Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

dvemail wrote: »
    £24million though for a 29 year old injury prone striker on the final year of his contract that wants to leave is good business for Arsenal. It's a massive gamble for Utd to take in fairness, as all it takes is one tackle .
    The only way Arsenal can come out of this better is if they sign another striker that breaks our transfer record to keep the fans happy imo.

There'll be white blackbirds when that happens. This is about profits for our owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Like it or not, football is a business and this is good business for Arsenal. Expecting players to be loyal anymore is a fools game.

He wanted to go and we got a great fee for him. Selling to United is regrettable but they were the only option left.

I'll hold back judgement on the board until Sept 1st. If they don't strengthen the squad with this money they'll have lost what little respect and goodwill they had gained from the great business done at the start of this transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

Apparently Hernandez (Chicarito) is after handing in a transfer request at the Mancs. He'd hardly come this way. Decent player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

Im disgusted over the loss of yet another world class player at the club. We can all say RVP is this and that and i do agree to certain degree but there is something seriously wrong at Arsenal football club the way we are loosing all our best player for the past several seasons.
    I think the game is gone down the toilet and im even thinking will i bother my b***ix watching the EPL anymore! For me its same sh*t different season at AFC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

If we reinvest it's great business

Maire2009 wrote: »
    Apparently Hernandez (Chicarito) is after handing in a transfer request at the Mancs. He'd hardly come this way. Decent player.

He'd be terrible at Arsenal. Doesn't have the skill to be part of the build up play required in our system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I know I got warned earlier in the thread.... so Im just going to say this.

RVP 11 Jersey + Lighter + Petrol

That is all.

Im disgusted at the lack of ambition from the club. How can we now challenge for a title (isnt that the ambition of a "top 4" club supposedly) when we sell our best players on a consistent basis to our rivals. Hell you could practically pick an Arsenal XI from the city squad.

Sergio wrote: »
    I think the game is gone down the toilet and im even thinking will i bother my b***ix watching the EPL anymore! For me its same sh*t different season at AFC!

I think that's a poor attitude. No player is bigger than the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

is anyone really that surprised he was sold?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

There'll be white blackbirds when that happens. This is about profits for our owners.

Can always dream. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

He wouldnt fit in at Arsenal. I wouldnt be surprised if its true as United would then have five strikers and Rooney is automatic starter so its four into one. At his age he'll want to be playing. Wouldnt be surprised if Welbeck is upset too.

At least that could be a positive. Upsetting the United dressing room :pac:

Apparently Wenger said we won't be replacing him.
    "we have already replaced RVP and won't sign a striker" Live on French TV channel TF1

Well now, well now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

If we reinvest it's great business
    yes Arsenal is a great business but not a succesful football club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Girioud + Podolski + Cazorla > RvP so at least we haven't weakened our team this year (unless of course Song goes without bringing in anyone)

It's a shame about Sahin though.

We're not in desperate need of another striker, can think of other areas we need to strengthen first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Where did you see or hear this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I can still see Arsenal finishing in the top four because your club seems to be like a conver belt of players you sell one and yous have some young fellow ready to take his place . I actually think Arsenal have a better team then last season and the best thing for you's is the fact yous aren't relying on an injury prone player to score the majority of your goals .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

So that's a no on Hernandez then ha ha but I do think van Persie will cause problems in the Mancs dressing room - fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Apparently Wenger told French TV he was sold for over €30million.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Source please?

Saying RVP is leaving for money is pretty unfair. If he was, he'd be playing at City or Chelsea. He wants a PL medal and probably feels that United offer the best chance of this combined with weely starts. Never read anything about RVP forcing a transfer to United either. :confused:

If ye can keep Song, ye will have an incredible team next year. I hope ye do much better (just not better than United of course!).

I can still see Arsenal finishing in the top four because your club seems to be like a conver belt of players you sell one and yous have some young fellow ready to take his place . I actually think Arsenal have a better team then last season and the best thing for you's is the fact yous aren't relying on an injury prone player to score the majority of your goals .

Top four has not, is not and never will be a trophy.

That's what I want. This top four is a load of b*llox.

If you're top four, you should be challenging for the trophy. You don't sell your best player to another challenger, making the stronger.

Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    He wouldnt fit in at Arsenal. I wouldnt be surprised if its true as United would then have five strikers and Rooney is automatic starter so its four into one. At his age he'll want to be playing. Wouldnt be surprised if Welbeck is upset too.

At least that could be a positive. Upsetting the United dressing room :pac:

Berba is sure to be gone so its just Rooney, Van Persie, Welbeck and Hernandez, they will get game time, not as much as I would like I grant you, Also, Rooney, Welbz and RVP can play in a couple of positions so they are guaranteed to get plenty of game time imo, Chico could be the odd man out alright.

£23.5m.

What the fcuk is he doing in France anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

robby^5 wrote: »

My attitude is poor???You should be questioning the attitude of the people who own AFC not me.Their attitude is appauling in my opinion.:rolleyes:

That'd be consistent with the £24million being reported.
    Sergio wrote: »
    My attitude is poor???You should be questioning the attitude of the people who own AFC not me.Their attitude is appauling in my opinion.:rolleyes:

What else could they have done? Nobody else was interested in buying him and he doesn't want to be at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

robby^5 wrote: »

The club is not so big anymore and have been selling their best players to rivals for the last number of years. Big clubs don't do that and the exodus of players is proof of that. We are a selling club and only interested in profits for our shareholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Girioud + Podolski + Cazorla > RvP so at least we haven't weakened our team this year (unless of course Song goes without bringing in anyone)

It's a shame about Sahin though.

I hope thats the case, but how do we know? Podolski and Giroud could take ages to settle in, we are going into another season with uncertainties again. RVP was a proven goalscorer for us, we shouldnt have sold him as we need to settle in the new lads. Is sickening though that RVP wore the captains armband on sunday :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

24 mill gbp is about €30.5 or a little over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

We sold rvp we signed giroud and podiski
    If we sell song we need a replacement got him
    Maybe one more midfielder and were stronger than last season

How are we not showing ambition we knew he was going and got our signings in early

I think the club is doing very good this summer no complaints so far

kryogen wrote: »
    Berba is sure to be gone so its just Rooney, Van Persie, Welbeck and Hernandez, they will get game time, not as much as I would like I grant you, Also, Rooney, Welbz and RVP can play in a couple of positions so they are guaranteed to get plenty of game time imo, Chico could be the odd man out alright.

Didnt Berbatov just get his contract extended? Havent heard of any interest in him since.