Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Felexicon wrote: »
    You're right. It seems to have really affected Messi, Ronaldo, Vidic, every first choice keeper in the world.........
    Last nights performance was down to fitness not knowing he was going to start

Comparing Messi and Ronaldo to Rooney, :eek: not even close to their quality, not even in his wildest dreams. They are the two best players in the world nobody could get near them. Rooney is one of the best players in England or at least he was at one stage, its been a long time since he was at anywhere near his best. My point is that it is no harm for him to be pushed a bit by RVP for a starting place it may encourage him to buck up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Fizman wrote: »
    This was the first thing that came to my head when I saw the replay. Now, unless he was instructed specifically by the coaching staff to pick up Jagielka (unlikely I would have thought), it was a complete cop-out by Vidic to avoid Fellaini.
    And even if he is on someone else......who in their right mind found comfort in telling poor Michael Carrick to mark one of the best aerial threats in the league?
    Carrick marked Fellaini at every corner and Vidic marked Jagielka. He was almost certainly instructed to pick up Jagielka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Some observations from last night and maybe on a broader scale:

Rooney looked like he was still on holiday. His first touch has been awful for about 18months now.
    Nani is talented but is one of the dumbest players I've seen on football pitch. Bad decision making, no vision and lack of perception. Can't cross
    Evra is useless as an attacking option. He can't beat a man and his crossing is awful.
    Welbeck looks like the ball always gets stuck under his foot for his first touch.
    Valencia is a much more aggressive attacking winger than anyone else we ahve and should resume on the wing once injuries are back.
    Kagawa coped well with the pressure from Everton and I don't recall him loosing the ball once.

United are too predictable, going out wide to men who can't cross t he ball like Nani and Evra. We need to take more shots from distance for 2 reasons: (1) Goals obviously, directly result in a goal or indirectly from a dropped shot from the keeper with the movement on the balls these days. (2) Keep the defence honest. Make the defenders pull out of their positions to close the shot takers down and use this space for a runner to create a goal scoring opportunity.

Van Persie's real debut will be this weekend. That was basically a hit and hope by Fergie, throwing on all the attacking options with no real strategic gameplan just to hope one of them can create something. Also still confused as to why Van Persie takes corners like he did for Arsenal, he's a lethal header of the ball and a target in the box.

Ferdinand could be on his way out. Getting niggly injuries and a sever back injury will lead to further joint injuries as it struggles to take the impact. Would he have coped with Fellaini's height and physicallity? Maybe but I don't think his back would have held out for the whole game. Lets hope Smalling and Evans can get back asap.

All is not lost its only one game and I seen patches there to make me see some positivty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

SlickRic wrote: »
    less of the rolleyes please; they're incredibly irritating.

1) Anderson was only on for 7 minutes. he manged to get involved, and also have a decent shot when everyone else seemed to be passing up the opportunity.

2) whose fault is it Rooney isn't match fit? and i would argue he looked out of shape, not just unfit for a match.

I'll post whatever emoticon I like thank you very much. Why don't you go to the pool thread and try your back seat modding over there. In fact why don't you just post over there, you guys have massive problems with your team you need to discuss.

Rooney lasted the 90mins but like everyone else found it difficult against a great Everton performance. Anderson came on and lashed the ball wide and your using comparisons.

Yeah okay your right. Lets sell Rooney and give Anderson, who has been non existant, injured, overweight and down right pants for consecutive seasons, more wages just because he came on a kicked the ball wide.

If he created a couple of chances, if he tested the keeper, if he did something that threatened Everton I could possibly understand your post. Comparing Rooney with Kagawa would have made sense but not with Anderson.

Again........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Carrick marked Fellaini at every corner and Vidic marked Jagielka. He was almost certainly instructed to pick up Jagielka.

I didn't see much of the game after the goal, but that's shocking if true. Whatever about conceding because of a mismatch, but you address the issue. Can't believe they left him on Jag after that as well.

I think Slick has a point. Bit harsh telling him to **** off to the Pool thread. And the rolleyes thing is for gheys :rolleyes:

I didn't see much of the game after the goal, but that's shocking if true. Whatever about conceding because of a mismatch, but you address the issue. Can't believe they left him on Jag after that as well.

They had Rooney on Distin!!

Distin 6' 4"

Rooney 5' 9"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Felexicon

donalg1 wrote: »
    Comparing Messi and Ronaldo to Rooney, :eek: not even close to their quality, not even in his wildest dreams. They are the two best players in the world nobody could get near them. Rooney is one of the best players in England or at least he was at one stage, its been a long time since he was at anywhere near his best. My point is that it is no harm for him to be pushed a bit by RVP for a starting place it may encourage him to buck up a bit.
    Did I compare them as players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

I'll post whatever emoticon I like thank you very much. Why don't you go to the pool thread and try your back seat modding over there. In fact why don't you just post over there, you guys have massive problems with your team you need to discuss.

Rooney lasted the 90mins but like everyone else found it difficult against a great Everton performance. Anderson came on and lashed the ball wide and your using comparisons.

