Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deadline Day: Bring Out The Transfer Gimp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Highly rated youngster Foday Nabay, only 14 years old, has signed a 2 year scholarship deal with Birmingham. I am delighted with this, had been tracked by Arsenal and Man Utd among others this summer. Would not be shocked if he made his debut in the next two years. Hopefully we can get him on professional terms at the end of the 2 years, and then can make some money off him when if he moves to a better team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Degag

tok9 wrote: »
    I didn't even know we were paying a fee of 5 million. Is that definitely true?

If he is as talented as they say then I'm still happy to have him but that does sound like a lot for a year.

That would be pretty obscene, they only signed him for 10m euro.
    I agree, I don't think Newcastle need him. He had several discipline problems at City over the past year, but as he was an English International the media didn't report it. He gained quite an ego after his first season with City and contiually broke curfew to attend openings etc. Hence Mancini would only give him 25 minutes of a game until he showed maturity. He wants to be first team and he wants the glory. When he does play properly though he is a fantastic asset, but he has been far too inconsistant and underperforming in big games.

What! That would make the media far more likely to report it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Highly rated youngster Foday Nabay, only 14 years old, has signed a 2 year scholarship deal with Birmingham. I am delighted with this, had been tracked by Arsenal and Man Utd among others this summer. Would not be shocked if he made his debut in the next two years. Hopefully we can get him on professional terms at the end of the 2 years, and then can make some money off him when if he moves to a better team.

I wouldn't have any expectations of a 14 year old, he might not even make it as a pro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Adam Johnson has completed a permanent transfer to Sunderland.

The 25-year-old joined the Blues from Middlesbrough in February 2010 and was an instant hit following his impressive debut - a man of the match performance against Bolton.

Ironically he scored his first goal for the club against Sunderland, a strike which made England manager Fabio Capello sit up and take notice and consider the Wearsider for selection.

http://www.mcfc.co.uk/News/Team-news/2012/August/Adam-Johnson-move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Paully D wrote: »
    Gif

Any idea about transfer fee?

MOSES TRANSFER COMPLETED

Posted on: Fri 24 Aug 2012
    Chelsea Football Club is delighted to announce the signing of Victor Moses from Wigan Athletic.

The 21-year-old winger's last appearance in Wigan colours came in Chelsea's 2-0 win at the DW Stadium last weekend, when he caught the eye with his strong running out wide.

The Nigerian international is a product of the Crystal Palace youth academy and made his first team debut in late 2007.

After establishing himself with the Championship side, Moses transferred to Wigan at the end of January 2010 and quickly settled into life in the Barclays Premier League.

In total he played 74 league games for the Latics, following 58 for Crystal Palace.

At international level, Moses appeared for England from schoolboy up to Under 21, but has opted to represent Nigeria at senior level, and made his debut in February against Rwanda.

http://www.chelseafc.com/news-article/article/2899458/title/moses-transfer-completed

So many transfers in a day.. One more confirmation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,182 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I thought Moses was much older than 21!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Adam Johnson is a Sunderland supporter isn't he ? Or am I imagining that ?

It's actually been a source of debate many times between Sunderland, Newcastle and 'Boro fans. All 3 seem to claim he supported them at one stage or another. He did say this when asked a few years ago for Four-Four-Two magazine which seems to disregard all 3 opinions:

http://fourfourtwo.com/interviews/boysabitspecial/112/article.aspx
    Club supported as a boy:

I grew up supporting Manchester United, mainly because of Giggsy. I’m from Sunderland originally and until I joined Middlesbrough most of my family supported the red-and-white stripes. Now I’m here though, they all follow the Boro.

So he says himself he was a Man Utd fan as a kid but his family were all Sunderland fans. I guess players are picked up at such a young age these days they don't really get a chance to support a team properly anyway, which is a shame in it's own right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

It's actually been a source of debate many times between Sunderland, Newcastle and 'Boro fans. All 3 seem to claim he supported them at one stage or another. He did say this when asked a few years ago for Four-Four-Two magazine which seems to disregard all 3 opinions:

http://fourfourtwo.com/interviews/boysabitspecial/112/article.aspx

So he says himself he was a Man Utd fan as a kid but his family were all Sunderland fans. I guess players are picked up at such a young age these days they don't really get a chance to support a team properly anyway, which is a shame in it's own right.

When he scored the winner against us a couple years back he said:

"I wasn't a Sunderland fan, I was at Newcastle and supported them as a kid. It's extra special to score against my old team but I play for City now, so that's all that counts.

"It's one of the best goals I've scored- It's my first in the league here and it's nice that it was the winner. It's always the plan when you're a sub to come on and try to make a difference. I did that. If we're going to do well this season, we need to grind out results."

Good signing for you lot. Have to give him credit for not just wanting to sit on the bench at city.

When he scored the winner against us a couple years back he said:

"I wasn't a Sunderland fan, I was at Newcastle and supported them as a kid. It's extra special to score against my old team but I play for City now, so that's all that counts.

"It's one of the best goals I've scored- It's my first in the league here and it's nice that it was the winner. It's always the plan when you're a sub to come on and try to make a difference. I did that. If we're going to do well this season, we need to grind out results."

