Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

Yep, it's their delusion that irritates me most. Look at it objectively - They're pretty much like Aston Villa. Former big clubs that won the European Cup with pokey little grounds that used to be among the biggest in England but are no more. They've missed the boat financially and barring some Sheikh Mansour/Roman Abramovich scenario, I genuinely can't see them winning the title ever again. Yet you listen to them and you'd swear that they were Real Madrid.

The "We won it 5 times" stuff is laughable too. Their logic is that because they've won the European Cup 5 times, they are the biggest club in England. Bullsh1t. Forest have won it twice...did that make them equal to United until 2008? Plus, a cursory glance at some of Liverpool's triumphs reveals at least a couple of very soft wins. Check out the teams they played some of the years.

Yes they played good football at a certain point in time but that point in time is long gone. Their fans have as much credibility as old lads ranting and raving about the great Blackpool and Preston North End teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Nuts102 wrote: »
    The thing about Liverpool is well most of the fans i know are deluded. I dont hate them i get a good laugh winding up friends. Its all good banter i dont like to see them do well but i love the rivalry. Most Liverpool fans i know seem to get as much pleasure if not more when United lose than when Liverpool win. We all have Liverpool friends who we have friendly banter with. I dont wish them luck but would hate if they dropped further down the league.

This. Spot on.

Wouldn't like to see them relegated or liquidated. Like another poster said, job losses etc plus losing the fixtures.

Mid table irrelevance is perfectly acceptable though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Id like to see them moving their stadium to scarborough or some other different town . Itd be epic.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

So its now a bad thing to believe in your team and look back on old teams fondly?

**** off.

if United were 5th or 6th in the league I would still believe the club would come good and look back at teams like the 99 team fondly.

Its fine to dislike rivals, its natural as they are competition, but to hate fans for believing in the team or for looking back on successful times is bull.

Sorry for being so blunt but it seems to be in 'in' thing on the thread :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

I miss the craic of United and Liverpool fighting for the title. 08/09 was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭Quandary

When it comes to Liverpool I think hate is a bit too strong.

Don't get me wrong though, I still quietly take a little sadistic pleasure from their troubles :)

Back to our own troubles though...

I dont think Ando can cover the role Carrick does. IMO he just doesn't have the restraint, discipline or the mentality to do it effectively. A fully fit Fletcher is an option alright but if im honest, I dont think his reading of the game is as good as Carrick. He has other strengths like his endless stamina and athleticism that Carrick doesn't however, and these might make up for it.

In the last two years I have really learned to appreciate how important Carrick is to the team. I remember reading an article I think it was on zonalmarking.net where the author had marked out Carricks role over the course of a few big games. He highlighted how Carrick basically stayed operating inside a very defined box in front of the back 4. He then went on to explain how this allowed for much greater flexibility for the more attacking players.

If you think about it, whenever you are watching a Utd game and you see Carrick making forward runs or advanced link ups it tends to surprise you! It does for me anyway because we are so used to seeing him so restricted ( restricted in a good way, if that makes sense :)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

DM-ICE wrote: »
    So its now a bad thing to believe in your team and look back on old teams fondly?

**** off.

if United were 5th or 6th in the league I would still believe the club would come good and look back at teams like the 99 team fondly.

Its fine to dislike rivals, its natural as they are competition, but to hate fans for believing in the team or for looking back on successful times is bull.

Agreed,

While some Liverpool fans can beat you over the head a bit with talk of their history, I wouldn't begrudge or discourage them from celebrating it.

Honestly, If the failures of rivals ever becomes more important to me than the successes - past and present - of my own club then I think I'll give up watching the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

**** off.

Some Liverpool fans don't just look back fondly on the successful times, they take those successful times and tell you their club is better as a result.

**** off.

Is that directed at me?

I'm not criticising them for looking back at the past fondly or for believing in their team.

I'm criticising them for believing that they are the biggest club in England and that they are as "relevant" as they were in the 1980s. They're clearly not, and there's a difference between hoping for something unlikely to occur and believing that it will occur.

I genuinely believe that they will never win the league title again in my lifetime. But if you say it to a Liverpool fan, they'll look at you like you've 4 heads. Passion and belief are fine but common sense has to play a part too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Yep, it's their delusion that irritates me most. Look at it objectively - They're pretty much like Aston Villa. Former big clubs that won the European Cup with pokey little grounds that used to be among the biggest in England but are no more. They've missed the boat financially and barring some Sheikh Mansour/Roman Abramovich scenario, I genuinely can't see them winning the title ever again. Yet you listen to them and you'd swear that they were Real Madrid.

The "We won it 5 times" stuff is laughable too. Their logic is that because they've won the European Cup 5 times, they are the biggest club in England. Bullsh1t. Forest have won it twice...did that make them equal to United until 2008? Plus, a cursory glance at some of Liverpool's triumphs reveals at least a couple of very soft wins. Check out the teams they played some of the years.

Yes they played good football at a certain point in time but that point in time is long gone. Their fans have as much credibility as old lads ranting and raving about the great Blackpool and Preston North End teams.

Jebus! You've really jumped the shark now! "Pretty much like Aston Villa"....christ, they have been champions of the top-flight EIGHTEEN TIMES! Five times champions of Europe. They dominated the English game throughout the 80's (and the 70's to a lesser extent). They are without doubt a huge club and only three years ago could have easily won the title. In fact if Kiko Macheda didn't have that moment of brilliance against Aston Villa at the back-end of the 08-09 season I really think Liverpool would have gone on to win the title that year.

