Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

My imagination is going 90! :D

if serious: i am a big pc gamer. they all work in surround, so i play on 3 screens. cool for racing games, strategy games like shogun total war, FPS games good crack too.
    though mostly i play on middle screen, then got father ted/family guy/south park/cleveland show on the right monitor and ventrilo, browser on left one ( or any other important stuff at that minute ).

what can i say, i am a nerd. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Can you hold it in Galway ? :p

Eh, no... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The awkward moment when the exhaust falls off, again :rolleyes: still, now a 5 min job to bodge it on... Badly need time to weld it fully :(

And the bitter irony of being lectured by a drunk about road safety, due to my exhaust falling off! Standing in the middle of the road, in the thick fog. Wasn't he lucky I saw him... Because the car was a little loud, assumed a boy racer. Just typical :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

My imagination is going 90! :D

if serious: i am a big pc gamer. they all work in surround, so i play on 3 screens. cool for racing games, strategy games like shogun total war, FPS games good crack too.
    though mostly i play on middle screen, then got father ted/family guy/south park/cleveland show on the right monitor and ventrilo, browser on left one ( or any other important stuff at that minute ).

what can i say, i am a nerd. :p

I'm a total nerd too man, dont feel bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

This is my gaming crack

Eh, no... :p

i am from cork myself, but i would vote for limerick as best spot to meet up. would it be the most fair spot?

............?............?

Not a clue to be honest.
    The only crowd I ever bought a set of wheel nuts off don't have any coloured ones afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Anywhere outside the M50 atleast, Lucan would do

i am from cork myself, but i would vote for limerick as best spot to meet up. would it be the most fair spot?

I would think so but Cork people hate leaving Cork. :p

What about Lithuanian people leaving Cork?? Is it a matter of blow-in or not, residency is residency?

Oi! Casual racism?! :D

Well I am sort of from cork and it's a lot closer to cork, but I can see limerick to be the most fair for Galway and midland people. Unless you want to do it between cork and limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Got a 99 Clio in Balbriggan today for €250, NCT out a week. Towed it home in the fog at about half 9 and had a load of people beeping us on the way, we were like wtf? Turns out the wire for the lights snapped :( No lights on the back all the way up the M1 (N1?) from Balbriggan to Malahide :(

Also, might picking up a 00 Punto with a blown head gasket and broken timing belt for €150 if I don't find anything better

Gonna clean the Clio tomorrow and I'll put up some pics

Great day today :) Loads of buying and selling!

Well I am sort of from cork and it's a lot closer to cork, but I can see limerick to be the most fair for Galway and midland people. Unless you want to do it between cork and limerick?

Thurles - Perfect spot :D

Anywhere good half where in between to stop?Being in Limerick it might get people from Galway/Tipp in.
    Thurles - Perfect spot :D

For what? :p

As a place that's between Limerick and Cork and suits me perfectly. After that I actually have no idea what ye are talking about but I'm thinking that it's a Munster meet or something along those lines.

Between Cork and Limerick? :pac: What is there (if anything) to do in Thurles?

http://goo.gl/maps/LK2fB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

gollywog wrote: »
    I'm a total nerd too man, dont feel bad!

Ye think that ye are nerds, I play with Toy Soldiers on a regular basis.

On topic, I vote holding it in Cork in Little Island as its 10-15 mins away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Random pic of the day:
    347f1953.jpg

Between Cork and Limerick? :pac: What is there (if anything) to do in Thurles?

http://goo.gl/maps/LK2fB

Lots of places to stand around and lots of places to get food which is exactly what was done in Portlaoise ;)

By all means if you wanna organise a meet in Thurles, go for it. :)

Lol, no I was just suggesting a place, not offering my services! I've enough organising to do with TMM!

Hahaha, too easy... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Anyone at all know anyone for that 2007 407 I mentioned earlier?

well lads. remember the whole wheels thing?

i got a pm in forum that they never got my form, but i got a phone call 5 minutes ago from them... :rolleyes:

i just said " sorry, i did not got any contact yesterday, so i ordered from driftworks last night". Fella was not impressed.

I feel like an asshole now, but i really dont like the way it was handled. they should really improve their website and just have: " IT PUTS LOTION IN TO FECKING BASKET, OR IT GETS HOSE AGAIN" system and not " fill in and we contact you, maybe".

OSI wrote: »
    Not your problem they were incapable of completing your order at the time you needed.

i guess it pissed me more that they just made the whole day wasted, which could be used for a delivery. i am in the rush with these alloys as i cant really let misses drive mx5 with one alloy cracked. i understand if i would have placed order at 16:00, i would not expect to get a phone call at 16:20 etc, but my i filled in form at 12:30, so they had almost a full day of work to have a look.

i wont be naming it, because i dont know why did not got on the ball with order worth of 700eu++, maybe they were busy or maybe they just did not gave a ****, i dont know that. yeah, Its just a shame i could not give business to irish sellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

......... maybe they were busy or maybe they just did not gave a ****, i dont know that. yeah, Its just a shame i could not give business to irish sellers.

unfortunately that's common problem ., once thay not own a company, they no care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

back from holidays from native country. 12 days over 30 °C. 2 around 25°C. bit worked on fathers car, and some nice drive with my "lil" jeep, after which , my toyota avensis, with 1.8 petrol feels like pushbike :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

just calculated my glanzas MPG again, from memory i got 43MPG, 38MPG and this week 37MPG.

figures are dropping, but i think high 30's early 40's is good going :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

That just means you're not driving it right! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

dar83 wrote: »
    That just means you're not driving it right! :P

i think the figures getting lower mean i'm begging to get used to her :pac: still feels like a rocket after that big barge of a vectra.