Garda quits force & discloses disgraceful management

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

So there's nothing to be taken seriously in that article at all? It was all just one big rant, the justice system in this country is fine?

Basically, we all know this and our Garde I will venture are the highest paid policeforce in Europe.

So if he seen himself as some sort of superheroe who was going to sort the streets out he is a complete twat.

I hope he enjoys his future career as perhaps the Sunday world crime journo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

The Wire season 5 deals with police cutbacks very well.

it's a serious situation and cripples a police force.

It has to be reported somehow and he's right to do it, only a moron would think it's about getting attention for himself.

It's basic cut backs.

Leftist wrote: »
    The Wire season 5 deals with police cutbacks very well.

it's a serious situation and cripples a police force.

It has to be reported somehow and he's right to do it, only a moron would think it's about getting attention for himself.

It's basic cut backs.

I think he got a better offer, I doubt he is leaving for the dole.

We are all under cutbacks and we know why. So what in this country do we not reduce funding for, Health, Education, social welfare, justice

The chap is a twat and I wont be reading his future articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

keith16 wrote: »
    As I said, big difference between the justice system and a gard on the street doing his job. Entirely different things.

Entirely different but completely dependent on each other. If a judge is letting criminals off the hook or giving them lenient sentences does that not make the Gardaí's job harder? If judges are letting repeat offenders out on bail they hardly have much incentives to live a crime free life before they are banged up. I don't see why a Garda shouldn't be able to comment on the justice system, he has as much right as anybody else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Colmustard wrote: »
    Basically, we all know this and our Garde I will venture are the highest paid policeforce in Europe.

So if he seen himself as some sort of superheroe who was going to sort the streets out he is a complete twat.

I hope he enjoys his future career as perhaps the Sunday world crime journo.

Are they the highest paid police force? If so why is morale in the force so low? I doubt he seen himself as a superhero, just comes across to me as someone who is angry at the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

scum
    drug kingpin
    crime lord

He wrote the article but the Sunday World certainly edited it

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter stood up and said that there was "every reason for morale to be high" in An Garda Siochana. Gardaí in my station took this as a direct insult, a "let them eat cake" moment by a barrister

solicitor
    Not that it matters

Are they the highest paid police force? If so why is morale in the force so low? I doubt he seen himself as a superhero, just comes across to me as someone who is angry at the system.

Hit the googles and find a higher paid frontline copper in the western world.

Morale is low because of cutbacks, they are not having it as good as they use to, so should they be exempt from cutbacks, personally I think health is a higher priority, but that is me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The Gardai have all the same generic management problems that the rest of the Irish public sector has. Didn't see that coming. :rolleyes:

I think he got a better offer, I doubt he is leaving for the dole.

So that means what he say is wrong?

We are all under cutbacks and we know why. So what in this country do we not reduce funding for, Health, Education, social welfare, justice

Typical irish attitude. Lets not reach for improvement, lets not raise our standards, we're all in trouble with cut backs so everyone shut up.

So that means what he say is wrong?

Typical irish attitude. Lets not reach for improvement, lets not raise our standards, we're all in trouble with cut backs so everyone shut up.

Typical leftist attitude, money grows on trees, resources are infinite. It doesn't matter if he is right or wrong, what matters is his views are loaded. Its a rant from a guy who is moving on. Its not to be taken serious.

Cutbacks are a reality my wages has been slashed, I crib like fkcu, but I know why and I know there is nothing that can be done.

I wish I had the same options this twat seems to have. Good luck in his new and probably better paid career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

keith16 wrote: »
    All a Garda can do is bring someone before the court. Any injustice should not stop the gardaí from doing their job.

Why would they bother at all if they though "ah shure, the judge will just let them go with a slap on the wrist anyway"?

Even the most motivated of people can be demotivated when they see a poor system fail them for many reasons time and time again, its human nature, then deprive them of adquate resources and what do you expect. Its the public that will suffer long term!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

LOL

Anyone want to hear me crib about the management I am under. Nah didn't think so, we all crib and bitch about our managers and bosses, its human nature.
    To be fair, problems with the Gardaí are not like your manager not promoting you from chip duty.

Typical leftist attitude, money grows on trees, resources are infinite. It doesn't matter if he is right or wrong, what matters is his views are loaded. Its a rant from a guy who is moving on. Its not to be taken serious.

Cutbacks are a reality my wages has been slashed, I crib like fkcu, but I know why and I know there is nothing that can be done.

I wish I had the same options this twat seems to have. Good luck in his new and probably better paid career.

nobody said money is grown on trees, ridiculous comment tbh.

There's no harm on highlighting these side effects. Highlight why these services are suffering. The greater attention the more respect, the more pressure against further cutbacks and alknowledgement of who and what is responsible.

But that's just complaining for the sake of it I suppose. Lets all shut up and be 'happy to have a job'.

