Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Owen_S wrote: »
    59 goals and 22 assists in 2 seasons.

Thats not a repayment, thats his job.

He did his job, he went no further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

meriwether wrote: »
    We stood by him with rape allegations and repeated injuries.

And how did he repay the club?

Well he got ye champions league footbal this season and waited around while other stars were sold off. He's coming into the last decent years of his career and wants to win something. Re the mercenary thing, he could have gone to city on presumably higher wages, he wanted to leave arsenal but it wasnt all about them dollas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

keano_afc wrote: »
    This little boy?

RVP-as-a-kid-406x340.jpg

look at your own sig and see if you can understand why he left

Well he got ye champions league footbal this season and waited around while other stars were sold off. He's coming into the last decent years of his career and wants to win something. Re the mercenary thing, he could have gone to city on presumably higher wages, he wanted to leave arsenal but it wasnt all about them dollas

What do you mean he 'waited around while other stars were sold off'?

I wasn't aware there were concrete bids from him from other clubs pre this summer.

Who was in for him, that he turned down to stay at the club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

As I've said to all United fans gloating about this, he moved for money. Thats all.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

yupya1 wrote: »
    I recognise yiz are pissed but people making rape and injury comments about RvP are letting themselves down.

Go and look at your own thread if you are offended then, a lot tongue in cheek but its still raw at the moment so save us your moral high ground
    jaykay74 wrote: »
    starving is hardly the point when you wish someone gets their leg broken. Just seems a bit bitter and twisted.

So what if they wish injury, some players have proven their are commodities only so no point trying to input humanity now.

But as I said we have moved on so chat about your own players in your thread
    I'm a Gooner.

At the end of the day, it's just football. van Persie has transferred clubs. He deserves criticism and a tough reception at the Emirates but people who think his profession makes it ok to call him a rapist or wishing he breaks his legs are showing themselves up. Breaking a leg doesnt just mean you cant play football for a while; it means you break a ****ing leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Take your pseudo moralising about millionaire footballers and place it somewhere anatomically dfficult.
    yupya1 wrote: »
    But as I said we have moved on so chat about your own players in your thread

No I'II post here if I want. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Owen_S wrote: »
    59 goals and 22 assists in 2 seasons.

25051435.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

No he didnt get us champions league football, our squad got us there and am confident that we will get it again and maybe even more. Good riddance to Van Persie, such a shame that he was allowed to wear the captains armband against Cologne which is disgraceful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

Way too much vitriol being aimed at RVP.

Arsenal got £24m for a 29 year old with one year left on his contract...that's good business for the club.

RVP single handedly got Arsenal into the Champions League ahead of Spurs.

He's 29 and wants to win trophies. Being realistic, that's unlikely to happen at Arsenal in the short to medium term.

Arsenal's owners and board are to blame for the club's "predicament". They've repeatedly shown a lack of commitment and ambition, so it's no wonder that guys like RVP jump ship. I have nothing but respect for Arsenal...the club's fans deserve better. Emirates stadium generates more cash than any other in England...where's the money going?!

I sincerely hope that Arsenal get top four this season...you play the game the right way and aren't a sham like City or Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

Dont kid yourself, Man City never came in with a offical offer. He didnt chose Utd over City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I presume Robin in the Arsenal jersey is probably more about him being a fan of Dennis Bergkamp than being an Arsenal fan TBH.

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Way too much vitriol being aimed at RVP.

Arsenal got £24m for a 29 year old with one year left on his contract...that's good business for the club.

RVP single handedly got Arsenal into the Champions League ahead of Spurs.

He's 29 and wants to win trophies. Being realistic, that's unlikely to happen at Arsenal in the short to medium term.

Arsenal's owners and board are to blame for the club's "predicament". They've repeatedly shown a lack of commitment and ambition, so it's no wider that guys like RVP jump ship. I have nothing but respect for Arsenal...the club's fans deserve better. Emirates stadium generates more cash than any other in England...where's the money going?!

I sincerely hope that Arsenal get top four this season...you play the game the right way and aren't a sham like City or Chelsea.

Yeah im sure you wished Tevez well when he went to Man City or when Paul Ince signed for Liverpool??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

D.H.L. - Don't Have Loyalty.

jaykay74 wrote: »
    No I'II post here if I want. Thanks.

I didn't ask you to not post here.

I asked you to shove your opinion up your hole (more or less).

If you want to do both in whatever order, thats cool.

Your welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Yeah im sure you wished Tevez well when he went to Man City or when Paul Ince signed for Liverpool??

And when Rooney announced he was leaving. A few Utd fans in masks even called to his house to wish him luck.

I remember a group of United fans gathered outside Wayne Rooneys house after he made that famous transfer request all those years ago.

Anyone else remember that?

I also recall a banner at a European game saying they wouldn't forgive him. They also referred to his previous use of prostitutes.

No one in Old Trafford likes to talk about that any more though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

D.H.L. - Don't Have Loyalty.

276506_199940370064914_5173684_n.jpg

Omeceron wrote: »
    And when Rooney announced he was leaving. A few Utd fans in masks even called to his house to wish him luck.

