Give it a REST for heaven sake

• 14-08-2012 09:23AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭

every time the TV or radio comes on it is STILL going on and on and on and on about the Irish olympic medal winners.

For heaven sake - can we get over it now - its a bit of overkill.

dont' get me wrong, it's great for them and the country but come on, leave it alone now - its like flogging a dead horse at this stage.

Bore fest!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

every time the TV or radio comes on it is STILL going on and on and on and on about the Irish olympic medal winners.

For heaven sake - can we get over it now - its a bit of overkill.

dont' get me wrong, it's great for them and the country but come on, leave it alone now - its like flogging a dead horse at this stage.

Bore fest!!

yes let's go back to talking about recession :o

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

what do you mean "at this stage"?

it has barely been a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Not really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

OP come back to me when we're still taking about it in 46 years time, like a certain neighbour we have and their 'world cup glory' ;)

Does no harm to celebrate something once in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

WE LOVE YOU KAA-TIE WE DO
    OHH KAA-TIE WE LOVE YOU
    KAA-TIE KAATIE KAATIE KAATIE.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Racist, sexist, Ireland-hater.

Reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Katie for president!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

The Olympics only comes around every 4 years. For a small country we did quite well. I'm proud of all our medal winners and so are most of the rest of the country. There's no harm in celebrating their success at a time when the only other news on a daily basis is the same old depressing IMF, recession shíte.
    The whole mood of the country changed to positive for two weeks and that's a good thing in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Flogging a dead horse you say? Enough so that we could get a gold medal in it? C'mon Ireland! Flog that horse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

+1 for Olympics thread.

Yay for Olympics!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

anncoates wrote: »
    Racist, sexist, Ireland-hater.

Reported.

Katie isn't white?

I always thought she looked like a man from Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭RichT

every time the TV or radio comes on.......

I'd be more concerned about these paranormal activities that keep turning your media devices on. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭BarnhallBull

The games only finished 36 hours ago FFS, the athletes were welcomed home yesterday (as medal winners will have been in every country) so it's hardly overkill!

What would you rather listen to? Stories about murder/rape/drugs busts/starving children/recession or any of the other depressing stories that normally dominate the news? Lighten up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

I thought we did **** but sure anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm delighted we did so well, and our athletes' hard work paid off. Very proud of them all (even the ones who didn't get medals).

But yes, I'm ready for it to be finished-mainly due to EVERY ad on tv tenuously linking themselves to the games. I mean, nappies?? Really??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

OP = mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Do people really think we did that well? New Zealand got 13 medals, why can't we do as well as they do? We're a rich country, I think we should be aiming for higher than 5 medals anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Do people really think we did that well? New Zealand got 13 medals, why can't we do as well as they do? We're a rich country, I think we should be aiming for higher than 5 medals anyway...

we did good no doubt, but seriously, there is no getting away from the flipping thing now.

Yes, I would rather we got back to the proper news now.

Congrats and all that but lets move on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ghandee wrote: »
    OP come back to me when we're still taking about it in 46 years time, like a certain neighbour we have and their 'world cup glory' ;)

How often have you heard about Ronnie Delaney(1956)Italia 90(we lost)The Irish golfer Rory McElroy who wants to play for Team GB in Rio,in short we're worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

It's ridiculous now.

I fcuking hate bandwagons and even more so the people that hop aboard them.

Look, you're into boxing or you're not. Maybe you need a distraction from your life and that's fine, but the incessant flag waving from people who didn't give a fcuk about Katie Taylor a year ago just p!sses me off.

kneemos wrote: »
    How often have you heard about Ronnie Delaney(1956)Italia 90(we lost)The Irish golfer Rory McElroy who wants to play for Team GB in Rio,in short we're worse.

I must not listen to the right people, because i hadnt a clue who Ronnie delaney was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Bad Panda wrote: »
    It's ridiculous now.

Look, you're into boxing or you're not. Maybe you need a distraction from your life and that's fine, but the incessant flag waving from people who didn't give a fcuk about Katie Taylor a year ago just p!sses me off.

that annoys me slightly aswell, but look at it from taylors point of view, the more fans she has the better. Its good for her career.

Plus irish people are the best bandwagoners in the world! sure look at the premier league!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

It's ridiculous now.

Why does it piss you off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

later12 wrote: »
    Why does it piss you off?

And how does it make you feeeelll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ireland should put a bid into host the 2020 Olympics, sure it'd be great craic.

neil_hosey wrote: »
    that annoys me slightly aswell, but look at it from taylors point of view, the more fans she has the better. Its good for her career.

Plus irish people are the best bandwagoners in the world! sure look at the premier league!

The only time i get annoyed with band wagoners is when they talk to me about something i have followed for a long time and they have recently discovered it and are then explaining it to me.

Then i might look like this :rolleyes:

Otherwise I dont give a ****, if people want to be happy for a reason that doesnt hurt someone else Im not usualy one to crap all over their happiness.
    However seemingly silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

It's ridiculous now.

So unless we're long time fans we don't get to celebrate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Ghandee wrote: »

Hahahahaha!!!! from the country that rejoices in Munster beating New Zealand B team in the 70s still, and even has songs and a play about it. Priceless. Sonia O'Sullivan is a national hero for getting silver, and the rugby team are national heroes for getting two grand slams in over 60 years.

Funnily I hear the irish and Scots talking about 1966 far more than any englishman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Always thought female boxing was for perves in long coats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

CJC999 wrote: »
    Ireland should put a bid into host the 2020 Olympics, sure it'd be great craic.

ya, we can't even get five winners of medals back into the country without it being a big to-do with name calling and fighting over "who gets them first". :roll eyes:

embarrassing to say the least.