Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Hazard looks absolute quality - sickened we lost out on him.

Wouldn't swap Nani for him though but it doesn't look like theres much difference in quality between them. We shall save the judgement however for at least the end of the season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Jame Gumb wrote: »
    You guys are forgetting the other side of the equation.

We've watched Nani for years.

Hazard cost £32m plus £6m in fees and we tried to sign him (so Fergie agrees he's class - It's not just us "deciding something after two games")

I would like to see Nani replaced. It's gas how people call you a good poster until you challenge the status quo and criticise one of United's sacred cows.

Well i didnt hear you voicing your opinion on replacing Nani until after Monday. Nani is our best winger its mind boggling how anyone would want to replace him. I woul rather see Young and Valencia go first.

See there's where we disagree. I happen to think that Antonio Valencia is our best winger. Does that make me a bad poster too?

And based on what I've seen so far of both Nani and Hazard, I'd be delighted to swap one for the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Mars Bar wrote: »
    I dunno how anyone can make a judgement on 180 minutes of football.

Peter Taylor who was a fantastic scout used to be able to make judgements about players from one game. Sometimes he only watched a player for one half (or even less) and had his mind made up.

This is talking about on pitch performance btw, not whether the player trains hard or whatever. Those things are nearly impossible for fans to find out anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Looks like you're talking to yourself Baz!

I dunno how anyone can make a judgement on 180 minutes of football.

Hazard has settled a lot quicker than I thought, and he will do well against the big teams, but a couple of points about him
    Very easy to suss out as he always likes to come inside, defenders like Vidic will be able to deal with this.
    Doesnt tackle - at all! So bit of a liablity in midfield when he loses the ball.
    Very much a luxury player that you would sub the very second you wanted to shut up shop. Needs a better midfield and defence than Chelsea currently have behind him to mop up

I would take Nani in a heart beat to Chelsea, but hasnt quite been the same player since that horror tackle. Could be declining but we will find out this season. On his day, very dangerous player, assists, tackles, scores, pace etc etc

Kagawa impressed me with his close control and passing. Again could be a libablity when losing the ball but at least he looked like he was trying to track back. Wont take long before he is linking up with Rooney and co and creating Hazard like headlines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Nuts102 wrote: »
    You admitted you have only seen Hazard as much as us. So your claiming after 3 games he will be as good as Ronaldo/Messi i dont often lol. Players can go either way look at Robinho and Pato. Pato looked unbelievable years ago whats he doing now.

No read what i said, he could be as good as Ronaldo / Messi, he has the talent, as does Kagawa, let's take up this discussion in 3 years time and claim bragging rights :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Schism wrote: »
    @Jame Gumb

Don't you think it's bit of an over reaction to want Nani replaced? Just asking now, or have you had the same opinion of him for some time?

He's a very good player when he wants to be, although admittedly infuriating at times. It'd take quite an outlay of cash on a new player to replace him like for like.

Nani is frustrating because he takes on players and is very skillful. He can be poor for most of the game and pop up with a piece of magic or two. He is a far more complete player than Valencia or Young not even a contest. He can play and right wing. I dont think i have seen him miss a one on one so think he could do a job upfront.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

I like the new Jame Gumb hes like Peter Parker turning into the black spiderman . I think he got some of that space gunk on him during the Everton game .
    See Spiderman 3 for more info on how to fight it Jame.

Ps. If you see any dudes made out of sand robbing banks just walk away man you dont get paid for that ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,172 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Pro. F wrote: »
    Peter Taylor who was a fantastic scout used to be able to make judgements about players from one game. Sometimes he only watched a player for one half (or even less) and had his mind made up.

This is talking about on pitch performance btw, not whether the player trains hard or whatever. Those things are nearly impossible for fans to find out anyway.

He's a pro who was probably watching the player live.

Deank wrote: »
    No read what i said, he could be as good as Ronaldo / Messi, he has the talent, as does Kagawa, let's take up this discussion in 3 years time and claim bragging rights :)

I suggest you read what you said again. You said Hazard will be in the same class as Ronaldo/Messi.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Oh no not the sacred cow again (don't search it or you will get bad memories)!

How is Nani a sacred cow?

