Do you know anyone that's Irish that doesn't like Irish music?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

A very small amount of it is good. I hate the rest. I dont think I know anybody who likes it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

So would these people who claim to like it go out and buy cds of gypsy or Balkan music or polkas or mazurkas which are similiar (and way better musically IMO?) Of course not-they only like it because of the Irish penchant for self-aggrandising bullsh1t. "O'Connell St is the widest Street in Europe; Irish is a beautiful language; hurling's the fastest game in the world; Daniel Day Lewis is Irish etc."
    Stop thinking and acting like peasants-it's the reason the country's so sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

latenia wrote: »
    So would these people who claim to like it go out and buy cds of gypsy or Balkan music or polkas or mazurkas which are similiar (and way better musically IMO?) Of course not-they only like it because of the Irish penchant for self-aggrandising bullsh1t. "O'Connell St is the widest Street in Europe; Irish is a beautiful language; hurling's the fastest game in the world; Daniel Day Lewis is Irish etc."
    No, I don't buy CDs, what kind of weirdo still buys CDs?

One Killa album covers most of the trad music from around the world, so I just listen to them. It saves loads of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Trad is not the same thing as folk. I've been a trad musician for 20 years and I couldn't play you a Dubliner's song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Operative phrase. It's your opinion, nothing else.

Some people like Irish music and not gypsy jazz. They're not the same at all, one can like one and not the other. If you think people's musical tastes are dictated by nationality, you're very wrong. I play regularly with an Italian woman and a French man, both of whom enjoy the music. Not because they want to be Irish, but because it's good music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

brummytom wrote: »
    Operative phrase. It's your opinion, nothing else.

Some people like Irish music and not gypsy jazz. They're not the same at all, one can like one and not the other. If you think people's musical tastes are dictated by nationality, you're very wrong. I play regularly with an Italian woman and a French man, both of whom enjoy the music. Not because they want to be Irish, but because it's good music.

refer to the first line of the above reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

ScumLord wrote: »
    No, I don't buy CDs, what kind of weirdo still buys CDs?

I do. I'm aware that makes me a freak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

ScumLord wrote: »
    One Killa album covers most of the trad music from around the world, so I just listen to them. It saves loads of time.

I presume you mean Kila and I pray you're being ironic-it's like owning a Vanilla Ice album and claiming to be a hip-hop fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Im sure ur looking for a reaction with a comment like that.

I like trad music because of the variety of styles, instrumental, singing irish and english. The music makes me happy. The lyrics in the songs have meaning, and if you think im talking about RA songs, or anything even related to england, you havent a clue what ur talking about. Many folk songs sung in ireland are of english, scottish, welsh and irish origin. I could name maybe 50 off hand now that arent irish but are sung regularly at sessions.

There is no aggrandising involved, the songs, in my opinion are FAR superior to what i hear in nightclubs, on the radio, bands in feckin pubs, both lyrically and musically.

If i see a band setting up in a pub in town with full bass, drum kit and electric guitar, I leave.

And NO, I dont buy CD's... i sit in on sessions, live music!

theres alot plenty of polkas and mazurkas played at sessions, irish and foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

As long as it's not the Wolfe Tones, jasus, they're shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

neil_hosey wrote: »
    Im sure ur looking for a reaction with a comment like that.

I like trad music because of the variety of styles, instrumental, singing irish and english. The music makes me happy. The lyrics in the songs have meaning, and if you think im talking about RA songs, or anything even related to england, you havent a clue what ur talking about. Many folk songs sung in ireland are of english, scottish, welsh and irish origin. I could name maybe 50 off hand now that arent irish but are sung regularly at sessions.

There is no aggrandising involved, the songs, in my opinion are FAR superior to what i hear in nightclubs, on the radio, bands in feckin pubs, both lyrically and musically.

If i see a band setting up in a pub in town with full bass, drum kit and electric guitar, I leave.

