Dublin Bus drivers: Wannabe racing-drivers?

• 02-08-2012 10:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭

What is it with (some) drivers with Dublin Bus?

Last week as i got on the bus and was paying the fare, the driver started to drive off, only to make a right hand turn while i was putting in the money.

I almost ended up slamming into the door as he was speeding through the curve.

Same thing when you want to get off. Pedal to the floor and 2-3 feet prior to the stop, slamming on the brakes.

I've seen people fall down the stairs as the drivers drive like lunatics.

What is the point? Never heard of eco-driving? :confused:

I can understand that there's a timetable to keep. In that case Dublin Bus should sort it out.

Not make their drivers impersonate Jensen Button or any other of the like.

Sick of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭liger

Thanks for saying some. I have seen it myself. Some lads are a disgrace with things like letting older passengers be seated before moving off.

Did you say anything to the driver???

Also if you come across this you should hold onto you ticket and ring the depot or customer services dept. They will pass it to management who can check how the bus was being driven on the CCTV.

If you dont speak up you cant expect things to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Drive too fast: people complain
    Drive too slow: people complain
    Drive at appropriate speeds and read the road ahead: people still complain

My preference is foot to the floor get us there as quickly as possible, and at least you get some excitement for your cash with that style :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭dMaN24

liger: I never got to actually talk to the driver since you're not allowed to talk to the driver. :rolleyes:

Cookie_Monster: I'll send the bill from a&e after i break something next time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,824 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I find this most prevalent with EVs and less so the VGs. The acceleration/deceleration of an EV is a dramatic jolt sending people racing down the bus or racing up the bus. :pac:

It doesn't have to be being driven too quick for this to occur.

On an 83 a few months ago, an elderly lad slipped in a VG on a wet night after acceleration from his stop as he was propelled down the bus:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,740 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the bus has handrails for a reason, surely you expect buses to move around and use them...
    ambulance chaser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭supraspinaswim

Yep , had a driver a few months ago that drove through every red light on the quays by guinness's , no stopping and was in one hell of a hurry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭V_Moth

dMaN24 wrote: »

Last week as i got on the bus and was paying the fare, the driver started to drive off, only to make a right hand turn while i was putting in the money.

Same thing when you want to get off. Pedal to the floor and 2-3 feet prior to the stop, slamming on the brakes.

What is the point? Never heard of eco-driving? :confused:

I can understand that there's a timetable to keep. In that case Dublin Bus should sort it out.

Sick of it.

Completely agree. The worst for me is the 84 over the speed turbo boosters bumps in Bray and Greystones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

You guys should have experienced the No.78 routes to Upper Ballyfermot in the 1970's, it was nicknamed Mondello and some drivers were determined to live up to the name. The old RA buses which were used on the route were much faster at accelerating than today's buses but the steering was less sensitive and it was common to see drivers actually standing up in the cab trying to drag them around the roundabouts. With a full load on it was like something out of the Beano :)
    I do agree with the OP though, drivers need to remember they're not the only ones on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭liger

the bus has handrails for a reason, surely you expect buses to move around and use them...

Some common courtesy from the driver and letting people sit down would get rid of a lot of accidents.

Also, Av, wv, Ax, Ev, Gt, Vt or whatever model of bus your driving, Heavy acceleration and not providing gentle inertia is the drivers fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Might have been before the introduction of power steering. Steering wheels in buses and trucks were massive back then.

I much prefer a driver who's in a wee bit of a hurry. Same goes for trains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭dirtynosebeps

then comes along an old reliable thread along the lines of " bus driver wouldn't open doors"
    i was at the bus stop but the driver wouldn't open the doors as he was waiting for someone to sit down, he left me waiting for the next one i was late for my interview.he could've easily opened the doors. typical ****in bus drivers etc etc etc :eek:.
    they're not in a race they are trying to get away from bus stops as quick as possible so they dont get abuse from some gob****e trying to get on.

then comes along an old reliable thread along the lines of " bus driver wouldn't open doors"
    i was at the bus stop but the driver wouldn't open the doors as he was waiting for someone to sit down, he left me waiting for the next one i was late for my interview.he could've easily opened the doors. typical ****in bus drivers etc etc etc :eek:.
    they're not in a race they are trying to get away from bus stops as quick as possible so they dont get abuse from some gob****e trying to get on.

What was the excuse when buses didn't have doors? Face it, in every job there are people who have an attitude problem and they give everybody else a bad name.

Oh i have seen those posters in the bus aswell.
    "-We told them to hold on, so that's our backs covered. Now where's that Nitro-boost..."

Yes i have travelled on buses for a long time.

And if you think i'm an ambulance chaser for that then... feel free.
    ambulance chaser

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭dublinstevie

dMaN24 wrote: »

What is the point? Never heard of eco-driving

Sick of it.
    and i bet you didnt even have the common sense to have your money ready for the arrival of the bus and that you just stand there staring into space then start counting out your shrapnel when your on the bus,if i was the driver i would have thrown you off

I bet you plan to be a bus driver when you grow up ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I know a lad in the DB IT Dept,they have plans to put in some kind of computer on all new buses that will monitor how drivers drive.Should help sort this.