Yeah forgot about that one, he even said, that he believed they couldnt compete with city, but a fat new contract was enough to change his mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

As a neutral it's hilarious seeing Arsenal fans saying he moved for money. I really doubt that's true, he has a few years left at the top, Arsenal will not win the league in that time. The man wants to win trophies and Arsenal don't look like being able to provide that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I didn't ask you to not post here.

I asked you to shove your opinion up your hole (more or less).

If you want to do both in whatever order, thats cool.

Your welcome.

Jesus, stress down a bit. No need for the insults. Its only football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

Melion wrote: »
    As a neutral it's hilarious seeing Arsenal fans saying he moved for money. I really doubt that's true, he has a few years left at the top, Arsenal will not win the league in that time. The man wants to win trophies and Arsenal don't look like being able to provide that.

Hilarious? Seriously, you find that "hilarious"??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

I never understand fans whinging when players leave. theres a food chain in football and clubs are always susceptible to being preyed upon from above.

Im sure all those clubs from whom Arsenal poach their kids from know how ye feel today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

I'm a Gooner.

At the end of the day, it's just football. van Persie has transferred clubs. He deserves criticism and a tough reception at the Emirates but people who think his profession makes it ok to call him a rapist or wishing he breaks his legs are showing themselves up. Breaking a leg doesnt just mean you cant play football for a while; it means you break a ****ing leg.

Ok apologies you are a gunner the "Yiz" threw me off and it was my comment which I referred to him as Rapey VP more of a joke before I talked about the Sunderland game, hardly a slanderous accusation

But the arguement over morality in whishing him ill is null in this case as he showed he had none by leaving to UTD.

I accept players will move and its just football but I do believe that Robin owed Arsenal more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Omeceron wrote: »
    What has RVP won in 8 years at Arsenal? Rooney had won the Champions League and the Premier League multiple times when he was linked with City. The situations are incomparable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

gosplan wrote: »
    Liverpool would do what we just did, yes. City probably wouldn't because they don't need to worry about things like money.

You would be a brave manager/chairman to sell a Liverpool star direct to united.
    AFAIK it has never happened.
    The club have ambitions outside of making a profit.
    gosplan wrote: »
    As said before, if Arsenal sold Song, who has three years left on his contract, to United, I would completly flip.

Nah they plan on selling him to one of the other clubs we feed.
    Wenger wouldn't sell song unless he had a replacement lines up

We can but hope.
    BTW Wengers comments ala the Mail are ...
    The Arsenal manager added: 'Midfield is a different area because we have nine or 10 midfielders of top-class quality.

'Just today we have six or seven midfielders available, plus (Jack) Wilshere and (Emmanuel) Frimpong who are coming back. (Abou) Diaby is available again, (Mikel) Arteta, (Santi) Cazorla, (Aaron) Ramsey, (Alex) Oxlade-Chamberlain now plays central midfield - this is an area we have much more freedom to make decisions.'

How many of those would be a defensive midfielder ?
    keano_afc wrote: »
    Selling a 29 year old RvP to our rivals is one thing, but if we flog Song to that shower of bastards for £15m serious questions have to be asked about the motivations of this club.

But RVP was our star player last year and was major reason for doing so well after the cr** start.
    BTW if RVP does have any sexual related stories then he can have a great time comparing his to the others in the united dressing room. ;)

Letting Song go for 15m would be a joke and just copperfasten the idea that Barca can now use Arsenal as a cheap feeder.
    G.K. wrote: »
    I really like Coquelin. I realise he's not experienced but he'll be world class imo. Might as well bed him in in my view.

He can't be dumped in the deep end.
    What is the story with Frimpong ?
    Any news when he can be back ?

I am not allowed discuss …

Jame Gumb wrote: »

Is this not just bull though?

What team can go on to win trophies if their best players keep forcing moves away? I think Arsenal stood a really good chance if RVP stayed. I'm definitely not going to put a bet on us now!

He moved for the money. £220,000 a week is insane. City wouldn't have topped it. ManU fans... HE. MOVED. FOR. THE. MONEY!

To say he moved for trophies is also bull. This is presumably Fergies last season (how old is he anyway, 98?!) and after he leaves I am going to laugh at Man U as they sink down the table, taking their "stars" with them. Ferguson is an incredible manager. Probably the best ever. I can't wait for him to retire ;)

I never understand fans whinging when players leave. theres a food chain in football and clubs are always susceptible to being preyed upon from above.

Im sure all those clubs from whom Arsenal poach their kids from know how ye feel today.

So where are Man Utd in this "food chain"?

I remember a group of United fans gathered outside Wayne Rooneys house after he made that famous transfer request all those years ago.

Anyone else remember that?

I also recall a banner at a European game saying they wouldn't forgive him. They also referred to his previous use of prostitutes.

No one in Old Trafford likes to talk about that any more though.

In the unlikely event that any of them post on a Irish forum I'd say they'll be suitably cowed by your well thought out jibe.

So where are Man Utd in this "food chain"?

Above Arsenal. Below Madrid and Barca and probably City.