Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

pwurple wrote: »
    Yes, it was to someone else, but it was about me. :rolleyes:

Anyway, to set your worried mind at ease, yes I complained, weeks ago, the day I heard it. To the broadcasting authority as suggested here, and an email to the darcy show and the station manager.
    Yay! Someone took my advice, I can go away happy now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Velocity_Girl

Never thought I'd say this, but I'm really liking Mairead so far this week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

I Havent dared switch her on yet but it sounds like shes actually doing ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

el diablo wrote: »
    wnolan1992 wrote: »
    From the snippets I heard this morning, Mairead did a lot better than I expected.

I only heard bits of it myself but she was certainly better (and more professional) than D'arcy.

more professional your having a laugh. as bad as Darcy is he's much better than that idiot wannabe celeb farrell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Anyone know if they played the Damien Dempsey single today? Only caught bits of the last hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

crazygeryy wrote: »
    more professional your having a laugh. as bad as Darcy is he's much better than that idiot wannabe celeb farrell.

Bit harsh, what did she ever do to you?

Credit where credit is due now, she is a lot better than I expected she would be, and at the very least, there is none of the 'stop, stop, eject, eject' business! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Jason Todd wrote: »
    Bit harsh, what did she ever do to you?

Credit where credit is due now, she is a lot better than I expected she would be, and at the very least, there is none of the 'stop, stop, eject, eject' business! :pac:

I can't stand her. I have been driving around this week with the radio off in the morning rather than listen to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,108 ✭✭✭✭neris

From the bits I've heard third week she sound decent enough and better then darcy by including will more & having discussions rather them forcing a personal opinion on the co presenter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I just caught a few minutes today and she seemed to be doing pretty good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭R0C

I haven't tuned into the Ray D'Arcy show much in the past couple of months but happened to be in the van in the past hour and turned the radio on. I was absolutely sure I was listening to our terrible local community radio station which is at best cringeworthy and in general unprofessional, boring and monotone - it was only when I heard a jingle that I realised I was hearing Today FM with Mairead hosting the show?? Giving her opinions as though the Nation is on the edge of their seats waiting to hear what she thinks..

Who in the world chose to let her host the show? I assume Ray is on holidays (?), but I heard Will pipe in from the background a couple of times - why didn't he get to host the show? He's not annoying and seems to be a very intelligent, likable guy. I actually quite enjoyed his previous stints with Anton Savage - a nice change. Who in their right mind thought Mairead had what it takes to pull off hosting this slot on her own?

To be honest, I find her irritating even when she only pipes in occasionally from the background during normal scheduling.

I know D'Arcy has his flaws, but I hope he returns soon as there's no way I'll be tuning into Today FM again until I'm sure she's gone.

Apparently Will was awful when he did it on his own before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I think Mairead is doing a fairly decent job at hosting to be honest, far exceeding my (admittedly very low) expectations.

I would agree with neris' post above. It's easier to listen to since D'Arcy isn't ramming his opinion down our throats, and Will actually gets a word in which makes things infinitely better.

That said, the subject matter of the show is still rather dull. The usual dating segment, giving anyone who says they're going to do something wacky and zany airtime, a 20 minute discussion on hair...

24947976.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Ah Jesus, Andrew Maxwell ..... very tired of their guests. EDIT: ^^ V Good :D

Mairead is doing better than I expected, but she's not a presenter.. It's all very scripted (which is probably a good thing) and she hasn't come out with many original thoughts.

Constantly talking about her personal/social life, which is something I don't like. Actually, if it is done well it's ok. Foley does the stories well, and can listen no problem. Also, constant girly stuff is getting annoying too.

Should have got in someone who is decent on another weekend slot (or other station). Martin King would be good there, but he does TV in the mornings (I think he still does).

R0C wrote: »
    Giving her opinions as though the Nation is on the edge of their seats waiting to hear what she thinks..

Very unfair. How do you know this is what she thinks?
    Who in the world chose to let her host the show? I assume Ray is on holidays (?), but I heard Will pipe in from the background a couple of times - why didn't he get to host the show? He's not annoying and seems to be a very intelligent, likable guy.