Any country that has that pathetic attitude deserves to be a mediocre, corrupt backwater.

Hit the googles and find a higher paid frontline copper in the western world.

Morale is low because of cutbacks, they are not having it as good as they use to, so should they be exempt from cutbacks, personally I think health is a higher priority, but that is me.

I did and I ended up on ebay buying copper!

I remember Enda Kenny promising 2,000 extra gardai in 2007

Story Enda?

Times have changed but Enda was ready to splash the cash too if he had won that election

To be fair, problems with the Gardaí are not like your manager not promoting you from chip duty.

Nasty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

You call it a rant - others can read it also as crap that is happening daily and the man spoke about it.
    By the way, he couldn't have talked about the situation while he was in the job for a number of legal reasons relating to his employment contact and possible penalising attached to such employment.

This view are his views but that don't take away from the facts that the crap he describes, is going on daily.
    That the Gardi is a political football.
    That the Gardi is under resourced and is a target for everyone who has a chip on their shoulder and looking for an easy target to take it out on.

The crap that they have to put put with should be taken very serious - but is not.
    Its being ignored while others complain about people actually standing up and saying just what the hell might actually be going on under their very noses!

nobody said money is grown on trees, ridiculous comment tbh.

There's no harm on highlighting these side effects. Highlight why these services are suffering. The greater attention the more respect, the more pressure against further cutbacks and alknowledgement of who and what is responsible.

But that's just complaining for the sake of it I suppose. Lets all shut up and be 'happy to have a job'.

Any country that has that pathetic attitude deserves to be a mediocre, corrupt backwater.

If there is cutbacks there will be side effects in service that is what happens wit cutbacks.

I don't know if you are up on current affairs but without going into economic details, there will be more cutbacks and the highest paid police force in Europe will also be taxed more and perhaps face another paycut.

That cannot be helped and that is the pressure most of us is under.

Biggins wrote: »
    You call it a rant - others can read it also as crap that is happening daily and the man spoke about it.
    By the way, he couldn't have talked about the situation while he was in the job for a number of legal reasons relating to his employment contact and possible penalising attached to such employment.

This view are his views but that don't take away from the facts that the crap he describes, is going on daily.
    That the Gardi is a political football.
    That the Gardi is under resourced and is a target for everyone who has a chip on their shoulder and looking for an easy target to take it out on.

The crap that they have to put put with should be taken very serious - but is not.
    Its being ignored while others complain about people actually standing up and saying just what the hell might actually be going on under their very noses!

SO other parts of the PS is not under pressure, because it is and morale is low. That is the nature of the situation Ireland is in. So some chap has the option of moving on and he lets rip a rant.

I will do the same if I ever leave my job, but don't take me serious.

If there is cutbacks there will be side effects in service that is what happens wit cutbacks.

I don't know if you are up on current affairs but without going into economic details, there will be more cutbacks and the highest paid police force in Europe will also be taxed more and perhaps face another paycut.

That cannot be helped and that is the pressure most of us is under.

Good man! you should be in government with an attitude llike that, you are just what the IMF want to meet when they come calling, you'll be forever walked on with an attitude like that, good luck to you!

SO other parts of the PS is not under pressure, because it is and morale is low. That is the nature of the situation Ireland is in. So some chap has the option of moving on and he lets rip a rant.

Remember to turn off the chip pan!

Did anyone say there's parts of the PS is not under pressure?
    If they did - I must have missed it.

Yes, the chap finally had the chance to speak up - good for bloody him!
    Damn shame more don't do it!

If you did it too with your previous experience in a prior job - and the situation was dire then - I would take you serious too!
    ...And rightly so!

Sometimes before we knock such people - they might have for years of service in a tough job, actually earned or deserved our respect instead of automatically just us giving them the boot in at any stage!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭someuser905

the police are overpaid and underworked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Salmon

Unfortunately a sustained media driven witch hunt against the public service has meant that it doesnt matter what his reasons for leaving were, the public at large will feel no sympathy for him. Its sad really that its sank this low, interesting to see the pride that the British had in their NHS at the Olympic opening ceremony last week. The public place no value on the work of the public service in Ireland and the sooner Public Servants realise this the better!

* - Awaits PS bashers - *

the police are overpaid and underworked

The police in England might be - what about our Gardi?

Alan Shatters house was burgled in March and they had immediate response, technical teams, people picked up off the streets and detectives to interview them

Nobody else would get that treatment. Someone will probably a promotion out of it

Shatter hasn't a clue what's going on around the country

Sees a great reponse, well isn't everything great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭OMARS_COMING_

guards have it easy enough,lets not try and pretend they are pushed for work to make this story more credible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭someuser905

Biggins wrote: »
    The police in England might be - what about our Gardi?

:rolleyes: learn to spell

Learn to spot the right country? :D