And to be honest, beating Liverpool to the title that year was one of my more enjoyable footballing moments from a fan's perspective in recent years. I'd love Liverpool to be our main rivals for the league every year, purely because they are the club that most of my non-united-supporting friends follow and it adds to the banter levels greatly when there is actually something to play for between the two teams. The Rafa meltdown was absolute banter-gold that year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

I just think its funny that they still think they can challenge for top 4 with a good striker and if they sell cole.
    I really would love if the american owners moved the stadium/franchise to a different town.
    The hilarity of people from dublin being up in arms about getting a plane to leeds instead of liverpool would be priceless.
    I do however like liverpool and watch them nearly every week . Its like a soap opera for me. Maybe a good relegation battle this year would be good for them .
    Id be routeing for them to stay up but enjoying the panic.

Eathrin wrote: »

Some Liverpool fans don't just look back fondly on the successful times, they take those successful times and tell you their club is better as a result.

Aye, as they should. They should be proud of those achievements and without being a dick, recent seasons have provided little to be proud of. Its the clubs history and fans will always look on their own history as proof of what makes a good club. The really smart fans will talk about the heartache and tough times at the club as well.

plenty of United fans look back on history to say why they consider the club the greatest. From Busby Babes and Munich to winning the European Cup 10 years later or recent successes.

the whole club x is better than all others is a daft argument anyway. But i'm not going to hate any fan who considers it a worthwhile argument/debate/whatever term suffices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Just checked the post count for each person for this thread.
    Jame Gumb has taken over from Kryogen as most frequent poster.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/misc.php?do=whoposted&t=2056726841

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Anyone else think that Bebe might be the solution to our centre midfield problems?

He's 6'3 and a beast of a chap. Wins everything in the air and is calm and composed on the ball but can make that killer pass if needs be. We all know that he can be a little erratic but then who isn't. All the great midfielders of the last few years had that side to them, Keane, Gattuso and so on.

He certainly has the ability to play there. I think it's just a question of whether Fergie can see that.
    DDG
    Rafael - Rio - Vidic - Evra
    Carrick - Bebe
    Kagawa
    Nani - Rooney - RVP

A formation like the one above would be brilliant, and it'd save us needlessly spending £30 million on another player who may not be suited to the English game or who we don't really know anything about.

Bebe knows the English game and we know Bebe. It's time to give him his chance Fergie.

I nearly choked on an apple drop with the suggestion of Bebe playing Centre Midfield!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Liverpool fan: "id sooner beat united twice in the league every year than win the league"

True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Small word of caution all, this is directly from the charter :
    Thread spoiling - that is, any action or post made to derail a thread and trolling are prohibited.

As this is a Manchester United thread the last few posts in relation to Liverpool have directly gone against this rule, try keep it on topic all.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Felexicon wrote: »
    Just checked the post count for each person for this thread.
    Jame Gumb has taken over from Kryogen as most frequent poster.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/misc.php?do=whoposted&t=2056726841

Take that Quandary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Liverpool fan: "id sooner beat united twice in the league every year than win the league"

True story.

That's standard human nature, claim the thing that's more likely is the thing you really wanted to do anyway. Like when United fans claim they'd prefer to win the EPL than the Champions League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Felexicon

True story.
    Yeah but to be fair a Liverpool fan will say this as it's more likely they will beat us twice than win the league and therefore at the end of the season he can act like he's delighted with how it went

Would you lads prefer to see United win the Premiership or the Champions League?

Champions League for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

bullvine wrote: »
    I nearly choked on an apple drop with the suggestion of Bebe playing Centre Midfield!

You'll be grand, Bebelicious knows the Heimlich maneuver. ( he actually invented it )

Would you lads prefer to see United win the Premiership or the Champions League?

Champions League for me.

A lot of people in these threads reckon they'd prefer to win the EPL, they're all obviously off their rockers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Champions League for me.

Premier League is always priority for me, only just though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Premier League is bread and butter, anyone who says they'd prefer the CL over the EPL is a spoiled baby.

keane2097 wrote: »

Champions League for me.

A lot of people in these threads reckon they'd prefer to win the EPL, they're all obviously off their rockers.

There's a line in Roy Keane's autobiography where he says "Jaap said that the Premiership was the trophy he most focused on winning each season. The wrong one."

Des wrote: »
    Premier League is bread and butter, anyone who says they'd prefer the CL over the EPL is a spoiled baby.

I'd personally prefer to win the trophy that is a higher standard, more difficult to win, has more prestige attached to it and offers a higher prize for doing so.

You can disagree if you want... you know... if you're stupid.

Is that directed at me?

I'm not criticising them for looking back at the past fondly or for believing in their team.

I'm criticising them for believing that they are the biggest club in England and that they are as "relevant" as they were in the 1980s. They're clearly not, and there's a difference between hoping for something unlikely to occur and believing that it will occur.

I genuinely believe that they will never win the league title again in my lifetime. But if you say it to a Liverpool fan, they'll look at you like you've 4 heads. Passion and belief are fine but common sense has to play a part too.

It is, and you are crticising them for believing in their team and looking back at the past fondly.

you actually say that when you talk about a differance between hope and belief.

Liverpool are a top six team. Winning is, in theory, not that far away, it is the natural step for them to aim towards champions league qualification and then Premier League titles. If they were in the Championship or even fighting relegation, had no money, few internationals with big teams then yes the beliefs of success would be illogical. The day the club and fans lose belief and hope is the day they will slip out of any relevance and I don't think its something that will ever happen because they still have ambition.

to not share in their belief that is reasonable. To give it as a reason for dislike is illogical to me when the person using the reasoning is a United fan and should be aware of the unsuccessful year's United fans went through with only hope, belief and ambition to cling onto.

EDiT; sorry only seeing mod note now. But I maintain the idea United fans shouldn't make fun of others for believing in their own teams. Happy to leave thois topic alone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Champions League for me.

Champions League, but not if we were going to sacrifice our premiership form to do it ala Chelsea.

Des wrote: »

That's a very odd statement.