Is it ok to strike a girl under certain circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

shedweller wrote: »
    Where does the law stand on this?
    The law makes no distinction unless it's sexual assault. On plain old assault, all people are equal.

Of course, when a man ends up in front of our sexist judiciary, he will likely find himself being told off and punished by the judge for failing to control himself and be told to pay compensation and attend counselling, even if he's testifying as the victim.

In the video posted above, I actually think the police officer was out of line. When she hit him, the first thing he should have done is cuffed her and thrown her in a cell, not let her rant on and then smack her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

If a girl hit me, I'd charge at her screaming "I'm the juggernaut, bitch!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

I recall a case in Australia where a cop was intervening in a domestic dispute and he had the man subdued when the female victim stabbed him in the back in an astonishing change of heart, apparently defending her attacker from the policeman.

A lot of police forces attend domestic disputes only in pairs, having one cop to look out for attacks from the victim.

The Australian cop died because he made the dangerous assumption that he was safe from a woman, a fatal form of male chauvinism.

I would never hit anyone in normal circumstances but would take action if needed in the face of a bottle or a knife etc..

Gender equality has lead to increased aggression and "male-like" qualities in women, but they still hark back to and expect the civilities extended to them in former days such as forebearance and "taking abuse like a man".

If anyone uses violence against me I am an equal opportunities deployer......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If a girl hit me, I'd charge at her screaming "I'm the juggernaut, bitch!"

or hit her with a flying belly attack, E. Honda stylee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Don't hit anyone unless they hit you first, regardless of gender.

If someone does hit you, hit them back, regardless of gender.

(Unless it's a feeble weedy punch that you can just laugh at)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

First it must be a ****ty club/pub you went to if theres no one to throw her out,and second no matter male or female she deserved all what came to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I've not had to hit someone in about 15years (self defense), but if a woman thinks that she can hit me and that i wont defend myself just because she is a woman then she is in for a surprise.It's the whole "never hit a girl in any circumstance" attitude that lets these women think that they can go up and have a go at lads, I've seen it happen. I will defend myself, even if that was from a woman, because i know I would never be the aggressor in any situation. If your big enough to throw a punch, dont be surprised if you get one in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 GunRunner

In my opinion if it's okay for a woman to hit a man, then it's also okay for a man to hit a woman. If I smacked a man (unlikely), I'd actually be angry if he didn't hit me back just because I'm female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I'm a girl and if a guy is getting repeatedly slapped/punched by a girl he has every right to restrain her with all the force he can muster- if that means stunning her with a slap round the chops, so be it.

I don't condone punching her lights out for a playful slap, but you have to draw the line somewhere. Just cos you're female, does not give you carte blanche to beat the **** out of a guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Yes, it's ok if it's self defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Jester252 wrote: »
    Its never okay for a guy to hit a girl.

What if she was to come at ya with something, like a bottle?

A guy can over power a girl no problem. There is other ways on disabling the person then hitting them. A guy has a good 10 kg on a girl. He can take her down just by sheer force alone. The guards are able to detain suspects without hitting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

A guy can over power a girl no problem. There is other ways on disabling the person then hitting them. A guy has a good 10 kg on a girl. He can take her down just by sheer force alone. The guards are able to detain suspects without hitting

The Gardaí are trained to do so and also have the back up of their partner.
    Girls (in my experience of club security) do not tend to follow the same rules are guys, in a fight. They will bite, scratch and go for the nuts. You might think that you have restrained a girl, only to get a bite on the cheek or a knee in the nuts.
    I carry anywhere between 20-50 kgs on most guys, so if one of them hits me I should do nothing because I out weigh him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

If she knows how to throw a punch she should know how to take one.

I wouldn't be surprised if I threw a punch at a guy twice the size of me, built like brick shìthouse and he swung back at me.

One thing I've seen from some women fighting is that they're completely vicious and don't follow the same rules guys do in a fight (biting, pulling hair, scratching, nut shots, etc), often seen girls use their heels as weapons.

