Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag week is Drag week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Carlow IT doesn't have a bar to be shut down anyway ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

indeed :(

we need our own bar!

we got our own board, now we oughta campaign for a bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

maybe if we had a bar in the college, you might attend more often????

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,021 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

There still plans to have a bar build in 2004??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

I finished rag week early this year (today)
    I'm burned out and broke.
    Monday was the best day ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by eth0_
    Rag = Raise A Grand
    UC?

F*ck off and get a job if thats your attitude. We all know the reasons we give the grown ups for Rag Week but really its just an excuse for anarchy. Call yourself a student?:p

I wonder do any colleges still do the Raise a grand thing?

Carlow IT students raised a decent amount of money for the south leinster rape crisis centre last year with the sponsored bungee jumping. Weh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Snowball

I did not even know that rag week was suposed to be about rasing money. U think that they would have put something like that in the "Rag Mag". Sham on the editor

Where the hell is the rag mag this year anyway? I haven't seen any copies of it around the college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Snowball

that small booklet with green writing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭ali.g

u haven seen ne copies as the copies were exactly "handed out" as per se......but jeasus was this years rag week a load of mongolian camels balls....in fairness nothin went on in the college....at least last year they had bunjee n **** ....this year they had people giving out free kit kat bars in promos for meteor...woo hoo.....and as for d nite life....same ol same ol....do the people who organise reag week have no imagination or minds of their own for gods sake!! fair nuff its a lot to organise but jeasus how many of them r there they syrely would be able to organise somethin decent...anywho rag week sucked big time!!! it was a normal week for me anyway ...drink lots o whiskey!!! i dont have to have a week called "rag week" to do that!!! sorry for the bitchin tho but it had to b said!!!

they could not have the bunjee jump as the insurance cost was too high. The metor think had nothing to do with rag week as far as i know. RAG week was class if you ask me. You have to get out and make some of your own fun, you can't expect everything to be laid out in front of you. There was a wedding in the canteen which was short (I was the grooms man) but if you followed it down town there was brillant crack in scraggs and nexus.
    What do you want the college to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭pyure

rag week was **** cool this year, much better than last year thats for sure.
    hope you all went along to the band (blue moose ?) in the tower on thursday, they rocked out big time.

i stuck to my usually drinking nights and habits (sunday, tuesday, thursday, with a party on wednesday), so to alot of peoples suprise - including my own :p - i didnt die of liver failure during the week and even went to a few classes.

but it was a great week, so quit yer bad mouthin

cya's in scraggs during the week ;-)

what sort of music do blue moose play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Originally posted by ali.g
    but jeasus was this years rag week a load of mongolian camels balls....in fairness nothin went on in the college....at least last year they had bunjee n **** ....this year they had people giving out free kit kat bars in promos for meteor...woo hoo.....and as for d nite life....same ol same ol....do the people who organise reag week have no imagination or minds of their own for gods sake!! fair nuff its a lot to organise but jeasus how many of them r there they syrely would be able to organise somethin decent...anywho rag week sucked big time!!! it was a normal week for me anyway ...drink lots o whiskey!!! i dont have to have a week called "rag week" to do that!!! sorry for the bitchin tho but it had to b said!!!

I agree, Its like a regular saturday night out everyday, if the masses condider this great, I shake my head in utter disapointment!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Bicky

tomtom is right. you got to make your own fun. i had a great weeks craic because instead of waiting for other people to make me enjoy myself i actually went out and did something. Fair enough the college activity was pretty lame but rag week is about drink and scraggs and both of them were fairly kicking all this week.
    As for every night last week being like a normal night out i think your talking bull****. if you had gone out you would have felt the party atmosphere which is sadly lacking since the start of the year here in carlow. i was out every night and the only bad one for me (socially) was wed when i was so stoned i didnt even know where the **** i was. still i enjoyed myself. :)

bluemoose were brilliant. when they broke into rage i nearly got killed in the mosh. we need more of that kinda thing to bring us all together. imagine a world with sodamn insane and bush and that other north korean guy(chong or sometihing???) in the mosh pit. sure no more war. well mabey a few bloody noses and the odd thousand people killed here and there but hey its all in the name of fun right.......

You stoned again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭ShayK1

BlueMoose where deadly!! Absolutely brilliant band!
    They play anything from Green Day to Chilli Peppers to Rage Against The Machine!
    They really get a crowd goin!!

And i had an excellent week even though i had to work Monday, Friday and Saturday!!

Originally posted by Bicky
    As for every night last week being like a normal night out i think your talking bull****. if you had gone out you would have felt the party atmosphere which is sadly lacking since the start of the year here in carlow.

I was out, felt the party atmosphere, better than usual but still nothing spectacular. Its depends what you call a 'normal' night out:D :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭mada999

i have to say i started this post on monday saying that rag week was drag week, but it was fúcking brilliant!!!! i retract my statement a class week!!

you have to go out make your own fun...

thats what weekends and saturday nights are for....rag week is about the students union organisin activites for the students as a week of relief b4 the run up to the exams...if i wanted to go get locked in scraggs...whats wrong with fri sat an sun nite....but havin it durin the week wow thats gr8(sarcasm) take a look at UCD's rag week...they have lots of crazy things going on durin d week and you dont even have to leave the college.....like can u say you had great fun without sayin you were locked....didn think so....dont get me wrong bein locked is gr8 but thats what weekends are for!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭mada999

weekends are for slaving a way in mcdonalds for €5.98 to keep urself in college. thats what the weekends are for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

good point, rag week was fun, but it was ALL alcohol based. not that there is anything wrong with that, just it might have been fun to get the craic going without the aid of alcohol. stuff like the bungee jumpin would be great craic. ah well. thats over now.

ya it is over...workin in mcdonalds.....here i slave in the dinn ri every weekend till late hours in the morn...but i dont comlain i get on with my weekend and make the best of it......its a job and its money!!!!

I get i nice summer job that, sorts me for the college year, no need to work while in college or bum money out of the parents:D

well thats one that wil never happen get money off parents....as 4summer job i lived and worked in dublin for the summer it was quite expensive living up there so didn come out of that with enought to get me through!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭ShayK1

I work two jobs with sh1te pay to try keep petrol in the car! Credit in the phone ...food in the belly and the occasional JD and Coke or two on a Thursday night!
    I never ask the parents for money unless i am really really really stuck! I hate doin it! Sooner ask the brothers or sister!