Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deadline Day: Bring Out The Transfer Gimp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,991 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

How is this a good deal for City? Ye payed 25m for him and now selling him for 5m and according to reports City are now still paying 95k of his 175k weekly salary. I fail to see how it's good for City!!!

Adebayor was brought in by a different regime and never fit in under Mancini so what's the alternative? Keep him around collecting that 175k until his contract runs out? No one else wanted him so it's not like we took the lowest bidder.

We wanted rid of him so any deal that has him out of the club is a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,594 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Adebayor was brought in by a different regime and never fit in under Mancini so what's the alternative? Keep him around collecting that 175k until his contract runs out? No one else wanted him so it's not like we took the lowest bidder.

We wanted rid of him so any deal that has him out of the club is a good one.
    I wouldnt call it a good deal for City but as you say still better than having him around a club where he isn't wanted.It the best of a bad situation,5m is still very cheap for a proven EPL striker.

yabadabado wrote: »
    I wouldnt call it a good deal for City but as you say still better than having him around a club where he isn't wanted.It the best of a bad situation,%m is still very cheap for a proven EPL striker.

And another 9 million per year in wages saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭JPA

How is this a good deal for City? Ye payed 25m for him and now selling him for 5m and according to reports City are now still paying 95k of his 175k weekly salary. I fail to see how it's good for City!!!

Do you have a link that City are still paying him? I'd be surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

Chagan wrote: »
    QPR seem to be spending a silly amount of money on fairly average players. ...

A total of 5.5 million plus whatever the tribunal set for the fee for Hoilett.

Not silly by any means.

Ryan Nelsen (free),
    Andy Johnson (free)
    Rob Green (free)
    Samba Diakite (£3.5 million)
    Fabio da Silva (loan)
    Ji-Sung Park (£2 million)
    Junior Hoilett (fee to be set by tribunal)
    Jose Bosingwa (free)

Odds have shortened on City signing Cavani, plenty on twitter saying an undisclosed amount has been accepted and talks over personal terms will take place tomorrow.

That would be fairly awesome though as always, a serious pince of salt taken with twitter rumours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

JPA wrote: »
    Do you have a link that City are still paying him? I'd be surprised.

I'm fairly certain that City will not be paying any portion of Ade's wages. That's against the rules of the league as far as I'm aware to avoid conflict's of interest. It is only allowed during loan deals and this is a straight transfer apparently.

I'd say he has taken quite a large paycut. He is still probably on about 100k a week though. Which is alot. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Not silly by any means.

Ryan Nelsen (free),
    Andy Johnson (free)
    Rob Green (free)
    Fabio da Silva (loan)
    Jose Bosingwa (free)
    Wages are almost always more significant than fees though, and a few of them players are probably on a lot higher than what they should be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Not silly by any means.

Ryan Nelsen (free),
    Andy Johnson (free)
    Rob Green (free)
    Fabio da Silva (loan)
    Jose Bosingwa (free)

Every one of those players with perhaps the exception of Diakite and Nelson will be on absolutely huge wages too, along with others already there such as Cisse. Location and huge wages is how QPR are attracting players that otherwise wouldn't give a bottom half Premier League club the time of day.

Their wage bill was even 183% of their turnover in the Championship (The Telegraph)

Kirby wrote: »
    I'm fairly certain that City will not be paying any portion of Ade's wages. That's against the rules of the league as far as I'm aware to avoid conflict's of interest. It is only allowed during loan deals and this is a straight transfer apparently.

I'd say he has taken quite a large paycut. He is still probably on about 100k a week though. Which is alot. :p

Been thinking about that as well and most sources are saying he's taken a wage cut to $100k. Only the BBC from what I can see (as far as reputable sites go) say a wages subsidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Kirby wrote: »

adebayor won't go hungry or lose out anyway

city gave him money to leave apparently, along with the signing on fee he'll get from tottenham too - he'll not lose nothing on wages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Not silly by any means.

Ryan Nelsen (free),
    Andy Johnson (free)
    Rob Green (free)
    Fabio da Silva (loan)
    Jose Bosingwa (free)

But they're not free, their probably all on large wages which is the biggest cost. Add these to the likes of Barton, Cisse, Zamora, Onouha, SWP, Taarabt and probably Hughes aswell and they could well be setting themselves up for a lot of trouble.

If this season doesn't go to plan (and considering the performance against Swansea it could be likely) it'll be Portsmouth v2.0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

Chagan wrote: »
    But they're not free, their probably all on large wages which is the biggest cost.....

Obviously there's wages too, but that's always going to be the case whether there was a transfer fee involved or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Been thinking about that as well and most sources are saying he's taken a wage cut to $100k. Only the BBC from what I can see (as far as reputable sites go) say a wages subsidy.

I'd still be surprised even if the BBC are saying it. I reckon he got a pay off from City and a large signing on fee off Spurs.

JPA wrote: »
    I'd still be surprised even if the BBC are saying it. I reckon he got a pay off from City and a large signing on fee off Spurs.

I was surprised too but they are -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19334854
    Adebayor will be among the top-earners at White Hart Lane, but City will subsidise the 28-year-old's wage, having paid him £175,000 per week...