He has a fair split between fans, negatrons (sorry i like that word) and people who praise/criticise as appropriate

Hazard has settled a lot quicker than I thought, and he will do well against the big teams, but a couple of points about him
    Very easy to suss out as he always likes to come inside, defenders like Vidic will be able to deal with this.
    Doesnt tackle - at all! So bit of a liablity in midfield when he loses the ball.
    Very much a luxury player that you would sub the very second you wanted to shut up shop. Needs a better midfield and defence than Chelsea currently have behind him to mop up

I would take Nani in a heart beat to Chelsea, but hasnt quite been the same player since that horror tackle. Could be declining but we will find out this season. On his day, very dangerous player, assists, tackles, scores, pace etc etc

Kagawa impressed me with his close control and passing. Again could be a libablity when losing the ball but at least he looked like he was trying to track back. Wont take long before he is linking up with Rooney and co and creating Hazard like headlines

Are you mixing Valencia's "horror" tackle with Nani? Carragher's tackle on Nani was hardly a horror tackle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

If Valencia starts at RB and Scholes and Cleverley are in midfield then Fergie has lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

You guys are forgetting the other side of the equation.

We've watched Nani for years.

Hazard cost £32m plus £6m in fees and we tried to sign him (so Fergie agrees he's class - It's not just us "deciding something after two games")

I would like to see Nani replaced. It's gas how people call you a good poster until you challenge the status quo and criticise one of United's sacred cows.

Please don't churn that one out again. It's a slippery slope.

Do you want to know why you are feeling like a target for your Nani opinion? Because you never once said anything about selling Nani until Monday night... Now you want him gone. That my friend is a knee-jerk reaction, based on the worst performance of his United career. It's as clear as day.

You started off really well, I know myself and probably others were enjoying the way you engaged in debate. Seems to me you took Monday night very badly, your style has been totally different since then and your being called out an awful lot, I understand why you could feel like a victim, but it's not how it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Are you mixing Valencia's "horror" tackle with Nani? Carragher's tackle on Nani was hardly a horror tackle.

Carraghers tackle looked pretty bad to me and he never looked the same player after when he did play again

http://www.epltalk.com/nanis-horrific-injury-from-jamie-carraghers-tackle-photos-29893

cloptrop wrote: »
    I like the new Jame Gumb hes like Peter Parker turning into the black spiderman . I think he got some of that space gunk on him during the Everton game .
    See Spiderman 3 for more info on how to fight it Jame.

Ps. If you see any dudes made out of sand robbing banks just walk away man you dont get paid for that ****.

As I posted before, I was enraged by the Everton game.

Not about losing - It's a tricky fixture. It was more about certain individuals.

I just think that some posters are too sensitive when it comes to certain players. Nani, Berbatov, Rooney, Anderson and Michael Carrick spring to mind. Mick Doyle (ex Irish rugby coach and pundit) used to call some players "sacred cows" 'cause the establishment and most fans considered them beyond criticism.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,954 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

For the record, I was saying I prefered Young and Valencia over Nani months ago. Monday night for me was just justification of my views that I got attacked for at the start of the summer :P

Carraghers tackle looked pretty bad to me and he never looked the same player after when he did play again

http://www.epltalk.com/nanis-horrific-injury-from-jamie-carraghers-tackle-photos-29893

It was a nasty cut that he had recovered from 3 weeks later. I'd have to question the quality of his shin guards too.

Nani was quality before and after that tackle. He was brilliant last season which was a season after that tackle.

An injury of Valencia/Smith/Cisse/Ramsey quality would definitely be one to alter a players career path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

He's a pro who was probably watching the player live.

Yeah watching the player live is a definite advantage. Especially for seeing what their character is like and how they are reacting to the game and their team mates. Still 180 minutes isn't an outrageously short amount of time to form an opinion on a player's footballing ability from video imo.

The fact Taylor was a professional doesn't really matter to the question of whether or not you can judge a player after 180 minutes or however long. People act like it's impossible to judge a player on anything less than a few months of watching them. Taylor proved that wrong years ago.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Please don't churn that one out again. It's a slippery slope.

Do you want to know why you are feeling like a target for your Nani opinion? Because you never once said anything about selling Nani until Monday night... Now you want him gone. That my friend is a knee-jerk reaction, based on the worst performance of his United career. It's as clear as day.

You started off really well, I know myself and probably others were enjoying the way you engaged in debate. Seems to me you took Monday night very badly, your style has been totally different since then and your being called out an awful lot, I understand why you could feel like a victim, but it's not how it seems.

Im watching this and remembering leading up to my long ban . Watch out jame it starts like this then one morning you wake up with 7 pms with yellow cards in them and a raging hangover. Argueing can get very addictive . Just admit the defeat and move on . We arnt selling Nani unless his new contract doesnt happen . The fact he played brutal while he is in negotiations either means he wants gone , his mind is on this situation , or he just happened to be given a set of instructions by the boss that didnt work for him .
    Give the lad a chance if he leaves Anderson will get annoyed and piss off as well . Then we are ****ed.:D

Sorry fellas but I think that I'm gonna have to stop contributing to this forum. You're a good bunch of lads. I've seen very little of the clique stuff that's been thrown at the thread. All it takes is one slightly divergent opinion though and suddenly you're on everyone's hit list. I've no issue with people disagreeing with my opinions. It's the "Oh I used to think you were a good poster" stuff that I don't think is right. And I love United too much to be in conflict with other fans. There's enough of that with the Scousers.

