Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Lads the Sunderland game was a direct result of us not having a complete pre-season sorted out. A couple of mickey mouse games with the youngsters over in asia and then the match v Koln which was the first time our 3 new players played together. Sunderland had zero ambition to win the match and had most of the team behind the ball for the whole game, sure we were not incisive enough and Walcott was piss-poor, but there were some ok signs and if Giroud had slapped that shot home like he should have then it would be a different story but I'm confident that we'll improve this season over last season and I'm equally confident that Sunderland if they park the bus like that will make other sides drop points.

No need to panic after 1 match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

A0xUeQ5CQAAOlX4.jpg:large

HazDanz wrote: »
    Is that a joke? A win on Saturday would have put us a whole three points above relegation! Some difference that!
    Mickeroo wrote: »
    We're only two points off the top. :pac:
    We're twice as far from the top as we are from the bottom. :pac:

The league position stuff is just joking but I'm not happy with a point at home to Sunderland. If we talk about a "big 6" plus Newcastle that we're happy drawing against we need to win every other match to be challenging. If we're happy with a point against Sunderland at home then we need to shake up our expectations. Having 1 v 5 in their half with 88 minutes gone at 0-0 and people seeing nothing wrong with that worries me.

Apparently Sahin to be announced tomorrow - did photoshoot at Colney today.Not sure if this is real or a photoshop:

photo.php?fbid=10152030021665004&set=a.10152030021655004.882093.570795003&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf

Apparently Sahin to be announced tomorrow - did photoshoot at Colney today.Not sure if this is real or a photoshop:

photo.php?fbid=10152030021665004&set=a.10152030021655004.882093.570795003&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not too many "world class" players on show for Man Utd tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Surely the new "Cantona" would show up at some point..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I have to admit feeling really happy reading the hopeful posts from the united fans when RvP came only to be disappointed:)

Also I wonder what the little boy in Robin is saying now? Perhaps "oh bugger I think I have messed up!" :)

Thanks for the 24 million Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

He is gone and I seen enough about utd on this thread to last me a year

Back to arsenal please

Rafael Da Silva not start no? Fabio on loan at QPR of course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

I'd recommend a read of the united thread for the last six pages, look how stupid and over reactive it is and remember it the next time it all kicks off in here, pure tripe being sprouted!

He is gone and I seen enough about utd on this thread to last me a year

Back to arsenal please

Exactly sure look there is 3 prongs to the story. VP willingness to go, Uniteds willingness to buy, and more crucially, our willingness to sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

Having watched all the utd, citeh, Liverpool, spurs, and chelsea this weekend i would have to say that i think that we'll have a great shout at the league.

utd lack quality in both midfield and defence
    citeh were pedestrian
    chelsea were suspect at the back and looked lathargic.
    Liverpool and spurs will struggle with their new high defensive lines.

We may not have been great but we created a lot and our team looks hungery for once. i believe song leaving will help us defensively. i wonder i bould singled him out. either way Im very highly optimistic to the point of exuberance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Sergio wrote: »
    Must say im delighted with result tonight.Utd were terrible all over the pitch and fair play to Evertons felliani in midfield he was immense and made cleverly and co look average!

Hardly a feat, they are average at best tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

No goals for Rvp and he loses his first match?

Well a boo-hoo-hoo! :)

Galvasean wrote: »
    No goals for Rvp and he loses his first match?

Well a boo-hoo-hoo! :)

cartman.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

That's dirty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

The Guardians gallery, this weeks subject; Van persie.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/gallery/2012/aug/21/robin-van-persie-the-gallery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

It's seems that Mourinho really doesn't like Arsenal (or Arsene probably) He has apparently told Sahin that if he chooses Arsenal he won't be welcome back in the Bernabeu - (fine with me).

I was tweeting a couple of Real Madrid supporters and they seem to think we have a vendetta against them. Always selling our players to Barca and never to them. Apparently they wanted RVP last January. As if we were going to sell then !

Mourinho and Wenger never got on, remember the whole voyuer thing. wenger was always bitching about Chel$ki and the whole financial doping thing which really annoyed Mourinho, the clandestine cole meet up didn't help either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

It looks like the chink in the chain for Sahin is the option to buy. It seems that Morinho doesn't want this for some reason?!?

RE: Mbengue, great attacking full back. Shows more physicality than Gibbs and great pace. A little sloppy at times when it comes to keeping the ball but he's always eager to win it back and usually wins the opportunity. If he comes in I wonder what will happen with Santos? Will he be pushed up further afield into a winger role? He's eager to get game time as he wants to break back into the Brazil squad, although with Marcelo's last season & Olympics I can see it being a tough road for Santos internationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

pandaboy wrote: »
    It looks like the chink in the chain for Sahin is the option to buy. It seems that Morinho doesn't want this for some reason?!?

Hope it doesnt drag on too long. Would love it all to be sorted before next match. Think its important to get the team sorted and settled as soon as possible

The problem is again MONEY.
    Sahin is on 120k at Real and Wenger won't pay anything near that.
    Can't see this deal going through now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

No one reliable saying the deal is off yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

120k a week for a 23 year old who's done nothing is bonkers wages I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

silly wages sure i'd say song was earning even less than half that

bad2dabone wrote: »
    120k a week for a 23 year old who's done nothing is bonkers wages I think.

Agree, but can you see him coming down to the 55k Song was on or even 70k?

The problem is again MONEY.
    Sahin is on 120k at Real and Wenger won't pay anything near that.
    Can't see this deal going through now.

That has to b*ll*x, there's no way he can be on that, if it was a bosman maybe. Madrid spend stupid money at times but not that stupid i think.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2191230/Nuri-Sahin-Arsenal-stalls.html