Is life worth living after 35?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm going to be 35 very soon, and think there's still loads of living to do- things to do, books to read, places to visit. I'm loving my 30s so far!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I think 35 is the maximum amount of years that a human can really enjoy life to the fullest,its all downhill from there.

Am i wrong?

Yes you are, and everybody who is 34 will disagree with you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'm 35, it's great, you can finally get reasonable insurance on decent cars. On the downside, the "decent car" will probably be some sort of people carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

I think 35 is the maximum amount of years that a human can really enjoy life to the fullest,its all downhill from there.

Am i wrong?

Yes, you're so very wrong. For me it only started to get really good around 35 and has steadily got better since then. Now, at the grand old age of 43, I look back at my twenties and think thank fukc they're done and dusted - wild horses wouldn't drag me back to those years even though I was travelling and partying a lot more then (which was great) but the angst and the 'what will I do with my life' worries and the insecurities about my appearance, insecurities about what people thought of me, insecurities about my future, all added up to a whole lot of bullsh!t worrying about stuff that didn't need to be worried about at all.

The parties don't have to stop - they haven't for me - in fact, last night I had a date with a very handsome, very charming 29 year old South American man. I'm still making new friends, finding new things to try - I've recently started learning how to play the ukulele and hope to attend a ukulele hooley soon to meet other ukulele players just for the hell of it. The only objective being to enjoy a bit of lighthearted fun, some silliness and hopefully have a laugh, all while meeting new people and broadening my horizons without feeling the need to be successful or talented or even any good at playing.

I'd never have even thought of doing that in my twenties because I was so caught up with worrying about stuff that ultimately turned out not to matter at all.

Look after your health and fitness though, that's the only advice I'd give. I've always cycled, starting back when I was in school as my mode of transport, and I'm so glad I did because it has helped keep me in good shape both aesthetically and health-wise. Once you've got your health, the only thing stopping you from being able to enjoy life after 35 will be your own bad attitude (barring unexpected traumatic life events and depression - which have no respect for age; youth won't keep them at bay if they decide to come for you).

In short (she says after writing a long post) life is well worth living after 35, it may even turn out to be more worth living than it ever was. It did for me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

It is if you are doing it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Retarded question to be honest.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 6,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

I'm over 35 been there done that,today I'm packing up the boat going messing about on the water doing a bit of fishing and then the pub. Life is as good as you let it be at any age. :D
    206765_220102598005592_219902491358936_1041349_8370005_n-2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Am i wrong?

Yes, very much so.
    Life actually gets far more enjoyable, once you're over the insecurities of youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Am i wrong?

Maybe at 36 you will have more sense :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

I'm loving being in my 40s. The amount of women that are out there that I find hot as hell is amazing, from their 20s to their 50s.

I'm loving seeing the kids grow up and aiming to achieve their dreams in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

I only have two regrets in life, not knowing what I do now when I was in my 20s & not recognising the threesome with two girls I worked with which was being offered to me when I was 22.

These two things are partially related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

murpho999 wrote: »
    You're obviously under 35.
    +1, its funny the way the "over the hill" age keeps on getting higher & higher. I remember trying to get into pubs at 16 or 17 and one place saying "its 23's lads", and us thinking "jaysus, 20 fecking 3, at that age they should be at home knitting watching the late late."

OP, what do you think happens to people at 35? What can't they do that say a 30 year old can do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Cienciano wrote: »
    OP, what do you think happens to people at 35? What can't they do that say a 30 year old can do?

They evolve into their final form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It's all downhill after you become too old to breastfeed to be honest. Turning 10 was the worst day of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's all downhill after 4 when school starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,930 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Will be 36 on wednesday and to be honest i feel really depress about it.

36 :eek: Jasus, now that's very old. Never mind 36, you're almost 40. Fucking 40 !!!! :eek::eek:

Happy birthday btw :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'm actually looking forward to getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Eddie and Patsy taught me that you can still drink champagne and smoke spliffs well into your early 100s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

Is life worth living after 35?

No, because then you have to think about settling down and therefore dealing with all the shít you did when you were under 35 - the years wasted, the now recognised alcohol problem, the stupid decisions you've made, etc - in order to actually become a responsible adult for the first time in your life.

Fuck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

They evolve into their final form

I'm 43 & still don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Look good, feel fit, apart from money I'm happier than I've ever been.

I loved turning 40, 41 was a bitch, total anti climax & a ****ty year, but since turning 42 I'm on the up again.

Life is good, enjoy it while you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Colmustard wrote: »
    Fukcen No I agree with the Logan Run philosophy once you reach 35 a light flashes in your hand and you go to carousel to be reborn as a baby.

Its actually alright you still have your hopes dreams and an erection in the morning,

Is that your own erection or sombody elses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

Ush1 wrote: »
    I'm actually looking forward to getting old.

I'm not looking forward to getting old, but I'm actually looking forward to getting older. It's a much calmer and more confident place than being in the head-wrecking early 20s.

Although having said that I heard of a (very popular) man in his late 50s who took his own life last week. It's usually only younger men who take their own lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

when I grow up i'm going to bovine university

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Am i wrong?

So wrong.

44 years old. Happily married. Three kids. Great job. Great friends. Seven figures in the bank. Five bedroom house paid in full.

I'm wondering if you have any idea of what 'enjoy life to the fullest' really means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Getting old is cool, everyone's doing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

You're only young...twice ;)

Make the most of what you have and you'll be fine!

Nobody wants to live to be 100 except the guy who is 99 :)
    (Change the numbers to suit your moment)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,361 ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Without a doubt, life only really starts to kick off once you've hit your thirties. And from my experience, it gets better with each passing year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Some people are always young, no matter how old they are. Just like some people are always old and never change.