Are hairy Molly's extinct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I saw one today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Now that I think of it, I haven't caught a white-arse in a jar in my neighbour's garden for years either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

i thought of something completely different when i saw the title of this thread

You're thinking of Molly's hairies!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Hairy mollys might be gone but lovely Mollys still exist.....oh yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

stovelid wrote: »
    Now that I think of it, I haven't caught a white-arse in a jar in my neighbour's garden for years either.

I think "honkey" is the politically correct term these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 mariopuzo

No they're not extinct. I found two yesterday a few feet apart taking a crawl across the garden path. We called them hairy ginnies around here. Had not seen them for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

We called them God's horses:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

The foreigners have been eating them, they stuff them in the swans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

mariopuzo wrote: »
    Had not seen them for a few years.
    Sort of like this thread.

Was trying to explain hairy mollys to my English ex, he hadn't a clue what I was on about, so I googled it.

Should have had safe search turned on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Last time i saw one was when Bear Grylls was eating one.

I haven't seen a Bear Grylls in the wild in a long time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Saw one in my workshop today, after i had accidentally squashed it with my foot. Hope it wasn't the last one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Does anyone remember hairy mollys, those furry black caterpillars. There used to be loads of them around when i was a child, but it must be 20 years since I've seen one. What's that all about???
    Dunno about you OP, but when I was a kid I spent a hell of a lot more time outside than I do now. If I'm lucky I'll get a few hours in the garden a week, and herself normally has a "list" that needs to be finished so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Was trying to explain hairy mollys to my English ex, he hadn't a clue what I was on about, so I googled it.

Should have had safe search turned on.

I had to Google it myself. I know what they are now.

The search also brought up some pictures one of the birds from The Saturdays in a bikini and another one of her nip slipping out of her top.

Can't say that I wasn't pleased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Does anyone remember hairy mollys, those furry black caterpillars. There used to be loads of them around when i was a child, but it must be 20 years since I've seen one. What's that all about???
    I remember them years ago aswell
    Probably a load of polish caterpillars came over
    Dammit they took their JOBS!!!!!
    Durka durr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Not that you mention it I haven't seen a hairy moly for over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

Haven't seen one in a few years, but the slugs have taken over this year, mainly the big black ones and an odd orange on as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It's the caterpillar of the Small Tortoiseshell butterfly. Wet summers usually don't bode well with them.

small_tortoiseshell.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭eire1

Saw some on Toronto Island last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Seen one only a few hours ago, she was making her way up the side of my garage wall, I knocked her off onto the ground. She had no business climbing my walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Some Yoke

BX 19 wrote: »
    It's the caterpillar of the Small Tortoiseshell butterfly. Wet summers usually don't bode well with them.

small_tortoiseshell.jpg
    Ah lads, the joys of Ireland these days. No sunshine, no dry weather and now, no butterflies. Next year lambs prob wont be dancing in the fields and the birds wont be singing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

Don't google image search hairy molly... Atleast not in company!!!! And yes... I had to google that, I lived a sheltered life okay!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

There are no flying insects around in Dublin City centre .St Stephen's green is barren and it should'nt be .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

try the whole of South America
    plenty of them their

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Miike wrote: »
    Don't google image search hairy molly... Atleast not in company!!!! And yes... I had to google that, I lived a sheltered life okay!

Umm

Nothing wrong with it for me anyway.

Completely forgot hairy mollys even existed, let alone see one in god knows how long.

paddyandy wrote: »
    There are no flying insects around in Dublin City centre .St Stephen's green is barren and it should'nt be .

You may have missed the flying ant invasion a few years back, eugh, horrible yokes....

Stephens green is normally full of wasps looking for Bulmers cans....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

I haven't seen one in years, but when I think about it, I don't play in fields, grass or anywhere else I would have seen them years ago! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

gimmick wrote: »
    Umm

Nothing wrong with it for me anyway.

Completely forgot hairy mollys even existed, let alone see one in god knows how long.

I don't have safe search on :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Remember those little tiny red insects? I think we called them 'blood suckers' - havent seen one of them in years either.

Again, probably because I no longer roll around in the grass (and white dog ****) of my local park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

Miike wrote: »
    I don't have safe search on :mad:

You know there's an option to turn it on :rolleyes: .........oh sorry, of course you do cause it's the same one you used it to turn it off :p