Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Says something about the state of affairs when you see people haggling in a charity shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

jpcarlow wrote: »
    Says something about the state of affairs when you see people haggling in a charity shop

I once volunteered in a charity shop and one rank-smelling woman, who may or may not have been part of a certain community, tried to swap the coat she had on for a nice one that was on the rail. She argued with me for ages over it. The coat she had on was ripped and stained and horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Quazzie wrote: »
    I went on holidays with a guy once who is a musician. He plays guitar and records music. We were in a bar where there was a two piece band playing some traditional music on a traditional guitar and my mate got chatting to them in broken english about the guitar and they pointed out the differences between theres and a standard guitar. My mate then had a go of it, and took to it really well. We were after having a few drinks and a small sing song got underway for about a half hour or so, and then we had to go to a scheduled visit somewhere else. On the way out the owner of the bar stopped us and asked us to call back the following evening. He was very impressed with how my friend took so well to the traditional guitar. He asked my mate to maybe play a few songs the following evening as we all seemed to have a good time and the others in the bar enjoyed it too. Straight away my friend went into negotiations on price. We all just stood there staring at him in disbelief. The bar man didn't know where to look and when our mate looked to us to back him up in his price, we all just looked at the floor/ceiling/out the window etc.

I was genuinely gobsmacked at how he wanted paying for playing guitar during a sing-song.

Dont think that's stingey at all.

He got involved and played for the craic, barman asked him to come back in and perform. It's one thing when someon volunteers their servces for free, another when someone expects it for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Bubblefett wrote: »
    A friend of my dad would make them botha cup of tea using the same tea bag. The guy has over a million to his name.

He has over a million tea bags to his name? That is impressive - nothing stingy there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I went on holidays with a guy once who is a musician. He plays guitar and records music. We were in a bar where there was a two piece band playing some traditional music on a traditional guitar and my mate got chatting to them in broken english about the guitar and they pointed out the differences between theres and a standard guitar. My mate then had a go of it, and took to it really well. We were after having a few drinks and a small sing song got underway for about a half hour or so, and then we had to go to a scheduled visit somewhere else. On the way out the owner of the bar stopped us and asked us to call back the following evening. He was very impressed with how my friend took so well to the traditional guitar. He asked my mate to maybe play a few songs the following evening as we all seemed to have a good time and the others in the bar enjoyed it too. Straight away my friend went into negotiations on price. We all just stood there staring at him in disbelief. The bar man didn't know where to look and when our mate looked to us to back him up in his price, we all just looked at the floor/ceiling/out the window etc.

I was genuinely gobsmacked at how he wanted paying for playing guitar during a sing-song.

It's the bar owner thats stingy here, right?

juan.kerr wrote: »
    It's the bar owner thats stingy here, right?

It was a crowd of lads on holidays, not like he was dropping into a bar for a pint at home and was asked to play. He was probably going to be in the pub anyway and would probably have got free drink while playing. It was stingy to go looking for payment in this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Why?

Why?

Because he was basically asked to play and have a bit of a sing song while drinking away in the pub while on holidays, it was acting the p**ck to go looking for money for it imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I was in a bar in Scotland on St Patricks day this year. There was an american a-cappella band there, who were ok banter. I asked them for a few bars and they told me to **** off! They told me that they don't do shows for free, buy a ticket. Since they were leaving scotland, I wasn't gonna get to see them even if I wanted, and I certainly wouldn't for a stingy pack like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Because he was basically asked to play and have a bit of a sing song while drinking away in the pub while on holidays, it was acting the p**ck to go looking for money for it imo.

No he played for the sing song for free, the barman asked him to come back the next night and play again, seeking free entertainment for his bar. Neither are really in the wrong here, the musician had a right to ask for payment as he was coming back to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

lebby wrote: »
    Me and my friends were going on a knacker holiday to Gran Canaria after our Leaving Cert, one of the girls brought a box of condoms just in case! She said we could use them as long as we put the money in the box, she was charging a fiver per condom!!!

where they free if you were having sex with her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I'm genuienly gobsmacked at your reaction to this. You've just spent two pages arguing that a taxi driver should expect to get paid to drive his daughter and friends somewhere, yet a musician who was asked to come back the following night should be so grateful to have their music appreciated they would jump at the chance to do it for free? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Definitely, for the sake of a bitta craic and free drink he should've just done it and not been such a príck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,736 ✭✭✭✭Victor

stingiest thing people have done to me,not give me proper pain medication for a tooth extraction.ive heard people can die from the pain of it,rupture a certain part of their brain that deals with stress etc..

Unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

Lockstep wrote: »
    My stingy thing is that I hate paying for taxis.

No explanation for it, I'm free and easy with money for everything else but taxis really irk for some reason.

I think everyone has there own stingy thing.............. mine is not wanting to pay for tolls, or plastic shopping bags or street parking (no problem if a guy owns a car park business but hate paying the council money for public property parking .ie street) .... my pet hates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,728 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I'm genuienly gobsmacked at your reaction to this. You've just spent two pages arguing that a taxi driver should expect to get paid to drive his daughter and friends somewhere, yet a musician who was asked to come back the following night should be so grateful to have their music appreciated they would jump at the chance to do it for free? :confused:
    I was surprised it took so long for someone to cop onto that. It is kind of hypocritical of me, but I remember at the time I was genuinely shocked and embarrassed, because all the owner wanted was for us to come back and have the craic again. He even gave us all a few drinks each, but this guy turned it into a business transaction when no one intended it to be that way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,293 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

My dad is a cab driver and I insist on him turning on the metre, when bringing us places.
    I don't expect my friends parents to work for me, for free. If one is a doctor should I be able to get a perscription for free? If one is a farmer, should I get free spuds? or a room painted for free?
    part of the reason for doing favours is social
    another part is avoidance of tax

do you charge them when doing them 'favours' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Who was playing who here? The barman was no daw either. Your friend spotted this and called his bluff. There was no obligation on ye lads to come back and drink in his bar the next night. Ye could have easily gone somewhere else.

So he throws out to come back and 'have the craic' the next night?.... more like 'you come back, play for free and bring your friends with ya and buy my drink.' Cute out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    This might be a pretty popular one, but...I know a lot, and I mean a lot, of people that would order a coke in a fast food and repeat "no ice in it!" twice or thrice to the guy/lady behind the counter. They shield behind the "I don't like it watered down!" excuse - which fails miserably if there are 38 degrees and the coke is a warm broth within the next 20 seconds...

I generally don't like having ice in my drink. Even if I was ordering a bottle of something I would usually ask for a glass with no ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I was surprised it took so long for someone to cop onto that. It is kind of hypocritical of me, but I remember at the time I was genuinely shocked and embarrassed, because all the owner wanted was for us to come back and have the craic again. He even gave us all a few drinks each, but this guy turned it into a business transaction when no one intended it to be that way.

An electrician is in a bar, and the power goes. The electrician gets up and has a look at the problem, fixes it and all is well with the bar. As he is leaving the barman calls him aside and says "Hey, I have disco lights and a sound system out the back, why don't you come back tomorrow and rig them up for me, if we had disco lights in the bar it would be great craic!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Also, MORE STINGE! (myself in this case)

When I was in college I was broke (just had my petrol money to go home). I was called for interview but didnt have my good shoes with me. So basically I went to Dunnes the morning of the interview and bought a pair of shoes out of the petrol money. I left the tags on them, just tucked them into the shoes, then after the interview returned the shoes and got my money back. So if anyone is ever stuck, you now know that Dunnes do free shoe rental, and that price tag on it just indicates the refundable deposit :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

ColHol wrote: »
    Also, MORE STINGE! (myself in this case)

When I was in college I was broke (just had my petrol money to go home). I was called for interview but didnt have my good shoes with me. So basically I went to Dunnes the morning of the interview and bought a pair of shoes out of the petrol money. I left the tags on them, just tucked them into the shoes, then after the interview returned the shoes and got my money back. So if anyone is ever stuck, you now know that Dunnes do free shoe rental, and that price tag on it just indicates the refundable deposit :D

I know a lad that bought à pair of track suit bottoms in Dunnes. He wore them around the house for a few days, did some exercise in them. Then he returned them after around a week and got his money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

And I actually feel bad returning something still in the bag:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Motorist wrote: »
    I know a lad that bought à pair of track suit bottoms in Dunnes. He wore them around the house for a few days, did some exercise in them. Then he returned them after around a week and got his money back.