Good signing for you lot. Have to give him credit for not just wanting to sit on the bench at city.

Seems he hasn't got a clue who he supported/supports then giving the amount of different quotes credited to him on the issue :pac:

Very happy with the signing. We took a huge step in the right direction today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Mars Bar wrote: »
    I thought Moses was much older than 21!

Ive read that there may be some debate about that. The lads an orphan and was a refugee. Really pleased for the lad, he's really done well considering the start in life he had.
    Hope he develops into the player everything thinks he can be

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2005/ma...ll.immigration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Seems he hasn't got a clue who he supported/supports then giving the amount of different quotes credited to him on the issue :pac:

Very happy with the signing. We took a huge step in the right direction today.

Gives ye a bit more depth which was desperately needed as well.

Saha, Johnson and Fletcher is good business, and in the areas ye needed too. Next up, a left back in case Richardson leaves?

Knex. wrote: »
    Gives ye a bit more depth which was desperately needed as well.

Saha, Johnson and Fletcher is good business, and in the areas ye needed too. Next up, a left back in case Richardson leaves?

Yeah I'd imagine full back is our next priority. Lots of talk about Ivan Strinic, Croatian left back, earlier in the week but it has gone a bit quiet on that. Richardson wants to leave but O'Neill said as of yet there haven't been any official offers so we're probably waiting to see what happens there first.

http://www.journallive.co.uk/safc/safc-news/2012/08/21/sunderland-afc-closing-in-on-deal-for-ivan-strinic-61634-31663465/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Yeah I'd imagine full back is our next priority. Lots of talk about Ivan Strinic, Croatian left back, earlier in the week but it has gone a bit quiet on that. Richardson wants to leave but O'Neill said as of yet there haven't been any official offers so we're probably waiting to see what happens there first.

http://www.journallive.co.uk/safc/safc-news/2012/08/21/sunderland-afc-closing-in-on-deal-for-ivan-strinic-61634-31663465/

After the 22m or so spent do you think the money is there, or will it be a matter of waiting on Richardson and using that money for whatever purchases?

Talks of 5m there, put that with Richardson money and you could get a player in for 7m or so on decent wages without having to dilute the quality too much, or at all.

Knex. wrote: »
    After the 22m or so spent do you think the money is there, or will it be a matter of waiting on Richardson and using that money for whatever purchases?

Talks of 5m there, put that with Richardson money and you could get a player in for 7m or so on decent wages without having to dilute the quality too much, or at all.

I think the money is definitely there for one or two more signings but the club would rather get a few players out first and use that money to fund them. The club will probably actively try to move the likes of Bramble and others who O'Neill sees as surplus to requirements on between now and the end of the window.

If we could get around £2m-£3m for Richardson (he's in the last year of his deal), there's also talk of Frazier Campbell moving on for the same price, shift Bramble and Vaughan out for low fees and get Strinic or similar plus maybe one more cheaper player in I think the club would be happy.

That said, baring in mind we are Sunderland and there's such a good feeling around the place after today, I wouldn't be surprised if Sessegnon was sold to kill our enthusiasm :pac:

Any idea why Sahin is going to Liverpool and not Arsenal with CL football?

Wenger seemed to hint something about money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

amiable wrote: »
    No it's not

What?

I've lived in south England all my life, I know full well that it happens down here.

Not that this is relevant to the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,121 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Any idea why Sahin is going to Liverpool and not Arsenal with CL football?

Wenger seemed to hint something about money?

Liverpool are paying all his wages plus a loan fee plus relocation costs..15 million........alot of money for a loan and no option to buy........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

dahat wrote: »
    Liverpool are paying all his wages plus a loan fee plus relocation costs..15 million........alot of money for a loan and no option to buy........

I have heard it all now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

dahat wrote: »

Source? We're paying 70% of his wages with no loan fee confirmed yet? The stumbling block for Arsenal seemed to be that they wanted an option to buy included.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

G.K. wrote: »
    What?

I've lived in south England all my life, I know full well that it happens down here.

Not that this is relevant to the thread.

I've lived there for a considerable amount of time too and still in regular text contact with several people from there and have never received an x in my text from any of them but carry on and generalise the entire southern half of your nation if you so wish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

opr wrote: »
    Source? We're paying 70% of his wages with no loan fee confirmed yet?

Opr

Opr get with it will ya .

The guy says its costing us £15mil for the year so it must be true.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

The fees I've seen mostly put him in the £9 to £10m for the season range, which is still a lot of dough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Leiva wrote: »

The Times say we are paying £2 million loan fee and 70% of his wages.
    Arsenal fans(some) seem intent on making out Liverpool have paid out like Andy carroll again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,598 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

zerks wrote: »
    Van Der Vaarts' move to Hamburg has also collapsed.

Not according to German/Dutch media. The British media made it sound like a deal was imminent yesterday, today they backtracked.

It'll be tough to do as we have little money. Need help from Kühne who is a billionaire fan from Hamburg, and probably the only man in the world who loves Rafi more than me :pac:.

While on the subject of money, where are Sunderland getting the money from to sign Fletcher/Johnson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

We must be rolling in the mulla :pac:

Opr

Still, 15 million for a out and out quality player including wages isnt that bad is it?
    Especially if he helps push you up the league