No facebook account = suspicious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ThunderApple

Omg, the world is getting more and more crazy every day. They are going to give you 1000 reasons why you have to put all your real data and pictures of everyone you've ever met on Facebook.

I've heard Facebook was planning to launch some kind of a job market app. You possible future boss can see all your messages, drunken linked pictures and all the 'funny' shared crap you've ever posted. No, thank you. I hope I won't have to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I deleted my facebook account and by tomorrow it will be deleted forever.

I was constantly checking it and feck all happening on it. So it's gone and don't really miss it. Couldn't give s fcuk if someone has one or not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

You can almost see Zuckerberg laughing manically and stroking his white cat when he reads articles like this. He is one step closer to global domination if the consenus is that people who don't use his site are deviants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I don't monitor FB accounts. Provided it doesn't impact the business, i believe private and professional lives be kept seperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I wouldnt equate No facebook account=Suspicious

but that said i do know someone who wouldnt keep one for years as he was cheating on his girlfriend on nights out and he was afraid one of the other girls would cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Fuckfacebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

I don't see the point of FB either. I've a cellphone to communicate with my mates so why do I need that ****. All I'm seeing there are stupid sad statuses that I don't even give a single ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I'm suspicious because I'm not availing of the services of a private business who lives off selling my data?

There's nothing suspicious about not having a Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

I have to admit, if I met an Irish person over here who had no friends from his home area he could introduce me to, coupled with not having a FB account, I would think it pretty likely he was running away from something sinister. People with a vague past usually have one for a reason.

why would they want to share their friends and personal **** with you if you've just met? i personally know people i wouldn't add on facebook, its my private space, my business and my business only. no hard feelings.
    sure here, have a look in my wardrobe or better still i'll show you my bank account!

Did i ever show you the pic of me puking at my mates party.?

░░░░░░░░███████████████░░░░░░░░
    ░░░░░█████████████████████░░░░░
    ░░░░████████████████████████░░░
    ░░░██████████████████████████░░
    ░░█████████████████████████████
    ░░███████████▀░░░░░░░░░████████
    ░░███████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███
    ░████████████░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
    ░█░░███████░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░░██
    █░░░░█████░░░░░░▄███████░░██░░█
    █░░█░░░███░░░░░██▀▀░░░░░░░░██░█
    █░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░▄██▄░░░░░░░███
    █░░▄█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█▀▀█▄░██
    █░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░██░
    ░███░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░█░░
    ░░█░█░░░░░░░█░░░░░██▀▄░▄██░░░█░
    ░░█░█░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░
    ░░░██░░░░░░█░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░█░░
    ░░░██░░░░░░░█░░█▄▄▄▄░▀▀██░░█░░░
    ░░░██░░░░░░░█░░▀████████░░█░░░░
    ░░█░░█░░░░░░░█░░▀▄▄▄▄██░░█░░░░░
    ░░█░░░█░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░
    ░█░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░
    ░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░████████░░░░░░░

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

How do you close a Facebook account? Is that possible?
    Is is possible to deactivate, and I've done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

kincsem wrote: »
    How do you close a Facebook account? Is that possible?

it is but they give you 2 or 3 weeks where your account is in limbo waiting to be closed just in case you change your mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,986 ✭✭✭amacca

I recently opened a facebook account having not had one for years and years because I needed access to some facebook only sites..tag rugby etc to join

it has 13 "friends" on it that are only there because they were email contacts in the email address I supplied

Having got access to what I wanted I rarely ever log in and I dont respond to friend requests on account of not wanting people from different areas of my life to link to pictures of me out drinking whatever etc that have been tagged.....

I think its an invasive, kind of insidious thing in a way.......I'm not a mass murderer :D and genuinely have very little or nothing to hide but I'm not really comfortable with the idea that everytime you go out etc pictures of you can be up for all to see kinda keeps me nervous and stops me from relaxing when out sometimes if a person you know with a facebook account that simpl must take a million photos and tag you specifically in them is on the prowl........you all know the person I mean too I'll bet

I hope Facebook dies a death in favour of something less invasive.........wonder if all the bebo migrants to facebook will join up and migrate into linkedin in a couple of years

I know people whos job it is to go through peoples facebook accounts as their job. There is so much info up there. Insurance company's etc ... Got rid of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Ghandee wrote: »
    I don't care that your in the mall. .

Notorioux wrote: »
    I don't see the point of FB either. I've a cellphone to communicate with my mates.

WTF are people talking like this :confused:

why would they want to share their friends and personal **** with you if you've just met? i personally know people i wouldn't add on facebook, its my private space, my business and my business only. no hard feelings.

I will re phrase.

Say I met an Irish girl, over here, who did not have FB, or even someone from another country/ different part of Australia. Things are going well, she wants to move in together.

Yet I have never met one friend of hers from her hometown, and have no evidence she is even in any contact with anyone back home bar family.

You would not be just a tad suspicious of whether this person has something to hide? People who have no discernible past usually do not have one for a good reason, I have met a few people in my time like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭V_Moth

I will re phrase.

Say I met an Irish girl, over here, who did not have FB, or even someone from another country/ different part of Australia. Things are going well, she wants to move in together.

Yet I have never met one friend of hers from her hometown, and have no evidence she is even in any contact with anyone back home bar family.