I think Will is great as a contributor, but he was absolutely hopeless when he hosted.

Ah Jesus, Andrew Maxwell ..... very tired of their guests. EDIT: ^^ V Good :D

Mairead is doing better than I expected, but she's not a presenter.. It's all very scripted (which is probably a good thing) and she hasn't come out with many original thoughts.

Constantly talking about her personal/social life, which is something I don't like. Actually, if it is done well it's ok. Foley does the stories well, and can listen no problem. Also, constant girly stuff is getting annoying too.

Should have got in someone who is decent on another weekend slot (or other station). Martin King would be good there, but he does TV in the mornings (I think he still does).

I'd agree with this! The less "new" stuff they try the better for Mairead. She has started being too personal today compared to Mon/Tues, but Foley is the best at talking about his social life without being too self-indulgent!

I am a bit sick of listening to Mairead natter on about her hair now in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Jason Todd wrote: »
    Giving her opinions as though the Nation is on the edge of their seats waiting to hear what she thinks..

Very unfair. How do you know this is what she thinks?
    Who in the world chose to let her host the show? I assume Ray is on holidays (?), but I heard Will pipe in from the background a couple of times - why didn't he get to host the show? He's not annoying and seems to be a very intelligent, likable guy.

I think Will is great as a contributor, but he was absolutely hopeless when he hosted.

ha ha are you Mairead farells husband/bf ?whatever she has?you are defending her to the last. shes not doing to bad ill give you that but she just hasn't the personality for radio and besides she s a pain in the arse and i don't like her.
    and Martin king ffs no way. anton or paul mcloone.they did OK.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    ha ha are you Mairead farells husband/bf ?whatever she has?you are defending her to the last. shes not doing to bad ill give you that but she just hasn't the personality for radio and besides she s a pain in the arse and i don't like her.
    and Martin king ffs no way. anton or paul mcloone.they did OK.

Ha ha, no, I'm only defending her in two posts, I'm not her biggest fan by any means, I just think she's doing a lot better than I and many others expected. We might have had low expectations in fairness. :D

I'm a big KC fan, himself and Anton would be my first choices as fill-in hosts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Music is streets ahead of D'arcy. The thoughts of the miserable fùcking doom and gloom speeches when he reads the paper in the morning while sighing and berating the country has me depressed. I feel like a school kid who knows the summer holidays are coming to an end. Does the miserable git have to come back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Music is streets ahead of D'arcy. The thoughts of the miserable fùcking doom and gloom speeches when he reads the paper in the morning while sighing and berating the country has me depressed. I feel like a school kid who knows the summer holidays are coming to an end. Does the miserable git have to come back ?

Ha ha quality!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Turning every question with this sleep lady back on herself. Jaysus it'd drive you demented.

She's much easier to listen to than Ray though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

I thought Mairead did a great job, I was listening with the sound muted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Acoshla wrote: »
    She's much easier to listen to than Ray though!

To be fair, so is Michael Noonan telling about his day watching paint dry in Leinster house .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

He's back. How long will it take to mention his children or religion ?

Daithi O'Se on the show later... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

Thought he would come back after his few days off with a new fresh sense of things...?

What do we get?... MORE DATING!?! FFS!

They must glance at this thread in the Ray Darcy show office every so often... so let me help them... :pac:

NO MORE DATING SEGMENTS PLEASE!

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

Turn it on this morning as haven't heard in a while. Very first thing - 50 shades of gray. Why ? Oh why ? Next thing - dating. Next thing - ray saying taxpayer should foot the bill for people who bought during the boom. Needless to say. I switched off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭mountain

swingking wrote: »
    Turn it on this morning as haven't heard in a while. Very first thing - 50 shades of gray. Why ? Oh why ? Next thing - dating. Next thing - ray saying taxpayer should foot the bill for people who bought during the boom. Needless to say. I switched off .

Heard all that too, the way he asked the newsreader if she had read 50 shades of grey, while on her honeymoon, was well perverse.