Whats your height/ideal height?

5'7

Would like to be around the 6 mark but at my age is that asking too much? Do you genuinely stop growing or are there ways around it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 stelli

I'm 5-7...and my other half is 6-1.
    Perfect height for me..i think...although i wouldn't mind being a little taller!

Have never dated someone smaller than me...despite hearing plenty of times...we are all the same lying down :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Jay D wrote: »
    5'7

Would like to be around the 6 mark but at my age is that asking too much? Do you genuinely stop growing or are there ways around it??

Depends on when your growth plates fuse but you'll be slowing down the growth from 18/19 onwards until you're in your early 20s. Really does depend on the person because you could stop growing before you're 18 or steadily but slowly keep going for another while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

5" 9 here. I'd like to be taller and thinner...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Well I'm 5"6, that would be short for a guy. Wish I was taller. 5"9 would do.

No tall people in my family, I think the tallest person in my family is like 5"9.

Shorter people are meant to live longer apparently, tall people more often than not are more prone to heart or circulation problems, so I read. Still wouldn't mind being 5"9 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

I'm only 5'2", 19. A girl, so it's not as bad...
    It'd be cool to be a few inches taller though. :)

Really took the biscuit when my little sister actually believed I'd grow a few inches on my birthday. :L

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Well I'm 5"6, that would be short for a guy. Wish I was taller. 5"9 would do.

No tall people in my family, I think the tallest person in my family is like 5"9.

Shorter people are meant to live longer apparently, tall people more often than not are more prone to heart or circulation problems, so I read. Still wouldn't mind being 5"9 though.

Same, no tall people in my family. My Mom and Dad are 5'6, my uncles aren't much taller either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

mauzo wrote: »
    I'm almost 6ft :(

I'd love to be 5'2''. I love big tall guys, if I was 5'2'' and he was 6'2'' that would be amazing. He could throw me around to place and he'd have to bend down to kiss me.

Only one guy has ever had to bend down to kiss me. He was 6'4'' and you don't see that every day :(

No you wouldn't....im 5'2 and its kinda awkward sometimes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

5"11. Well built too so it goes well with my height. Think this and 6 foot/6"1 are lovely heights tbh

If I had to choose ideal height in a partner anything between 5"5- 5"10 I guess...

5'3". I'm grand. No amount of considering what ideal height I'd like to be will change me being 5'3" so I honestly never thought about being anything else.

I bloody hate high heels though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

I'm 5'10". I wouldn't mind being a couple of inches taller but it's not a big deal.

1ZRed wrote: »
    Same, no tall people in my family. My Mom and Dad are 5'6, my uncles aren't much taller either.

Well the women in my family are shorter, they vary between 5"2 and 5"4 I think. The men are all between 5"5 and 5"9.

Funny enough one of the taller people in my family my uncle John was a jockey is his youth, and he's like 5"9. Always thought jockeys had to be tiny, like our height or shorter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Im 5'5, would love longer legs but that's never going to happen! Ideal height in a partner would be 6'0 or over, I like tall men

Well the women in my family are shorter, they vary between 5"2 and 5"4 I think. The men are all between 5"5 and 5"9.

Funny enough one of the taller people in my family my uncle John was a jockey is his youth, and he's like 5"9. Always thought jockeys had to be tiny, like our height or shorter!

Oh I'm not your height, I'm 6ft but was saying all my family are quite short too. Bit of a misunderstanding there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Inbox wrote: »
    My da saw the neighbours son had grown a bit more, jeez he's a terrible height he must be 6ft6 he said.

I'm 6ft1 and my gf is 6ft, I wonder will our children be really tall. My da will say they are a terrible height :(

More or less guaranteed. You're a little above average but your gf is extremely tall.

There's a rough rule of thumb to calculate likely height of kids. Take average height of parents and add 2.5 inches for boys, subtract 2.5 inches for girls.

Oh I'm not your height, I'm 6ft but was saying all my family are quite short too. Bit of a misunderstanding there :D

Oh I see, maybe you just have a genetic spike that made ya taller. I heard that some families get that, and manage to have one tall kid, and it can skip a generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

I have the inch where it matters...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭ManMade

6ft and love it. Just small enough so public transport and airplanes aren't hell but taller than most girls and above average among the lads. Great height for standing crowds like concerts or hill 16 but doesnt block peoples view in the cinema :L . Always wondered what life would be like as a tall guy or short guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭dermiek

I'm 5'9" and overweight.

For my weight, my ideal height would be about 17'4"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Nal wrote: »
    I have the inch where it matters...

Just the one?!

I think I've met you......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    More or less guaranteed. You're a little above average but your gf is extremely tall.

There's a rough rule of thumb to calculate likely height of kids. Take average height of parents and add 2.5 inches for boys, subtract 2.5 inches for girls.

I met her when she was sitting down :)

I never heard of that rule, its ok for boys to be taller than their dad but Ive been thinking if I had a daughter I'd give her some cigarettes when she's about 5ft10 to stunt her growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Jennifer Parker

5"9 either, not overweight...
    like my height...
    not taller than my boyfriend, when I wear heels
    don't look too small when I don't

Inbox wrote: »
    I met her when she was sitting down :)

I never heard of that rule, its ok for boys to be taller than their dad but Ive been thinking if I had a daughter I'd give her some cigarettes when she's about 5ft10 to stunt her growth.

Maria Sharapova is 6"2 at least. her fiance is 6"7.

Can you imagine how bloody tall those kids will be??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Maria Sharapova is 6"2 at least. her fiance is 6"7.

Can you imagine how bloody tall those kids will be??? :D
    My eldest son's 6'2" - and he's only 15, that's scary.

Pottler wrote: »
    My eldest son's 6'2" - and he's only 15, that's scary.

He could well have stopped growing though. Many do around that age or even earlier! Is tallness commonplace in your family/your partners family?

ManMade wrote: »
    6ft and love it. Just small enough so public transport and airplanes aren't hell but taller than most girls and above average among the lads. Great height for standing crowds like concerts or hill 16 but doesnt block peoples view in the cinema :L . Always wondered what life would be like as a tall guy or short guy

Awful for me at concerts, I'm 5"6 and spend most of the show on tippy toes. I do be cursing ye 6 footers. Only do it because I envy ye :(

Oh I see, maybe you just have a genetic spike that made ya taller. I heard that some families get that, and manage to have one tall kid, and it can skip a generation.

It's strange though because most of my cousins would be average or above average height, again all coming from shorter genes ?

Anyway I won't question it! I'm grateful for my height but any guy would be a liar if he said he didn't want to be bigger :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Ideally people wanna be a few inches above the average, this first page here reads a lot like a "how well did you do in the leaving" thread i've seen on here.
    WumBuster wrote: »
    Im 5"11/ 1.80 cm.
    Dean09 wrote: »
    I'm just a shade under 6'1"
    Links234 wrote: »
    I'm 6 foot.
    Knex. wrote: »
    I'm 6ft 2"
    I'm 6ft.
    TheComeUp wrote: »
    I'm 6'0. I'd like to be 6'1. .
    mauzo wrote: »
    I'm asked at least once a week to reach something for a small person :)
    6ft 3 and .
    Tigger wrote: »
    I'm 6'2
    I'm 6'4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭xDramaxQueenx

I'm 5'4 and I would love to be maybe 5'10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

Rupert Everett is 6'4" but according to him, he was much shorter as a teen:

"My mum distorted my self-image by telling me I was really tall. I am now, but then I was really tiny. I was only 5'1" until I was 16. I spent most of my 20s bent double, leaning like a giant redwood that has just been felled, but now I'm standing up straighter."