...It is understood Spurs refused to break their strict wage structure to accommodate Adebayor. But with the player refusing to accept a big pay-cut, the Premier League champions were forced to accept having to continue to pay the player the difference between his new wage of around £80,000 and his earnings at City in order to complete the deal.

i dunno if that's right

link
    Adebayor had been on £170,000-a-week at City and, while that salary has been reduced to around £100,000 to fit Tottenham’s wage structure, he has also received a big pay-off to leave the Etihad Stadium.
    It is understood that Adebayor received a signing-on fee from Tottenham of around £4 million. The transfer fee between Spurs and City for Adebayor was around £5 million.
    It all means that Adebayor has been compensated for his reduced wages, Tottenham have secured their main attacking transfer target for around £9 million and Manchester City have succeeded in getting one of their major earners off the books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

The mail ran a story with a £4m sign-on fee for Adebayor so between that and City making up the wage difference he's laughing all the way to the bank!

I don't think City have exactly trimmed the wage bill with this either, 100k per week for a guy who can now play (and score) against them!

EDIT: Pardon me, twas the telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/tottenham-hotspur/9490747/Tottenham-confirm-signing-of-Emmanuel-Adebayor-from-Manchester-City-in-deal-worth-9m.html

batistuta9 wrote: »
    i dunno if that's right

link

I don't think it's right either. As I said already, only the BBC are saying it from what I've looked at (Telegraph, Guardian, Eurosport etc)
    Iron Hide wrote: »
    The mail ran a story with a £4m sign-on fee for Adebayor so between that and City making up the wage difference he's laughing all the way to the bank!

I don't think City have exactly trimmed the wage bill with this either, 100k per week for a guy who can now play (and score) against them!

That's *if* City are actually paying any of his wages and they most likely aren't as we've just been discussing.

I don't think it's right either. As I said already, only the BBC are saying it from what I've looked at (Telegraph, Guardian, Eurosport etc)

is it even allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

That's *if* City are actually paying any of his wages and they most likely aren't as we've just been discussing.
    Wasn't there something like this a couple years ago when Kenwyne Jones moved from Sunderland to Stoke? I remember some headline about Sunderland putting their hand in their own pocket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Obviously there's wages too, but that's always going to be the case whether there was a transfer fee involved or not.

But as Paully D said, they were already paying massive money on wages before this summer. Now they have a squad full of high earners who, in my opinion, won't back it up on the pitch.

Most of the players they've brought in are either in or heading into their thirties too and have very little resale value. In two or three years time they'll have to replace them all again. They're basically papering over the cracks by throwing money at mediocre players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Iron Hide wrote: »
    Wasn't there something like this a couple years ago when Kenwyne Jones moved from Sunderland to Stoke? I remember some headline about Sunderland putting their hand in their own pocket...

You're right, that was the headline. Jones had been fined a number of times that season for turning up to training late and other incidents and the club seemed desperate to get rid of him. Of course he hadn't actually asked for a transfer so we had to give him his loyalty bonus and another bit on top of that to get him out and to Stoke ASAP.

Tony Pulis did spin it a bit though, as Stoke actually had broke their wage structure at the time to get him in and were afraid current and potential players would be knocking on the door asking for more money. He also made a big deal over the fact the £8m fee being spread out over 4 years even though 90% of big money transfers are spread out like this these days.

Looking back now I think Sunderland got the better end of that deal, especially as Stoke had to then go and spend £12m and £45,000 + a week on a then 30 year old to do the same job Jones was bought to do. I was disappointed to see him go at the time though despite the reports of his fines etc.

Shame really, that first season in the Premier League he was immense for us, almost single handedly keeping us up, but he hasn't ever been the same since the ligament injury in a friendly against England a few years ago plus he also started to suffer from motivation issues after signing his first big contract. If someone can stick a firework up his arse and get him going then they will have a very good player on their hands but he doesn't seem bothered any more. Stoke should have been the perfect move for him really. A team tailor made for his style of play. I think the reported move to Villa would be the best chance he'd have of getting going again, he did pretty well with Bent at Sunderland and Bent always refers to Jones as his favourite partner. It'd be interesting to see how they'd do if they linked up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

batistuta9 wrote: »
    i dunno if that's right

link

Where did they get this 175K figure, last year Harry said Ade was on 225K per week.
    Regarding Adebayor who has scored nine goals in 18 league appearances, Redknapp said: "He has done well for us. He is on amazing money. The other week, one of the lads said to him that he had not paid his £50 fine for being the worst player in training on a Friday morning. He said: 'Bloody hell, Addy, you are on 200 grand a week and you can't afford to pay a £50 fine.' He replied: 'Don't insult me – it's 225.' He certainly isn't getting that here."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

it would be a bad deal for virtually every other club. Financial prudence is not much of a concern for City though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

greendom wrote: »
    Financial prudence is not much of a concern for City though.

Yes it is. IF UEFA properly implement FFP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Des wrote: »

Yes it is. IF UEFA properly implement FFP.

it's a big IF - but fingers crossed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Tom Huddlestone has gone on Loan to stoke.

Delighted we didn't sell him had a rough 18 months of injury some games will be great for him and what a great signing for stoke1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Carvalho gone to QPR on loan, on SSN now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Carvalho gone to QPR on loan, on SSN now.

Good deal for QPR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

QPR have to be aiming for something more than just staying up with the amount of money they will spend on wages over the coming year.