Tattoos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

<snip>

Mod: Banned.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

My OH has 9. If they are done properly they're nice. In proper places and proper ink so it's not faded after a few months that's cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

antodeco wrote: »
    My OH has 9. If they are done properly they're nice. In proper places and proper ink so it's not faded after a few months that's cool!

Agreed 100%. I hate when people get them badly done and they end up patchy, lumpy or just plain badly drawn.

I've had one of mine for 3 and a half years and it hasn't faded one bit because I don't expose to the elements constantly (sunlight makes them fade faster) and because I took care of it. The other one is only about 8 months old but showing no signs of needing a touch up. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    <snip>

I saw it, and I thought jeez thats horrible i wonder if its a man or a woman...manly hands!

Then I realised I am in fact an absolute idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I hate them

It used to be, fado fado that the Irish didnt have tattoos and the English did. I naively thought this was a sign of class. What a gob****e I was (am)

Anyone remember the days when kids wore badges of their favourite bands on their parkas?

Tattoos are for people with no personality or imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Carazy wrote: »
    Most tattoos that are ugly. Well especially the ones I have seen on people here in Ireland. The whole 'it means something special to me' is just an excuse that you got branded like an animal because you couldn't deal with guilt,death,family etc.

Your opinion is pretty fucking ugly to be honest. Horrendous.

D1stant wrote: »

So those people you see with amazing, self designed pieces of artwork that they get tattooed onto their bodies are lacking in imagination? How can one draw a great piece of artwork and be lacking imagination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

I used to have a parka with ub40 rules and bob marley patches... god what was i thinking.
    Just as well i didn't get a tatoo of that at the time!

Dont mind tatoos on others. I think they are nicer on men. But i have one on my upper shoulder but it was years ago and wish i didn't bother...

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    So those people you see with amazing, self designed pieces of artwork that they get tattooed onto their bodies are lacking in imagination? How can one draw a great piece of artwork and be lacking imagination?

And that might be geee ~ .5% of all of them? Sorry. Wearing your oh-so- intersting heart on you sleeve smacks of insecurity to me. Its pretty boring really

do you really think so few people design their own?

Also, I wear my heart on my calves, if we're talking about tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

this guy form uruguay is very talented at it, almost 3-d
    http://www.victorportugal.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

From the man who brought us imaginative threads such as...

- Why does David Norris have an English accent?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74443241

- Convertibles = ****?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72586392

and the amazing...

- Why do I hate Gilmore so much?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78847377

I have a suspicion that if you had a tattoo, it would be one of Joe Duffy's face.

From the man who brought us imaginative threads such as...

- Why does David Norris have an English accent?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74443241

- Convertibles = ****?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72586392

and the amazing...

- Why do I hate Gilmore so much?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78847377

I have a suspicion that if you had a tattoo, it would be one of Joe Duffy's face.

LOL

I'm flatter(n)ed by the research

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I have 2 full sleeves and my back tattooed, so I certainly wouldn't judge somebody for having them.
    I prefer to judge a person on the merit of their actions towards others rather than their appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭OMARS_COMING_

if you get a tattoo then you are pretty sad to be honest.

Think about it,what is the point in them? they are there for life and serve no purpose make you look like a pikey.

Mod note: User banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Think about it,what is the point in them? they are there for life and serve no purpose make you look like a pikey.

Why buy nice clothes? Why get your ears pierced? Why cut and brush your hair? Why shave? Why care about your appearance at all?

I have tattoos and I'm far from sad. In fact, I'm pretty happy. :pac:

They serve a purpose. They can be a reminder of a great or difficult time in your life, they could be something that you enjoy the look of on your skin, etc. Same as piercings, except they are there for life.

Pierced ears are a fashion statement, as are tattoos. Piercings serve no real purpose, the only reason they're not bitched about as much as tattoos is because they're something that everyone has (aside from myself because piercings freak me out, I don't know a single person, male or female without pierced ears at least) and they can be taken out. They leave scars though!