Go easy.

Hopefully see some of you in Wembley for the CL final.

J

Pro. F wrote: »
    Yeah watching the player live is a definite advantage. Especially for seeing what their character is like and how they are reacting to the game and their team mates. Still 180 minutes isn't an outrageously short amount of time to form an opinion on a player's footballing ability from video imo.

The fact Taylor was a professional doesn't really matter to the question of whether or not you can judge a player after 180 minutes or however long. People act like it's impossible to judge a player on anything less than a few months of watching them. Taylor proved that wrong years ago.

But it is hard to do it from a T.V screen.

I read today that to Mourinho's scouts do the following
    He explained that, after initially watching a player play 6-8 times on TV or specialized websites, they then watch the player 2-3 times live. When evaluating a player, they look at the following:

- Connection with the ball

- Connection with ball and opponent

- Connection with ball and teammate and opponent

- Connection with ball and teammates and opponents

I don't think your armchair supporter is gonna pick all of that out from 180 minutes of football on a T.V.

Sorry fellas but I think that I'm gonna have to stop contributing to this forum. You're a good bunch of lads. I've seen very little of the clique stuff that's been thrown at the thread. All it takes is one slightly divergent opinion though and suddenly you're on everyone's hit list. I love United too much to be in conflict with other fans. There's enough of that with the Scousers.

Go easy.

J

seriously?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Sweet jesus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Sorry fellas but I think that I'm gonna have to stop contributing to this forum. You're a good bunch of lads. I've seen very little of the clique stuff that's been thrown at the thread. All it takes is one slightly divergent opinion though and suddenly you're on everyone's hit list. I love United too much to be in conflict with other fans. There's enough of that with the Scousers.

Go easy.

J

wtf?

That's more of a knee jerk reaction than your Nani posts!

You don't have to leave, you just have to take what other people say with less importance. You want Nani out, you are in the minority, what's wrong with that?

Your post above comes off as "I CAN'T LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE NOBODY WANTS NANI TO LEAVE OLD TRAFFORD!"

Very strange altogether. Stick around. You'll be grand when Nani spanks a few in tomorrow :pac:

Nani has always struggled a bit after coming back from injuries. He seems to need a run in the team to find consistency. When Ronaldo was here he wasnt playing regularly and struggled. Once he became first choice he has been very consistent. Its the first game back after the Euros on a night the team struggled. I fully expect him and Rooney too hit form after a few games. Some fans prefer Valencia because he does alot defensively. These same people must have missed how much Nani has improved on that area of his game. He is a far more complete player than Valencia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,118 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Jamie Gumb has left the building..........

Go easy.

J

Haha dude chill out . Stick eastenders on and take a deep breath . Youll be grand tomorrow. Dont take it personal . Your arguement failed dude. Its a debate here. the majority of people feel we went into our first game with injuries and a few unfit (mentally or physically) players.
    We arnt gonna agree that these people should be sold.
    I hope you can learn to disagree with the majority opinion peacefully . This is usually when people call it a click . Id be on your side tomorrow if you said Dimi should start centre half before Carrick .
    Id probably be the only one though .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Christ on a bike. People get so defensive sometimes when their opinion is not agreed upon by the majority of posters. Just because your opinion/theory is challenged by a few posters it does not put you down on their 'hit list' (wtf is a hit list anyway?)

Also, 99% of people who say they are leaving are back within less than a week. So we'll see you back soon!

Go easy.

J

You called posters sensitive over some players. Now your leaving because people are disagreeing with your views. Its you being very sensitive. your on nobodys hit list people are disagreeing with one point you made. Total over reaction like i said i liked alot of your points when you first joined. Very childish to stop posting. Its a forum people disagree ont take it personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    wtf?

That's more of a knee jerk reaction than your Nani posts!

You don't have to leave, you just have to take what other people say with less importance. You want Nani out, you are in the minority, what's wrong with that?

Your post above comes off as "I CAN'T LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE NOBODY WANTS NANI TO LEAVE OLD TRAFFORD!"

Very strange altogether. Stick around. You'll be grand when Nani spanks a few in tomorrow :pac:

Leave him go... It's his destiny.