Liverpool FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭skydish79

Melion wrote: »
    When and where is it going to air here?

The documentary following Liverpool Football Club and commissioned by Fox Soccer gets it premier in the US on Sunday September 16th 2012 and is to be shown in the UK by Channel Five

Not sure if channel 5 have a date yet but it should be shortly afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

If you really wanted you could watch it about an hour after it airs on Fox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Suso tweeted before the game to wish the team good luck. Hopefully he was watching Sterling and knows now if he puts his head down, works hard then he will get his chance as he has just as much talent.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Enjoyed the match today. Couldn't understand why some of our squad wanted to test my heart every now and again with a ball across our goal, in front of cutthroat strikers, but it eventually cost us a win.

Still a lot of positives to take, and it was a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,552 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Some great signs today looking forward to sahin conning in
    Would love to see this team when everyone fit
    Reina
    Kelly skirtel agger Johnson
    Gerrard Lucas Allen sahin sterling
    Suarez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Grayditch wrote: »

Still a lot of positives to take, and it was a good game.

SO many. Allen, Stevie, Sterling, Coates, Kelly, Shelvey, set pieces and overall sticking to the plan. Really happy, despite the result...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

We need a striker...pray for one lads. I think if we all try really hard then we will get a decent one. Only a few days left now. Hope BR and team will get a deadly surprise striker who can bang in the goals for us.

Dickerty wrote: »
    SO many. Allen, Stevie, Sterling, Coates, Kelly, Shelvey, set pieces and overall sticking to the plan. Really happy, despite the result...

I thought Coates was a bit shaky in the first half. He is the type of player that needs more game time so that he can believe in himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

Tom could do with a few pointers from John about how to woo the ladies.

prop120826-033-liverpool_man_city.jpg

Jaysus, she'd eat an apple through a letter box.

jenno86 wrote: »
    Jaysus, she'd eat an apple through a letter box.

I think you meant carrot :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Was impressed by Allen the most today, he more than covered for Lucas and gave some quality balls too. Almost Xabi Alonso-esque in the way he sat deep and competently stroked the ball about.

As for Lucas, what a disaster. Again, his injury has illustrated that we have no real back up for him, and that has been evident for two seasons...and that, my friends, is a ****ing disgrace.

To be honest, I don't think our back up is too bad.

Allen can fill the void as we saw today, and I think Henderson could do a job there for a few games.

Anyone but Spearing anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭d22ontour

She would eat an apple through a carrot ? :confused:

Some great signs today looking forward to sahin conning in
    Would love to see this team when everyone fit
    Reina
    Kelly skirtel agger Johnson
    Gerrard Lucas Allen sahin sterling
    Suarez

I think we are better with Johnson on the right and Enrique. While Kelly did well today I dont think he is suited to playing full back with so much attacking required. Johnson is also wasted on the left to a certain degree. He was no length back on the right when he burst into the box and should have got a spotter. He just doesnt get into them positions coming from the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

Nope.

Kinda looks like Napoleon Dynamite!

original.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭kop77

raheem sterling ‏@sterling31
    unlucky result should of won the game, once again, amazing atmosphere and what a feeling the KOP sang a song 4 me BestMomentInMyLife YNWA

Lucas Leiva ‏@LucasLeiva87
    Thanks all the message. I am devastated but I need to put my head right and see in the next few days how bad was. Good night .

Johno, Skittles and the new John Barnes in the bbc team of the week...(if anyone cares)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19388012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Operation keep Sahin .

Step 1. Complete
    @nurisahin05: Hi Friends!
    I am very happy 2 Join Liverpool FC! Great atmosphere today at Anfield, looking forward 2 play there! #YNWA

And his league debut will be v Arsenal, love it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Very good performance today, alot of positives to be taken from it for sure.

Reina: Thought he did well in possession, could have dealt with the first goal a bit better though.

Kelly: Major improvement on the last few performances. Looked good on the ball, solid defensively and provided an outlet on the right when attacking. Of course, the first goal was a bit of a disaster for him though.

Coates: I thought he looked shaky at the start but settled very well after that. Good game. Should be in contention for more first team football.

Skrtel: Great header for the goal, looked solid throughout apart from the goal which he gave away. However that's three goals he has caused in the last two games and if that continues, Rodgers will have no choice but to replace him with Coates.

Johnson: Did okay. Looked more comfortable when moved to the right.

Lucas: Hopefully his injury isn't too serious.

Allen: Very good game, always showing for the ball, never wastes it and tenacious in the tackle. The closest we have seen to Xabi since he left.

Gerrard: I thought he did well, still capable of those moments of magic. Excellent corner for Skrtel's goal. Finding it harder to cover the ground he used to though, but that's to be expected.

Sterling: Excellent, his pace is something we really lacked over the past few seasons. Very direct and always a threat. He is going to be a big player for us this season.