I have 2 full sleeves and my back tattooed, so I certainly wouldn't judge somebody for having them.
    I prefer to judge a person on the merit of their actions towards others rather than their appearance.

Me2

Dont you see the contradiction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Notice a certain trend in 20 something males in having the whole arm sleeve tattooed, a lot of premiership footballers have it as well, can't help thinking what if this goes out of fashion in five years time? Loads of people stuck with tats they don't want anymore

After Hours people. Just do what I do. Put people like this on your ignore list - hey presto! no more nonsense! It works, I swear.

VEN wrote: »
    this guy form uruguay is very talented at it, almost 3-d
    http://www.victorportugal.com

Some bloody amazing work on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Depends on the tattoo and the location. Some tattoos are tacky and scream skanger. Some look good in one place but tacky somewhere else.

I like a lot of them and I hate a lot of them. I wouldn't get one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

In that case i consider everyone with material possisions to be a sad person (well above the bare essensiols).

Think about it, What is the point in them? you are born with nothing and will die with nothing. you can't bring any of them with you. They dont make you happy. Actully most people work 40 hours weeks just to get these material possisions. This is time away from family and partner and kids.
    No i think everyone that has material possiosion to be pretty sad.

Atleast tattoos can have meaning. There can be something behind it. Can remind you of a hard time in your life, or something that you have dedicated your life too or ect. I will proberly get one (that cant be seen) at some stage.

see the way broad general statments that put everyone on the same level dont work.... Sure there is some sad people that get tattoos but there is also some quite happy people that aslo get them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭OMARS_COMING_

In that case i consider everyone with material possisions to be a sad person (well above the bare essensiols).

Think about it, What is the point in them? you are born with nothing and will die with nothing. you can't bring any of them with you. They dont make you happy. Actully most people work 40 hours weeks just to get these material possisions. This is time away from family and partner and kids.
    No i think everyone that has material possiosion to be pretty sad.

Atleast tattoos can have meaning. There can be something behind it. Can remind you of a hard time in your life, or something that you have dedicated your life too or ect. I will proberly get one (that cant be seen) at some stage.

see the way broad general statments that put everyone on the same level dont work.... Sure there is some sad people that get tattoos but there is also some quite happy people that aslo get them

You are right and i am sorry my comment was obviously not only stupid and wrong,but also immature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Bookworm85

Mine serve a purpose actually! I have a chronic skin condition that I have to live with for the rest of my life. My tattoos have given me the confidence to go out in public in something a bit flashier than a polo neck. I'd much rather people compliment the pretty flowers on my shoulder than recoil in horror at the sight of my affliction :)

A very good friend of mine has tattoos on her arm to disguise a keyloid scar on her arm and back. She suffered horrific burns in an accident as a child and she is much more comfortable in her skin with a bit of ink as camouflage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I don't judge people for having them in that I won't think you're somehow below me for having them. My opinion on the tattoos themselves is that they're awful looking yokes and I will probably never understand body art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I mentioned to my friends that I'd get something stupid on my arse ...

They said they'd give me 50 euro each if I actually did it, but they had to pick it.

There's a whole load of them all after getting in on it so I'd get some serious money. I'd be giving it to charity though.

Going to do it in the next few weeks.

Worst part of it all is I won't regret it in the slightest!

I have a tatoo on my shoulder but i don't show it off, it's personal.

I've seen lads like Anto & Deco get their name on their lower arms, maybe they forget anto & deco easily.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

dd972 wrote: »
    Notice a certain trend in 20 something males in having the whole arm sleeve tattooed, a lot of premiership footballers have it as well, can't help thinking what if this goes out of fashion in five years time? Loads of people stuck with tats they don't want anymore

that makes tattooing even better, it's punishing saps like them for life while rewarding people who are both big and clever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hate them.