Are hairy Molly's extinct?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

o1s1n wrote: »
    Remember those little tiny red insects? I think we called them 'blood suckers' - havent seen one of them in years either.

Again, probably because I no longer roll around in the grass (and white dog ****) of my local park.
    They are still around. I accidently killed a few of them during the week while climbing over a wall. I had little red splotches on my hands afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Rigol

the female of the species is the hairy molly.
    the male is called the hairy mickey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ann22 wrote: »
    We called them God's horses:confused:

Yeah.. that's what I always remember them been known as. Must be a Louth thing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Some Yoke

o1s1n wrote: »
    Remember those little tiny red insects? I think we called them 'blood suckers' - havent seen one of them in years either.

Again, probably because I no longer roll around in the grass (and white dog ****) of my local park.
    I might be mistaken but I only remember seeing them come out on really hot sunny days, maybe thats linked to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Svetti Arss

Was trying to explain hairy mollys to my English ex, he hadn't a clue what I was on about, so I googled it.

Should have had safe search turned on.

I had to Google it myself. I know what they are now.

Jaysus you're right there was some pair o' piss flaps on yer wan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

haha OP I said the same thing about Hairy Molly's to my OH last week, and he hadn't a clue what they were.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Prick!

What age did you first see a hairy molly. I'm sure I remember seeing one on the day I was born.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭corkoian

I seen one last night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

corkoian wrote: »
    I seen one last night :)
    Grammar fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 hwap

i seen 10's of dozens this year, theyre all over the place up here near bailieboro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Does anyone remember hairy mollys, those furry black caterpillars. There used to be loads of them around when i was a child, but it must be 20 years since I've seen one. What's that all about???

*checks username*

This is definitely about gash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Earwigs, beetles and woodlice also seem to be way less rare than they were years ago.

There use to be a great stampede of the above in late Summer/ Autumn, where have they all gone?

A friend and I were recently talking about the way you also see less flies and midges in the countryside of a dusky summer evening. There was a time when you couldn't drive down a country road but you'd have the wipers on, with all the flies banging into your windscreen. He had an explanation why they're all gone, but i can't remember. Is it something to do with road building/ development?