Yeah okay you right. Lets sell Rooney and give Anderson, who has been non existant, injured, overweight and down right pants for consecutive seasons, more wages just because he came on a kicked the ball wide.

If he created a couple of chances, if he tested the keeper, if he did something that threatened Everton I could possibly understand your post. Comparing Rooney with Kagawa would have made sense but not with Anderson.

Again........:rolleyes:

Ric is right though. Rooney was muck. And not just muck and not match fit, he wasnt even fit. Looked overweight, was sweating like a pig after 15 minutes after little effort. He contributed feck all for the 90 minutes including putting a "shift" in even if he wasnt playing well.

I`m no fan of Anderson but at least when he came on he ran at the defence and took a shot from outside the box, something Utd had probably failed to do collectively for the previous 70 minutes.

Your selling Rooney point is just stupid.

Agreed. It was waiting to happen on every corner.

Did I compare them as players?

You made a comparison between Messi, Ronaldo and Rooneys situation yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

adox wrote: »
    Ric is right though. Rooney was muck. And not just muck and not match fit, he wasnt even fit. Looked overweight, was sweating like a pig after 15 minutes after little effort. He contributed feck all for the 90 minutes including putting a "shift" in even if he wasnt playing well.

I`m no fan of Anderson but at least when he came on he ran at the defence and took a shot from outside the box, something Utd had probably failed to do collectively for the previous 70 minutes.

Your selling Rooney point is just stupid.

No. I'll tell you what is though. Holding up a player for praise who has given nothing to the team over the past four seasons because he took one bad shot, a player who has been overweight and so out of shape on numerous occasions that he didn't make the squad over Rooney, a player who has consistantly preformed for us and gotten goal after goal, season after season even when not playing well.

Making rash judgements on players after one match, this early in is also stupid. You judge them over a long period, like I'm doing with Anderson and Rooney.

Also what your doing is agreeing with a Pool supporter who hasn't posted here in a long time but surprise surprise turns up the morning after our defeat to slate one of our star players, who just happens to be ex Everton, by comparing him to one of our worst players, after one game and using one bad shot as the barometer to judge them and you can't even see it.

SlickRick must be laughing at how gullible some ppl are in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Welbeck i think is more to blame than anybody, im pretty sure his job was to drop onto the post once the ball cleared him. and if memory serves me right, the move for the corner came down his wing and it was him that gave it away.

he was marking Tony Hibbert ffs and was a virtual spectator, we offereed no threat down the left flank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

Agree with the poster who already mentioned this, I can't understand Van Persie taking the corners, he should be in the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Julez

Agree with the poster who already mentioned this, I can't understand Van Persie taking the corners, he should be in the box.

Would you rather Nani take them and hit the first man every time? RVP is a much better option for corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Just on who ever said why wasn't there two men on the post.

Gary Neville pointed this out last night.

He said United have never really had two men on the post. He said they used to cover the back post, and someone would be 2-3 yards from the front post, when the ball was swung in he said that player would automatically drop back. (onto the front post)

He highlighted it last night and basically said Welbeck didn't get back quick enough.

He was asked why do United do this, and he said it had always been the way from when he was coming through and playing.

On last night, it's been said numerous times but Kagawa looks like he will be a great signing, seen him do it in preseason but to see him do it in the league as well is super.

I thought midfield done alright, Scholes was lucky to stay on the pitch, his yellow card was ridiculous, he had no chance of getting the ball and cleaned Osman out of it.

Cleverley looked his usual busy self, unlucky not to score but I think Jagielka had one of the best games I've ever seen him play last night and got back and covered brilliantly. Any other defender would have stayed rooted to the 6 yard line instead of sprinting back like he did to clear it.

Anderson done okay in the 8 or so minutes he was on the pitch. (also is anyone else getting sick of the fat jokes?)

Rooney was way off the pace last night. I would be very surprised if he was dropped though. Fergie seems to let people play themselves back into form so I can see him and RVP starting against Fulham.

donalg1 wrote: »
    You made a comparison between Messi, Ronaldo and Rooneys situation yes.
    Comparing situations is not comparing skill and ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I'll post whatever emoticon I like thank you very much. Why don't you go to the pool thread and try your back seat modding over there.

um, i asked you like a polite adult to stop with the patronising emoticon. you can post whatever you want, but i asked you a favour. your choice to do so or not. i think you need to look up the definition of back-seat modding too.
    In fact why don't you just post over there, you guys have massive problems with your team you need to discuss.

yeah we do. it's nice that you noticed.

but i'll also post here as well if you don't mind. open forums are wonderful like that.

Rooney didn't look fit. Anderson got involved in the all of 7 minutes he was on, and hit a shot which wasn't that far away.
    Yeah okay your right. Lets sell Rooney and give Anderson, who has been non existant, injured, overweight and down right pants for consecutive seasons, more wages just because he came on a kicked the ball wide.

who said that?

he had 7 minutes, created a shooting chance for himself, and wasn't far away. i didn't say he played really well even; i just said fair play to him for taking a shot when few others tried.

i said Rooney was shíte, and Anderson took a shot when others seemed to not want to. that's all. and it is more than Rooney did in the second half. that's not saying Anderson is a better player, or you should sell Rooney or whatever other notions you're putting in my mouth; just that Rooney was shít, looked unfit, and that Anderson took a shot.

i didn't even think anything I said was controversial.

nicklauski wrote: »
    Just on who ever said why wasn't there two men on the post.