Borini: This guy reminds me so much of Dirk. His touch would frustrate you at times, but he just runs all day and his work rate is second to none.

Suarez: Worked hard all day, excellent free kick. If he could improve his finishing, he would be unstoppable.

Shelvey: Very impressive. It's hard to understand how a player can go from one of the worst performances I've seen in a long time against Hearts to a very good performance today. He can do a job when he keeps it simple and realises he isn't Iniesta.

Enrique: Did well when he came on.

Carroll: Didn't have enough time to make an impact.

Overall, I was impressed with the performance and I think we have improved considerably from last season although it is going to take a few months before we are firing on all cylinders. We still need a striker that can finish.

When you take a step and look at the bigger picture the players really are buying into Rodgers philosophy .

It wasn't that long ago that one of our opening games was also against City and we knowingly capitulated whilst under Woy.

Feck looking long term lets just put the same display in again next PL game so we can eventually move away from the boom and bust like seen last season .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Oh, and I think Allen proved today why he was a worthy signing and not "just another Henderson". I'd say the anti-Rodgers brigade are quite sick at that reality.

I dont think anyone is anti Rodgers in the slightest. Some debates might look like that but its not about him, its about people making huge decisions that havent got a fkin scooby doo about football, you know who im referring to.

I find it difficult also to accept some of the crap that gets thrown at Henderson. He has played out of position a lot, come with a big 'tag' which hasn't helped him. He is still younger than Joe Allen and he doesnt have the benefit Allen will have of having the manager not knowing a huge amount about him.

Henderson and Allen could be a nice pairing in a few years...but......Henderson needs to play centre mid as box to box, not out on the right fkin wing filling in. He wont develop that way, he has only ever played there due to being a young player breaking through and being willing and able to do the position a bit of justice. Pretty sure he doesnt want to play there but i dont see him whinging over it either, which is a good sign.

daithijjj wrote: »
    I dont think anyone is anti Rodgers in the slightest. Some debates might look like that but its not about him, its about people making huge decisions that havent got a fkin scooby doo about football, you know who im referring to.

I find it difficult also to accept some of the crap that gets thrown at Henderson. He has played out of position a lot, come with a big 'tag' which hasn't helped him. He is still younger than Joe Allen and he doesnt have the benefit Allen will have of having the manager not knowing a huge amount about him.

Henderson and Allen could be a nice pairing in a few years...but......Henderson needs to play centre mid as box to box, not out on the right fkin wing filling in. He wont develop that way, he has only ever played there due to being a young player breaking through and being willing and able to do the position a bit of justice. Pretty sure he doesnt want to play there but i dont see him whinging over it either, which is a good sign.

Henderson will be fine .

He is probably at the right squad level now and will improve more imo rather than getting thrown into games out of position and getting his confidence beaten.

Rodgers rates him and compared to Adam, Jay etc ( who's LFC careers are over) he is one for the future .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

People judging today as definitely meaning we're on the right path are more deluded than those who think last week proves we're on the wrong path IMO.

We've put in numerous excellent performances over the last couple of seasons. Today's form (we didn't even win!) needs to contine for a while yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Without jumping the gun, we were creating different types of chances than I've seen in quite a while. We were getting so damn predictable, last season and so much so under Roy. If that Borini slice had gone in, that would have been a peach. Suarez's free kick was just breathtaking. I hope it continues.

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

wow that was some day so many mixed emotions.

Allen was excellent and although i had major concerns over the fee paid for him, when Lucas got injured I was thankfull we had Allen to fall back on. The fact he can play CM and DM is gona be invaluable to us.

Sterling was excellent, but he has to be protected over the course on the season and cant play every game, if Rodgers handles him properly (which i think he will) he will be an excellent option for us this season be that starting or coming from the bench.

The fact that it appears Coetes is ahead of Carragher in the pecking order is another positive.

I taught Carroll did well in his short cameo

Two negatives were Kelly who I thaught was very poor for the goal and wasted a lot going forward, he just didnt seem as comfortable on the ball as his team mates and the 2nd negative is Borini, I just feel he didnt offer very much and hasn't in the games so far. Hopefully he will improve as he settles in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Allen is only 3 months older than Henderson but is in a different league compared to him as a player and I'd consider myself a fan of Henderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

daithijjj wrote: »
    I dont think anyone is anti Rodgers in the slightest.

LuckyLoyd. The voice of reason.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    People judging today as definitely meaning we're on the right path are more deluded than those who think last week proves we're on the wrong path IMO.

We've put in numerous excellent performances over the last couple of seasons. Today's form (we didn't even win!) needs to contine for a while yet.

If that reply is directed at my post then it is not what I am saying .

But if we use today as a benchmark, move into the next game with the same attitude, then hopefully we can move away from the inconsistency seen last season, and the label of only performing against the big boys.