In LIDL customers used to regularly get a refund on coffee machines, deep-fat fryers, and other non-essential kitchen goods just before the 12 month refund limit! Thankfully that policy changed because Ireland was the worst in Europe for change of mind refunds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭TAlderson

discus wrote: »
    I was in a bar in Scotland on St Patricks day this year. There was an american a-cappella band there, who were ok banter. I asked them for a few bars and they told me to **** off! They told me that they don't do shows for free, buy a ticket. Since they were leaving scotland, I wasn't gonna get to see them even if I wanted, and I certainly wouldn't for a stingy pack like that!

I'll weigh into both of these as I'm a musician. I can tell you that one of the most annoying things is to say "I'm a singer" and hear "oh yah, let's hear something."

First of all, especially for singers, if you've been talking a lot in a noisy place like a bar, you've sung a lot already that day, or you haven't warmed up, you might not sound very good at all.

Second, for a lot of people it may sound odd, but it's our job. I get paid to sing or play guitar just like you get paid to build houses or provide legal advice or audit other people's taxes. Imagine if you're talking to someone at a pub, you say you're an accountant, and they pull out the books for their business and ask just for a quick look. It happens to my parents a lot, since they're doctors, and it drives them crazy, too.

That being said, if you ask me to sing on the spot, I won't tell you to **** off or anything, I'll probably just make a joke or find some way to wriggle out of doing it. And if I were in a bar and someone asked me to play, I'd probably just do it for the fun of it, hoping to get some free food or drinks or maybe a bit of a tip. The same way my parents usually give a bit of advice when asked instead of billing everyone they talk to, I think it's just a lot easier and more pleasant to share with people. Some people can get really annoying about it, nagging you and trying to get you to entertain them all night for free, and so some musicians get quite wary of working for free. These two cases are probably not the most tactful people, but I wouldn't call them stingy per se.

This has been a long and somewhat off topic post, but I do get a bit defensive if I feel like my job is being undervalued. Being a musician is a job, and just like you wouldn't do your job for free, you shouldn't expect a musician to do the same.

-Tyler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

^^^sing us a song.....

I kid, I kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

TAlderson wrote: »
    I'll weigh into both of these as I'm a musician. I can tell you that one of the most annoying things is to say "I'm a singer" and hear "oh yah, let's hear something."

First of all, especially for singers, if you've been talking a lot in a noisy place like a bar, you've sung a lot already that day, or you haven't warmed up, you might not sound very good at all.

Second, for a lot of people it may sound odd, but it's our job. I get paid to sing or play guitar just like you get paid to build houses or provide legal advice or audit other people's taxes. Imagine if you're talking to someone at a pub, you say you're an accountant, and they pull out the books for their business and ask just for a quick look. It happens to my parents a lot, since they're doctors, and it drives them crazy, too.

That being said, if you ask me to sing on the spot, I won't tell you to **** off or anything, I'll probably just make a joke or find some way to wriggle out of doing it. And if I were in a bar and someone asked me to play, I'd probably just do it for the fun of it, hoping to get some free food or drinks or maybe a bit of a tip. The same way my parents usually give a bit of advice when asked instead of billing everyone they talk to, I think it's just a lot easier and more pleasant to share with people. Some people can get really annoying about it, nagging you and trying to get you to entertain them all night for free, and so some musicians get quite wary of working for free. These two cases are probably not the most tactful people, but I wouldn't call them stingy per se.

This has been a long and somewhat off topic post, but I do get a bit defensive if I feel like my job is being undervalued. Being a musician is a job, and just like you wouldn't do your job for free, you shouldn't expect a musician to do the same.

-Tyler
    Except some of us actually work for a living :rolleyes:

I kid, I kid :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Jaysus some doozies on here .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

areyawell wrote: »
    I know someone who refuses to buy a proper food roll out of a shop. They buy the normal bread roll and bring it back to the car. They take out a cutting board and a knife. They have a freezer bag with a couple of ice cubes in it with a slice of ham, cheese and some mayonaise in another bag and whatever else they want to put on it. Makes the roll up in the car. They do this whenever travelling in a car for a few hours instead of just buying one in a shop. Refuse to pay 4.50 for a roll

This story is ridiculous.

I don't see anything wrong with bringing your own sandwich with you rather than buying one.

I don't understand, however, why the guy doesn't just bring his own bread with him? And have it made up already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

As soon as the stewardess was out of sight the old woman dipped the tea bag into her own paper cup for just a few seconds, followed by her husbands cup, making two cups of tea for the price of one.

am... is this known as 'teabagging'? :rolleyes: