Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best place to park for games in Croke Park?

• 19-08-2012 9:10am
    Registered Users Posts: 10,333 ✭✭✭✭

Where do people park? :confused:
    near the stadium? Underground car parks? side of the street?
    I usually drive into Dublin city center, and park in the car park beside the Jervis street center.. Handy enough, but the traffic after games is bad in the city ... :(
    So, Anyone have some help? Where do you park? What is the easiest/handiest route to Croker ? Drive in to city center or come in from the Airport ?

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 46 chubchub

The red cow park and ride. 4 euro for 24 hours then get luas to city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

I would agree on the Red Cow, keep the car out of the city it is just easier, less stressful and quicker if there is a lot of traffic on the Naas Rd as there will be today with Tipp and Kilkenny fans both using that route into the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

As above. Better for all , country folk and dubs alike, if visitors to the city park outside the centre and commute in.

Safer from a security point of view for the fans and better from a traffic point of view for everybody.

M50 Red Cow park and ride coming up the Naas Rd.

M3 park and ride at Dunboyne or Phoenix Park coming from the north.

Carrickmines park and ride coming up from the south east on the M50.

Clongriffin dart park and ride 5 minutes off the M1 on the north side.

All much more convenient than driving into Dublin city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,416 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Saab Ed wrote: »
    As above. Better for all , country folk and dubs alike, if visitors to the city park outside the centre and commute in.

Safer from a security point of view for the fans and better from a traffic point of view for everybody.

M50 Red Cow park and ride coming up the Naas Rd.

M3 park and ride at Dunboyne or Phoenix Park coming from the north.

Carrickmines park and ride coming up from the south east on the M50.

Clongriffin dart park and ride 5 minutes off the M1 on the north side.

All much more convenient than driving into Dublin city centre.

Also park in mannooth get commuter train to dromcondra station is an option from the west, always extra trains on after big games

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Whenever we used to drive up we'd park in Maynooth and get the inter-city train to Dublin, we got the bus once too. Traffic in the city centre after a game is diabolical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

just beside Phibsboro.
    close enough walk to Croker
    easy enough to get car onto the north circular road and go through phoenix park or down through grangegorman and out along the quays

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Cleary's multi story in Marlborough St. €3 per hour.

About 15 minutes walk from Croker.

Port Tunnel to get out of Dublin after the game. €3 toll.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Lapin wrote: »

No recession around here eh?

ft9 wrote: »
    No recession around here eh?

Well its a tenner to park in the official match day car parks.

If you're only going to one game, you can be in and out of Cleary's in less than 3 hours. So it only costs €9, and its in a handy location for getting out of town ahead of the traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭harpstilidie

Coming from Donegal where would be the best place to park? Last time I was down I got parked in a side street of the Drumcondra Road. Heading onto Clare after the game if that makes a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Well its a tenner to park in the official match day car parks.

If you're only going to one game, you can be in and out of Cleary's in less than 3 hours. So it only costs €9, and its in a handy location for getting out of town ahead of the traffic.

Tip of the day: if you go to the parking attendant on a match day and tell them you're going to Croker, they'll stamp your parking ticket and you get parking in that car park for €6 - as long as you are out by 7pm!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Tip of the day: if you go to the parking attendant on a match day and tell them you're going to Croker, they'll stamp your parking ticket and you get parking in that car park for €6 - as long as you are out by 7pm!

Really? In Cleary's?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

ft9 wrote: »
    Really? In Cleary's?

Yup...after you park go the the attendants desk at exit on Marlborough Street and tell them you're going to the match - €6 all day up to 7pm. Have been parking there for match days for 3 or 4 years now, have never paid more than €6!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

thats just crazy, if you are an out of towner, you will probably want to be up in Dublin nice and early just to be comfortable, get some grub etc.

Anytime I've been up for a game, I like to be parked up by Noon at the latest, gotta soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the day.

Personally, the Mater Hospital is a great spot to park, reasonable distance from O'Connell St and Croker. Parking on the street is good and free if its Sunday or if you prefer, they have a very large car park, think its 5 euro and its secure. Also, there is a good way to get out of there (south) afterwards if you know where you're going.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,333 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

great info lads ..
    i parked in a park and ride on the Naas road, beside Mcdonalds (the stop between the Red Cow and Bluebell) and got the (very packed) Luas in..
    wasnt too bad......

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    just beside Phibsboro.
    close enough walk to Croker
    easy enough to get car onto the north circular road and go through phoenix park or down through grangegorman and out along the quays

Sounds good, But the Quays are gridlocked after every game !?

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

i used to park in clonliffe collage it 5mins walk from croker dont know if it opens these days for parkin. it wasnt open for the quarter finals

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

I have a great place where I park my car - but I'm not telling anyone!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,123 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

i used to park in clonliffe collage it 5mins walk from croker dont know if it opens these days for parkin. it wasnt open for the quarter finals

Parked there for the Mayo v Fermanagh semi final in '04 and it was a nightmare to get out of, only one long narrow exit.

These days I go to the school at the back of the Canal end if I can, it's e10 I know but it's dead handy all the same.

Plus when at games involving teams from the west or south I usually head home up the N1/M1 and loop around the M50 to the N4/N6 instead of heading back through Phisboro etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

It was open for the Donegal QF anyway as I parked there. Not suitable for a quick getaway but not as bad as I was told it would be - 45mins from getting into car to being the far side of the Port Tunnel.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭mysillyusername

There is a Irish Rail car-park at the back of Connolly Station. It is only 8euro for the whole day and 20 mins walk to Croke Park. It is not the easiest to find though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

greenspurs wrote: »
    Sounds good, But the Quays are gridlocked after every game !?

can be.
    thats why you can also go out along the north circular road through the Phoenix park and down across Islandbridge or out through Chapelizod...
    if getting across the quays is the problem. using Mellows bridge down through Queen street is the solution I always find.

the place I park is called Great Western Place in Phibsboro

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    thats just crazy, if you are an out of towner, you will probably want to be up in Dublin nice and early just to be comfortable, get some grub etc.

Each to their own.

I'm from east Galway. I can have lunch in the comfort of my own house and be parking the car in Dublin an hour and 15 mins later. Its not the hoor of a drive it used to be since the motorway opened.

The journey home usually includes stopping off for a bite in Athlone before heading back to the local in time for The Sunday Game !

It will all be different the next time I'm in Croker though.
    Train up the day before, and enjoy the atmosphere the night before the final. One of my favourite aspects of All Ireland Weekend.

And then back home across the Shannon the day after the match with the Liam McCarthy Cup :)

Forget about it Lapin !!! :D
    yee have the only cup that yere gonna win this year !!
    MIAOW !!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Clonliffe College is as handy as any, it costs €10 but its as close to Croke Park as you're possibly going to get.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Each to their own.

I'm from east Galway. I can have lunch in the comfort of my own house and be parking the car in Dublin an hour and 15 mins later. Its not the hoor of a drive it used to be since the motorway opened.

The journey home usually includes stopping off for a bite in Athlone before heading back to the local in time for The Sunday Game !

It will all be different the next time I'm in Croker though.
    Train up the day before, and enjoy the atmosphere the night before the final. One of my favourite aspects of All Ireland Weekend.

And then back home across the Shannon the day after the match with the Liam McCarthy Cup :)

oh yeah, im the same sometimes for games not too far away or at places im familiar with like Cork or Killarney which are both an hour away from me. Dublin is 4 hours away so nice to get up there early and not be under any pressure.

I used to hate it when my father was rushing me out of games and stadiums when I was small, feck we would be sprinting hard just to "get ahead of the traffic". never understood it!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Have a perfect spot that we've been using for years now. Never had any trouble parking there, perfect access from the Kilkenny route up there and it's within 5 minute walking distance of the stadium. Ain't telling a soul though for fear that it'll be full the next time we try.

Tried the Maynooth route a few times. It was alright for the smaller scale matches but it was a disaster for the AI semi final last year, I think. Getting to the match was no bother because Maynooth was the first stop. Going home was a different story. 300 people left standing out on the road while trains were pulling away upstairs. We eventually got on but had to stand the whole way.

If you try that route then you'd want to get straight out of the park, onto Clonliffe Road and up to the station as quick as possible so you can get a seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Along Amiens St is free on Sunday - drive passed Connelly station heading towards the five lamps, there are plenty of parking bays on your left going out that road. Walking distance from croker. Relatively safe to leave the car there as long as no bags,valuables etc are left visible inside (as with a lot of areas in Dublin).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

As mentioned Amiens Street is an option- the Gardai from Store Street station would normally be patrolling it as part of big match days up the road in Croke Park. But do remember that Sherrif Street is at the back of Connolly and there are a few gurriers in there who couldn't care less if the Guards are up the road, they'd attempt a break in regardless.

For free parking on Sundays there is a lot about on Pearse Street just a three minute walk from Connolly and will give direct access to the quays after the game. And the side streets at the back and surrounds of the gigantic Ulter Bank buildings have a lot of free on street parking on a Sunday too. Also check side streets off the main road in Drumcondra, between Fagans pub and Quinns pub underneath the train station. If the signs don't state 'permit parking only' then you are fine parking there on a Sunday.

If you're exceptionally smart you'll work out where Bertie Ahern lives and then park just outside. That way you'll not only get free parking but also the benefit of his Garda escort keeping an eye on your car from his hut at the entrance to the house. Win win :D

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

RATM wrote: »
    Also check side streets off the main road in Drumcondra, between Fagans pub and Quinns pub underneath the train station. If the signs don't state 'permit parking only' then you are fine parking there on a Sunday.

This is generally where I head (though being from Laois haven't had as many trips up in recent years as I'd like!)