Last Day Of School

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

cynder wrote: »
    Last day of school was 21.5 years ago, i was 11 years old. My last day of school was the easter of 1992. I was in 5th class.

I never stepped foot in a school again.
    Why?

We moved house, into the middle of nowhere it was too far to walk and dad wouldn't drive us, ( my brother was in 6th class)

When we moved back from the UK a few years before my half brother was 14 I was 8 it was 5 mile to school each and we walked that each day, it was 15 mile to secondary school and my dad refused to drive my half brother.

None of us had an education. I always felt inferior to everyone, I suffered big time. Days were spent helping out on a farm and watching sky, until I started full time work at 14.

At 22 I found a centre that did the LCA and I did that, got 196 out off 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭omgitsthelazor

this thread reminded me of the grad mass, what an uncomfortable, awkward idea that was. Having a priest involved which had nothing to do with our school, everyone was nervous and in the back of our mind since we all hadn't done the LC yet we knew there was the possibility we could be back.

When I graduated college we had nice speeches, talked about the future and were treated with a lot of respect. Afterwards we went to our department building with our parents and had wine and snacks with our lecturers.

Shame we couldn't have had a nice graduation in school like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

cynder wrote: »
    We moved house, into the middle of nowhere it was too far to walk and dad wouldn't drive us, ( my brother was in 6th class)

When we moved back from the UK a few years before my half brother was 14 I was 8 it was 5 mile to school each and we walked that each day, it was 15 mile to secondary school and my dad refused to drive my half brother.

None of us had an education. I always felt inferior to everyone, I suffered big time. Days were spent helping out on a farm and watching sky, until I started full time work at 14.

At 22 I found a centre that did the LCA and I did that, got 196 out off 200.

Now that's real genuine hero stuff in my book. Fair play to you.
    An inspiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

My last day in school felt like I was suddenly able to breathe for the first time in five years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

My last day at school was pretty good. We got a half day, killed each other with egg and flour. Went home came back to school for grad mass, afterwards had wine and cheese reception with teachers and parents and then went on an absolute bender with the teachers after. Made a show of myself by tying my school tie around my geography teachers neck and telling him he was hot! Looking back now, I wouldn't get up on him to get over a wall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    After 13/14 years in school the day you walk out of class for the last time is a pretty special moment in your life and probably the first time you really feel grown up. It's 20 years since I finished school and if I remember right most schools gave you a half day and if they didin't you went on the hop anyhow.

I celebrated my last day of school by drinking cans in the local park with half of my year, going home on the bus for dinner and a snooze, going back to the school for some maas thing then going on the piss in the park again. I also 'scored' a chick that I had been chasing for all of my five years in secondary school that night so it was a pretty good day!

How did you celebrate your last day of school and how long ago was it?

I don't remember my last day in school, nor do I wish to remember any of those days. My abiding memory of school is that it was horrible. It was only years later, when I went to relationship counselling, that I realised the obvious which I had extraordinarily blanked from my entire self-identity: I had been bullied each and every day and as a consequence I went in on myself and had massive trust issues. I'm still a horribly cold and distrustful human being. I don't like being like this. But I do understand what went on in those years much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I remember coming out of the last LC exam throwing all my books, school bag and uniform onto a bonfire and dancing around singing I'd never have to learn anything again. When the fire went out I realised I was cold and naked in a field and that life wasn't finished teaching me lessons just yet. In actual fact I didn't really start learning about life until I left school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

Seanchai wrote: »
    I don't remember my last day in school, nor do I wish to remember any of those days. My abiding memory of school is that it was horrible. It was only years later, when I went to relationship counselling, that I realised the obvious which I had extraordinarily blanked from my entire self-identity: I had been bullied each and every day and as a consequence I went in on myself and had massive trust issues. I'm still a horribly cold and distrustful human being. I don't like being like this. But I do understand what went on in those years much better.

Your misanthropy is well placed.

You just learnt earlier in life what I didn't learn until much later in life.

Some people manage to get through their whole life without finding this out, and more power to them.

Unfortunaetly some of us find out that, when certain conditions and circumstances combine, 80-90% of 'humans' will turn out to be human vermin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭LoYL

Jellicoe wrote: »
    Your misanthropy is well placed.

You just learnt earlier in life what I didn't learn until much later in life.

Some people manage to get through their whole life without finding this out, and more power to them.

Unfortunaetly some of us find out that, when certain conditions and circumstances combine, 80-90% of 'humans' will turn out to be human vermin.

I'm not sure I agree with you but it is important that you contribute to this thread and that your voice be heard too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I left school in June and it didn't hit me until I just read this thread. It's bringing a tear to my eye I must say!
    I loved school and wouldn't change it for the world.
    After graduation we went to the pub with the teachers and talked to them for a while. That was really nice. All the teachers were sound. Went to a club in the city center and got rat-arsed with all my friends. Started to talk to people from the year that I had never talked to before, that was nice too. Everyone was in good spirits and it was the best night I had in my life.
    Getting my results on Wednesday and I'm pretty sure I failed some things which I'm really disappointed with. It'll be a sad day on Wednesday setting foot in that school for the last time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

Finished a few months back. I'll be honest, it was a great school I went too. Most of the teachers had a knack for having some craic and still getting stuff done, small year groups meant everyone was friendly with one another, etc. I honestly loved most of my time there, though having said that, I won't be going back regardless of how my results go this Wednesday. Most of that will be because my mates will have moved on and the year below us are d**kheads. :pac:

On the last day we hung around the nearest pub for an hour or two, had a bit of craic and a few pints. Didn't really feel free though. That feeling didn't come until I put down my pen in the last exam. Boy, what a feeling though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Polloloca

The 2nd last day of school was our grad mass (night) and preping the gym for the mass all that day in school. We all went to a pub after mass with some teachers. The bouncers let everyone with ID in, even though the ages were clearly underage. I got really drunk, put a brolly up in supermacs and sang a made up song about how happy I was. My mum came and collected me.

