Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tailgating and Road Rage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

geneyuss wrote: »
    most modern cars are well capable of easily doing 140kpm, maybe you just do to much dilly-dallying (yes its a word ) :D
    The maximum speed allowed by law is 120 kph, and thats only on certain stretches of motorway. 140kpm would equate to 8400 kph btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭ManMade

You really don't know tailgating until you cycle a bike on any of these "well kept " "good width" roads out gov had to offer.

Brake really hard for no reason next time somebody is tailgating you!A nice big claim against their insurance policy will teach them when they slam into the back of you!

User banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭geneyuss

SocSocPol wrote: »
    The maximum speed allowed by law is 120 km, and thats only on certain stretches of motorway.

oh the law,,,,yes i forget about that :rolleyes:
    must not pass 120 KPH !!!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Lollers wrote: »
    I'm tailgated at least once a day. Gotten worse since the recession, nobody let's me out of a space, and no one waves thanks when I let them out. Stories from your travels ?

Weird, I hardly ever have problems getting out of a space or being tailgated. Maybe they are just scared of the giant snail shell on your back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHCxdlZ7G18

oh the law,,,,yes i forget about that :rolleyes:
    must not pass 120 KPH !!!:P
    Thats right, you shouldnt pass 120kph, enough road deaths as it is in this country.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I am a pretty good driver generally. But I think I do tend to get angry at people who I perceive to have done wrong.

At one point some random set of random circumstances resulted in a toy gun appearing in my car.

So, as it was there I said I might as well use it.

Instead of getting angry at other drivers I'd pull the trigger on the toy gun and calmly imagine their faces imploding.

It took a few hours before I realised that pulling the trigger of a gun every time somebody annoyed me on the road was probably not a viable or sane long term solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

I don't understand why some people can't grasp the simple idea of if someone wants to go faster than you, just let them by. If they're driving recklessly let them be someone else's problem. If you can't control your emotions behind the wheel, you shouldn't be driving IMO.

Thats right, you shouldnt pass 120kph, enough road deaths as it is in this country.

what about over-taking something doing 119kph ?

its irrelevant anyway, the op said they drove a Mx5, i was just pointing out all/most cars can go pretty fast, i wasn't condoning speeding, and i think you know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

I am a pretty good driver generally. But I think I do tend to get angry at people who I perceive to have done wrong.

At one point some random set of random circumstances resulted in a toy gun appearing in my car.

Instead of getting angry at other drivers I'd pull the trigger on the toy gun and calmly imagine their faces imploding.

It took a few hours before I realised that pulling the trigger of a gun every time somebody annoyed me on the road was probably not a viable or sane long term solution.

Surprised you did not get arrested for doing this - toy gun or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,573 ✭✭✭TheChizler

I think that would be acceptable! Provided of course that you don't speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

To my credit, I am a very patient, considerate and easy going driver. I don't speed and I don't impede.

But my bicycle is a different story, I have banged roofs of cars and tore after people. It is you are perched on 2 wheels and very vulnerable, I actually think our cycle network is good, but some motorists generally don't give a sh1t about cyclists and don't give us the berth we need. It is getting better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    I don't understand why some people can't grasp the simple idea of if someone wants to go faster than you, just let them by. If they're driving recklessly let them be someone else's problem. If you can't control your emotions behind the wheel, you shouldn't be driving IMO.
    That's a really selfish attitude tbh. Let them be someone else's problem could be your problem if they hit & killed/ seriously injured a member of your family.
    I have no problem with someone going faster than me, my ego isn't that precious that I have to win the battle of who's first on a road. But I draw the line at reckless & dangerous driving. It's one of the most retarded things a person can do.

So far as I am aware the signs say 120kph , not 120kph-ish, 120kph if it suits you!
    Fact is if the car ahead is doing 119kph the you shouldn't be trying to pass it, simples.
    Still since in an earlier post you claimed your car does 140kpm (which equates to 8400kph) you are hardly on the road, at that speed you would be in outer space!:D

Also, and just as an FYI for some posters here - if you exceed 120KM/H you won't suddenly and dramatically veer off the road in a ball of fire, despite what the RSA wants you to think.

There's a lot more to safe driving than obeying the speed limit and I believe that a competent and aware driver travelling in excess of 120KM/H (on a motorway for example) is far safer than the nervous, distracted driver travelling at 100KM/H. I've had some experience of driving abroad and in Germany in particular, their lane discipline and road manners are on another level. There's also nothing more humbling than being overtaken whilst you're travelling at 250KM/H.

Just touch the brakes slightly once or twice. Generally keeps tailgaters back.

Hate the cúnts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

your car wont turn into a ball of fire but you will be charged if caught by the guards or a speed camera -it is illegal

Also, and just as an FYI for some posters here - if you exceed 120KM/H you won't suddenly and dramatically veer off the road in a ball of fire, despite what the RSA wants you to think.

There's a lot more to safe driving than obeying the speed limit and I believe that a competent and aware driver travelling in excess of 120KM/H (on a motorway for example) is far safer than the nervous, distracted driver travelling at 100KM/H. I've had some experience of driving abroad and in Germany in particular, their lane discipline and road manners are on another level. There's also nothing more humbling than being overtaken whilst you're travelling at 250KM/H.
    Obeying the speed limit is however one of the most important facets of safe driving, to claim otherwise or to engage in braking the speed limit because you think you know better is reckless imo.