You would not be just a tad suspicious of whether this person has something to hide? People who have no discernible past usually do not have one for a good reason, I have met a few people in my time like that.

Paranoid much?
    After your first date you will wake up in a bath full of ice without kidneys.

eth0 wrote: »
    it is but they give you 2 or 3 weeks where your account is in limbo waiting to be closed just in case you change your mind

LOL
    Facebook NEVER fully deactivate your account.
    You can still log back in 1 year after deactivation and everything will still be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

V_Moth wrote: »
    Paranoid much?
    After your first date you will wake up in a bath full of ice without kidneys.

I would not be paranoid of someone who plain does not like FB if I had met, say, a few friends who had grown up with them.

But for someone not to have it, and to seemingly have no contact with friends they grew up with, you would not find it a bit sus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

I will re phrase.

no i wouldn't be suspicious at all. maybe she uses Badoo, Orkut or yes Myspace. maybe she doesn't bother and uses just skype and email, msn, google chat. its endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

But for someone not to have it, and to seemingly have no contact with friends they grew up with, you would not find it a bit sus?

Most of the friends I grew up with are dead, will facebook put me in contact with them.

Personally I don't give a rats arse about facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I'm in my mid thirties and don't have a FB account, I'm also not in contact with anyone I went to school with and haven't been for 15+ years. I have browsed facebook and have found that I'm the only one from my leaving cert class that doesn't have an account.

You'd hold that against me?

I have valid reasons for not being friends with these people - wouldn't have much in common with them now and most of them were w*nkers in school anyway. Maybe they're different now but I really don't have any desire to find out if this is the case.

I'd actually regard a lot of this "friending" that goes on to be quite pathetic. From my LC class I see that people are FB friends with those who bullied them in a vile manner. Not only are they friends with each other now, they're also friends with each others' wives/gfs. Pretty bizarre in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭war_child

i had a faceache account a while back (now closed) to many little keyboard cowboys wanting to start non sensical fights with people they dont know.

I would hope any employer i sent my CV to would have the common sense to judge me on my experience rather than the adolesent drunken ramblings of people who post on that thing.

I think faceache should be outlawed as it does nothing but tell people were you are every minute of the day, destroys one to one interaction with parents and der snot nosed kids who think OMG my loife is quite literally goin to end if i dont let all my friends know i had a cheese sandwich 20 seconds ago......quite simply its the biggest killer of brain cells since whiskey

RVP 11 wrote: »
    **** Facebook.

This.

When RVP isn't banging them in for Arsenal (though prob not for much longer :() he is making sensible comments on boards.ie. :)

Whoever is on it sure good luck to them and i can see some purposes that it serves but in an overall sense it just isn't for me.

I have a weird flatmate from last year who despite having naff all social skills herself is insisting 'i dont know what im missing'.
    Thanks but no thanks love and you can draw any assumptions you like from my stance on this issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,930 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Proof!

Hitler wasn't on Facebook, therefore people not on Facebook are bad!

I think I just Darwined my own post.

war_child wrote: »
    i had a faceache account a while back (now closed) to many little keyboard cowboys wanting to start non sensical fights with people they dont know.

I would hope any employer i sent my CV to would have the common sense to judge me on my experience rather than the adolesent drunken ramblings of people who post on that thing.

I think faceache should be outlawed as it does nothing but tell people were you are every minute of the day, destroys one to one interaction with parents and der snot nosed kids who think OMG my loife is quite literally goin to end if i dont let all my friends know i had a cheese sandwich 20 seconds ago......quite simply its the biggest killer of brain cells since whiskey

High 5 your a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭war_child

Victor wrote: »
    Proof!

Hitler wasn't on Facebook, therefore people not on Facebook are bad!

I think I just Darwined my own post.

Ye but neither was mother Teresa and Gandhi and they never went an spawned a snotty love child

PROOF lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Jason Todd wrote: »
    I don't care whether someone has an fb account or not... what bothers me are the people who don't have one and somehow think they are better than you for not having one. :confused:

Those kind of people are on a par with people who smugly tell you they don't ever watch television and don't even own one. Um, OK, good for you. :confused:

I will re phrase.

God almighty how did all those who left Ireland on the famine ships and in the 150 odd years prior to the facebook age ever survive? :rolleyes:

In a strange country, meeting other people with not a facebook account to their name. God above when i think of them poor divils :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I'm not enjoying face book any more while it is handy for me to contact people and sort out stuff I really don't like using it unless its for something, useful like traveling information, which is what i do, or getting info about stuff i know you can get third hand info of the web but some second hand info can be a lot more useful...

I think it's dead handy, how ever in recent years I think people have abused it and its kinda gives of the impression that its turning the world into some sort of sinister, sci fi movie with all this checking in crap..

How ever for small companies I think it can be a really useful tool to get your product/services out there...

As for having no account and being suspicious thats a load of crap 10 years ago we didn't have face book now we do... Some people don't want to share that side of there life on the web which I is totally acceptable...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I have to admit, if I met an Irish person over here who had no friends from his home area he could introduce me to, coupled with not having a FB account, I would think it pretty likely he was running away from something sinister. People with a vague past usually have one for a reason.

What the actual fuck? Why does a person have to hang around with other Irish people wherever they go? I actively avoided them when I was in Australia. Don't be so stupidly narrowminded.