And NO, I dont buy CD's... i sit in on sessions, live music!

theres alot plenty of polkas and mazurkas played at sessions, irish and foreign.
    I love trad sessions in pubs, but my pet hate is when they plug into amps.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Biggins wrote: »
    I like a small select amount, the rest bores me to crap!
    This. I do like the sound of the unaccompanied uilleann pipes playing slow airs, haunting ain't in it, but personally find the jigs and reels, the usual "diddly eye" Irish music found in pubs and such very repetitive. I've tried to tune my ear to it, but I find it hard to discern much of a diff between songs, never mind changes within the same song.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 307 ✭✭CodyJarrett

brummytom wrote: »
    I play regularly with an Italian woman and a French man

Ooooooh Matron!

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Old men with beards in wooly jumpers singing songs of misery & despair about people starving in the famine, being killed by Brits, and having to leave Ireland for America.

Sure what's not to like?
    I started off listening to and playing seriously loud vicious punk, moved on gradually, and now play mostly folk/trad (though I still ocasionally for the crack belt out some Crass, Conflict or Pistols if I get my hands on an electric guitar, but not in the pub :D), I couldn't be further from the image you portray above, a great thing about folk music is it transcends age, social "classes" and even nationality.

I have never met anyone who doesn't like ANY Irish music as per the OP's criteria.

For your delectation, here is some real dance music. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I can't fcuking stand that fidddly diddly rubbish, it gives me a headache. And my Brother in Law is mad into it so I've heard every variety of it going, his wedding was absolute torture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I hate it. Smelly bogmen letting Guinness farts in a smelly little old pub talking about things that happened 60 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

MJ23 wrote: »
    I hate it. Smelly bogmen letting Guinness farts in a smelly little old pub talking about things that happened 60 years ago.

Talks 'bout turf and the GAA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

I dont like a lot of it, mainly the cheesy local caoli hall type tripe. But when its done well by really good musicians it can be brilliant, like below..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Yes, but they are protestants, mostly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

neil_hosey wrote: »
    i cant actually listen to much other music than trad music. I cant get enough of it.

That includes folk and ballads.
    Oh if you include folk and such in the mix then yes I'd be onboard there alright NH. Plus watching/listening to someone like Seamus Ennis on the pipes is a joy to behold, just for the pure skill involved, but in general the diddly eye stuff leaves me cold. I find it strangely bloodless in it's repetition(the fiddle in particular irritates my ear). Dunno why. Individual taste I suppose.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

hate it, actually sends me into a rage to be around it, used to work in a music shop and around tourist season we'd have to play whatever godawful collection of trad and "rebel" songs stupid tourists thought was what all Irish people listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Me. Horrible diddley nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I love Celtic Rock, a bit of trad fused with more modern influences etc.

Pure Trad, no thanks although I respect that many people do love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It depends , I like the odd tune or to but the diddly eye stuff is annoying . As somebody said ,when it's played well by good musicians it's good .I was watching a studio concert of Mark Knopfler on Sky Arts last week and he had some Irish trad musicians on banjo ,accordion and violin ,as well as a quartet of orchestral violinists ,some bluegrass mandolin players , himself + some other blues guitarists in the mix and drums .That's a nice ' musical cocktail ' to have .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

All sounds the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I think its an awful racket in general. The odd slower kinder on the ears Irish music (crying into your pint stuff) is OK. But once they get up to the tempo where people start yelping... ye-ooooooh, yeeeeeeeeeee-ah i'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

The instrumentation may not be traditionally Irish, but it's certainly a beautiful rendition of a traditional Irish song.

A brilliant song with a slight Greek twist. It shows that Trad isn't always particularly predictable in style or execution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

i'm not a fan of it but i like one or two songs, not that i'd sit around listening to though.. clicked the wrong option in the poll.. i don't know of anyone who wouldn't be into at least 1 song, like the more popular ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

You'll never beat the Irish.....

Personally love Irish music, hate modern crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭RumDrinker

I like this, actually have the whole CD of The Bothy Band...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05WqfkSm7Os