Dub13 wrote: »
    I know a lad in the DB IT Dept,they have plans to put in some kind of computer on all new buses that will monitor how drivers drive.Should help sort this.

they don't already? I would have thought it was something that was done a long time ago at this stage.
    Tesco do it in their fleet, any driver recording erratic throttle or braking or getting less than 9mpg is sent back for training and assessment. Toured Donabate while working there back in 08 and it had been in place for several years by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭The_Wrecker

I surprised its still as bad. The bus is fully CCTV'ed for the valued customer to have evidence upon informing the company. There is the secret driving monitor and uniformed monitor. Unmarked Ford Focus's doing outside Ob's.
    Do you have a camera? Use it and get the problem solved, the company hates bad PR of late.
    As for the computer monitor, informs the driver bad a red/amber/green light as for how good/bad the drive is being handled.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

they don't already?

No,GPS and something like 10 CCTV cameras on every bus along with the other checks is whats in place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,631 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

If you feel that a driver is driving in an unsafe manner then you should report it.

No point in moaning about it on the Internet - drop an email to customercomment@dublinbus.ie and they'll log it and investigate it.

There is no excuse for unsafe driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭dazberry

I always had the perception that the 68 (old route via Conynghan Rd) and 69 used to have a little race to see who could get into the city centre first in the mornings, although in reality it was mostly dependent on who reached particular stops first (e.g. Conyngham Rd at Islandbridge was often busy and allow the second bus to overtake the first). Never felt any of the driving was unsafe btw.
    lxflyer wrote: »
    No point in moaning about it on the Internet - drop an email to customercomment@dublinbus.ie and they'll log it and investigate it.

I actually did this once due to an incident I saw in town (a driver having a case of road rage and acting in a potentially very dangerous manner). Dublin bus took the report very seriously.

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Can't say I've noticed many dublin bus drivers booting through corner's etc. You get the odd malicious p**ck who'll go flying up to a stop and then jam on but it's rare enough.

I had an argument with one years ago and he stuck the foot down just as i got to the stair's, just to be a bollix. I just shouted "ha ha! MISSED!" at him as I skipped nimbly up like the sure footed mountain goat i was back then. Could hear him grinding his teeth from the upper deck :pac:

If you feel that a driver is driving in an unsafe manner then you should report it.

There is no excuse for unsafe driving.

Some years ago, a neighbour of mine complained to Ringsend Depot of a driver on a 77a speeding and driving dangerously on Walkinstown Roundabout. The first question he was asked was how could he see the speedometer from where he was standing?
    In my experience, this is typical of the response given to complaints made by the public, the only difference today is there's another line of defence, ie the computer, for the customer to surmount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,631 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

bmaxi wrote: »
    Some years ago, a neighbour of mine complained to Ringsend Depot of a driver on a 77a speeding and driving dangerously on Walkinstown Roundabout. The first question he was asked was how could he see the speedometer from where he was standing?
    In my experience, this is typical of the response given to complaints made by the public, the only difference today is there's another line of defence, ie the computer, for the customer to surmount.

The computer allows them to have a formal complaints process and build up a database of the issues arising.

It puts an end to this sort of nonsensical response. Given every bus is fitted with CCTV, if a bus is being driven erratically it will show up to a degree on the footage if passengers are standing.

The computer allows them to have a formal complaints process and build up a database of the issues arising.

It puts an end to this sort of nonsensical response. Given every bus is fitted with CCTV, if a bus is being driven erratically it will show up to a degree on the footage if passengers are standing.

Forgive me if I don't share your optimism. C.I.E., like all departments within the public service, does not have a history of good customer service/ relations. Building a database of issues is fine providing the will is there to follow through, I don't think the will is there in the Public Service.

Stay away from Paddy powers then, eejit.

Always have my fare ready. It's just when i'm trying to actually put the coins in the machine he took a sharp right turn.

Let me know if you need references for your application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Last night on the M50, an out of service double-decker veered into the innermost lane narrowly missing the front of our car at 100km/h. Did it again then corrected himself.
    Effing driver was texting on a mobile phone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭doubletrouble?

JustinDee wrote: »
    Last night on the M50, an out of service double-decker veered into the innermost lane narrowly missing the front of our car at 100km/h. Did it again then corrected himself.
    Effing driver was texting on a mobile phone!
    fortunately justin it wasn't a dublin bus as no bus in the fleet can get bear 100khp the very max any bus can go is 83kph. next time it happens take the reg of the bus and report immediately to the guards. this is totally unacceptable by any driver especially a professional one ( nowadays all bus drivers no matter who they driver for would be classified as professional).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭JustinDee

fortunately justin it wasn't a dublin bus as no bus in the fleet can get bear 100khp the very max any bus can go is 83kph. next time it happens take the reg of the bus and report immediately to the guards. this is totally unacceptable by any driver especially a professional one ( nowadays all bus drivers no matter who they driver for would be classified as professional).
    Cheers for that. It was a Dublin Bus, so we probably slowed down to avoid getting nosed by the dangerous dick driving.
    Next time, I will report.

Tks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Tickityboo

JustinDee wrote: »
    Cheers for that. It was a Dublin Bus, so we probably slowed down to avoid getting nosed by the dangerous dick driving.
    Next time, I will report.

Tks.

The max a double decker should be limited to is 67kph!!!