That's a really selfish attitude tbh. Let them be someone else's problem could be your problem if they hit & killed/ seriously injured a member of your family.
    I have no problem with someone going faster than me, my ego isn't that precious that I have to win the battle of who's first on a road. But I draw the line at reckless & dangerous driving. It's one of the most retarded things a person can do.

I didn't think it needed spelling out, but if you believe someone is driving recklessly and / or endangering the public, report them to the Gardai. It's their job to deal with them, not yours or mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Just shoot up a McDonalds. You know you want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

I agree. But look at their infrastructure compared to ours.
    And look at what they have to do to get a licence compared to us.
    It's as different as night & day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

My brother hired a sports car him and his mate went flying up the Autobahn at 200mph when his mate hit the ignition switch acidently shutting the car down.

No power steering and coasting at over 150 mph, my bro screams START THE FUKCKEN CAR AGAIN< START THE FKUCEN CAR>,,,, he did and then they drove back at 40 mph. Twats they nearly won a Darwin award.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭SIR PEADO BAILOUT

My brother has the most incredible solution to tailgating. He slows down. Doesn't matter if he has somewhere important to be, he'll drive as slow as he can get away with, and feed on their tears of rage.

Fookin made a grown man cry reading that.

Still next time I`m out Spiddal way having some tout boy racer up me jacksie I`ll give dat one a go,da feckin gards paying those gob****es to drive
    around all da day, and sure nothing touches them and now you know why :mad:

So far as I am aware the signs say 120kph , not 120kph-ish, 120kph if it suits you!
    Fact is if the car ahead is doing 119kph the you shouldn't be trying to pass it, simples.
    Still since in an earlier post you claimed your car does 140kpm (which equates to 8400kph) you are hardly on the road, at that speed you would be in outer space!:D

it was a typo,,get over it, big difference between being smart, and a smart ass :D,
    and i didnt say my car does 140 kph,i said "most modern cars do"
    whats this , selective reading hour?
    and why shouldnt i pass the car ahead, if i want to drive at 120 kph, i shall, if the car in front chooses to drive at 115kph, he/she belongs behind me, in a safe manner obviously

Obeying the speed limit is however one of the most important facets of safe driving, to claim otherwise or to engage in braking the speed limit because you think you know better is reckless imo.

I would say that driving at a speed appropriate to the conditions is more important to be honest. Plenty of roads on this island where the limit is far too high for the condition of the road. There's a lot of great information out there for people if they want to learn to be better drivers, but unfortunately most drivers here believe their education stops once they're handed the pink license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

When people pull out just in front of me from a side road, I drive approximately 2 inches from their bumper for the next few miles til they pull over and leave me off. That shows em

I would say that driving at a speed appropriate to the conditions is more important to be honest. Plenty of roads on this island where the limit is far too high for the condition of the road. There's a lot of great information out there for people if they want to learn to be better drivers, but unfortunately most drivers here believe their education stops once they're handed the pink license.[/QUOTE]
    On that I absolutley concur.

I agree. But look at their infrastructure compared to ours.
    And look at what they have to do to get a licence compared to us.
    It's as different as night & day.

Yeah, guess the different licence requirements also explain the amount of bad drivers here. I wish you'd just adopt a proper driving instruction scheme here.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Surprised you did not get arrested for doing this - toy gun or not

I wasn't actually bringing out a gun, pointing it at a stranger and pulling a trigger in clear view of everyone.

Maybe it was a toy gun which was being controlled occasionally by my left hand which was in the driver door side storage compartment out of plain sight.

Maybe I merely pulled the trigger but the gun was never visible.

Maybe it was night and it was a carefully selected matte style gun which would not reflect easily.

Maybe I have those awful tinted windows because I'm one of those people.

Or even worse, ok, it wasn't a toy gun, it was actually a vibrator. You caught me.

Maybe I am a police officer and as such was merely inappropriately misusing my occupation in order that I can scare other road users.

Maybe it was a truck and my high driving position rendered me invisible to most road users and I carefully selected the right time to use it.

Maybe my court ordered therapist suggested it as a method of correctly channeling my rage.

Maybe I made the whole thing up for thanks.

I wasn't actually bringing out a gun, pointing it at a stranger and pulling a trigger in clear view of everyone.

Maybe it was a toy gun which was being controlled occasionally by my left hand which was in the driver door side storage compartment out of plain sight.

Maybe I merely pulled the trigger but the gun was never visible.

Maybe it was night and it was a carefully selected matte style gun which would not reflect easily.

Maybe I have those awful tinted windows because I'm one of those people.

Or even worse, ok, it wasn't a toy gun, it was actually a vibrator. You caught me.

Maybe I am a police officer and as such was merely inappropriately misusing my occupation in order that I can scare other road users.

Maybe it was a truck and my high driving position rendered me invisible to most road users and I carefully selected the right time to use it.

Maybe my court ordered therapist suggested it as a method of correctly channeling my rage.

Maybe I made the whole thing up for thanks.

Maybe this is all just a bit ridiculous?