The next morning I had to get up for school. I was absolutely STUCK to the pillow. However, I was a champ and got up and went. We put on our "class of 06" tshirts and had some photos taken. Theres a picture of me on bebo with a big dying head on me. I looked so young. We were given notepad and pen each and had everyone in our year teachers included sign and write a farewell note to each other.

Some of our year took over the intercom in the office and made some funny announcements and after lunch the principal closed off the dining hall and the corridor and classrooms leading to the dining hall for our party. We had chinese, and there was a band in the dining hall and sweets and stuff, and we just ran amuck.

Happiest day of my life getting out of there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Am I the only one with absolutely no recollection of my last day at all? It must have been really ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Can't really remember what it was like in school on the last day, but there was a grad mass that evening though me and a friend didn't bother going and played Saints Row instead (turned out we were the only 2 in a year of 100 who didn't go). Afterwards, we headed to a house party with the rest of the year and got wankered. Fun, fun

The last day of the LC, I think I just walked home and watched a film or something. Most of the year still had a few days of exams to go so there wasn't really a party vibe about the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I left school in June and it didn't hit me until I just read this thread. It's bringing a tear to my eye I must say!
    I loved school and wouldn't change it for the world.
    After graduation we went to the pub with the teachers and talked to them for a while. That was really nice. All the teachers were sound. Went to a club in the city center and got rat-arsed with all my friends. Started to talk to people from the year that I had never talked to before, that was nice too. Everyone was in good spirits and it was the best night I had in my life.
    Getting my results on Wednesday and I'm pretty sure I failed some things which I'm really disappointed with. It'll be a sad day on Wednesday setting foot in that school for the last time!

Best of luck Wednesday dude! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Am I the only one with absolutely no recollection of my last day at all? It must have been really ****.
    You're not no, I remember watching The Texas Chainsaw Massacre on video plus getting drunk and vomiting for hours on the Leaving Cert results day, but the last day of school is a total blank, I think I just went home. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Coming up on 20 years ago for me too. The LC was looming and I didn't feel free at all. I do remember a few incidents on the last day - rotten eggs thrown, fire extinguishers set off and someone set fire to a green area with a petrol bomb.

The end of the LC was also an anticlimax. Because of the schedule and subject choice myself and a few others were the last to finish and were still doing exams while the majority were finished. No doubt there was some drinking and "celebrating" but I didn't partake in it and I know plenty of others didn't either.

After the LC I went on a holiday with my parents and had a quiet summer playing golf and working. Collected my results in the school that August and had a bit of craic with the teachers and my classmates but again there was no drinking afterwards for me. I didn't go to my debs and have basically not spoken to or had any contact with any of my classmates since the day I collected my results. No harm either, many of them were pr*cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I remember the day I went back to get my results, being amazed I'd done so well and sharing a six pack of beer with some mates outside the school at 9:30 in the morning and arranging to meet up that night in the local pub most famous for serving under-age but I can't for the life of me remember much about my last day of classes other than a sigh of relief that I was finally finished in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

I celebrated my last day of school by drinking cans in the local park with half of my year, the piss in the park again. I also 'scored' a chick that I had been chasing for all of my five years in secondary school that night so it was a pretty good day!

It was a pretty good day? Long standing ride confirmed?

Are you Ice Cube?:P

Left my niggaz house paid
    Picked up a girl been tryin to **** since the twelve grade
    It's ironic, I had the brew she had the chronic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

8 years ago, i walked from the school and never returned.

I remember going to some mass and then we went out to dinner and drinking, cant remember much from that night! It was awesome apparantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Our school principal was clever. He would always come into a random class a few days before our year was to end and announce that we could go home. It basically messed up anybody's plans to cause mayhem on the last day. I just remember goodbye to the lads and heading home.

Last day of LC exams was uneventful too. I did applied maths as an option which was the very last exam on schedule, so 3 of us finished our LC about a week after the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Best of luck Wednesday dude! :)

Haha thanks, I'll need it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Mine was my 18th birthday, I was the last one in my year to turn 18. All 70 of us in my year went to the pub for the day and most of the night if I recall. Was some craic :)

Ten years ago now, time flies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

15 years ago and I can't remember a thing about the last day :( I was still 16 very young now that I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Last proper day of secondary school. Just like any other day. Finished the last class, grabbed by books and walked out the front door. Went home and played video games. Nothing special.

Last day of Leaving Cert Exams: Finished my exam early and left the room. Walked down the quiet corridor on my own and went home. The end.

I hated school so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This May. Went down to the pub and had a right good time with the teachers. A really nice way to finish.

And then the Leaving happened which ballsed everything up.