Gary Neville pointed this out last night.

He said United have never really had two men on the post. He said they used to cover the back post, and someone would be 2-3 yards from the front post, when the ball was swung in he said that player would automatically drop back. (onto the front post)

He highlighted it last night and basically said Welbeck didn't get back quick enough.

He was asked why do United do this, and he said it had always been the way from when he was coming through and playing.

On last night, it's been said numerous times but Kagawa looks like he will be a great signing, seen him do it in preseason but to see him do it in the league as well is super.

I thought midfield done alright, Scholes was lucky to stay on the pitch, his yellow card was ridiculous, he had no chance of getting the ball and cleaned Osman out of it.

Cleverley looked his usual busy self, unlucky not to score but I think Jagielka had one of the best games I've ever seen him play last night and got back and covered brilliantly. Any other defender would have stayed rooted to the 6 yard line instead of sprinting back like he did to clear it.

Anderson done okay in the 8 or so minutes he was on the pitch. (also is anyone else getting sick of the fat jokes?)

Rooney was way off the pace last night. I would be very surprised if he was dropped though. Fergie seems to let people play themselves back into form so I can see him and RVP starting against Fulham.
    It was Gibson he upended on the edge of Evertons box.
    I remember because I was watching a stream with Steve McManaman as co-commentator. He kept saying it seemed like they must have had a training ground bust up when at United but he had no proof of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Comparing situations is not comparing skill and ability.

If you ever finding yourself explaining anything as obvious as this, best just not to bother in my experience. What you were saying was perfectly clear, people will always go out of their way to be pedantic when they're struggling for an argument and hope the point gets lost along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

It was Gibson he upended on the edge of Evertons box.
    I remember because I was watching a stream with Steve McManaman as co-commentator. He kept saying it seemed like they must have had a training ground bust up when at United but he had no proof of it

Ta for that.
    Same haircut so I got confused :)

Wouldn't have shocked me to see Scholes sent off, reckless tackle and had everyone on the edge of their seat any time he fouled again, which he did quite often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

SlickRick must be laughing at how gullible some ppl are in here

no, i'm more confused as to why you seem to really really really want me to be this trolling rival supporter whose putting the boot in, yet you have no reason whatsoever to believe that I am.

also, I post in here regularly enough thanks. ask anyone.

in fact, i even defended your midfield from last night, which has been slated by many of your fellow fans, many of whom seem to have missed the fact that Fellaini bullied them from attack by sitting on Carrick and Valencia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Fellani was class last night and would be a terrific signing for Utd. Still badly lacking in midfield, it's beyond a joke at this stage. Nani was pure awful last night, really, really bad. He has all the attributes to be a world class player but will never be imo as his decosion making is consistently awful. Kagawa looked really good and DeGea made some fantastic saves.

Leave slickric alone, he's a good egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

It may have already been mentioned here too, but did anyone think Vidic is looking very gaunt? He looks to have lost a lot of his bulk.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Leave slickric alone, he's a good egg.
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

:P
    There you go Slick

Has there been anything in the news about the Buttner deal being cancelled over that photo he took of himself yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Have to say alot of negativity from last night. OK so we lost but we pretty much dominated possession. We got unstuck by a player that really, we had nothing in our ranks to deal with, and very few teams do.

All they did was fire balls into him. Fellaini was outstanding without doubt. I thought there was a good few positives aswell as the blatantly obvious issues.
    • We had the majority possession and pretty much dominated it all match.
    • Kagawa looks very accomplished on the ball and his head is constantly up. He is going to link play magnificently.
    • Cleverly and Scholes looked very composed and orchestrating in the midfield. I thought Cleverly did well and you could see at times how he would shift up a gear to push up the tempo, that was impressive.
    • Carrick and Vidic, other then being unable to deal with Fellaini effectively, weren't caught out that much and did ok.
    • De Gea is building great confidence. He connected to a few corners and made some good saves. Distribution top notch.

I guess the few negatives were
    • Rooney looked unfit and lacked sharpness
    • Wellbeck looked a bit off with his touch and didn't seem to explode into sprint on two occasions he was through
    • Nani was plenty wasteful
    • We failed to REALLY penetrate, good build up and retaining possession, but very little opportunities.
    • Evra couldn't beat Hibbert, ugh oh.

I'm not flipping out about it, yeah it was a pity, I'd like to have got a win. But its the first game of the season. There is going to be plenty of points dropped this season imo between the top 4.

It may have already been mentioned here too, but did anyone think Vidic is looking very gaunt? He looks to have lost a lot of his bulk.
    It's to be expected with the amount of cardio he would have been doing to get back to match fitness after such a long injury. He would have had to cut his daily calorie count which would result in muscle loss. Now that he's back training and playing he'll be able to go back to his normal diet and increase bulk over the next month or two

Bro science tbf.:pac: