong,

im saying 6 months of newcastle garnering more points than liverpool doesnt suddenly elevate them to be a better team, especially given liverpool also contested two cup finals last season

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Kirby wrote: »
    Ah here cut that victim crap out. Saurez is a moany fecker and complains about damned near every decision that goes against him....usually quite vociferously. Ref's play favourites for sure, but he wasn't booked because of the name on his shirt. He was booked for swearing at the ref.

Swearing at the ref for not giving a free against Sterling who was lumped seconds earlier.
    He's trying to protect his younger team-mate. We would all do the same, i even do it in 5 a side.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

So why does he get booked for it while Rooney never ever does. He shouts abuse at refs in every match and nothing ever comes from it. He's the first example that came to mind but every player does it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

He knows he's a marked man so he needs to cop on and cut it out completely. I was shocked he wasn't book earlier when he ran at the linesman.

The reason he got the yellow was dissent. Had he kept his mouth shut, he wouldn't have been booked so to say he was booked because of who he was is incorrect

I can understand his frustration and annoyance at times, but he needs to use his head. He's an excellent player, but he's fcuk all use to anyone when he's banned, and he leaves the side considerably weaker

Nobody's asking him to change his game or anything similar, he's just been asked to shut the fcuk up and keep his frustration to himself for the good of his team. Under 10's are thought this sort of basic thing, there's absolutely no excuse for him continually getting booked for this sort of behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,528 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Also, why just the last six months? Wern't Newcastle above Liverpool in the league throughout all of last season?

no http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/16312601

The reason he got the yellow was descent.

dissent, dissent

you said newcastle were better over a year

you were wrong,

im saying 6 months of newcastle garnering more points than liverpool doesnt suddenly elevate them to be a better team, especially given liverpool also contested two cup finals last season

What about the previous two seasons? Does Newcastle garnering more points in the previous two seasons make them a worse team?

Again I have to ask you, over what period of time are you judging each side?
    rossie1977 wrote: »

So they were there or there abouts for the first half of the season, before Newcastle pulled well clear. The point still stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

The period of time that suits his argument.....however long that may be. Most of us judge it over 38 games but that doesn't suit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

amiable wrote: »
    Jack Robinson just scored for the U21's against Palace. 2-1 to Liverpool

3-1, Ngoo scores again. I don't know whether he'll make the step up, but at underage level, they are finding him hard to handle...

The period of time that suits his argument.....however long that may be. Most of us judge it over 38 games but that doesn't suit him.

the exact same period of time that your pal liam has used

the one that suits my argument best :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Dickerty wrote: »
    3-1, Ngoo scores again. I don't know whether he'll make the step up, but at underage level, they are finding him hard to handle...

He is the strangest looking footballer I think I've ever seen. He just doesn't make sense :) as you said though, a real handful at underage and reserve level. I really cant see him making it as a premiership player though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

dissent, dissent

Oh for God sake.

No need for the Nazi Grammar Police. 99% of his posts are spot on grammatically and then you call him on one word when you could quite easily make out what he was saying.

This thread has its shit from time to time, but it doesn't need that in all fairness.

Twitter rumours from a number of the more successful Liverpool ITKs that we made a firm enquiry about Huntelaar, and were told it would take 100K a week and a fee of about £15M (as he's in the last year of his contract). At 29, that isn't a typical FSG signing, so it seems it went no further.

But if we got a good price for Carroll, it's almost a swap, and a HELL of an upgrade...

What about the previous two seasons? Does Newcastle garnering more points in the previous two seasons make them a worse team?

So they were there or there abouts for the first half of the season, before Newcastle pulled well clear. The point still stands

Right

Liverpool finished ahead of newcastle (5 places)the season before last, at the turn of the year last year, liverpool were ahead of newcastle in the table.

So in the past 2 seasons, over half of one season newcastle got more points than liverpool in the league.

Again, my contention is, this one 6 month spell donest make them a better team,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Had the game on in the background on the radio. Adorjan ran the show for us. (Just been given motm) He really should be going out on loan this season. No point having another year at this level. Still no game time for Joao Carlos which is quite strange. Pacheco not involved and not on the bench so maybe he will be involved on Thursday, if not he'll be gone by the end of this window.

Opr

the exact same period of time that your pal liam has used

the one that suits my argument best :rolleyes:

I've used the last season, and the last two seasons combined. This time last year I would have agreed that Liverpool were the better side, however last season Newcastle were clearly significantly better

A full league season is usually a standard enough measure of how good a side are. I think they even give out a few trophies, through out the world, on the outcome of that full season measure. Its really a pretty standard calibration

Knex. wrote: »
    Oh for God sake.

No need for the Nazi Grammar Police. 99% of his posts are spot on grammatically and then you call him on one word when you could quite easily make out what he was saying.

This thread has its shit from time to time, but it doesn't need that in all fairness.

nazi grammar?

the word means something totally different

I've used the last season, and the last two seasons combined. This time last year I would have agreed that Liverpool were the better side, however last season Newcastle were clearly significantly better

A full league season is usually a standard enough measure of how good a side are. I think they even give out a few trophies, through out the world, on the outcome of that full season measure. Its really a pretty standard calibration

see my post, i disagree

I think they even give out a few trophies, through out the world, on the outcome of that full season measure. Its really a pretty standard calibration

only if you finish first if i recall

Dickerty wrote: »
    Twitter rumours from a number of the more successful Liverpool ITKs that we made a firm enquiry about Huntelaar, and were told it would take 100K a week and a fee of about £15M (as he's in the last year of his contract). At 29, that isn't a typical FSG signing, so it seems it went no further.

But if we got a good price for Carroll, it's almost a swap, and a HELL of an upgrade...

I would be very happy if we signed him regardless of the mentioned prices tbh.

May very well be better value out there, but at this stage we really do need an out and out finisher and Huntelaar has been scoring goals all his career.

nazi grammar?

the word means something totally different

Yet you were quite clearly able to work out what he meant. My point still stands. Now lets move on.

I would be very happy if we signed him regardless of the mentioned prices tbh.

May very well be better value out there, but at this stage we really do need an out and out finisher and Huntelaar has been scoring goals all his career.

huntelaar had 3 very average seasons before last, a sure thing he isn't

Melion wrote: »
    He is the strangest looking footballer I think I've ever seen. He just doesn't make sense :) as you said though, a real handful at underage and reserve level. I really cant see him making it as a premiership player though

I guess it's akin to Crouch? He managed to develop pretty good feet, was actually quite a poor header of the ball, so he could go that way. Our youth teams don't really play hoof-ball, so he's encouraged to keep it on the ground...

Yet you were quite clearly able to work out what he meant. My point still stands. Now lets move on.

you shouldn't have commented on it in the first place, i corrected a misspelling that annoyed me, nothing to do with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

And he claims he used to be worse. God help his underage managers :pac:

I think I read before that he hit a referee during a schoolboy game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭frankled

Suarez is a marked man, in the same way that Ballotelli is easy to send off. A ref will always hesitate slightly less with them. But that doesn't excuse him flipping at the officials so vociferously and often- he should know that it'll keep getting him yellows and Rodgers should tell him so. He even mentioned how tense he gets in his last interview. He's just not gonna get away with it like some others do. Plus he does overdo it sometimes.

In saying that I don't think yesterday's yellow for the Sterling incident was deserved.