Savage bar attack leaves journalist terrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

How do people like her get work as journalists? I know dozens of people who write really well and can only get the odd bit of proofreading work.

Would imagine that, like everything else in Ireland, that it's an RTE-type setup of nepotism and jobs-for-the-relatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

MagicSean wrote: »
    I don't understand. How is he a notorious developer and why was she taking his picture if she has no idea who he is?

Think they don't have verification that it was him so they're too scared to name him in case she got it wrong. It's a well known developer who has been in trouble a lot PRIORY to this. ;)

Would imagine that, like everything else in Ireland, that it's an RTE-type setup of nepotism and jobs-for-the-relatives.

Sunday Indo and RTE aren't comparable journalism wise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

MagicSean wrote: »
    I don't understand. How is he a notorious developer and why was she taking his picture if she has no idea who he is?

At the moment, we just have John_Rambo's word for it. Seems to be accurate though.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Think they don't have verification that it was him so they're too scared to name him in case she got it wrong. It's a well known developer who has been in trouble a lot PRIORY to this. ;)

Seem to have enough verification to print the photo and run with the story. Would be a nice twist if Horan had actually gone and gotten the wrong person...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Seem to have enough verification to print the photo and run with the story. Would be a nice twist if Horan had actually gone and gotten the wrong person...

Don't know why else they wouldn't name him considering she knew who he was. (Or somebody told her who he was)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm a monster :(

Dexter? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Don't know why else they wouldn't name him considering she knew who he was. (Or somebody told her who he was)

She was there purely to get a story out of it, by any means. Since the Indo obviously sees its readership as being thick, they believed that by not naming him and playing dumb, that people would assume that she just happened to be in the same bar as yer man that viciously attacked her for no reason whatsoever... and hide the fact that she more than likely provoked him into reacting in an animated manner.

How could they? I'm outraged! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Attack? What attack?

Even from her sensationalised article, it never once mentions she was touched...so how was she attacked?

Threatened? maybe.

The article appears to be stretching the truth greatly, so far, you cannot believe anything in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭BlueSmoker

The problem is her story is based apon provoking the guy, infact that is all her story is based apon, hence why it is actually such bad journalism, it is all about what happened after she shoved a camera into some guys face, took a photo, and then waited for a reaction, and then expecting a story to come from it. (Zoom is there on your phone for a reason by the way). I don't understand that sort of engineering journalism, it like sitting on the toilet and expecting to **** out a Swan and 7 cygnets, just to make the prefect story. :confused:

Most stories come by accident, and being able to interrupt that accident of chance as news worthy.

I really don't care who the guy was, I know alot of guys/gals that are scum bags, to talk to and see, but one thing I wouldn't do is shove a camera in their faces to actually force a story, for alot of reasons one being it would affect my ability of every producing anything credible in the future.

(And I can't even bleeding spell)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Her account of what happened seems really over-dramatic, or at the very least her reaction was. What did she expect when she took his photo without his permission? Is she actually a trained journalist or is she just guessing what she should do?

But then again, her article has had the desired effect, and it's probably why the Indo hired her - people are reading it and it's getting a response (albeit a negative one).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Is she actually a trained journalist ).

She provides colouring book level copy for the SINDO. What do you think?

Her account of what happened seems really over-dramatic, or at the very least her reaction was. What did she expect when she took his photo without his permission? Is she actually a trained journalist or is she just guessing what she should do?

But then again, her article has had the desired effect, and it's probably why the Indo hired her - people are reading it and it's getting a response (albeit a negative one).

As they say all publicity is good publicity, mind you that was back in the 60's and 70's, when a band couldn't even work out how to get their name in a paper,

She is already paid by the "Independent", she tired to engineer a story, and thought she broke a few yokes, she thought that printing a Story "Scum bag developer chased me out of the pub, after I poked camera in his face", would actually make her a serious journalist, really all it shows the fact she got on the front page with that, is actually how desperate the "Sunday Independent" are for stories, that tickle their fantasy readers fancy.

There are alot bigger Stories out there, go out there and get them. Most people have a fist load of them waiting to be told, and there is no engineer of the story involved, and they are right under your nose, just ask, but thats too complicated, more press "in running from a pub, from someone who may have being a developer scumbag, but you don't know, but you still poked a camera in his face, so that he chase you" journalism.

Where did you learn that, from primary school or just watching TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

In other words, the Sunday Independent has stooped to the level of internet trolling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭TheChizler

What's the bet he didn't actually see her and just accidentally dropped his glass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

In other words, the Sunday Independent has stooped to the level of internet trolling?

Well, it is the Sindo so yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

TheChizler wrote: »
    What's the bet he didn't actually see her and just accidentally dropped his glass?

I reckon he didn't even break the glass, but gave her a glassy stare:pac:

Just heard yesterday that generally I Phone type phones, has a really bad zoom function, well I now feel like a twat, in suggesting she could have used the zoom function. It was still a really bad piece of journalism though.

BlueSmoker wrote: »
    Just heard yesterday that generally I Phone type phones, has a really bad zoom function, well I now feel like a twat, in suggesting she could have used the zoom function. It was still a really bad piece of journalism though.

Point and click camera, 70 odd euro. It's not like she was trying to be subtle.

Exactly my point :) Engineered journalism

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Indo/Sindo is a rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭kazzdee

Here we go again..."Headline of the day comes from Niamh Horan piece in Sindo: "How did this cowboy builder become a victim while I have to endure the abuse?" Tweet from reporter at Thejournal.ie
    https://twitter.com/ChristineBohan/statuses/234551624738152448

I feel sorry for her now, I wished iphones did have a zoom function, cause then she might realise how silly she really is.

Sad so very sad:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

that one she's as mad as a bag of hammers.

Are hammers mad?

They must be - they keep attacking their nails!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

She could have just let this one go. Realise her mistake, take her beating & forget about it.
    But no, she drags it up again. Last week she had a colleague defending her & telling us we're all bad people for questioning her methods & journalistic skills.

I'm not find of online bullying or nasty abuse but she's looking for it at this stage.

Besides the methods of writing (let be honest, the type of writing one might read sometimes from a North Korean propaganda piece, full of fancy useless words and and no substance) and her inability to not contradict herself ("Who is he?" - yet he's "Notorious"), the below comment sums the issue up accurately:
    BlueSmoker wrote: »
    There are alot bigger Stories out there, go out there and get them. Most people have a fist load of them waiting to be told, and there is no engineer of the story involved, and they are right under your nose, just ask, but thats too complicated, more press "in running from a pub, from someone who may have being a developer scumbag, but you don't know, but you still poked a camera in his face, so that he chase you" journalism.

Where did you learn that, from primary school or just watching TV?

What she writes isn't journalism, its flowery garbage that is better off in a Mills & Boon cheap novel!
    She gives genuine journalists a bad name, by daring to similarly call herself also one!

kazzdee wrote: »
    Here we go again..."Headline of the day comes from Niamh Horan piece in Sindo: "How did this cowboy builder become a victim while I have to endure the abuse?" Tweet from reporter at Thejournal.ie
    https://twitter.com/ChristineBohan/statuses/234551624738152448

She deserves the abuse she gets. So does he. The fact that she get smreo than he does is a testimony to how bad her writing is. She goes up against one of the most vilest men in Ireland and comes off second best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,648 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

irish times biggest troll in ireland

Is there actualyl another article in the Sindo referign to alleged "abuse" and what she encoutnered online? If so can someone upload a photo of the stroy like last week (I think it was Biggins, but if he's gone and bought the paper again...)

Will have a look for a possible latest article she might have come up with.
    Back shortly.