You try restraining a woman riled up from a fight and she'll only get more vicious if you don't let her go (plus her pals might join in and give you a few nice kicks in the face)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

Thats complete bullsheeeet! Its that pussified attitude that lets scum get away with it over and over again

I agree with the sentiment but them's the rules. It's the law. My life/career etc. does not need an assault charge against me. Besides I've been involved in various combat sports over the years, a box in the face isn't something I'm to bothered about.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    I agree with the sentiment but them's the rules. It's the law. My life/career etc. does not need an assault charge against me. Besides I've been involved in various combat sports over the years, a box in the face isn't something I'm to bothered about.

So a broken nose, teeth, cheek bone is nothing to worry about? What about lacerations and bruises? If I go out for a few drinks I should not have to contend with that crap from anyone

Given the situation, man or woman yeah. Im not sexist :D

The Gardaí are traing to do so and also have the back up of their partner.
    Girls (in my experience of club security) do not tend to follow the same rules are guys, in a fight. They will bite, scratch and go for the nuts. You might think that you have restrained a girl, only to get a bite on the cheek or a knee in the nuts.
    I carry anywhere between 20-50 kgs on most guys, so if one of them hits me I should do nothing because I out weigh him?

It's not a case of doing nothing but to be legally self defense it must be proportionate to the threat. So if a lad of about 65Kg soaking wet swings for you, it's going to be hard to prove self defense if you batter him into a pulp. Now if he starts handing out crisp one two's and knows what he's at it's a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Q: why do keep beating your wife?

A: your honour. I think it's my superior footwork and better range

So a broken nose, teeth, cheek bone is nothing to worry about? What about lacerations and bruises? If I go out for a few drinks I should not have to contend with that crap from anyone

I totally agree I'm just stating the law's point of view as I understand it. Note, I'm not a solicitor so I may be wide of the mark.

And what you're describing above is a sustained assault in which case you'd be within your rights to defend yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

All absolute nonsense. Some guys are small. Some women are complete tanks youd need an electrified net to restrain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

At what point is it ok for a bloke to strike a girl?

spanking is okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

All absolute nonsense. Some guys are small. Some women are complete tanks youd need an electrified net to restrain.

Couldn't agree more

The Gardaí are traing to do so and also have the back up of their partner.

Plus who in their right mind is going to have a go at you!?!? You must be about 120Kg? That's like taking on two people. I'm about the 105Kg and never get any bother.
    Also if I was going to bars crap like this was happening me regularly I'd change my choice of venue.

There is other ways on disabling the person then hitting them.

why on earth would you want to hit them after disabling them, that's just mean

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

As has been said, if she's 'big' enough to punch/kick me expect to be hit back. That goes for anybody of any size. I may get a hiding from it, but I'd rather get a hiding while making them think twice about hitting someone, than just get a hiding.

It's not a case of doing nothing but to be legally self defense it must be proportionate to the threat. So if a lad of about 65Kg soaking wet swings for you, it's going to be hard to prove self defense if you batter him into a pulp. Now if he starts handing out crisp one two's and knows what he's at it's a different story.

If someone is swinging at me and I can end it with one punch then I will. I will not be trying to "restrain" them and leave myself open for further assault.

On your next comment.
    One punch can open up a cut or break teeth/bone. Especially if the person has rings on their fingers

Plus who in their right mind is going to have a go at you!?!? You must be about 120Kg? That's like taking on two people. I'm about the 105Kg and never get any bother.
    Also if I was going to bars crap like this was happening me regularly I'd change my choice of venue.

How did you guess:D

If someone is swinging at me and I can end it with one punch then I will. I will not be trying to "restrain" them and leave myself open for further assault.

On your next comment.
    One punch can open up a cut or break teeth/bone. Especially if the person has rings on their fingers

All seems fair enough so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Never hit back.

Press charges and hit them where it really hurts! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

A girl punching a guy is not the same as a guy punching a girl. Males are much stronger than female its a fact of life.